Hope & Anchor

Hope & Anchor photo Hope & Anchor photo

Top Events @ Hope & Anchor

(View More)
Pin Up Party More
Friday 17 November 2017

Description

The Hope & Anchor is nestled in the heart of Brixton, on Acre Lane. Previously The Grand Union Brixton, this venue has recently been acquired by Young's.

Exciting times ahead now this venue is once again part of the Young's family. It promises to be the same amazing pub but with a better wine list, a spruced-up interior and a new menu of seasonal British classics.

The hidden gem is their impressive garden at the back of the pub, which boasts private tree huts, giant fire pits and a large crystal clear projector screen - the perfect place to soak up the sun, this has to be one of London's best beer gardens.

 

What's on

To see all upcoming events view the full event calendar.


Day of the Dead Launch Party

Day of the Dead Launch Party

Thursday 2 November 2017

Renowned as the place to be for a banging party, the Hope and Anchor have pulled out all the stops for their first...

Pin Up Party

Pin Up Party

Friday 17 November 2017

Discover Little Bird's sexy little gin at a fabulous pin up party. Enjoy free tasters of Little Bird's perfect serves...

Info

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
12:00 23:00
12:00 23:00
12:00 23:00
12:00 23:00
12:00 01:00
10:00 01:00
10:00 22:00

Location

Hope & Anchor
123 Acre Ln, London, SW2 5UA

Area:
South London

View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Pint of Lager £5.10
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £4.25
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £5.10
Cocktail £10.00
Spirit and Mixer (50ml double shot and mixer) £10.20
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £7.50
Bottle of House Wine £18.50
Bottle of Champagne £29.00
Jaeger Bomb £5.50

Menus

Food Menu Download
Wine List Download


This venue serves Burgers, British and Pub Food food.

Private Hire

Name Type Capacity
Seated
Capacity
Standing
Cost Min spend
Midweek*
Min spend
Weekend*
Upstairs Private Room Private Room 150
Full Venue Venue Hire 440
* The minimum spends are a guideline only and vary according to the day and time of the year.

(28 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Dear Hope, Where do I start, having organised a civilised stag-do at the same location a few years ago under the Grand Union umbrella and having frequented the venue on a number of more casual evenings some time ago, I was looking forward to planning my girlfriends 30th birthday. Having come back from Thailand last year, the beach huts were quite apt and having validated the venue with my girlfriends sister it was full steam ahead... So when the actual day itself arrived having paid for a hut, we entered the venue and was then scanned by your friendly extra large bouncer like I was some kind of ex convict. If you face aggression you tend to have it reflected back, something your very uncharismatic bouncer may want to consider when trying to pacify something, not that any pacifying was required but it wasn't a particularly good start. So to the first round of drinks, I realised table service was an option, but nobody was around, so figured it maybe quicker and more efficient to pop to the bar, 10-15 minutes later I probably got served and bearing in mind it was only 6.30 at this point and the bar wasn't busy at all, I didn't expect to be ignored on numerous occasions and be met by a barman who looked like he had zero urgency in his entire body. Unfortunately this was a common theme throughout the evening and as the night drew on, table service was random and average bar service times were easily in excess of 20+ minutes, we debated if it was worth actually getting a drink. What was good however was the availability of water, shame the glasses looked like they hadn't been washed for some time, but there was the water option nonetheless. Bar service did not fair much better upstairs either, having been told prosecco was only available downstairs, having managed to spend a significant amount of money throughout the night it wasn't the service I would expect (not expecting silver service, but a bit of common sense would be useful, that said it wasn't a big deal, a mere comment) On the note of service, it should be clear you are paying extra for table service, especially when it is pretty terrible. I was also asked to provide a guest list, this was to insure any late guests would not be subject to an entry fee, I appreciate he arrive just after 9, but the is in his late 40's and has a disabled child so couldn't get childcare and literally just wanted to show his face, say happy birthday and be on his way within the hour, instead he had to pay £20 for the two of them just to do that, I know rules are rules, but a bit of empathy goes a long way. I realise this feels like a barrage of moans and complaints, but the whole group had similar problems around the service and general attitude, this as a result left a bit of a sour taste on what should have been a fantastic night. On a positive note, the only competent person that night seem to be the duty manager who was accommodating and seem to be remotely switched on. Thanks for listening and good luck. visited Hope & Anchor on 15 Jul 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments have been taken on board and passed onto management. If you would like to discuss the issue further, please contact us directly.
18 Jul 2017 by
1

Amazing venue and could be brilliant. Not enough staff at the bar and when you do eventually get served the beer is warm. The staff appear very disinterested and didn't seem to want to be there. My friend rented a hut which was lovely but I won't be back.

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Sorry to hear this Simon! Your comments have been taken on board to ensure we continue to improve.
16 Jul 2017 by
1

Woukd never go back. Very poor service. Booked a hut. After waiting ages for someone to take our order I went and asked if someone could take our order. They said they would be 5 mins but we never saw her. Asked someone else who was passing. They had to put a bulb in our gut as it was getting dark, the first bulb fell into our food. The second bulb they put in smashed on the table, chairs, into our food and drinks. When we told them they just went off and re ordered everything before actually asking what we wanted. No offer to assist in clearing up the broken bulb. Half of the group had finished eating so didn't want another meal. Was offered a bottle of wine as an apology. We stayed we didn't want to pay for the meals we couldn't finish. The whole attitude of the staff was very disappointing. They clearly were not interested. nicola110 visited Hope & Anchor on 09 Jun 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Sorry to hear this Nicola! We will certainly be looking into this matter further. Please contact us directly to discuss this.
14 Jul 2017 by
1

The beer garden is absolutely amazing! Such a hidden gem. Cocktails delightful and food menu delicious. Would most definitely come back again :)

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thanks for your fab review! We can't wait to see you again x
12 Jul 2017 by
5

Very nice garden! We were supposed to stay in a hut but as it was pooring rain, we stayed inside. Good cocktails, good food, decent cost, would definitely come back. Catrinel visited Hope & Anchor on 11 Jul 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thanks for the 5-star rating! So glad you enjoyed yourself. Hopefully we'll see you again soon x
12 Jul 2017 by
5

Nice venue but everything else falls over. Not enough staff- 3 servers for a packed garden on a sunny Saturday evening, no draught beers/ciders outside so warm bottles or a 45+ minute wait at the bar inside. Out of order toilet cubicle upstairs causing huge queues for the bathroom. Then the music upstairs was turned off and everyone chased out before midnight because of an emergency? #greatnight ...all when you've paid for a hut. visited Hope & Anchor on 08 Jul 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Sorry to hear this! Unfortunately it was within the interest of the health and safety of our customers and staff that we closed early on Saturday. Please contact us directly if you wish to discuss the matter further
11 Jul 2017 by
2

We rented one of the huts in the garden which was nice but that was pretty much the only positive of the day. The bar seemed to be seriously understaffed and extremely under prepared for a busy day with it easily taking at least 25 mins to get served flat gin and tonics. We go there at 4pm and ended up leaving around 9pm because it just wasn't worth it any longer. The toilets were also pretty grim so I dread to think what they would have been like later on in the evening. It is a lovely venue, especially on a sunny day, and they have a good happy hour deal on cocktails, but the rest just let it down. visited Hope & Anchor on 08 Jul 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience here. Please contact us directly at hopeandanchorevents@youngs.co.uk to discuss the matter further.
11 Jul 2017 by
2

This birthday was very special for me so I was looking for a very nice and unusual venue where to have all my friends and when I saw the garden last winter I imagined it in summer and I booked it. I don't know if this pub has always been managed so badly or this happened as they changed management as I have never been there but my special birthday was ruined. We arrived at 7 and as we waited for my hut to be cleaned we went to the bar and it took a very long time to get a drink, we went back to the hut and guests were coming so we tried desperately to waive at one the waitresses to order something, that also took too long, we ordered 2 bottles of prosecco and some food, the girl came back with 1 bottle saying that was the last one they had and it wasn't even 8 pm yet! She said they were very busy and under staffed but the management should have known how many booking they had on that day and also that it was going to be a nice day weather wise so why being under staffed? The waitress said also the were not serving tap beers outside so they had to go inside to get them no explanations given, really weird since there is a beer garden outside! My husband at one point went to the bar in side for a beer and waited 50 minutes!!!!!!!!! All my friends said after the first drink they will not attempt to go back to the bar as the wait was ridiculous. When I asked for my cake to be broght outside they brought it to me still in the box with the candle still in the box and I had to remove it from the box and put the candle on my self. We wanted to by so many drinks and we would have spent so much money but the venue lost so much money because of the poor service. After 10:30 pm we moved inside only to find out there was a leak from the toilets upstairs, disgusting (don't even let me started on the state of the toilets), we went upstairs and when we finally started to dance a bit they stopped the music and kicked us out as there was an 'emergency'....I wanted this birthday to be memorable and it totally will be but for the wrong reasons!!! I gave 1 star as is it the minimum but I wanted to give -5 stars. visited Hope & Anchor on 08 Jul 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

We're very sorry to hear this. Please can you contact us directly on hopeandanchorevents@youngs.co.uk to discuss the matter further.
10 Jul 2017 by
1

Great venue - but very disappointing service - far too long getting served for a drink - would have stayed all evening - but left earlier than planned for a place with better service. visited Hope & Anchor on 08 Jul 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Sorry to hear this! We've taken your comments on board and will make sure this doesn't happen again.
09 Jul 2017 by
2

It was nice but very quiet compared to usual so not much atmosphere. Nice waiting staff and the salt beef sandwich was lovely visited Hope & Anchor on 04 Jul 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Yay! Thanks for the great review. We totally agree - the salt beef sandwich is very yummy.
05 Jul 2017 by
4

Poor service, drinks barely drinkable, and revolting toilets. Only saving grace is the fact it's a great venue with cool shacks in the garden. What a shame, it's gone downhill since it was taken over. visited Hope & Anchor on 04 Jul 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

That's not what we like to hear! Please contact us directly if you want to discuss the matter further.
05 Jul 2017 by
1

Reluctant to reward this establishment even 1 star after the treatment we received. Honestly never felt so unwelcome anywhere! PLEASE INVEST IN TRAINING FOR YOUR STAFF THEY ARE INCOMPETENT & UNFRIENDLY.

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Oh no! We do invest a lot of training to our staff to ensure all customers have the best possible experience. Please contact us directly to discuss the issue further, so we can make sure this never happens again!
30 Jun 2017 by
1

Very rude bar woman, Took an hour and a half for my pizza to come

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Oh no, that's not what we like to hear! Feel free to contact us directly to discuss the matter further.
29 Jun 2017 by
1

Dear Team, I came to the H&A for my birthday party, where I hosted 18 people. The location is amazing, I really liked the garden. But unfortunately I have something I wasn't very happy with. The staff was kind, but unfortunately they had no clue at all of what to do. They didn't know prices of cocktails, name of wines, had to wait like 15 minutes because 3 waiters/tresses were dealing with 1 customer (one drying glasses, the others looking to them). We were 18 people and, as I've been said not to bring my plates from home for my cake, we only got 6 plates, then 1 more, then had to request for the 3rd time to get the right number. One waitress opened the bottle of prosecco instead of me, without asking, without waiting for the cake, spraying the wine everywhere in the garden. We were all so surprised. Glasses were also all wet and dirty. I asked if they could put music and I've been said "I don't know, I don't think so". Who was I supposed to ask to? So, Location: 5 stars. Service: between 1 and 2. Food was ok. Thank you anyway for the evening. I will come back because I really liked the garden. visited Hope & Anchor on 25 Jun 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thanks for your feedback, so glad you love the garden! Oh no! I'll definitely look into this for you. Feel free to contact us to discuss the matter further on hopeandanchorevents@youngs.co.uk
26 Jun 2017 by
3

I booked a hut for my birthday and couldn't fault the hut or anything to do with my booking or service, however come 10:30 when you have to go inside I was told I would have an 'area' which I didn't and was too busy so we left. Shame the night ended earlier than planned. visited Hope & Anchor on 23 Jun 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thanks for your feedback! We're so glad you loved the hut! Oh no, sorry your night ended earlier than planned - we'll look into this for you.
24 Jun 2017 by
3

Great venue with an amazing beer garden visited Hope & Anchor on 17 Jun 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thanks for the 5 star rating! Hopefully we'll see you again soon
19 Jun 2017 by
5

Fun and festive place, especially outside in the pleasure garden (when the weather allows). Decent food at reasonable prices, and the service was fair considering how busy it was. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area. visited Hope & Anchor on 03 Jun 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thank you for your glowing feedback! Come back and see us again soon
05 Jun 2017 by
4

We enjoyed our night, however it was very clear the ownership has recently changed. There wasn't any soft drinks and choices were really limited. The bar staff had to go to Tesco because of the complete lack of any soft drinks. Our hut was also not great - dingy lighting and the speaker was worse than my phone speaker! However we still had fun, but I would recommend a little TLC for the huts and better bar stock. visited Hope & Anchor on 02 Jun 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thanks for your feedback, I'm so glad you had an enjoyable time here! Your comments have been taken on board and we will continue to improve on the points raised.
05 Jun 2017 by
2

We spent a lovely and funny night in a charming garden. The staff was professional and kind. Perfect for our hen party! visited Hope & Anchor on 03 Jun 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thanks for your feedback, I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience here! We hope to see you again soon!
04 Jun 2017 by
5

Loved being out in the garden and had a brilliant evening, but such a shame we had to move inside at 10.30, there's really nothing special about the inside. visited Hope & Anchor on 26 May 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thanks for your feedback, I'm so glad you had a great time! Unfortunately it is a licencing condition that we do have to close the garden at 10:30pm. We hope to see you again sometime soon!
04 Jun 2017 by
4

Food was terrible, the burger dripped with grease, the chips were incredibly salty and the service was really slow. One of the group also ordered a vegie burger that did not arrive, when the problem was eventually recognised the kitchen was closed and we had to push for a refund. I appreciate that the bar has likely gone through some big changes lately but the service was very poor, as things stand I would not recommend this venue. visited Hope & Anchor on 26 May 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thank you for your feedback. Apologies you felt disappointed with your experience here. We've taken your comments on board to ensure we continue to improve. Kind regards, The Hope and Anchor
30 May 2017 by
1

Lovely venue, plenty of space. Understocked on drinks - many things weren't available by 9pm on bank holiday Sunday. The staff were friendly but lots weren't serving a very busy bar, so perhaps need more just for drink serving. visited Hope & Anchor on 28 May 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thank you for your feedback. I'm so glad you loved the venue and our staff. Your comments have been taken on board to ensure we continue to improve! Kind regards, The Hope and Anchor
30 May 2017 by
4

Service is a joke. V hostile bar staff, 0 atmosphere, no cider, pizza was vile, never again. visited Hope & Anchor on 28 May 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Apologies that you found your experience here to be disappointing. Your feedback has been passed onto management to ensure we continue to improve our service. Kind regards, The Hope and Anchor
29 May 2017 by
1

I had my birthday drinks here, and on arrival was very happy with the cute hut I had booked on the large back garden. Unfortunately the next couple of hours revealed unfriendly, unhelpful staff, and an extremely limited selection of very pricy drinks - most of our requests got a 'no' from the staff (no prosecco, no rose wine, no pints on table service, no cocktails, no sharing jugs), so we eventually left and went somewhere else where the gin and tonics were less than a tenner each! visited Hope & Anchor on 28 May 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thank you for your feedback. I'm so glad you loved the outdoor hut you booked. Please accept my apologies that you felt the service was not up to standard. Your comments have been passed onto management to ensure we continue to improve. Kind regards, The Hope and Anchor
29 May 2017 by
2

We did not have the best time unfortunately. We come to the lovely Grand union every year to celebrate a joint birthday, bringing over 40 people to the venue. The fire pit was fantastic and lit all evening for us and guest were directed well by staff. We received an email only last week to say that the venue was changing hands with no request for our guest list. Only when I mentioned this was i told that it would need to be sent by 2pm the next day. The email did not state that offers such as the 2 for 1 cocktails would not be in place which was a big reason for booking and arriving so early. Failing the cocktails friends asked for Ros'e wine, to be told that there was none, this was at 5:30pm and several other cocktails and spirits that were not available. At one stage I was told that Pimms was no longer available, to then see groups walking from the bar with them twenty minutes later, different staff members saying different things. It really wasn't the best and I feel that the £50 hire fee was completely unjustified. We were all pretty disappointed and expected the offer to have been honoured or to have even been notified. Hopefully this will change over the next year and if it does not we may have to hold the celebration else where, which is such a shame as we enjoy the garden and location of Grand Union. visited Hope & Anchor on 27 May 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my apologies that you felt disappointed with your evening here. We would never want our repeat customers to feel disappointed in any way. All comments have been taken on board and passed onto management to ensure this doesn't happen again. Kind regards, The Hope and Anchor
29 May 2017 by
1

Upon arrival we were seated and told that in order to use my tab I had to get served by one particular person. I sat and waited ten minutes for this guy to come and get my order, and eventually went to find a staff member to order. I then didn't see him again, and had to constantly go and find him to get drinks, though they didn't seem to be keeping track of my tab and told me I'd used it up after only buying 4 beers. Nowhere in London does 4 beers cost £50. I won't be coming back to the Hope & Anchor purely based on the poor service, especially as the guy seemed annoyed every time I came up to him. visited Hope & Anchor on 27 May 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thank you for your feedback. Apologies that you felt disappointed with the service provided. Your comments have been passed onto management to ensure we continue to improve our service. Kind regards, The Hope and Anchor
28 May 2017 by
2

Used to love this place but this the change of management the service became extremely poor. A bit of advice: go to order any drinks/good inside of you are seating outside otherwise you will have to wait for a long time. Hopefully the staff will get better and stop arguing and talking between themselves when you are next to them in the future. visited Hope & Anchor on 26 May 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thank you for your feedback. Apologies you felt disappointed with the service provided. Your comments have been taken on board and passed onto management to ensure this does not happen again! Kind regards, The Hope and Anchor
27 May 2017 by
1

Poor service, unable to spend deposit for tab inside and waited an hour for service outside to use it even after asking several times, when tried to settle the tab the staff were unable to help - don't recommend visited Hope & Anchor on 26 May 2017

Reply from Hope & Anchor

Thank you for your comments and apologies you felt disappointed with the service. We operate table service in the garden at the weekends, hence why the tab must be spent outside. Your feedback has been taken on board and passed onto management. Kind regards, The Hope and Anchor
27 May 2017 by
1

Show all Show fewer


If you like Hope & Anchor, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.