Paternoster

{{currentVenue.offers.length}} Offers Available!

{{offer.title}}

{{offer.availabilityDays}} between {{offer.availabilityTimes}} , {{time}} {{offer.availabilityNumPeople}} ( Valid from {{offer.start_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} to {{offer.expiry_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} )

{{offer.description}}



Make a booking to select an offer

{{numPeopleNote}}

Ok

Sorry, there are no times available to book on this date.

Go back

Please note:
{{restrictionNotes}}
Back
{{venueName}} This venue has availability at these times:
We couldn't find any availability around the times you specified, but you can still make an enquiry.

Type of enquiry

Booking confirmed

Woohoo! Your booking at {{venueName}} is confirmed. You will receive confirmation via text and email shortly.

Thank you for booking with DesignMyNight.com

Enquiry received

{{venueName}} We have successfully received your booking enquiry and will get back to you as soon as possible. You will be contacted by the {{venueName}} team shortly.

We have received your booking enquiry and we will work with {{venueName}} to confirm your booking. You will receive confirmation of this enquiry via text and email shortly.

Name: {{booking.first_name}} {{booking.last_name}}
Date: {{booking.date | date:'EEEE d MMMM'}}
Time: {{booking.time}}
Guests: {{booking.num_people}}
Checking availability..

Oops!

Paternoster photo Paternoster photo Paternoster photo Paternoster photo Paternoster photo Paternoster photo

Top Events @ Paternoster

(View More)
Win a Trip to Cuba With Havana Club More
Tue 1st Aug 2017 - Thu 31st Aug 2017

Description

Set in a modern, glass-fronted building, the Paternoster sits right next to St Paul's Cathedral, providing the perfect metaphor for London today: the modern juxtaposed against the traditional. This theme continues inside, the Paternoster is set in a bright, airy, open plan space but still retains the traditional values that encapsulate the British pub.

We're extremely proud of our menu at the Paternoster and select only the best of British ingredients with each season. We offer a selection of traditional English and modern dishes along with sandwiches at lunch time. Our Head Chef, Michael dreams up some beautiful daily specials, using the best seasonal ingredients that the British Isles has to offer.

What's on

To see all upcoming events view the full event calendar.


Win a Trip to Cuba With Havana Club

Win a Trip to Cuba With Havana Club

Tue 1st Aug 2017 - Thu 31st Aug 2017

As we are are well underway into the Summer of Rum season. We've teamed up with our good friends Havana Club Rum to...

NATIONAL PROSECCO DAY - WEEKENDER

NATIONAL PROSECCO DAY - WEEKENDER

Various dates

No one needs an excuse to drink the delicious Corte Delle Calli Prosecco especially today! Come and join us early on...

Books & Beer at the Paternoster

Books & Beer at the Paternoster

Saturday 12 August 2017

Come and celebrate Book Lovers' Day with books & beer. Authors of LGBTQ romance will be excited to talk to you...

BOOKS & BEER

BOOKS & BEER

Saturday 12 August 2017

Come and celebrate Book Lovers' Day with books & beer. Authors of LGBTQ romance will be excited to talk to you...

Info

No Door Charge
No queues normally
Happily Affordable ££
St Pauls
No restrictions
None

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
08:00 23:00
08:00 23:00
08:00 23:00
08:00 23:00
08:00 23:00
10:00 23:00
10:00 21:00

Location

Paternoster
2-4 Queens Head Passage, City of London, EC4M 7DZ

Area:
Central London

Nearest station:
St. Pauls (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Pint of Lager £3.75
Pint of Real Ale £3.35
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £3.95
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £4.65
Cocktail £6.15
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £4.40
Bottle of House Wine £16.70
Bottle of Champagne £35.10

Menus

Dinner Menu Download
Lunch Menu Download


This venue serves British, Pub Food, Brunch and Roast Dinner food.

(38 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Service was a bit of a mess. Food came sporadically with things missing (we were the only customers!). visited Paternoster on 12 Jul 2017

Reply from Paternoster

Hello, my apologies for the delay in response and I am sorry to hear about your experience with us Please can you let me know some more information about your visit so that I can find investigate further into why you had to wait? If you could drop me an email or let me know when you booked I can look into it in more detail thepaternoster@youngs.co.uk Kind Regards Charlotte Raybould General Manager
17 Jul 2017 by
3

As always, I love the Paternoster and the staff were friendly and helpful. Thanks again and 'thanks very much' as always! visited Paternoster on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
4

Simply brilliant thank you to the staff visited Paternoster on 07 Jul 2017
09 Jul 2017 by
5

Cosy place that has good offers every now and then. We got a free drink for St Patrick's day for example, which was to be redeemed through their app. They have a few tables outside which has a nice view of St Pauls.
04 Jul 2017 by
4

Excellent food, excellent service, great atmosphere ! Would definitely book an area again. Thanks very much visited Paternoster on 14 Jun 2017
03 Jul 2017 by
5

We had a great evening and will be back - but the only quibble I had was that although we had been told waiting staff would regularly come over and take orders, in practice we had to go over to the bar and order in the usual way far more often than I would have liked - particularly in the first hour or so. Obviously this meant that we had to spend more time queueing for beer than actually talking to our guests. Several times we asked for someone to come over to our area but this didn't happen. visited Paternoster on 22 Jun 2017
30 Jun 2017 by
4

We really enjoyed our evening in the Paternoster. Nice big airy space with a good buzz. Excellent selection of beers, all of which were fresh and tasty (and not overly expensive for a city pub). Limited food menu but the burgers were very good indeed (not overcooked as they are in many pubs). And the table service was first class. This was a good find and we will come again. Thanks guys. visited Paternoster on 14 Jun 2017
16 Jun 2017 by
5

We had my daughters Christening celebration at the Paternoster, approx 50 people. Food was excellent, as was the service. Staff are very friendly and helpful , we couldn't have asked for more! visited Paternoster on 27 May 2017
30 May 2017 by
5

BOOKING WAS DEALT WITH EFFICIENTLY FROM POINT BOOKED ON INTERNET TO ARRIVAL DATE. FOLLOW-UP WAS GOOD. ACTUAL DAY AT RESTAURANT WAS LOVELY. GREAT VIBE AND FOOD WAS ENJOYABLE. WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK THANK YOU! visited Paternoster on 19 May 2017
29 May 2017 by
5

Excellent time we spent at the Paternoster - had a great buffet lunch for 30 people and were well looked after. Thank you. visited Paternoster on 20 May 2017
23 May 2017 by
5

Thanks very much for holding our table when we were late, despite it being a busy evening. visited Paternoster on 12 May 2017
17 May 2017 by
5

I do love the Paternoster. The staff layed out The Snug perfectly, the managers, waitress and all other staff on the night were attentive and super helpful! I'm so happy with my how my event went. 10 out of 10! visited Paternoster on 13 May 2017
15 May 2017 by
5

We visited after a team event for a few drinks. Staff were great when we called ahead and set up a little cordoned off area for us. The staff working were very attentive and helpful - A great experience, thanks very much. visited Paternoster on 10 May 2017
15 May 2017 by
5

Brilliant evening Jeeven did a stirling job especially as it was busy and therefore loud -food was awesome and thoroughly enjoyed-defitiley 2 converts to Bombay Sapphire now thank you Kit visited Paternoster on 04 May 2017
08 May 2017 by
5

My self and a colleague had our leaving drinks at the Paternoster and we were treated so well the staff are so attentive the food was excellent. My only negative comment is the drinks are rather expensive but I guess that is London for you. visited Paternoster on 26 Apr 2017
28 Apr 2017 by
5

Excellent food and excellent service. visited Paternoster on 25 Apr 2017
28 Apr 2017 by
4

We held an area for post-marathon food & drinks & had a great afternoon/evening, The space was just right & staff were amazing considering there were over 30 of us! We didn't have to put down a deposit which made it all the much better as not many places in London will let you do this! The food was good and all reasonably priced too. Would certainly recommend! visited Paternoster on 23 Apr 2017

Reply from Paternoster

Hello, Thanks for your great review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Paternoster. I believe this was the booking in the snug area under the name Phillipa Norton, who ran in the London Marathon with 4 others. Congratulations to you all! We hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards, Amelia Morris Sales and Marketing Coordinator
26 Apr 2017 by
5

I have an allergy and asked a waiter about menu. He had to go back to get a special menu (which is fine) but he showed a list and just said I can't have a couple of things on the menu, rather than catering / suggesting alternative options. I always inform / ask the same question at restaurants and they always know the menus and offer alternative choices (even at much cheaper restaurants) or cater. My partner recommended the place and I expected something better.... dissapointment visited Paternoster on 21 Apr 2017

Reply from Paternoster

Hello I am very sorry to hear about how we handled your questions on allergens, I believe you booked a table under the name of Mamiko? I have sent you a separate email and I hope we can talk more and hopefully rectify the situation for you Kind Regards Charlotte Raybould General Manager
24 Apr 2017 by
2

Good space was reserved. Nice service and we all really enjoyed the night. Didn't charge to reserve space which was a big bonus visited Paternoster on 13 Apr 2017
15 Apr 2017 by
5

No hustle and bustle. Even in the centre of the City of London, we can have a quiet, comfortable and relaxing time with a pint of ale, in the Paternoster, Our Father. visited Paternoster on 09 Apr 2017
11 Apr 2017 by
5

Had specifically booked a table for 10 by the window. When we arrived another group was already using our table and we were directed to a table in the "snug" which was very dark. There also seemed to be a shortage of chairs for our snug table because a settee had been positioned for one place setting - very odd. Eventually we moved to another table in the middle of the pub where it was extremely noisy. Food was average at best - Won't be returning anytime soon. visited Paternoster on 07 Apr 2017

Reply from Paternoster

HI Steve I have sent you an email with my details, please get in touch when you can and we can talk more Kind Regards Charlotte Raybould General Manager
10 Apr 2017 by
1

We hosted an afternoon drink reception for about 50 guests at The Paternoster pub and were very happy with all aspects of our event. The staff were very helpful and communicative prior and during the event and we had a successful and enjoyable time there. visited Paternoster on 30 Mar 2017
05 Apr 2017 by
5

Good standard pub grub. French fries had to be replaced as they were cold. Table booked from 6:30 and kept all evening, didn't get slung off for another booking. visited Paternoster on 29 Mar 2017
31 Mar 2017 by
4

This was the ideal location for drinks with the girls. A small but interesting cocktail menu, lovely surroundings. The place has a lively but laid back atmosphere. The staff were also friendly. The only letdown were the cocktails themselves which were mostly made up of ice, but all else 5*
30 Mar 2017 by
4

Great table and good service. Food selection was a bit limited but the food we did get was very good. Karen visited Paternoster on 24 Mar 2017
29 Mar 2017 by
4

Food was lovely, service was a little slow but we were a large party of 14 so is probably quicker for a smaller party. Desserts took ages to come out, but the cost was taken off the bill for us in the end. visited Paternoster on 21 Mar 2017
23 Mar 2017 by
4

All was generally good - nice atmosphere and staff, but the food was a huge disappointment, especially considering the price. visited Paternoster on 21 Mar 2017
23 Mar 2017 by
3

I had the sausage sandwich which was nice but my friend had the fish finger sandwich which she said wasn't nice at all. The bread was cut unevenly so she had thin sliced bread on one side of the sandwich and thick cut bread on the other side. Also, the fish finger batter was very greasy and not crisp and the fish inside wasn't much better. She only ate the bread and chips in the end. visited Paternoster on 15 Mar 2017
17 Mar 2017 by
3

Very well organised, good space reserved and helpful service visited Paternoster on 14 Mar 2017
16 Mar 2017 by
5

Staff were really accommodating when we booked. I had the Garden Board and it was absolutely delicious. Waitress (Madelaine) was really helpful. We had a good time. visited Paternoster on 09 Mar 2017
13 Mar 2017 by
4

Hi Charlotte, Amelia and the wonderful Valentina!!! Thank you for doing another amazing job last night and the area looked amazing even though I was being let down by attendees left right and centre BUT people that did show loved it! Another colleague of mine loved the venue as I do! You guys are amazing!! visited Paternoster on 08 Mar 2017
10 Mar 2017 by
5

Absolutely awful. The service was so slow, it took 45 minutes for a fish finger sandwich and some deep fried baby squid to arrive and it was cold when it finally came out! I had to ask twice where the food was and nobody knew what was going on. We were just left sitting there waiting, not one person checked on us to see if we were ok. I would avoid this place in future!! visited Paternoster on 06 Mar 2017

Reply from Paternoster

Hello I am really sorry to hear about your experience with us - can you please provide me with your name and number so that I may call you and investigate further Not common practice at all and something I would like to rectify with you and ensure it doesnt happen again Kind Regards Charlotte Raybould General Manager
08 Mar 2017 by
1

Space in Snug had a lovely atmosphere. Great food & drink. Staff very helpful & cheerful throughout Would definitely book again visited Paternoster on 02 Mar 2017

Reply from Paternoster

Thank you very much. We are delighted that you had a great time and are looking forward to having you again on your next event or even for casual drinks and food. Kind regards, Rhys Athanasiadis Assistant Manager
04 Mar 2017 by
4

Poor visit - slow service - starters came out with mains to which we were told they weren't put through to come out separately - isn't that the idea of starters?? - when the food did eventually come out (it was very late) it was apparent it had been sitting because it was only just an ok temperature to eat. The peppercorn sauce as more like brown water. Very flavourless. - due to the time it had already taken we had no time to fuss because it was a lunch between work. Once we ate we waited a further 20 mins for half the table to be cleared. The other half was left for another 15 mins - we ordered desserts which also took a very long time to come and again it was apparent they had just been sitting there for quite some time because the ice cream was half melted across the plates. Overall very disappointed! The only reason this has a second star is because at least they managed to get the food orders correct despite the other issues visited Paternoster on 22 Feb 2017

Reply from Paternoster

Hi Richard I have left you a voicemail on what I believe to be your number - I have been doing some investigating to find out which booking this was as unfortunately they all come through as a number not a name, I sincerely apologise for the delay- I would like to speak to you in person regarding your experience - this is absolutely not common practice and I can only apologise that none of this was brought to my attention at the time of your visit Please can you give me a call at your earliest convenience on 02072484035 - or let me know the best time to try you again Kind Regards Charlotte Raybould General Manager
24 Feb 2017 by
2

We was given the area we requested which was an ideal space. As it was inside the building there was little venterlarion and it soon became very hot and stuffy. We asked for the AC to be turned on, which it was but then turn off again some 15/20 mins later as it was on a timer, so we were told. We therefore had to repeat our requests for the AC back on. I specifically requested the food be served at 6.15pm as I wanted to ensure all my guests had the opportunity to eat before they left. After I complained to the manager at 6.55pm the food finally started to arrive at 7.00pm. By this time 20% of my guests had left or where leaving as it arrived leaving me feel very frustrated. The waiter we had was very good and looked after us vey well. When the final bill was issued by the manager there was no apology or mention of the food arriving 45 minutes late and no suggestion of a discount as a good will gesture. Wound I use The Paternoster again, No, other than if I was unable to find an alterntive revue. visited Paternoster on 16 Feb 2017
18 Feb 2017 by
2

Great to be able to reserve a table for drinks, but sadly when ordering food there were a lot of items no longer being served. The bar staff weren't at all apologetic about it and just shrugged shoulders asking what we wanted instead. Its a pub that can't serve reliable amounts of pub grub. Good choices of drinks though, but not a food place at all. visited Paternoster on 09 Feb 2017

Reply from Paternoster

Hi I am very sorry to hear about your experience, not common practise at all, can you please drop me an email with your phone number and I can give you a call to find out more information and hopefully invite you back to see us thepaternoster@youngs.co.uk Kind Regards Charlotte Raybould General Manager
11 Feb 2017 by
3

Too crowded, so a little difficult to order visited Paternoster on 08 Feb 2017

Reply from Paternoster

Hello I am sorry to hear about your experience, we do get quite busy on Thursday and Friday evenings but should have a team on the floor taking orders, I will make sure they get round to everyone to ensure anyone wanting to order food and dink can do so easily. We hope to see you again Kind Regards Charlotte Raybould General Manager
10 Feb 2017 by
4

We hired out the Paternoster for my son's Christening. The staff could not have been more helpful. The food was delicious and they even arranged a cake for us. Could not recommend highly enough. helenclarkuhi visited Paternoster on 23 Jul 2016
02 Aug 2016 by
5

Show all Show fewer


If you like Paternoster, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.