Opium

{{currentVenue.offers.length}} Offers Available!

{{offer.title}}

{{offer.availabilityDays}} between {{offer.availabilityTimes}} , {{time}} {{offer.availabilityNumPeople}} ( Valid from {{offer.start_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} to {{offer.expiry_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} )

{{offer.description}}



Make a booking to select an offer

{{numPeopleNote}}

Ok

Sorry, there are no times available to book on this date.

Go back

Please note:
{{restrictionNotes}}
Back
{{venueName}} This venue has availability at these times:
We couldn't find any availability around the times you specified, but you can still make an enquiry.

Type of enquiry

Booking confirmed

Woohoo! Your booking at {{venueName}} is confirmed. You will receive confirmation via text and email shortly.

Thank you for booking with DesignMyNight.com

Enquiry received

{{venueName}} We have successfully received your booking enquiry and will get back to you as soon as possible. You will be contacted by the {{venueName}} team shortly.

We have received your booking enquiry and we will work with {{venueName}} to confirm your booking. You will receive confirmation of this enquiry via text and email shortly.

Name: {{booking.first_name}} {{booking.last_name}}
Date: {{booking.date | date:'EEEE d MMMM'}}
Time: {{booking.time}}
Guests: {{booking.num_people}}
Checking availability..

Oops!

Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo Opium photo

Description

Before you can contemplate trying the incredible cocktails and delicious food, you've got to locate Opium. A secret bar if ever there was one; find the nondescript green door, then get buzzed up the long dark stairway to the cool and chic setting above.

Opium Cocktail Bar & Dim Sum Parlour is a chic, hidden venue in the heart of Chinatown. Run by experienced London bar moguls Dre Masso and Eric Yu, Opium certainly has some pedigree behind it. The decor is oriental themed but again keeps an element of freshness with a twist that makes it modern and current; metal finishes on miss-match Chinese furniture gives Opium, a contemporary London feel that is very welcome. Expect 3 floors of amazing Asian cocktails and food with a contemporary London twist - just a little teaser to get your appetite going.

The drinks list and ingredients for food dishes will change seasonally to reflect their freshness, a great selling point. Perfect for a fine dinner and drinks evening, Opium would certainly impress a date or be a good place to have a meal with friends. Fire-cracker cocktails set the evening off with a bang, alongside some stunning dim sum nibbles; expect a cool and trendy crowd, who are distinctly in the know, how else would they have found this Chinatown gem?

Info

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
17:00 01:00
17:00 01:00
17:00 02:00
17:00 03:00
17:00 03:00
17:00 03:00
17:00 00:00

Location

Opium
15-16 Gerrard Street, Chinatown, London, W1D 6JE

Area:
Central London

Nearest station:
Leicester Square (Tube)
Open in Citymapper
Open in Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £5.80
Cocktail £10.50
Spirit and Mixer (50ml double shot and mixer) £8.50
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £7.20
Bottle of House Wine £28.00
Bottle of Champagne £65.00

Menus

Opium Sample Cocktail Menu Download
Opium Sample Food Menu Download


This venue serves Asian/Oriental food.

A word from the chef:
Opium fuses classic Chinese dim sum and other dishes with a contempary London twist, adding new additions to older staples. Try their Dim Sum platter at £16 with siu mai and har gau or their Cantonese barbecue pork bun at £6.

Our Review

Opium Chinatown - London Cocktail Bar Review

Opium Chinatown - London Cocktail Bar Review

Hidden in the heart of Chinatown, Opium Cocktail Bar & Dim Sum Parlour is a secretive spot for late night foodies, boozies, and trendsetters from all around London. Set in arguably the most touristy district of London, Opium is a gem among this...

Read our full Opium Chinatown - London Cocktail Bar Review review

Private Hire

Name Type Capacity
Seated
Capacity
Standing
Cost Min spend
Midweek*
Min spend
Weekend*
The Den Private Room N/A 35 £800 £1.2k
The Apothecary Private Room N/A 40 On Request £1.8K
Venue Venue Hire N/A 120 £8k £10k
* The minimum spends are a guideline only and vary according to the day and time of the year.

(75 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Staff were very friendly! Delicious dim sum, with a cool atmosphere visited Opium on 21 Feb 2017
23 Feb 2017 by
4

Lovely venue and good atmosphere! Only downside was that we weren't notified about the fact that Opium uses doubles as their standard measure. The waiter said afterwards that it's written in the menu, however, I never saw a menu, just asked for a gin&tonic. Such a shame and quite dangerous too as I had four! Otherwise the experience was positive and I'd like to go back. visited Opium on 17 Feb 2017

Reply from Opium

Thank you for reviewing your last visit with us at Opium. We are glad you did enjoy the venue and experience. Our standard measure is 50ml however, we do try to ensure that our staff inform guests if they order a spirit mixer without looking at the menu. We will use your comments for further training with our staff to ensure 100% customer satisfaction. Kind regards, Opium team
21 Feb 2017 by
3

Delicious cocktails with great dim sum. Lovely atmosphere. We had a fabulous evening. visited Opium on 18 Feb 2017
20 Feb 2017 by
5

Really enjoyed our visit. The drinks were a bit expensive for what they were and I'm surprised that there wasn't a service charge for the very hardworking bar man and the waiter. I wish I had taken cash with me to tip them as they truly deserved it. Music was fantastic (lots of Bowie) and the bar smelled lovely! I want to know what they use in the loos! I would have given it 5 stars but I think the drinks were over priced. Although the drinks that the batman made for us that were not on the menu were amazing!!! ruth visited Opium on 18 Feb 2017
20 Feb 2017 by
4

Very good, staff were excellent as usual really attentive. The dimsum was great and really enjoyed all the cocktails. visited Opium on 17 Feb 2017
20 Feb 2017 by
5

The cocktails are amazing, however the service was very poor. Waiting at least half an hour to order another drink and then another 20minutes to receive the drinks. I can appreciate that you were busy and under staffed, however that is no excuse for the waiters to completely ignore the smaller tables Steph visited Opium on 18 Feb 2017

Reply from Opium

Thank you for reviewing your last visit with us at Opium. We are most disappointed to learn that our service did not meet your expectations and you were made to wait a very long time to order with us and also receive your cocktails. We will be taking your comments on board to ensure that our staff provides each guest with the care and attention they deserve. Kind regards, Opium team
20 Feb 2017 by
2

It was good, prices of gaining entry could be improved!! Thanks visited Opium on 18 Feb 2017
20 Feb 2017 by
3

The whole doorman experience was not great. Being told to wait like a child was not appropriated. I am 43 and not 3 years old. The bar it self was good, the staff are friendly and it was a good atmosphere with great cocktails. So if you are willing to wait for a while outside even though you have a booking. Then go to this joint. visited Opium on 18 Feb 2017

Reply from Opium

Thank you for reviewing your last visit with us at Opium and also your comments on our door staff. We do apologise for your initial bad service with our doorman and we will take your comments on board. Opium is spread out between two floors and we do use radios to communicate with our staff of bookings. We do apologise if you had to wait outside even though you had a booking, however we are glad you did enjoy your time and our cocktails and we hope you do join us again soon. Kind regards, Opium Team
20 Feb 2017 by
3

I've been a regular for years but received awful service from the barman in the Peony bar. Got every part of every order wrong and was really aggressive and rude. visited Opium on 18 Feb 2017

Reply from Opium

Thank you for reviewing your last visit with us at Opium and for your email. We sincerely apologise for the service you received in Peony and we are investigating what happened on the evening. Please bear with us and we will report back to you on our findings and work out how we can regain your faith in us. Kind regards, Opium team
20 Feb 2017 by
1

Wonderful. Atmospheric. Amazing music, cocktails and food and fantastic service. visited Opium on 17 Feb 2017
19 Feb 2017 by
5

Cool place, great barman, would recommend visited Opium on 17 Feb 2017
19 Feb 2017 by
5

Always great fun at peony. Stayed late and Matteo looked after me and my friend very very well- recommended great cocktails and the dim sum were fab as ever!!! Sad to hear that Kisa has left you! visited Opium on 16 Feb 2017
18 Feb 2017 by
5

Great vibe very welcoming place. Quite often found it hard to get waiters attention plus forgot an order and left us waiting until we asked another waiter. But still a great venue despite the hit and miss service. visited Opium on 15 Feb 2017
17 Feb 2017 by
4

Loved it! Staff were nice, felt quite exclusive yet cosy and welcoming. Drinks were great, standard London prices and some unique and interesting options. Great for a date as it is cosy, but I went with a group of friends and it was lovely too. visited Opium on 15 Feb 2017
17 Feb 2017 by
5

Excellent service. Wonderful location. Superb. visited Opium on 14 Feb 2017
16 Feb 2017 by
5

Very nice experience. The food was great and the atmosphere as well. visited Opium on 14 Feb 2017
16 Feb 2017 by
5

Great staff and even better cocktails! They even allowed me to swap a cocktail because the one I had chosen wasn't to my taste!! Fantastic ambiance with funk and groove. visited Opium on 14 Feb 2017
16 Feb 2017 by
4

Great service, food and atmosphere. Rachelanne visited Opium on 14 Feb 2017
16 Feb 2017 by
5

They didn't have any coffee at all.. visited Opium on 14 Feb 2017
16 Feb 2017 by
2

The experience was lovely and cozy. One crucial thing to note is that we ordered the house drink which had liquid nitrogen and came with a special straw adapted for the purposes of drinking it. HOWEVER, the gentleman warning not to drink directly from the cup did not do so clearly and also English was not his first language. The warning came as an incoherent mumble. Instead I had to warn my friends not to drink from the cup. Liquid nitrogen ingested directly will freeze someone's insides. There have been cases where this has happened in the UK and the bar has been held (quite rightly) liable. Please train your staff. Many thanks. visited Opium on 12 Feb 2017

Reply from Opium

Thank you for reviewing your last visit with us at Opium and we are glad you did enjoy your time with us. Our Opium No.6 cocktail contains dry ice and we do ensure our staff clearly instruct our guests to drink the cocktail through the metal straw provided. Thank you for pointing out the communication issues you experienced and we will take your comments on board. Kind regards, Opium Team
14 Feb 2017 by
3

A classy and quirky place, with friendly staff, fabulous cocktails and yummy dim sum. Perfect for catching up with friends away from the maddening crowds of Leicester Square. visited Opium on 11 Feb 2017
14 Feb 2017 by
5

Loved our visit to Opium booked a tabled in advance, great atmosphere, friendly staff and loved the swing music. If you love cocktails visit here their signature menu is excellent, added bonus they serve really tasty dim sums. Love this place one of the best secret cocktail bars in London. visited Opium on 11 Feb 2017
13 Feb 2017 by
5

Great Cocktails, good music , friendly staff, tasty dim sum and a cool vibe_ What's not to like? Perhaps a bit pricey if you stay for the whole evening but worth it for a special occasion.... Anne visited Opium on 11 Feb 2017
13 Feb 2017 by
5

Great service , excellent dumplings and cocktails visited Opium on 11 Feb 2017
13 Feb 2017 by
5

While the atmosphere, food and drinks were great, there were a few major errors in service that were not taken seriously enough. My first cocktail arrived in a broken glass, with a shard of glass inside the drink! While the cocktail was then replaced, it was not removed from the bill as I certainly would have expected given the size of this health risk. We were then given the incorrect food and while we were not charged for this, the lack of organisation amongst staff was not v. professional. Shame about these complaints as generally the night had the potential to be great visited Opium on 11 Feb 2017

Reply from Opium

Thank you for reviewing your last visit with us at Opium and we apologise for the service offered to you and your guests on the evening. We do value our customer’s feedback for staff training and also to ensure a situation you experienced with us, does not happen again. We would like to rectify this situation and we are investigating what happened on the evening Please can you send over an email with your contact details to belle@thebreakfastgroup.co.uk. We look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Opium Team
13 Feb 2017 by
3

Absolutely loved it, thank you! visited Opium on 11 Feb 2017
13 Feb 2017 by
5

Great atmosphere, great cocktails, great dim sum, great staff. Options are limited by design eg only dim sum, only a couple of wine options but great cocktail list. Not a venue for anyone with mobility issues as it's up several flights of wooden steps but if you can manage them it all adds to the atmosphere. Unique venue in Soho, buzzy not sleazy. Only complaint is combination of quite loud music made conversation on the deep lounger chairs a bit difficult as you're quite a long way away. Easier on the higher tables. visited Opium on 10 Feb 2017
13 Feb 2017 by
5

Perfect dim sum & great service consistently :D Diana visited Opium on 10 Feb 2017
12 Feb 2017 by
5

It's not easy to find but once you get there, it's like stepping into another world. In the ambiance of an Asian parlour we enjoyed delicious cocktails and dim sums. Looking forward to come back. Nat visited Opium on 10 Feb 2017
12 Feb 2017 by
5

Amazing dim sums and awesome cocktails (there is beer on the menu too). Staff are friendly and the vibe is unpretentious. visited Opium on 09 Feb 2017
11 Feb 2017 by
5

Opium was a real disappointment. It's website and the review we read showed promise, but it was expensive and not at all authentic. Free Tsing Tao lanterns hung over normal light fittings gave a very temporary and cheap feel. The dim sum was ok, but each piece was too large. It was an expensive night for a sub par experience. I wouldn't go back. visited Opium on 08 Feb 2017

Reply from Opium

Thank you for reviewing your last visit with us at Opium and we apologise for the fact that some elements of your experience were not as you would have wished. We currently stock Tsing Tao beer and partnered with them for our celebration of Chinese New Year 2017. Their branded lanterns were part of the decorations for the event, which is celebrated for roughly 7-10 days after the day itself. We do generally receive positive comments on our Dim Sum however, we also value your opinion and will take your observations on board. Kind regards Opium Team
10 Feb 2017 by
1

Great service, good atmosphere, food and drinks were very good visited Opium on 04 Feb 2017
06 Feb 2017 by
5

This place is wonderful - great vibe, discrete entrance, cool décor, tasty dim-sum, delicious cocktails, friendly waiters. The only fly in the ointment was that I asked for an extra-nice table when I booked because it was my friend's birthday ... I thought the staff might use that information to make her feel special, but instead they ignored it and we got allocated a small table in a dingy corner. I had to request something better which wasn't a great start to the evening :( visited Opium on 04 Feb 2017
06 Feb 2017 by
4

Good food and cocktails. Ok service. visited Opium on 04 Feb 2017
06 Feb 2017 by
5

This was my first time coming to Opium, I'm afraid it will be my last. I have heard so many good tings about this place, unfortunately our experience wasn't as we thought it would be. The service was terrible, it took 30 minutes to even have our drinks order taken and every time we wanted to order more the waiter(s) would try and walk away before we'd even finished our order. we felt like a burden not a paying customer. Our Bill came to £440.00 for eight of us only having 3 drinks and a couple of platters, when we questioned it we were told this was a mistake as our order had been added to the previous group on our tables bill. (Shouldn't this be checked before giving it to a customer) When the bill came back it was £100.00 less but there were still drinks on here we hadn't had. We would have stayed for longer and ordered more food drink had we been treated like paying customers. Maybe it was a busy night but if they can't cope with the numbers they should't take so many bookings or have more staff on. On a positive note when the food came out it was great. I would have rather taken my friend somewhere else and have been treated better for the money we spent in the hour and a half we were there. Louisa Mclaughlin. visited Opium on 03 Feb 2017

Reply from Opium

Thank you for reviewing your last visit with us at Opium. We are most disappointed to learn that our service did not meet your expectations and we failed to deliver a great experience to you and your guests. We strive to achieve 100% customer satisfaction and your feedback is fundamental to the development of Opium. This matter is now under investigation. We would like to report back to you on our findings and work out how we can regain your faith in us. Please can you send over an email with your contact details to belle@thebreakfastgroup.co.uk? We look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Opium Team
06 Feb 2017 by
1

Loved it. Will go again. visited Opium on 03 Feb 2017
06 Feb 2017 by
5

The staff was lovely. But the service is way too slow visited Opium on 03 Feb 2017
05 Feb 2017 by
4

The dim sum and cocktails were awesome as always and the free shot was a surprise and also very good :) visited Opium on 03 Feb 2017
05 Feb 2017 by
5

Quite disappointing! We had reservation upstairs and they put us in a corner table behind a curtain to wait ;(telling us we could order yes but there was not athmosphere of the bar at all plus we were 4 in a table which sits 10 se was quite difficult to talk). After half an hour of our reservation we were told they didn't know when our table was ready. So as I got upset we. We're finally sat downstairs where the bar is totally different! Not happy at all! visited Opium on 03 Feb 2017

Reply from Opium

Thank you for reviewing your last visit with us at Opium. We are most disappointed to learn that you had to wait for your table even though you did have a reservation with us. We do ask some customers to wait as it can get very busy in Opium however, I do apologise for the miscommunication you witnessed with our staff on the night. We strive to achieve 100% customer satisfaction and your feedback is fundamental to the development of Opium. This matter is now under investigation. We would like to report back to you on our findings and work out how we can regain your faith in us. Please can you send over an email with your contact details to belle@thebreakfastgroup.co.uk? We look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Opium Team
05 Feb 2017 by
1

Seating was terrible. No proper tables available even though I booked in advance. Some dim sum was over cooked visited Opium on 03 Feb 2017

Reply from Opium

Thank you for reviewing your last visit with us at Opium. Opium is a cocktail lounge with a mixture of scattered low tables, chairs and comfy armchairs as well as a small dining area. We would also like to apologise for the over cooked Dim Sum and we will ensure that we communicate this feedback with our team to guarantee that this will not happen again. We sincerely apologise that you have experienced this on your last visit and we warmly welcome all feedback to guarantee future customer satisfaction. We would like to invite you back to join us with some complimentary cocktails. Please can you send over an email with your contact details to belle@thebreakfastgroup.co.uk. We look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Opium Team
05 Feb 2017 by
3

it was amazing, as always. great cocktails and amazing service visited Opium on 03 Feb 2017
05 Feb 2017 by
5

Nice venue for cocktails but cocktails themselves overpriced and not as good quality as I would expect. The opium cup just tastes like fruit juice. Dim sum is really tasty but difficult to eat as the lighting is so low and the tables are too low to eat properly. Nice place for drinks but nothing special. visited Opium on 03 Feb 2017
05 Feb 2017 by
3

Great, secret hidden gem. Delish cocktails and is a great place to go for a drink to start the evening off. The bar tender was very friendly and helpful with our drinks.
26 Jan 2017 by
4

Great cocktails and a very cool ambiance. Got involved as part of a London food tour and Opium was a definite highlight. Bar tender was very attentive and dim sum was great. We are addicted, will be back for sure.
26 Jul 2016 by
5

Amazing secret bar with the best cocktail list! Cozy and intimate but works for either date night or a speak easy for a group of friends . A little pricey but worth it
18 May 2016 by
5
1 person people found this helpful

Had an amazing Friday night and absolutely loved Opium & waitress who was serving us. Unfortunately, I forgot my bag at the bar and realised it only on Sunday afternoon. I called the bar and the manager said that they don’t have my bag; however he promised to check with my waitress and will get back to me. I never received a call back and I had to call more than 15 times to get hold of someone. The manager confirmed one more time that they don’t have my bag. On Tuesday, I went to Opium to check again. Manager confirmed one more time that they don’t have my bag. However, I asked to speak to my waitress who was serving me on Friday. The waitress recognised me and said that she knows where my bag is. She was very helpful and she made an effort to find my bag, which I really appreciate. I was shocked the way the manager dealt with this situation. He obviously, never tried to look or find out where the bag was. He never got back to me and he never spoke to my waitress, although he promised. Also, I never received a reply to my email that I sent on Sunday afternoon. He hasn’t apologised and the fact that my bag found so easily when in my presence was totally ignored from his side. Very frustrating.

Reply from Opium

Hi Erika, We're so sorry about your poor experience. Unfortunately this Monday was the May Day bank holiday. Our bookings team were therefore taking some well-deserved rest and not responding to emails, and the telephone was only being answered while someone was in the building (after 5pm on Sunday). It seems that your waitress had put the bag somewhere different to where we normally keep lost property. As such the duty manager checked our lost property and couldn’t find your bag. We will ensure she goes through some disciplinary action and re-training, to ensure that this mistake is not made again. I understand how distressing it must have been for you to not have access to your beloved trainers over the weekend. However, on the plus side we did manage to re-unite you with them on the next working day!
04 May 2016 by
1
1 person people found this helpful

Came here for cocktails. The cocktails were really good - had a great mezcal cocktail. I wasn't too impressed with the overall service. They stuck us on a table that was too small so we requested to be moved. We felt the host could have been more accommodating. But the cocktails and dim sum were good so worth a visit
03 Apr 2016 by
4
1 person people found this helpful

I went there with a few friends for my birthday and I wasn't disappointed at all. Great choice of cocktails and Dim Sum. The staff is very friendly and they do provide a great service. I will definitely come back soon. Remy visited Opium on 18 Feb 2016
22 Feb 2016 by
5

I LOVED THIS PLACE!!!!!!! I came here for my birthday two years ago, Speakeasy, secretive, cute, wonderful waiting staff! my friends loved it, its packed but in a non claustrophobic way, had six of my friends at a table, could all hear eachother and ate a plenty and not too expensive! was lovely , coming back with my boyfriend! xxxxxxxxxxxx amelia visited Opium on 22 Feb 2014
29 Jan 2016 by
5

been too a lot of bars in London and this one ...was perfect. if you want a nice snack (the dim sum is yummy), good mixologist making you delicious drinks, great music and easy atmosphere... this is the place. We were in the Peony room and Ramsey made great drinks for us. Recommend a reservation as they were full , but we made one and no problems going in. Will come again.
17 Nov 2015 by
5
1 person people found this helpful

There was a knucklehead bouncer at the door who kept me and my guests waiting for 10 mins, even though we had a reservation. He said he was only there temporarily, and when I gave him the feedback, politely, he said he was only working there and really didn't care and it was a temporary job anyways. Upstairs we waited for our drinks for 20 mins until I raised it w/mgmt, then the waiter came by and showed me his already opened bottle of wine for me to taste. Decent decor but they really don't know what they are doing. Tom visited Opium on 28 Sep 2015
30 Sep 2015 by
1
1 person people found this helpful

A cosy and quiet cocktail bar where me and my friends were enjoying lovely cocktails. Loved the deco and the staff was very friendly (from door man to bartenders). I will definetely coming back when I am at China town next time.
14 Sep 2015 by
4

A little quiet and oddly cold temperature-wise for a Friday night but the cocktails and dim sum were excellent. Staff lovely and helpful. Will definitely be coming back sometime soon.
16 Aug 2015 by
4

China Town hideaway with great drinks but go on a thursday -Saturday as the third floor isnt open till then try the Opium number 5 The dumplings are good Bao nice
17 Jun 2015 by
4

A really nice speakeasy hidden behind a jade door in Chinatown. Serving delicious dim sum, the menu is an oriental food fiend's dream. Or you could ask to go straight to the bar and order a couple of drinks
08 May 2015 by
5
1 person people found this helpful

Went here for a date recently. Can't deny how super cool it is. A def hidden gem. The cocktails were really good and we had some dim sum. Also very very tasty. 4 cocktails and a few baskets of dim sum came to around £80. Not cheap but money well spent
06 Mar 2015 by
4
1 person people found this helpful

Another great night at Opium. It's just so effortlessly cool and everyone I take this is always wowed. I'd say the bouncer could be friendlier especially as all the staff upstairs are so friendly. Not the best impression at the door. Had a War of Roses cocktail and asked them to make an Old Fashioned. Both delicious and had the veggie dim sum basket which was tasty. It definitely isn't wallet friendly but worth it.
20 Feb 2015 by
5

Brilliantly sticky dim-sum and some amazing dragonfruit cocktails. Walked past the door a whole bunch but such a utopia once you find it. prettiest little pad in china town! x
30 Jan 2015 by
4

Just had another great night here had a fab evening with smashing cocktails and lobster dumplings to die for, the staff are very friendly and efficient making this a great place to go for a good evening out
19 Oct 2014 by
5

Had drinks in the Attic at Opium and went down to The Apothecary as well- very cool. Really enjoyed Opium- the cocktails were fresh and inventive and the dim sum was lovely. Great ambience and service as well. Would definitely recommend it.
21 Sep 2014 by
4

I went here a couple of months ago on a first date - my date chose it as a place to impress, and it certainly worked! Cocktails were great, dim sum was really tasty, a cool place for a first date for sure. Ambience good, service good, worth a try.
14 Jul 2014 by
4

Food was superb and excellent value but the drinks are really expensive. but will go back very soon for the dim sum but heading on for a few beers somewhere else.
30 Jun 2014 by
4

I actually found it massively disappointing. Drinks were average and service wasn't great either. The photos really make the place look fantastic, however I found it to be a complete let down - I was quite embarrassed to take friends there!
12 Jun 2014 by
2

Went there on Tuesday night. Only the top floor was open as the other two were being refurbished... this meant going up 4 flights of stairs for my wife, in high heels. Once we got there, the air conditioning was not on and we had to ask a somewhat moody waitress for it to be switched on (she claimed it already was... it wasn't). The drinks were good, sevice from two of the three waiters was good, the third was less than average. The venue is nice and a bit quirky. Dim-sum on offer was good. I would go there again but would recommend getting a table around 7:30 when the atmosphere picks up.
12 Jun 2014 by
3
1 person people found this helpful

Took advantage of the DMN email with the offer and it was great! Didnt know about this place until I got the email and it really is a secret gem. So cool that its just a non-descript green door and then it opens up to 3 floors (i think). Dim sum was lovely and the cocktails were different. No mojitos here! Quite expensive but worth it for the quality and experience
23 May 2014 by
4

A really enjoyable night. The cocktails were quirky while still being incredibly tasty. Definitely a great secret find to take friends along to. I plan to go again! Thank you DMN!!
15 May 2014 by
4

Cosy, funky, unpretentious, cool, has the advantage of not being rammed (although I was there on a Mon eve! But if booking is required as seats are allocated then prob always will be that way). Perfect first date venue - the "hidden" element adds an extra cool point.
29 Jan 2014 by
5

1st time visiting Opium and would highly recommend. Thanks to DMN for organising as i would never have stumbled upon this hidden gem. One of my favourite bars in london. Ideal for drinks with friends/dates/corp team night outs. Will be taking another set of friends soon and claiming bragging rights for "discovering" this very cool, exclusive-feeling bar. Cocktails were amazing

Reply from Opium

Wow... What a lovely review! So happy you discovered us too! Well... So glad DMN introduced us ;)
20 Dec 2013 by
5

3rd visit to Opium and as good as ever. Dim Sum best in the west end and vodka cocktails in medicine bottles just what the doctor ordered! Thanks DMN for arranging the "den" for my party.

Reply from Opium

Delighted you enjoyed your night with us again before Christmas. Hope we see lots of you in 2014... Happy New Year :)
18 Dec 2013 by
5
1 person people found this helpful

Cool west-end crowd, amazing drinks and very unique interior. My fave place is to sit at the Kitchen table watching the bartenders stir up cocktails as if I had a private cocktail maker in my house. Everyone I have brought loves Opium and also loving their concept of deep-house music on weekend nights! Definitely in my top 10 London venues!

Reply from Opium

Hello Simone... So glad you loved your night with us... Looking forward to exceeding expectations again next time you're in!! We're currently putting the finishing touches to our new cocktail menu... It's GOOD!!!
07 Nov 2013 by
5
1 person people found this helpful

Went here with 9 friends for my birthday drinks on Saturday night. The service was terrible. The place was half empty so I couldn't understand why it took so long to order drinks and for them to come to the table. The dim sim also took forever to come out. One of our party ordered prawn toast and waited 45 mins and was told the reason it was taking so long is because it was being made from scratch. Then when it did come out it was stone cold. So we sent it back and they still tried to charge us for it. We will not be going back. Shame considering the good reviews on here.

Reply from Opium

Hello Talktomikey, I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience with us. I can 100% assure you that this is not the norm for us. Please get in touch and allow us rectify the bad experience. If you email info@opiumchinatown.com - FAO Maria, I'll make sure we get to the bottom of this!
15 Oct 2013 by
2
1 person people found this helpful

Seriously cool place and the cocktails are beyond anything! Deff right into my top 5

Reply from Opium

Great to hear it Sarah ;) Top 5?? That's pretty cool... Looking forward to hopefully seeing you over the festive season!
23 Jul 2013 by
5
1 person people found this helpful

Went last night, was really cool! will def be back again!! Lovely dumplings!!

Reply from Opium

Nice one Sheldoncooper... Have you been back yet?? You should consider spending NYE with us... Just putting the finishing touches to our night now!! It's def gonna be a great night! EEK!!
24 May 2013 by
5

My new favourite bar in london! Amazing cocktails, delish food and quirky cool interior! Really feel like you've stumbled across a hidden gem that no one knows about.

Reply from Opium

Nice one pauljones... Favourite place in London?? Wow... Cheers :)
17 May 2013 by
5

Even though this place is in China Town and still plays on the asian-inspired theme with dumplings..it's so different. I mean the crowd is so much west-end/east and cool and the place is a great hang out for drinks and catching up with friends! My new little fave place in central London.

Reply from Opium

Good to hear it steak_n_chips!!
04 Dec 2012 by
4

Show all Show fewer


If you like Opium, you should also book...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.