Zigfrid von Underbelly

{{currentVenue.offers.length}} Offers Available!


{{offer.availabilityDays}} between {{offer.availabilityTimes}} , {{time}} {{offer.availabilityNumPeople}} ( Valid from {{offer.start_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} to {{offer.expiry_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} )


Make a booking to select an offer



Sorry, there are no times available to book on this date.

Go back

Please note:
{{venueName}} This venue has availability at these times:
We couldn't find any availability around the times you specified, but you can still make an enquiry.

Type of enquiry

Booking confirmed

Woohoo! Your booking at {{venueName}} is confirmed. You will receive confirmation via text and email shortly.

Thank you for booking with DesignMyNight.com

Enquiry received

{{venueName}} We have successfully received your booking enquiry and will get back to you as soon as possible. You will be contacted by the {{venueName}} team shortly.

We have received your booking enquiry and we will work with {{venueName}} to confirm your booking. You will receive confirmation of this enquiry via text and email shortly.

Name: {{booking.first_name}} {{booking.last_name}}
Date: {{booking.date | date:'EEEE d MMMM'}}
Time: {{booking.time}}
Guests: {{booking.num_people}}
Checking availability..


Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo


Zigfrid wanted to create spaces that punks, artists, musicians, IT people and all around cool heads and free thinkers could inhabit. He focused on Hoxton Square and linked up with some of the Goldsmiths graduates who had a studio there. They were Paul Daly, Garry Hume, Sarah Lucas, Richard Patterson - all young punks. Ziggy and Daly struck up a friendship and decided to open a space that brings together people of all ages.

Zigfrid von Underbelly was born: a home from home eating, drinking and thinking establishment aimed at people who believe "free your mind and your ass will follow". At the moment nobody knows where Ziggy is and as usual he is running things from the shadows and tall trees. He's back at the heart of the Berlin electronic music scene I bet.

Shoreditch clubbing, dining and drinking can all be enjoyed at Zigfrid von Underbelly in a wonderful, quirky and completely non-sensical mish-mash of interiors. One of the best London late night DJ bars without a doubt thanks to their off-kilter stance and post-sundown antics. 



Day Open Close Notes
12:00 01:00
12:00 01:00
12:00 01:00
12:00 01:00
12:00 03:00
12:00 03:00
12:00 00:00


Zigfrid von Underbelly
11 Hoxton Square, Shoreditch, London, N1 6NU

East London

Nearest station:
Old Street (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps


Drink Prices Price
Pint of Lager £4.10
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £3.50
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £5.50
Cocktail £7.90
Spirit and Mixer (50ml double shot and mixer) £8.50
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £6.50
Bottle of House Wine £17.50
Bottle of Champagne £49.50
Jaeger Bomb £5.00


This venue serves British, International and Pub Food food.

A word from the chef:
An honest home cooked menu of all things that make us happy: hearty favourites from Britain & America (think bangers & mash and BBQ ribs) as well as pizza, a solid burger list & sharing plates. We have made sure that each section on our menu has something for vegetarians and vegans too, so everyone can come together and have a good time! Our brunch is served on Saturdays & Sundays until 4pm and Sundays are roast days all day long.

Our Review

Zigfrid Von Underbelly London - DJ Bar Review

Zigfrid Von Underbelly London - DJ Bar Review

Set in the heart of bustling Hoxton, Zigfrid Von Underbelly is a fun and raucous drinking den that boasts one of the best party atmospheres in East London. With regular DJs and live acts on the cards, it’s never a quiet night when you pay this...

Read our full Zigfrid Von Underbelly London - DJ Bar Review review

Private Hire

Name Type Capacity
Cost Min spend
Min spend
Venue Venue Hire 620 £6k £12k
* The minimum spends are a guideline only and vary according to the day and time of the year.

(42 reviews) Show all Show fewer

{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}

Great food, great service. Veggie options particularly good. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 03 Dec 2016
05 Dec 2016 by Zigfrid von Underbelly customer

Polite waitress even though we had several adjustments to make to our order. Quick service once seated, although it take a bit of time to be seated, despite how quite it was visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 29 Nov 2016
01 Dec 2016 by Zigfrid von Underbelly customer

Had a great birthday here. Bar staff were lovely , I can't remember the girls name who served me ( too many cocktails ) but she couldn't have been friendlier always had a smile on her face concidering how busy she was. Music was great. Loved our reserved seating area ,I will definitely be back. Leigha visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 26 Nov 2016
28 Nov 2016 by Leigha

My first time at Zigfrid. Good drinks, reasonably priced food and friendly staff. Decor is a bit dated but it was a nice night with friends visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 25 Nov 2016
27 Nov 2016 by Zigfrid von Underbelly customer

Pretty bad service here. Also seemed to have an issue when ordering drinks at the bar. Service industry - shouldn't expect a lot. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 25 Nov 2016
27 Nov 2016 by Zigfrid von Underbelly customer

Great staff, great food and a really good atmosphere. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 09 Nov 2016
11 Nov 2016 by Zigfrid von Underbelly customer

Loved it! So much fun, and great value drinks visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 22 Oct 2016
25 Oct 2016 by Zigfrid von Underbelly customer

We booked for a hen do on Saturday 22nd October 2016 and had the most brilliant time. Food Great, service very good and staff extremely helpful visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 22 Oct 2016
24 Oct 2016 by Zigfrid von Underbelly customer

Chill out in comfortable sofas with a fruity cocktail on week days, expected a much busier atmosphere on week-ends. friendly bar but always feels understaffed...
29 Sep 2016 by colinet

Not the worst place or experience ever, but surely not the best..I went last NYE and it was nothing fancy but it was busy (of course..) and there was a good vibe..I also really liked the venue, very cool indeed, so I decided to spend my b'day there last Tuesday, surely not the best choice..I even booked an area for 15 people but soon I realized I didn't need to...the place was empty (maybe 6-8 people) and very very quite..so we decided to move to a busier place after about 3 hours..and we found it! The Translate! I wish we moved there earlier..we had such a good time there,.So finally mediocre waiting service, average service at the bar, mediocre happy hour, not the best weekday bar, very nice venue though.. Alberto visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 31 May 2016

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hi Alberto, thank you for choosing us for your birthday and it's good to read you think our venue is nice! Zigfrid usually has a nice buzz about it, but sometimes on a Tuesday, right after a bank holiday, when everyone has partied out and overspent the salary that hit their bank accounts what feels like 5 minutes ago, it can be quiet, yes. We would have liked to hope that one would still find it cozy and interesting to hang out with us. Happy belated birthday! x
02 Jun 2016 by Alberto

great bar, table was reserved. great safe atmosphere, forgot to to give us our £50 reservation credit but contacting them about it. Would recommend this bar to anyone looking for a great night. gambit visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 14 May 2016
16 May 2016 by gambit

Booked a table for dinner for 15 people and the area was great. Waitress was super friendly and attentive, food was nice (even if my calzone wasn't a top choice!) and the pub always has a good vibe to it! Will definitely be going back and I'm glad I risked having dinner there too! :) Thanks Ziggy! helder_rf visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 07 May 2016
09 May 2016 by helder_rf

Visited on Wednesday 22nd. Rather disappointed, had booked online with the request "Its going to be a lovely day on Wednesday, please can we have a table outside" Booking was confirmed and my request was included in the email receipt. Upon arrival, the waiter said they had got us a table in the restaurant at the back, I said I booked a table outside and he seemed surprised. Leading us outside, all of the sunny tables were taken and so we had to sit in the total shade of the umbrella on what was indeed a beautiful sunny day. Following that, half of us received our food & then 10 minutes later the food for the other members of our party arrived. We had ordered at the same time. Also, we were not impressed by the salad of raw red and green cabbage that came with the fish pie. It was not clear on the menu how the cabbage would come with the fish pie, we did not imagine a large bowl of raw cabbage. We spent a good part of the rest of the meal laughing about why these things were paired together. We mentioned this at the end and the waiter got the chef out to explain himself. We thought this was unnecessary but out he came anyway. The chef was really excited about his cabbage salad and asked our party member if she could taste the lime juice drizzled over it. We left feeling he had not quite got the point. I would not recommend.

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hi Ed, What a bummer! We are really, really sorry about that sunny table! The team member who handled your booking and missed the note about the table outside will be trained again on handling bookings. We're sorry we had ran out of mash that day, but the pies also come with chips. In any case, we'll definitely discuss the cabageness of the salad with the chef. We're sorry you didn't appreciate the chef explaining it, the waiter simply wasn't sure how to take all that laughing. Apologies again and here's to more sunny days in London so you can maybe give us another chance?!
22 Apr 2016 by Edward

I was a little disappointed as the table area I had booked seemed to have been taken by someone else when I arrived so we were left with another table which meant we had loads of random people coming and sitting in our area. My impressed!!!!! Dani visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 19 Mar 2016

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hi Dani, Oh no! We are not sure how this could have happened since we had your name on one of the best tables in the house! We do need to turn tables and for that reason our reserved signs say that other guests are welcome to hang around until the party who booked the table arrives. Our booking confirmation emails ask guests to inform a staff member once they have arrived so that we can make sure your table is ready for you and the bar tab in return for your booking deposit is set up. If you have a minute, drop us a line with more info please so we can make sense of how this could have happened. Please accept our apologies and we look forward to seeing you again! Zx
22 Mar 2016 by Dani

Booked a table for quite a big group of friends for my birthday and all was great! The table was well located and the service was great!! Food was served quickly despite a massive order and they were always happy to help if we had any other requests or questions. Also despite it being Friday night, music was well managed and so in the restaurant area we can still talk and hear each other easily! Irina visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 12 Feb 2016
16 Feb 2016 by Irina

Have been to the bar a few times and had a great time, so decided this would be a great place to host our teams Christmas Party. The table was great, and the staff were very organised with making sure they knew where everyone was sitting to give people their meals. However after that it went downhill. There was 29 people at the table, and we had the three course sit down meal. Three courses took over 3 hours to serve, with most peoples food cold, each order was served at different times, so for example people who had ordered the veg option were given their meal at least 30 minutes before everyone else. I also got told that there would be a DJ until 1am in the club area downstairs. However we found out on the night that this area was actually closed due to a bigger party hiring the space. I couldn't fault the staff, however the whole experience was awful. remikersey visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 03 Dec 2015

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hi Remi, We are very happy that you have had a great time with us in the past and chose to bring your team over for that reason - thank you. We are shocked to get this feedback as nothing of this sort was voiced to us on the night. We have checked our cameras and can see that there were 5 minutes between the first and the last starter, 15 minutes between the first and the last main and the same with the first and the last dessert to be brought to the table. 30 minutes is therefore a bit of an exaggeration. We have a fairly small kitchen and all of your dishes were prepared fresh and indeed, we cannot knock out 30 dishes at once and therefore offer a more of a relaxed, homey experience, apologies if this wasn't to your liking. The manager on duty has confirmed that another member of your party did indeed ask about entry to Underbelly which wasn't unfortunately possible. We don't know who voiced this to her, perhaps it was a misunderstanding, but we never have DJs in Underbelly until 1am on Thursdays. Neither this or the fact that Underbelly would be open to the public on that night was confirmed during the booking process - we confirmed that there wold be a DJ until 1am in upstairs Zigfrid, the room you were having your meal in. The duty manager was under the impression she managed to deal with all the requests you had. Again, we are sorry if we got anything wrong - the impression we got was that you stayed almost until closing time being happy. If there's anything left to clarify, drop us a line please and we hope to have you visit us soon again! Zx
07 Dec 2015 by remikersey

I'm a big fan of this bar so booked a table here for my Birthday drinks with 15 guests on a Friday night. I did have to pay £50 deposit to reserve the space - but this was redeemable as a bar tab. We had a decent table with sofas which was right by the bar, however service at the bar got painfully slow as the night went on. it got to the point it took up half hour to get a drink, so we ended up leaving. Overall experience was good though, just a shame about the bar service. Rikki visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 29 May 2015

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hi Rikki, Thank you for your feedback and we are very happy to hear you had a good overall experience! Apologies for the speed of service, there is nothing else in the whole world we would love more than having a big fan celebrate with us for the whole night. Sometimes it happens that we are a team member short, but in general it's something we are working on constantly. We hope you've been back since and look forward to seeing you again and again. Zx
16 Sep 2015 by Rikki

Me and my partner went here on saturday, upon arrival the bouncers were rude and told us to look for our own table. When we was seated by one of the staff we thought it was a joke as the table was cramped in to a corner and we was next to 7 very drunk men who was rude and being sexually explicit and kept knocking my chair. We asked to move the table at the end the man said no as it would block the fire exit.... why the hell would you have a table there then? Anyway I ordered pizza and chips my partner had burger and wedges it took 45 minutes for our food to arrive! The pizza was tasteless full of grease and the cheese was soggy the chips was nice.

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Dear Katie, We are very sorry everything didn't go to plan this time. Our security works on the door and cannot leave their post. We don't really have a greeter so when you make a booking we kindly ask our guests to let a staff member inside the venue know that you have arrived so they can show you to your table. If you didn't make a booking then it's all democratic and you are free to take a seat at any table that doesn't have a reserved sign on it; or you can ask a staff member inside the venue to assist you. Apologies if this wasn't clear to you. We also apologise for the long wait for food, rest assured, there's no grease added to our pizzas - we only use fresh and quality ingredients, including cheese that melts in the oven. We are also sorry for not being able to move the table in front of the fire exit means of escape. We sincerely hope that you'll give us another chance! Zx
06 Jul 2015 by katier

Booked a table for 11 people to eat on Saturday night. When we arrived we'd been given a tiny table in the bar area. When I questioned this I was told this was my fault for booking a bar area table, although I had specifically asked for a restaurant style table so we could eat on the night. We got moved to the restaurant but told (with 2 hours until the next booking) that we needed to be quick. We then got asked to vacate the table, with 45 minutes still remaining until the next booking. Needless to say, we then went to another venue. I've always loved this bar, but was quite let down by the poor service. The staff in general all seemed a bit fed up with the night. Sadly we won't be going back anytime soon.
23 Mar 2015 by sarah000000000000000001
1 person people found this helpful

Great atmosphere, good service and music. Was a fabulous night. Only problem was I had booked area from 6:30pm and the note on the table said 8pm so people were not happy when asked to move!
15 Mar 2015 by lp1

Great food ... best onion rings that I can remember! Brilliant atmosphere and Music. Service was ok-ish Toilets need cleaning up and had no soap. 12.5% service charge added to bill (even though only table for 4) ... yes, it can be removed from the bill ... but took forever to get he bill in the first place ... AND you know us Brits - too bloody polite to raise a Fuss ;-)
03 Mar 2015 by comboot

Booked a table for 10 on sat 28th feb - made to pay non refundable £50 deposit that could be redeemed with drinks which I was ok with. arrived and enquired where the table was, I was given no help to find the table and had to ask 3 times to get shown where it was. Turned out to be a 4 seat table with people already sitting there. Had to complain firstly to get the people off of it and then when I mentioned it only had 4 seats they said "if you read the email confirmation it says this could be a combination of seating and standing" - what a cop out!!! I booked this 2 weeks before hand as I was planning a special event and all I got was a table tucked in the corner that 4 people would struggle to eat breakfast at let alone accommodate 10 seating / standing. I complained once more and asked for the deposit back and they refused to even let me have the £50 back. Putting that behind me I decided to give the place a chance and stick it out but looking around the venue is run down, it was so overcrowded and ridiculously hot - its was a proper sweat box!!!. The staff were useless, slow and so rude, the bar was packed and took for ever to get a drink. Finally ordered one round to spend the compulsory £50 then left as it was unbearable and there are so many better places to go. Honest opinion - avoid this place at all costs if you want a good night. p.s Did I say the staff here are out right rude and f**king useless!!!!!

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hi Mark, Thanks for coming down - your custom is always very much appreciated! We would also appreciate if you accepted our apologies and would like to offer an explanation from our side. The Saturday in question was a very busy one for us. We were almost fully booked and also had a large group of 50 from lunchtime who stayed well into the night and used all the remaining space. We accept the table booked for you was on a small side, but it can seat 5 and there is also some place for standing and mingling. The manager who dealt with you has said he moved the people seated at your table and had it cleaned quickly. You did complain about the size of the table and the manager apologised. He did mention that the booking email says that the area is some seated, some standing. In order to make it up to you, the manager offered that he could move you to Underbelly downstairs when the bands had finished and you seemed happy with that. He was very apologetic and has said he would not have left you had he thought you were unhappy. Having said all that, we thank you for your comments and are looking into making our booking system clearer and will also check what happened with the air conditioning. We don't, however, accept that the place is run down as we continuously work on the upkeep of our interior. Of course, we do get very busy and things might not be as polished well into Saturday night. We'll take everything constructive on board and hope you'll visit us again sometime soon, but please do remember that we are all just doing our job the best we can, trying to improve the independent business that is Zigfrid von Underbelly. So calling us "f**king useless!!!!!" is not actually true nor constructive seeing as we did our best and offered you a big booth in Underbelly as a gesture which you appeared to have accepted. Zx
03 Mar 2015 by mark_fuller
1 person people found this helpful

Reserved table for 20. We were given a great space towards the back that allowed us to have people standing around drinking as well. Decent food and drinks - we had a great night,
12 Jan 2015 by jamie_90
1 person people found this helpful

My experience in Zigfrid was disappointing. I booked a space for 25 people, when we arrived, it were 2 small tables in a side of the room and there were busy. we asked to staff for assistance and they didn't seem to care... they offered an even worst alternative, and after asking them twice they vacated the tables. In addition, one of the barman was rude and not welcoming at all, new staff was trained at the same moment when the bar was packed. The coktails were of a very low quality. Honestly I wouldn't recommend it.
21 Dec 2014 by eheredia

We held our Christmas Party at the Underbelly, the staff were amazing, really helpful and friendly. Reasonable prices, great selection of drinks and good food. Also, great music by DJ Gem. Many thanks for a great night!
15 Dec 2014 by chocolina
1 person people found this helpful

Funky looking place, with some great decor and good tunes played throughout the night. Staff helpful & friendly, with tasty canapes to eat. Everyone commented how much they liked the place! Nice outdoor area w heaters too for those who wanted to brave the cold! Would recommend!
15 Dec 2014 by sga

Nice venue and music, from the happy our to late night. Even though the space was tight for our big group of friend the staff was really helpful and flexible. Great service!
24 Nov 2014 by Giorgia

Great staff, great place and great food! Kudos for the Vegan friendly choice! Highly recommended for a night out if you want something different and definitely a must if you love David Bowie.
03 Nov 2014 by gessicap

This is a very cool, quirky and slightly missable bar but with a heaving crowd you can forgive the slightly greasy feel to the place on closer look. The food was adequate though not exciting, the drinks not so exciting and on a whole, nothing that would tempt me to return. If anything, the well placed outside seating and heaters made for a more enjoyable space to hang with friends. outside with well placed seating and
30 May 2014 by beautygeek

pulling in a cool and stylish bar from across east london, zigfrid is good fun throughout the week. ideal for a quiet few and a great place to get the party started over the weekend, this is a good all rounder. the heated smoking area is always buzzing, warm and inviting when the inside area is a bit crowded.
24 Dec 2013 by beckyomalley

Love the decor of this place and the cocktails are great. It's really buzzy and loud so probably not the place for a quiet drink and catch up but great if you're in the mood for somewhere a bit lively. I'd definitely reserve a table if you're planning on heading there as I struggled a little to find a seat when I went although it was quite late on a Friday.
07 Jun 2013 by kitkat

The doorman is clueless, frisking a 40 year old woman, having no common sense whatsoever. Bar staff is not paying any attention to customers who wish to order a drink, more busy dancing away and having a good time themselves. Regarding food, two waitresses showed up in quick succession and both times we told them we needed a few mins to look at the menu to decide and both were not seen again until they removed the menus. Get a manager in there who cracks the whip on this complacent lot. Until then avoid at all costs
11 May 2013 by crystalsuite

Always a trendy, up for it crowd. Never had a bad night here! Venue itself is really quirky and plays great house music. It's open until pretty late Fridays and Saturdays too...
21 Mar 2013 by fountainhead991

This is my sort of place! Inspired by the revolutionary punk rock movement, you can be sure that this place can play the biggest rock anthems you fell in love over the years. Everyone is supper friendly, and you can get to share a table with strangers if you kindly ask for a place to leave your drink. Gets really dancey later at night, so get them shoes kicked off, if you had any to begin with! Personally I have met, this really nice scottish guy, who has talked me through the perks of his language and further into latin and greek, This is a rather inspiring place, if you are after more than an usual drink!
16 Feb 2013 by meredith

Good food, good service and very lovely decor - if you like jukebox bars this is a top quality Shoreditch style version - you should go just for a taste of one of their great 'Rock'tails...
13 Feb 2013 by barry_knows_best

Went here last saturday and was pleasantly surprised! got there at 11ish and only had to queue for 5 minutes as they moved it along quickly. The bar was already really busy and buzzy with some areas and sofas to make a base! I had heard that the music would be a bit housey but not at all! It was a good combination of cool commercial music and some house and everyone is up dancing. Had a peak at the restaurant area at the back too...might be trying dinner there next time (the drinking!! ha!)
05 Mar 2012 by jumpintothe_..

What a great night!! Went here on saturday the music was amazing. Love house music! Great fun crowd!! :)
01 Dec 2011 by coolitalia
1 person people found this helpful

Went to a cracking night here on a Sat. Easy to get in and great house DJs! Still seems to be a bit of a hidden gem somehow!
27 Nov 2011 by sarahb

This is fast becoming one of my favourite hang outs in Shoreditch possibly London! Its so quirky and original, I spend half the time just admiring the decorations and things hanging on the walls! Once inside its a cool, Shoreditch based crowd, friendly though, and all looking for a cool night out. Drinks are well priced, the music original and new, and the vibe is very lively at the weekends!
04 Oct 2011 by becky2sticks

Awesome place especially for drinks on a Friday. Lively and not expensive
26 Nov 2010 by jamesdillons

Cool bar with good drinks menu in the heart of shoreditch...defo worth checking out!
24 Nov 2010 by john_fallows

This place has funk- With a young Bill Gates staring down at you from the wall how could you not enjoy yourself amongst the gathering of local hipsters. Grab a seat by the window and enjoy the rare english sun, or hideaway in the back on a big comfy sofa. Great to enjoy a casual day drink, and pumping on a Fruday night, you have to give this one a go!
13 Oct 2010 by pooper

Show all Show fewer

If you like Zigfrid von Underbelly, you should also book...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.