Zigfrid von Underbelly

{{currentVenue.offers.length}} Offers Available!

{{offer.title}}

{{offer.availabilityDays}} between {{offer.availabilityTimes}} , {{time}} {{offer.availabilityNumPeople}} ( Valid from {{offer.start_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} to {{offer.expiry_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} )

{{offer.description}}



Make a booking to select an offer

{{numPeopleNote}}

Ok

Sorry, there are no times available to book on this date.

Go back

Please note:
{{restrictionNotes}}
Back
{{venueName}} This venue has availability at these times:
We couldn't find any availability around the times you specified, but you can still make an enquiry.

Type of enquiry

Booking confirmed

Woohoo! Your booking at {{venueName}} is confirmed. You will receive confirmation via text and email shortly.

Thank you for booking with DesignMyNight.com

Enquiry received

{{venueName}} We have successfully received your booking enquiry and will get back to you as soon as possible. You will be contacted by the {{venueName}} team shortly.

We have received your booking enquiry and we will work with {{venueName}} to confirm your booking. You will receive confirmation of this enquiry via text and email shortly.

Name: {{booking.first_name}} {{booking.last_name}}
Date: {{booking.date | date:'EEEE d MMMM'}}
Time: {{booking.time}}
Guests: {{booking.num_people}}
Checking availability..

Oops!

Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo Zigfrid von Underbelly photo

Description

Zigfrid wanted to create spaces that punks, artists, musicians, IT people and all around cool heads and free thinkers could inhabit. He focused on Hoxton Square and linked up with some of the Goldsmiths graduates who had a studio there. They were Paul Daly, Garry Hume, Sarah Lucas, Richard Patterson - all young punks. Ziggy and Daly struck up a friendship and decided to open a space that brings together people of all ages.

Zigfrid von Underbelly was born: a home from home eating, drinking and thinking establishment aimed at people who believe "free your mind and your ass will follow". At the moment nobody knows where Ziggy is and as usual he is running things from the shadows and tall trees. He's back at the heart of the Berlin electronic music scene I bet.

Shoreditch clubbing, dining and drinking can all be enjoyed at Zigfrid von Underbelly in a wonderful, quirky and completely non-sensical mish-mash of interiors. One of the best London late night DJ bars without a doubt thanks to their off-kilter stance and post-sundown antics. 

Info

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
16:00 01:00
16:00 01:00
16:00 01:00
12:00 01:00
12:00 03:00
12:00 03:00
12:00 00:00

Location

Zigfrid von Underbelly
11 Hoxton Square, Shoreditch, London, N1 6NU

Area:
East London

Nearest station:
Old Street (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Pint of Lager £4.10
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £3.50
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £5.50
Cocktail £7.90
Spirit and Mixer (50ml double shot and mixer) £8.50
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £6.50
Bottle of House Wine £17.50
Bottle of Champagne £49.50
Jaeger Bomb £5.00

Menus

Zigfrid Von Underbelly Food & Drinks Menu Download


This venue serves British, International and Pub Food food.

A word from the chef:
An honest home cooked menu of all things that make us happy: hearty favourites from Britain & America (think bangers & mash and BBQ ribs) as well as pizza, a solid burger list & sharing plates. We have made sure that each section on our menu has something for vegetarians and vegans too, so everyone can come together and have a good time! Our brunch is served on Saturdays & Sundays until 4pm and Sundays are roast days all day long.

Our Review

Zigfrid Von Underbelly London - DJ Bar Review

Zigfrid Von Underbelly London - DJ Bar Review

Set in the heart of bustling Hoxton, Zigfrid Von Underbelly is a fun and raucous drinking den that boasts one of the best party atmospheres in East London. With regular DJs and live acts on the cards, it’s never a quiet night when you pay this...

Read our full Zigfrid Von Underbelly London - DJ Bar Review review

Private Hire

Name Type Capacity
Seated
Capacity
Standing
Cost Min spend
Midweek*
Min spend
Weekend*
Venue Venue Hire 620 £6k £12k
* The minimum spends are a guideline only and vary according to the day and time of the year.

(75 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Great customer service, didnt have to wait long to get served visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 13 Apr 2017
16 Apr 2017 by
4

pleasant atmos, helpful staff delicious food... couldn't ask for more! visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 10 Apr 2017
12 Apr 2017 by
5

I had a good night with a good vibe, the music was brilliant. The only negative point would be the security people. I know they are doing their job but they have to find a way to secure the venue in a more subtle manner. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 08 Apr 2017
10 Apr 2017 by
4

Great service on my birthday party. Absolutely zero arrogance and hassle! visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 25 Mar 2017
27 Mar 2017 by
5

My work team of 32 people went for a night out here in March 2017. We were given a comfortable space and attentive service. Everything was perfect and we'll be going again. Thanks visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 09 Mar 2017
13 Mar 2017 by
5

Great service and nice atmosphere visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 01 Mar 2017
03 Mar 2017 by
4

Very cool place! Music was good. The only problem was the waiting to get a drink at the bar. Took me around 40 minutes to get one! Also I booked a table so I could redeem £50 worth drinks at the bar but no one told me I could do that only upstairs. and I had queued for more than half a hour downstairs.. That was annoying. A part from this I highly recommend it! visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 25 Feb 2017
27 Feb 2017 by
4

Great night. Staff were really helpful and friendly... visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 04 Feb 2017
06 Feb 2017 by
5

Good quality Zigy burger followed by a great evening downstairs at the Greg Miller blues night. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 03 Feb 2017
05 Feb 2017 by
5

Very good service from staff. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 03 Feb 2017
05 Feb 2017 by
5

Very disappointed. I have booked table as it was my Birthday celebration. The table that was given to us was right next to the entrance door. We were cold and had constantly people pushing in to us. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 20 Jan 2017

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hi there and oh dear, it must be the table with the biggest couch we have ever managed to find and the Freemason's throne - it's generally one of the best spots in the house and great for meeting people! We're really sorry the cold weather got to you and that we got so busy on the night! ZvU x
22 Jan 2017 by
2

Very trendy bar with a vibrant atmosphere. I would definitely recommend making a reservation here. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 19 Jan 2017
22 Jan 2017 by
5

Perfect spot for a casual dinner in Hoxton/Shoreditch. Great food too. Sam visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 17 Jan 2017
19 Jan 2017 by
4

Great night, waitress that served us was awesome. Even though the weather kept it quiet, you can tell this place wI'll be very busy when the weather picks up! visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 12 Jan 2017
18 Jan 2017 by
4

Terrible. Spent 20 minutes trying to get served at the bar and eventually gave up and left. Bar staff have no idea how to work a busy bar and look at customers to know who's next in line to be served. Also stools should be removed from the bar at busy times. It blocks up the limited service area which adds to the mayhem of getting served. Simple things but make a big difference. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 14 Jan 2017

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hello! We're terribly sorry - we have a practice of relocating the bar stools at busy times and will be looking into why this instruction wasn't followed on this occasion. We're constantly working on staff training so all your comments are duly noted and appreciated. We hope you will check back sometime soon! ZvU x
16 Jan 2017 by
1

As always, it is a great experience and I was happy to arrange another birthday there! The only things is that people get drinks and the staff charged everything under my name... It was a double birthday, so many people where not friends of mine and I ended up to pay for their drinks... visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 13 Jan 2017
16 Jan 2017 by
4

A really fun and quirky bar with great music, the waitresses were really helpful and the space reserved for our party was perfect, they helped us with our Birthday cake and we really enjoyed the night. The only reason this is not 5 stars is because the bar staff didn't seem very happy and I think it makes a big difference if they are upbeat and smiling when it's busy and you have to wait a long time to be served. Would definitely recommend! visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 14 Jan 2017
16 Jan 2017 by
4

The music was great, and the venue was quirky and fun as always. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 13 Jan 2017
16 Jan 2017 by
4

Fab venue and very helpful staff. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 07 Jan 2017
09 Jan 2017 by
5

We had a great time celebrating my wife's birthday with our friends. Service was spot on. There was a mix up with the table I booked. But they sorted it out straight away. And lastly DJ played all the right tunes which is not norm at bars/clubs. All in all had a fantastic night. We will be back for more visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 07 Jan 2017
09 Jan 2017 by
5

Had a brilliant night - good venue, good food and good music! visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 08 Dec 2016
06 Jan 2017 by
4

We arrived there having booked weeks in advance and having received a confirmation e-mail about our booking on the day before, only to discover that the place was closed for a private function. They told us we could come four hours later, but obviously we were hungry for lunch and so we went to the Jones Family Project which managed to make room for us and were all-round amazing. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 11 Dec 2016

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hello, it appears that the automated confirmation system had outmanoeuvred the manager who missed this in the haste of Christmas parties. Were extremely sorry and cannot apologise enough! We're doing everything in our power so that this doesn't happen again. ZvU x
06 Jan 2017 by
1

Amazing place with great attentive staff and a great DJ :) visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 30 Dec 2016
01 Jan 2017 by
5

I organised our department Christmas meal at Zigfrid's and had a nice time. Unfortunately however, the meal did not match up to the Christmas meal I had there previously. The starter of pork and apple terrine was nice but could have done with a side of bread or served on a salad. As some of the party members requested some bread the waitress could have checked with everyone who ordered the terrine whether they wanted some bread as well but she only brought it out for a couple of the people who asked. The Turkey Christmas dinner was very good!! The dessert was a total let down. The sticky toffee pudding (my favourite pudding) was served on its own, it was dry and the sauce was hard, when I requested some cream, ice-cream or custard the waitress checked with the kitchen and then informed me 'there's not enough cream and we don't have ice-cream'. I own a bar and I understand how ordering food works what I didn't understand was why the waitress said that. To my customers, I will give what I have to a current customer and if needs to be go to a local shop and top up if I don't have time or the need to order from the suppliers. If you do not want to give customers what you do have the best thing I guess would be to advise you have run out. Telling me you don't have enough implies that my custom is not important to you even though our booking was for 10 people and our total spend was approximately £800. Service was okay and atmosphere was nice but the waitress seemed to lack some of the holiday spirit. I will come back for drinks but I won't book for food again. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 22 Dec 2016
29 Dec 2016 by
3

VERY slow service, OK food, felt a bit too commercial Julienne visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 20 Dec 2016
22 Dec 2016 by
3
1 person people found this helpful

The space we was allocated was probably a bit small for 25 people, the bar service was very slow upon arrival (took around 35 minutes to get our first drink and probably could have done with more food. But overall we really enjoyed the night they were very accommodating and flexible. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 15 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
4

Great Night: good food and nice music visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 16 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
4

Terrible. Had our jackets stolen and staff didn't help visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 15 Dec 2016
17 Dec 2016 by
1

Sadly we were not able to get there as we couldn't get cab to you! We lost our £50 deposit too...is this something I can get back? Thanks and merry christmas! Narinder visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 13 Dec 2016
15 Dec 2016 by
3

We found the bar staff to be rude. In a near empty bar they were not fussed to try and relocate us even though we were a party booked for 20 with roughly 5 seats given to us (we were reminded time and again to have checked the Ts&Cs, but such an important bit of information about spacing should be advertised in a far more prominent place.) This soured the night (an xmas party) and it seemed from then on that the bar staff were not fussed with making an effort for us, requests for drinks made at the bar seemed an inconvenience and were accepted with barely a nod of the head. Our booking was until 1am but last orders were called before this & it was made quite clear we were not wanted there any longer. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 13 Dec 2016
15 Dec 2016 by
1

Good music, good atmosphere and friendly staff. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 10 Dec 2016
15 Dec 2016 by
5

Had my fiancee's 40th birthday party here on Saturday night, and I have got to say it was fantastic, particularly David the manager and all the bar staff and security who couldn't do enough to help. Jamie visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 10 Dec 2016
12 Dec 2016 by
5

Booked a space for 20 people. Was given 1 x table for 8 and no additional space. If you don't have room for bookings, would have better to be honest and say as much. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 08 Dec 2016
10 Dec 2016 by
1

Great food, great service. Veggie options particularly good. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 03 Dec 2016
05 Dec 2016 by
5

Polite waitress even though we had several adjustments to make to our order. Quick service once seated, although it take a bit of time to be seated, despite how quite it was visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 29 Nov 2016
01 Dec 2016 by
4

Had a great birthday here. Bar staff were lovely , I can't remember the girls name who served me ( too many cocktails ) but she couldn't have been friendlier always had a smile on her face concidering how busy she was. Music was great. Loved our reserved seating area ,I will definitely be back. Leigha visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 26 Nov 2016
28 Nov 2016 by
5

My first time at Zigfrid. Good drinks, reasonably priced food and friendly staff. Decor is a bit dated but it was a nice night with friends visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 25 Nov 2016
27 Nov 2016 by
3

Pretty bad service here. Also seemed to have an issue when ordering drinks at the bar. Service industry - shouldn't expect a lot. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 25 Nov 2016
27 Nov 2016 by
1

Great staff, great food and a really good atmosphere. visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 09 Nov 2016
11 Nov 2016 by
5

Loved it! So much fun, and great value drinks visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 22 Oct 2016
25 Oct 2016 by
5

We booked for a hen do on Saturday 22nd October 2016 and had the most brilliant time. Food Great, service very good and staff extremely helpful visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 22 Oct 2016
24 Oct 2016 by
5

Chill out in comfortable sofas with a fruity cocktail on week days, expected a much busier atmosphere on week-ends. friendly bar but always feels understaffed...
29 Sep 2016 by
3

Not the worst place or experience ever, but surely not the best..I went last NYE and it was nothing fancy but it was busy (of course..) and there was a good vibe..I also really liked the venue, very cool indeed, so I decided to spend my b'day there last Tuesday, surely not the best choice..I even booked an area for 15 people but soon I realized I didn't need to...the place was empty (maybe 6-8 people) and very very quite..so we decided to move to a busier place after about 3 hours..and we found it! The Translate! I wish we moved there earlier..we had such a good time there,.So finally mediocre waiting service, average service at the bar, mediocre happy hour, not the best weekday bar, very nice venue though.. Alberto visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 31 May 2016

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hi Alberto, thank you for choosing us for your birthday and it's good to read you think our venue is nice! Zigfrid usually has a nice buzz about it, but sometimes on a Tuesday, right after a bank holiday, when everyone has partied out and overspent the salary that hit their bank accounts what feels like 5 minutes ago, it can be quiet, yes. We would have liked to hope that one would still find it cozy and interesting to hang out with us. Happy belated birthday! x
02 Jun 2016 by
3

great bar, table was reserved. great safe atmosphere, forgot to to give us our £50 reservation credit but contacting them about it. Would recommend this bar to anyone looking for a great night. gambit visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 14 May 2016
16 May 2016 by
5

Booked a table for dinner for 15 people and the area was great. Waitress was super friendly and attentive, food was nice (even if my calzone wasn't a top choice!) and the pub always has a good vibe to it! Will definitely be going back and I'm glad I risked having dinner there too! :) Thanks Ziggy! helder_rf visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 07 May 2016
09 May 2016 by
5

Visited on Wednesday 22nd. Rather disappointed, had booked online with the request "Its going to be a lovely day on Wednesday, please can we have a table outside" Booking was confirmed and my request was included in the email receipt. Upon arrival, the waiter said they had got us a table in the restaurant at the back, I said I booked a table outside and he seemed surprised. Leading us outside, all of the sunny tables were taken and so we had to sit in the total shade of the umbrella on what was indeed a beautiful sunny day. Following that, half of us received our food & then 10 minutes later the food for the other members of our party arrived. We had ordered at the same time. Also, we were not impressed by the salad of raw red and green cabbage that came with the fish pie. It was not clear on the menu how the cabbage would come with the fish pie, we did not imagine a large bowl of raw cabbage. We spent a good part of the rest of the meal laughing about why these things were paired together. We mentioned this at the end and the waiter got the chef out to explain himself. We thought this was unnecessary but out he came anyway. The chef was really excited about his cabbage salad and asked our party member if she could taste the lime juice drizzled over it. We left feeling he had not quite got the point. I would not recommend.

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hi Ed, What a bummer! We are really, really sorry about that sunny table! The team member who handled your booking and missed the note about the table outside will be trained again on handling bookings. We're sorry we had ran out of mash that day, but the pies also come with chips. In any case, we'll definitely discuss the cabageness of the salad with the chef. We're sorry you didn't appreciate the chef explaining it, the waiter simply wasn't sure how to take all that laughing. Apologies again and here's to more sunny days in London so you can maybe give us another chance?!
22 Apr 2016 by
1

I was a little disappointed as the table area I had booked seemed to have been taken by someone else when I arrived so we were left with another table which meant we had loads of random people coming and sitting in our area. My impressed!!!!! Dani visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 19 Mar 2016

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hi Dani, Oh no! We are not sure how this could have happened since we had your name on one of the best tables in the house! We do need to turn tables and for that reason our reserved signs say that other guests are welcome to hang around until the party who booked the table arrives. Our booking confirmation emails ask guests to inform a staff member once they have arrived so that we can make sure your table is ready for you and the bar tab in return for your booking deposit is set up. If you have a minute, drop us a line with more info please so we can make sense of how this could have happened. Please accept our apologies and we look forward to seeing you again! Zx
22 Mar 2016 by
1

Booked a table for quite a big group of friends for my birthday and all was great! The table was well located and the service was great!! Food was served quickly despite a massive order and they were always happy to help if we had any other requests or questions. Also despite it being Friday night, music was well managed and so in the restaurant area we can still talk and hear each other easily! Irina visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 12 Feb 2016
16 Feb 2016 by
5

Have been to the bar a few times and had a great time, so decided this would be a great place to host our teams Christmas Party. The table was great, and the staff were very organised with making sure they knew where everyone was sitting to give people their meals. However after that it went downhill. There was 29 people at the table, and we had the three course sit down meal. Three courses took over 3 hours to serve, with most peoples food cold, each order was served at different times, so for example people who had ordered the veg option were given their meal at least 30 minutes before everyone else. I also got told that there would be a DJ until 1am in the club area downstairs. However we found out on the night that this area was actually closed due to a bigger party hiring the space. I couldn't fault the staff, however the whole experience was awful. remikersey visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 03 Dec 2015

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hi Remi, We are very happy that you have had a great time with us in the past and chose to bring your team over for that reason - thank you. We are shocked to get this feedback as nothing of this sort was voiced to us on the night. We have checked our cameras and can see that there were 5 minutes between the first and the last starter, 15 minutes between the first and the last main and the same with the first and the last dessert to be brought to the table. 30 minutes is therefore a bit of an exaggeration. We have a fairly small kitchen and all of your dishes were prepared fresh and indeed, we cannot knock out 30 dishes at once and therefore offer a more of a relaxed, homey experience, apologies if this wasn't to your liking. The manager on duty has confirmed that another member of your party did indeed ask about entry to Underbelly which wasn't unfortunately possible. We don't know who voiced this to her, perhaps it was a misunderstanding, but we never have DJs in Underbelly until 1am on Thursdays. Neither this or the fact that Underbelly would be open to the public on that night was confirmed during the booking process - we confirmed that there wold be a DJ until 1am in upstairs Zigfrid, the room you were having your meal in. The duty manager was under the impression she managed to deal with all the requests you had. Again, we are sorry if we got anything wrong - the impression we got was that you stayed almost until closing time being happy. If there's anything left to clarify, drop us a line please and we hope to have you visit us soon again! Zx
07 Dec 2015 by
2

I'm a big fan of this bar so booked a table here for my Birthday drinks with 15 guests on a Friday night. I did have to pay £50 deposit to reserve the space - but this was redeemable as a bar tab. We had a decent table with sofas which was right by the bar, however service at the bar got painfully slow as the night went on. it got to the point it took up half hour to get a drink, so we ended up leaving. Overall experience was good though, just a shame about the bar service. Rikki visited Zigfrid von Underbelly on 29 May 2015

Reply from Zigfrid von Underbelly

Hi Rikki, Thank you for your feedback and we are very happy to hear you had a good overall experience! Apologies for the speed of service, there is nothing else in the whole world we would love more than having a big fan celebrate with us for the whole night. Sometimes it happens that we are a team member short, but in general it's something we are working on constantly. We hope you've been back since and look forward to seeing you again and again. Zx
16 Sep 2015 by
4

Show all Show fewer


If you like Zigfrid von Underbelly, you should also book...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.