Proms on The Roof!


Recommended

Sorry, this event has taken place.

Sorry, this event has taken place.

Description

This event has taken place
18:30 - 22:00
Tickets from £29.50
Live Music, Date Night, Theatre/Arts, Something A Little Different
Live Music
Kensington
Over 18
The Roof Gardens in Kensington is delighted to announce its collaboration with Royal College of Music to present the fourth year of Proms on The Roof.

Proms on The Roof invites guests to make the most of the summer evenings and lose themselves amongst the Spanish Garden, Tudor Garden and English Woodland. From 6.30pm – 10pm on selected Wednesdays in May and August, classical music lovers can enjoy a treat for the eyes and ears with music as beautiful as the setting.

Tickets are £29.50 and include a welcome cocktail on arrival. 

The bar will be open all evening and a delicious selection of food will be on offer so guests can choose the perfect accompaniment to their proms experience. Food choices include freshly prepared risotto, gourmet burgers and a tasty sweet offering of waffles and ice cream, with prices starting from £6.

Full list of Prom dates:

  • Wednesday 31st  May 2017
  • Wednesday 9th August 2017
  • Wednesday 16th August 2017
  • Wednesday 30th August 2017

ticket info & dates/times

Finding event dates...

{{ ::date.nice_date }} Cancelled

Ticket Event time Cost
{{ ::ticket.ticket_type }}
{{ ::ticket.description }}
{{ ::ticket.start_time }} - {{ ::ticket.end_time }} {{ ::ticket.price | currency:'£' }}

Location

The Roof Gardens
99 Kensington High Street, London, W8 5SA

Area:
West London

Nearest station:
High Street Kensington (Tube)

Terms

1. The ticket holder voluntarily assumes all risks and danger incidental to the event for which the ticket is issued, whether occurring prior, during or after the event. The ticket holder voluntarily agrees that the management, venue, event participants, DesignMyNight (WFL Media Ltd) and all of their respective agents, officers, directors, owners and employers are expressly released by the ticket holder from any claims arising from such causes.
2. Tickets are issued subject to the rules and regulations of the venue.
3. Please check your tickets, as mistakes cannot always be rectified.
4. Occasionally, events are cancelled or postponed by the promoter, team, performer or venue for a variety of reasons. If the event is cancelled, please contact us for information on receiving a refund from the responsible party. If the event was moved or rescheduled, the venue or promoter may set refund limitations. It is your responsibility to ascertain the date and time of any rearranged event.
5. The venue reserves the right to refuse admission and may on occasion have to conduct security searches to ensure the safety of the patrons.
6. Every effort to admit latecomers will be made at a suitable break in the event, but admission cannot always be guaranteed.
7. We regret that tickets cannot be exchanged or refunded after purchase.
8. Tickets are sold subject to the venue or promoter's right to alter or vary the programme due to events or circumstances beyond its control without being obliged to refund monies or exchange tickets.
9. If this ticket is re-sold or transferred for profit or commercial gain by anyone other than the promoter, venue management, DesignMyNight or one of their authorised sub-agents, it will become voidable and the holder may be
refused entry to or ejected from the venue.
10. The venue may operate a No Smoking Policy.
11. The promoter, venue management and DesignMyNight accept no responsibility for any personal property.
12. The event listed on the purchased ticket is strictly for ticket holders who are over 18 years of age. Identification may be required.

Venue

The Roof Gardens The Roof Gardens

The Roof Gardens is London's very first rooftop bar and club and is as glamorous as it comes. For anyone looking to...

Organiser

The Roof Gardens

The Roof Gardens in Kensington has long been one of London’s most spectacular and extraordinary landmarks. Set 100ft above London, The Roof Gardens comprises three themed gardens spanning across 1.5 acres, a private members Club and Babylon restaurant! To find out more about all of our events, please visit our website 'Whats's on' page.

http://www.roofgardens.virgin.com

(52 reviews) Show Hide all



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

A fantastic night. Lovely venue, talented musicians and singers, tasty and very reasonably priced food and friendly and helpful staff visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017
25 Aug 2017 by
5

Another fabulous night in beautiful surroundings. It is hard to believe that this event is in the city. For our return next year we would appreciate more seating as we had to miss a performance as the only seating was the other side of the building. Whilst all performers are extremely talented I did feel the cellist on the 16th chose a programme that was a little melancholic. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable night and we are already looking forward to next year. visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Paul N, What a fabulous review, thank you so much for sharing it with us! We were really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the musicians and wanted to thank you for your feedback on the seating, please rest assured that I have shared this with the team so that we can take this on board for the future. We are really looking forward to seeing you again in 2018, if not before. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
22 Aug 2017 by
4

Lovely evening and the food was organised better than last year especially the fish and chips. Would be good to change the welcoming drink from Aperol to another choice. The sax quartet were amazing but missed String Fever this time. Marilyn visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Marilyn, Thank you for joining us for an evening of classical music and for sharing your lovely review. We really enjoyed hearing your comments about the saxophone quartet as they were one of our favourites too! We hope to see you again next year. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
21 Aug 2017 by
4

lovely event very relaxed excellent food and music.very enjoyable. a few more garden chairs and hot drinks would be good additions Caroline visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Caroline, Thank you for sharing your lovely review, it was fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable evening with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
20 Aug 2017 by
4

Lovely relaxed evening.in unique surroundings Kathryn visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Kathryn, Thank you for sharing your lovely review, we were really pleased to hear that you enjoyed a relaxed evening with us and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
19 Aug 2017 by
5

Magical, wonderful and A perfect date night Emily visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Emily, What a magical review! It was a delight to welcome you for date night and we very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
19 Aug 2017 by
5

The entertainment was nice and varied, but the available seating was extremely inadequate. Get there super early, otherwise you'll have to stand Daniela visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Daniela, Whilst we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the entertainment, I was sorry to hear that you felt there was not enough seating. Please rest assured that we will be taking your comments on board for next year and we very much hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
4

Had a fab night I hadn't been before and didn't know what to expect. The weather was kind to us and the music was beautiful. Great food and drinks. It no Prosecco available. Not everyone can afford champagne at £65 a bottle! Caroline visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Caroline, It was a true pleasure to welcome you for your first Proms on the Roof experience and we couldn’t be more pleased to hear that you thought the music was beautiful and that you enjoyed the food and drinks! We very much hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
5

Fabulous evening even if it could have been a bit warmer! The opera singers were great,the cellist even better and the saxophone quartet stole the show. Sadly the jazz duo rather let the side down but in such a magical setting it could not help but be a wonderful evening Mary visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Mary, Thank you for sharing your fabulous review! It was such a treat to hear how much you enjoyed the wonderful musicians and that you thought the setting was ‘magical’, thank you! We really hope to welcome you back for another wonderful evening soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
4

The roof gardens has been on my list of places to visit. I was not disappointed, beautiful gardens to enjoy with the equally beautiful music that was performed to such a high standard. Had a thoroughly magical night definitely recommend! visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Catriona, We were delighted to hear that you chose to visit us, and even more pleased to hear that we met your expectations! We have to agree that there is something very magical about taking in some classical music on the Roof, and we really hope you will be back to see us for a second visit soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
5

Fantastic evening, the music was excellent, food delicious and the gardens beautiful. Staff very efficient and helpful. Couldn't fault it. visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Moira, We really enjoyed your fantastic review so wanted to thank you for sharing it with us! We hope to welcome you back to next year’s series, if not before. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
5

What a great evening this was. I highly recommend it. Lots of fantastic music to choose from and listen to, beautiful gardens and even flamingos. We loved it. Staff were lovely and accommodating as well. Great Idea :) visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Monika, What a great review, we couldn’t be more pleased to hear that you loved your evening with us! We really hope that it won’t be too long before we have the chance to welcome you back. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
5

Awesome experience - was the perfect place to listen to some music Nikhil visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Nikhil, Thank you for your awesome review! Maybe we are biased but we have to agree that there is something special about whiling away a summers evening with some classical music high above the London streets. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
5

This was a great evening the venue, the food and the entertainment were excellent. The only downside and the reason for not giving 5 stars was that we were charged £40 and then £45 for the same wine, which according to the wine list was £38. We did not see this until we got home, as I had forgotten my reading glasses and as such felt this put a downer on what was a great evening. Next time I will be checking so that we are not effectively robbed. visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Alan, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, whilst I was pleased to hear that you had a great evening with us I was really sorry to hear that there was some confusion around the price of your wine. I have included my contact details below and would be grateful if you could please get in touch so that I can look into this in more detail for you. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
4

Fantastic location and great performances. A cheeky Aperol Spritz on arrival, it was a GREAT date night. Highly recommended. Gary visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Gary, There’s nothing we love more than a date night, and we were delighted to hear that you chose to spend yours with us at Proms on the Roof! Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation, it really means a lot and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
5

Love the music, love the place, love the evening, but what's with the welcome drink - revolting!! Better off not having it at all. visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Lucy, It was such a treat to hear that you loved the music, setting and overall evening, thank you! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
4

We had a great evening. Beautiful surroundings, great food and fabulous entertainment! I only wish I had invited more people to come with me! Katie visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Katie, Thank you for your 5 star review, it was such a compliment to hear how much you enjoyed the evening. We hope to welcome you back next year, if not before, and please do remember to bring all your friends with you next time! Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
5

Really enjoyable evening, a nice mix of acts, and gorgeous surroundings. Pity that the 'Welcome Cocktail' did not have a non alcoholic version, we were not by a long way the only ones disappointed by this. John visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear John, Whilst I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable evening, I was really sorry to hear that there was a miscommunication around the welcome drink. We do always have a non-alcoholic option available and I’d like to apologise that this was not explained to you as it should have been. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back next time. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
4

Fun night with good food, drinks & music martyn_n visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear martyn_n, It was such a treat to hear that you had such a fun night with us and we just hope this means we will see you again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
4

Fun night with good food, drinks & music martyn_n visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017
18 Aug 2017 by
4

There were many good points about a night at the Proms on the roof. Firstly we were very lucky that it was a mild dry evening and it was very pleasant to walk round the gardens and even see the flamingos! The music was very enjoyable and offered a very good range of styles. This was our first time at this venue and for newcomers the layout of the gardens is quite confusing and we were initially waiting for music to start whilst sitting in the wrong section of the garden. It was quite crowded and there is very little sitting available in some of the areas where guests are trying to both eat and listen to the music. We had read reviews before arriving and so decided to eat beforehand and seeing the food and drink prices on site I think this was by far the better option. I will definitely go again if the opportunity arises, I would arrive very soon after the doors open in order to try and get one of the few available tables to sit at. But all in all it was a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Howard visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Howard, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent visit to Proms on the Roof. It always helps when the weatherman is on side and we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed exploring the Gardens and coming across a wide variety of music. I was sorry to hear that you thought the layout of the Gardens was slightly confusing, we do try to make this as clear as possible and I have shared your feedback with the team to help us improve on this in the future. Our favourite part of your review was hearing that you are planning to visit us again, we are really looking forward to welcoming you back next year, if not before. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
4

Setting was lovely. Music was lovely. The atmosphere was lovely. The only downside was the drinks price (a hidden service charge I discovered on the receipt afterwards - your bar staff were giving the price including this - not impressed) Damian visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Damian, What a lovely review! Thank you for sharing it, we were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed joining us at Proms on the Roof. I was sorry that there was some confusion around the service charge, this can of course be removed at our guests discretion which should have been made clear to you. I will be personally speaking with the team about this to ensure that we take your valued feedback on board. We very much hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
4

Our experience in 2016 was better. The complementary cocktail was watered down (100s made in one instance and ice melts), the bar staff looked frazzled and unprepared for arrivals, the gardens as a venue are lovely. The music was fine but it lacked the buzz of 2016. Not sure if we would attend in future given the cost of the ticket. visited The Roof Gardens on 16 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Nipa, Thank you for sharing your review. Whilst it was a pleasure to hear that you thought the Gardens were lovely, I was really sorry to hear that other aspects of your evening fell somewhat short of your expectations. I would really like to chat to you in more detail about your feedback, I have included my contact details below and would be grateful if you could please get in touch. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
18 Aug 2017 by
2

Pity it poured with rain all day & evening. Event moved indoors so missed the ambiance of the gardens. The event however was very good, high quality musical items, coupled with good food & cocktails assured a very enjoyable evening. visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Kenneth, Thank you for sharing your review, we were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the music, food and cocktails! We very much hope to welcome you back to The Roof Gardens again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
14 Aug 2017 by
4

It rained the whole day so it was very wet and no whatwe expected. Pity visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Virginia, I was sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected, and would really appreciate the opportunity to chat with you in more detail about this. I have included my contact details and would be grateful if you could please get in touch with me. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
14 Aug 2017 by
2

The experience did not cater well for rain, which is frequent in London. There was no cover in the outdoor gardens, so we were effectively trapped in a "school cafeteria' type room. To buy food required a walk into a water logged corridor visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Jacqueline, I was sorry to hear that we fell short of delivering the experience that you were hoping for. I would really like the opportunity to speak with you in more detail about your visit and have included my contact details below. I hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
13 Aug 2017 by
1

It was an overpriced shambles. Most people had no seats and had to stand for most of the performance. The food was of poor quality, seriously overpriced and cold! It was clearly thought that with a captive audience it just doesn't matter what you do, they will have to put up with it. The venue is totally unsuitable for what was scheduled. visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Andrew, I was really sorry to read your recent review. Sadly the weather was not in our favour last week and it was a shame to hear that you felt this affected your evening with us. I have included my contact details below and would be grateful if you could please get in touch with me so that I can discuss your feedback with you in more detail. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
12 Aug 2017 by
1

Anticipated a pleasant musical evening on the roof garden but as nature intended it was heavy rain. Thus we were unable to view the roof garden.much to our disappointment The musicians and singers were good but it was far too noisy and crowded. There was not enough seats and we had a 'long' stand listening to the performance. The background noise of people talking and laughing spoiled the performance. Maureen visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Maureen, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I was really sorry to hear that some aspects of your experience at Proms on the Roof fell short of your expectations. Of course we never want any guest to leave us feeling disappointed and I would really appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further. I have included my contact details below and would be grateful if you could please advise how I best contact you. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
12 Aug 2017 by
3

Unfortunately the evening was spoiled by the British Weather which was dreadful with rain all day and into the evening resulting in the 'Proms' being held indoors. Whilst this was beyond the control of the venue it certainly put a damper on the evening! It was often difficult to hear the musicians due to the noise levels of people chatting throughout the performances and there was insufficient seating. The welcome 'cocktail' of Aperol Spritz was disappointing- especially to someone who appreciates this particular drink! However we decided to eat in the restaurant instead of the sampling the food on sale at the event and this proved to be a very good decision. Good food and excellent service. We did enjoy the music as far as we could and would book again next year in the hope that the weather is kinder to us. On a minor note - in view of the necessity for umbrellas on such an evening I think that charging £1 per umbrella ( we had one each) was a bit much. Elaine visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Elaine, Thank you for taking the time to share such valuable feedback with us. I was really sorry to hear that you felt the weather put a dampener on your evening and wanted to reassure you that we take all constructive feedback really seriously and your points have been taken on board to help us as we constantly strive to offer the best possible guest experience. I would very much like to chat to you further and have included my contact details below. I hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
11 Aug 2017 by
3

Spoilt by people there to socialise and not really to listen to live music-otherwise performers pure magic! visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Seville, Thank you for sharing your review and may I say I have to agree that the musicians certainly added a magical air to the evening! We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Roof Gardens again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
11 Aug 2017 by
5

Great idea, wonderful talent but the rain came down in buckets and this venue is definitely not suitable for a wet weather plan. It should've been postponed. Little room to stand and listen to the music with everyone squished inside. The noise from the nearby bar area deafened the music. So disappointed. (However if the weather had held out it would've been a beautiful evening). Please consider postponing in extreme wet or selecting better wet weather plans. visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Alison, Whilst we were very pleased to hear your kind comments about the wonderful musicians, it was a shame to hear that you felt the rain impacted your overall experience with us. Although we always hope that the sun will shine on us, sometimes the Great British weather does have other plans and we do try to plan for every eventuality. I have included my contact details below, and would be grateful if you could please get in touch with me so that we can chat further about your experience. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
11 Aug 2017 by
2

You sold far too many tickets and because it was raining we all had to be indoors and there were not enough chairs for everyone. visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Julia, I was sorry to hear that certain aspects of the evening left you feeling disappointed and have included my contact details below in the hope that I will have the opportunity to chat to you further about your visit. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
11 Aug 2017 by
3

Unfortunately rain meant the event took place inside. Seating was only provided for half the attendees, the remainder were expected to stand for four hours. Very poorly organised. I paid £15 for Fish & Chips only to find that it consisted of THREE CHIPS and a piece of fish that was smaller than chips! I have photographs to prove I am not exaggerating. And it was cold. I think the food was the biggest rip off I've ever come across in a venue. Disgraceful. Andrew visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Andrew, I was very sorry to read your review and to hear that you left us feeling disappointed, of course that is not the way we want any guest to leave us. I would really appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in more detail about your feedback, and have included my contact details below. I hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
11 Aug 2017 by
2

no reminder - missed it waste of time and money Michael visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Michael, I was very sorry to hear that you weren’t able to join us at Proms on the Roof. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
11 Aug 2017 by
1

no reminder - missed it waste of time and money Michael visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017
11 Aug 2017 by
1

no reminder - missed it waste of time and money Michael visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017
11 Aug 2017 by
1

Weather was unfortunately miserable so they moved the music inside which was great. Had to wait quite a while at the bar to get served but apart from that we really had a lovely time. Delicious food and fantastic entertainment. What a beautiful venue. Last year they had an operatic singing group who came and sung amongst the audience which was fabulous. This year it felt a little more like background performances rather than being immersed in it all. Perhaps due to the weather. Loulou visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Loulou, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we never want the British weather to dampen our spirits so we were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening keeping cosy inside! We very much hope to welcome you back to The Roof Gardens again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
11 Aug 2017 by
4

The evening was a washout with torrential rain. The company did their best by moving everything inside but not enough seats, food had to eaten on your lap, constant chattering from the bar spoilt enjoyment of the music. When very inclement weather is forecast an event like this should be postponed or cancelled. The bar area is not suitable and felt sorry for the obviously talented musicians doing their best. We love classical music and gardens and sure the gardens would be wonderful on warm, dry evenings but it was a waste of our day as we travelled from afar and very disappointed our request to move to the following week was refused. Another time we would book 2-3 days ahead after checking the forecast. We just felt they had your money and the staff couldn't have cared less. A spokesman with soothing words mingling to apologise for the Act of God, explaining how they've done their best, a drink on the house, helping people find seats would have made all the difference. Christine visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Christine, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we always hope that the weatherman will be on our side but sadly on this occasion we were let down. We really appreciate your valued comments and I wanted to assure you that we have taken them on board to help us improve in the future. We would really like to speak with you in more detail about your experience, and I have included my contact details below. I hope to have the opportunity to chat to you soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
11 Aug 2017 by
2

Granted, the weather was awful and there's not much you can do with that. But the venue inside was just not big enough to allow space for musicians + bars, as a result no way to hear and enjoy the music, as it was covered by loud conversations. Also the drinks prices were prohibitive. I could have accepted this had we had the opportunity to be outside, but given how inadequate the venue was, this was yet another source of disappointment. visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Laure, We never want any guest to leave us feeling disappointed so I was really sorry to read your recent review. We always try to plan for the unpredictable British weather and will certainly be taking your valued feedback on board for the future. I have included my contact details below, and if you would like to speak about your review further please do not hesitate to get in touch with me. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
11 Aug 2017 by
1

Overall a good evening considering the weather. However, the acoustics were extremelly poor and there was a clear lack of seatings. More should be done to compensate customers who bought a full price ticket when the main attraction, enjoying the Spanish gardens, is not available. Quartet and opera singers were the best acts Michael visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Whilst we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the musicians I was sorry to hear that you felt the weather affected your experience with us. I have included my contact details below and would be grateful if you could please email me so that we can chat about this further. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
11 Aug 2017 by
4

Having been to the event last year all I can say is what a bitter disappointment tonight was in comparison. Yes- the weather was horrendous but a venue like this should have an adequate plan B. There was a severe lack of seating inside, we managed to see 1 act throughout the evening. This is England- the weather is chanageable and I really think you let yourselves down with the set up tonight. Also, the food was expensive and of poor quality. I paid £15 for a dry and bland chicken burger and quite honestly what you put on tonight was not in anyway good value for money. Emma visited The Roof Gardens on 09 Aug 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Emma, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We aren’t ones to let the weather dampen our spirits and always prepare a ‘Plan B’ in case the weatherman is not onside, so I was really sorry to hear that you left us feeling let down. Of course we don’t want any guest to leave us feeling this way and I would very much like to speak with you further. I have included my contact details below and would be grateful if you could please get in touch with me. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
09 Aug 2017 by
1

This was our first "DesignMyNight" event and we enjoyed it immensely. The location was stunning - a roof garden in Kensington - a well kept secret. The various live music interludes were good, though not always to our taste, it is always good to experience different things. I thought the ticket price was good value. The choice of food on offer, though cost extra, which we knew about in advance was also reasonably priced. All the staff were friendly and helpful too. Marion visited The Roof Gardens on 31 May 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Marion, Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review with us, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening at Proms on the Roof! We do like to think of ourselves as a bit of a hidden gem, so it was lovely to hear that you agree and that you enjoyed experiencing new sights and sounds. The team wanted to say thank you for your kind comments, it truly does mean a lot and we all very much hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
04 Jun 2017 by
5

I purchased this for my son and his girlfriend- they really enjoyed the experience . I think it helped that the weather was kind! The music was also good - they particularly enjoyed a jazz duo. They enjoyed the food they purchased - felt that it was quite expensive, but not extortionately so. annepelham230 visited The Roof Gardens on 31 May 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear annepelham230, It was a pleasure to welcome your son and his girlfriend to Proms on the Roof, and we were delighted to hear that the sun shone and they enjoyed their experience! We will be sure to pass on the kind comments to Damon and Nick, the jazz duo, who we are sure will be over the moon to hear that your son enjoyed their performance. We hope to welcome you all back to The Roof Gardens again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
02 Jun 2017 by
5

Brilliantl evening great venue and great entertainment Andrea visited The Roof Gardens on 31 May 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Andrea, Thank you for sharing such a brilliant review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the venue and entertainment, and we hope to see you again in August when Proms on the Roof continues. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
02 Jun 2017 by
5

Really fabulous venue as its so pretty outside up high surrounded by flamingos and a lovely evening of opera. The concept of these types of evenings is so good. The dining experience is NOT good though. I really think this needs some thought. There need to be more tables to sit at- its very difficult to eat burgers perching on your lap. i know this seems like the BBQ idea but its overrated!! And/or waiter service would be good. and better food. - the burgers were 'ok' but our chips were horrible- BUT EVERYWHERE serves burgers and its a bit unsophisticated. I don't mean that I want fine dining but something like a cool chef popping up with a set menu would be more cool and fun or a modern cafe/ restaurant taking over with simple, interesting not difficult more healthy food. I also think the interior is NOT good. Its not chic at all - its tacky. I think this could be SUCH a wonderful place( hark back to the days when BIBa had it ( not that was born then but when I see pictures it always looks marvellous and evocative. MY question is WHO is this venue meant to appeal to?!!! anna visited The Roof Gardens on 31 May 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear anna, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to The Roof Gardens. Whilst we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the venue and the concept of Proms on the Roof, I was sorry to hear that the dining experience fell short of your expectations. We do try to offer a range of different dishes to suit all tastes at our food stations, and I wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that I have shared your valued feedback with our Head Chef so that we can look to improve on the selection on offer in the future. I have included my contact details below; if you would like to talk about your experience further then please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly. We very much hope to welcome you back to The Roof Gardens again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
02 Jun 2017 by
3

Lovely environment. We would have liked more ensemble music. Mainly solo musicians. The drinks we're a bit pricey, especially as a 12.5% service charge were also added to them even when you purchased them from the bar. The food was OK but nothing special. Burger and chips for £15 and the chips didn't get good reviews. Jonathan visited The Roof Gardens on 31 May 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent visit to Proms on the Roof. Whilst we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the environment, I was sorry to hear that you felt the food was not to the standard you had hoped for. Please rest assured that I have shared your valued feedback with our Head Chef so that we can look to improve in the future. We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Roof Gardens again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
02 Jun 2017 by
3

A great evening and a wonderful way to explore the gardens. The performers were excellent and very entertaining. Shame the drinks are so expensive though (hence not awarding all 5 stars). visited The Roof Gardens on 31 May 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed exploring the Gardens and discovering some live classical music during your recent visit to The Roof Gardens. We hope to welcome you back to The Roof Gardens again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
02 Jun 2017 by
4

Once we had worked out the format of how the evening was to evolve by asking other guests we had a great evening.. the musicians were fantastic and we had a lovely relaxed evening. Well worth the ticket fee. visited The Roof Gardens on 31 May 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Linda, We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed joining us for some classical music on the Roof and that you had a relaxed evening. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
02 Jun 2017 by
4

Fabulous evening, music great, food lovely, weather perfect, ambience and setting fantastic. Rebecca visited The Roof Gardens on 31 May 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Rebecca, Thank you for sharing such a fabulous review! We were over the moon to hear that the music, food, ambience and even the weather impressed you. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
02 Jun 2017 by
5

Excellent evening, would highly recommend Tom visited The Roof Gardens on 31 May 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear Tom, Thank you for the 5 star review and the recommendation, it truly means a great deal and we just hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
02 Jun 2017 by
5

lovely Summer evening. amazing venue and relaxing atmosphere. visited The Roof Gardens on 31 May 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear anneli, Thank you for joining us for Proms on the Roof, we were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing summers evening in the Gardens. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
02 Jun 2017 by
5

Wow tonight was a superb set of performances by all the artists in the most serene setting of unbelievable roof gardens. The cocktails were excellent and also the audience in their appreciation. The food looked good although I did not have any. If you like gardens, classical music, jazz and opera then this is a must visit next time the Royal College of Music are performing there. This was my first visit but it will not be my last! David visited The Roof Gardens on 31 May 2017

Reply from Proms on The Roof!

Dear David, Wow! Thank you for sharing such a beautiful review, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed taking in the live music at Proms on the Roof. Perhaps we are biased, but we do think there is something very special about enjoying classical music 100ft above London. It was such a pleasure to hear that this won’t be your last visit; perhaps we will see you at one of our August Proms on the Roof dates – if not before? Kind regards Sam Wilson General Manager sam.wilson@roofgardens.virgin.com
01 Jun 2017 by
5

Show Hide all