The Old George Inn

  • 325 reviews
  • Taking Bookings

  • Pub

Description

The Old George Inn, Newcastle Upon Tyne, is a pub with a lot of Royal history behind it. Word has it that King Charles the first was a frequent visitor to this local pub which is the oldest in Newcastle. Visitors from all over come to this pub to experience the nostalgia and history but mostly, to experience some of the delights that King Charles must have had in this great atmosphere, a pint, good food and some good conversation with some of the locals.

Nothing much as changed much except for the many faces that graces the pub's fame and for the love of this very tradition, has kept the old name 'The Old George Inn', is NOT to be mistaken with any other pub.

Regular customers enjoy the Sunday Roast in this Victorian setting decorated in heavy draped curtains, wooden beams, upholstered and textured furniture that adds to the vintage setting. Service is spot on and staff are eager to serve.

Entertainment to keep you going from sports on Sky & BT on HD screens, weekly pub quiz and open Mic nights go down a treat with all the wonderful food & drink offers. They serve a selection of beers and ales on tap along with choices of wines, high, low and no alcohol beverages, an extensive gin list and much more from the drink list. They also offer outside seating. 

A function space is available which one will delightfully want to host their event in this historical pub.

What's on

The Bigg Reunion
The Bigg Reunion. A massive get-together for all those of a Certain Age who regularly visited the Bigg Market and the Quayside in the 80's and…

Sun, 9th Apr 2023 @ 12:00 - 0:00

Buy Your Ticket

Info

  • Happily Affordable ££
  • Taking Bookings
  • None
  • Children are allowed on premises until 7pm while dining and supervised by an adult

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
Monday 8:00 23:00
Tuesday 8:00 23:00
Wednesday 8:00 23:00
Thursday 8:00 23:00
Friday 8:00 0:00
Saturday 8:00 0:00
Sunday 8:00 23:00

Special opening hours

Day Open Close Notes
Sunday 25th December 2022 - -
Friday 16th December 2022 11:00 2:00
Saturday 17th December 2022 11:00 2:00
Sunday 18th December 2022 12:00 0:00
Monday 19th December 2022 11:00 23:00
Tuesday 20th December 2022 11:00 23:00
Wednesday 21st December 2022 11:00 23:00
Thursday 22nd December 2022 11:00 0:00
Friday 23rd December 2022 11:00 2:00
Saturday 24th December 2022 11:00 20:00
Monday 26th December 2022 11:00 0:00
Tuesday 27th December 2022 11:00 23:00
Wednesday 28th December 2022 11:00 23:00
Thursday 29th December 2022 11:00 0:00
Friday 30th December 2022 11:00 2:00
Saturday 31st December 2022 12:00 2:00
Sunday 1st January 2023 11:00 0:00

Location

Address

The Old George Inn, Old George Yard, NE1 1EZ

Area

Grainger Town

Menus

  • Cuisines

    This venue serves British, Pub Food, Breakfast, Brunch, Burgers, Christmas Lunch and Roast Dinner food.

Private Hire

Name Type Capacity
Seated
Capacity
Standing
Cost Min spend
Midweek*
Min spend
Weekend*
0 0 - - -

* The minimum spends are a guideline only and vary according to the day and time of the year.

Enquire about private hire

Customer Reviews (325)


Book & enquire