The Candlelight Club


Recommended
The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo The Candlelight Club photo

Description

Saturday 18 November 2017 and 8 other dates
19:00 - 00:00
£20
Themed Nights, Fun Time Partying, Something A Little Different, Live Music
Jazz, Live Music
Central London
Over 18

The Candlelight Club is a clandestine pop-up party with a 1920s speakeasy flavour, in a secret London venue completely lit by candles. You'll be whisked away to those Prohibition days with a heady mix of live jazz music, vintage vinylism, delicious cocktails and a party crowd all dressed up in their finest 1920's outfits, marvelling at the stunning setting.

You can buy just an Entry Ticket to come for drinks and dancing, or you can choose to add the three-course set menu, which includes a table reservation (note that your table may be shared with other guests). Alternatively you can reserve your own table for a fee that includes Champagne, but not the set menusmall tables will seat up to five people and come with a bottle of house Champagne. Large tables will seat up to ten and come with two bottles of house Champagne. (Note that table reservation fees are on top of the entry ticket.) In addition to the pre-order set menu, there will be a menu of platters and bar snacks that anyone can order from on the night.

Our event on 31st Decemberis a special New Year's Eve Ball, in a grand, long-forgotten east London ballroom, with entertainment across two roomsin the main hall there will be live jazz from Champagne Charlie and the Bubbly Boys, Charleston dance routines from the Gatsby Girls and vintage DJing from Auntie Maureen, plus dinner options and tables that can be reserved. Meanwhile in the intimate Cabaret Lounge there will also be an extra bar with tub-thumping twisted cabaret tunes from the Bohemianauts in the early evening, followed by two variety shows hosted by strict mistress of the Berlin cabaret, Eva Von Schnippisch, with burlesque from Ruby Deshabill, hooping and acrobatics from Abigail Collins and surreally comic songs from Elliot Mason. Want to know what 2018 holds for you? Our fortune tellers will be on hand to advise.

Guests are encouraged to dress in 1920s outfits. Ticket holders get an email two days before revealing the location.

Watch the Video

ticket info & dates/times

Finding event dates...

{{ ::date.nice_date }} Cancelled

Ticket Event time Cost
{{ ::ticket.ticket_type }}
{{ ::ticket.description }}
{{ ::ticket.start_time }} - {{ ::ticket.end_time }} {{ ::ticket.price | currency:'£' }}

Location

The Candlelight Club
Secret Location , London

Area:
London


Terms

1. The ticket holder voluntarily assumes all risks and danger incidental to the event for which the ticket is issued, whether occurring prior, during or after the event. The ticket holder voluntarily agrees that the management, venue, event participants, DesignMyNight (WFL Media Ltd) and all of their respective agents, officers, directors, owners and employers are expressly released by the ticket holder from any claims arising from such causes.
2. Tickets are issued subject to the rules and regulations of the venue.
3. Please check your tickets, as mistakes cannot always be rectified.
4. Occasionally, events are cancelled or postponed by the promoter, team, performer or venue for a variety of reasons. If the event is cancelled, please contact us for information on receiving a refund from the responsible party. If the event was moved or rescheduled, the venue or promoter may set refund limitations. It is your responsibility to ascertain the date and time of any rearranged event.
5. The venue reserves the right to refuse admission and may on occasion have to conduct security searches to ensure the safety of the patrons.
6. Every effort to admit latecomers will be made at a suitable break in the event, but admission cannot always be guaranteed.
7. We regret that tickets cannot be exchanged or refunded after purchase.
8. Tickets are sold subject to the venue or promoter's right to alter or vary the programme due to events or circumstances beyond its control without being obliged to refund monies or exchange tickets.
9. If this ticket is re-sold or transferred for profit or commercial gain by anyone other than the promoter, venue management, DesignMyNight or one of their authorised sub-agents, it will become voidable and the holder may be
refused entry to or ejected from the venue.
10. The venue may operate a No Smoking Policy.
11. The promoter, venue management and DesignMyNight accept no responsibility for any personal property.
12. The event listed on the purchased ticket is strictly for ticket holders who are over 18 years of age. Identification may be required.

Venue

The Candlelight Club The Candlelight Club

Best Event 2014/15 - DesignMyNight Awards London is full of 'secret' bars and clubs masquerading as speakeasies....

Menus

Menus



Organiser

The Candlelight Club

A pop-up 1920s speakeasy in a secret central London location lit entirely by candles, with cocktails and dancing to live Prohibition-era jazz. And everyone dresses 1920s!

http://www.thecandlelightclub.com

(88 reviews) Show Hide all



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

The Candlelight Club pulls you back in the 1920s with great authenticity. My friends and I loved it to the moon and back! Charlotte visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017
03 Nov 2017 by
5

My friends and I just love the candlelight club and the Halloween Ball was actually my 4th visit. The secret location was a different venue form my last visits but was a great size with different rooms providing entertain through out the night. If you love vintage parties and prohibition nights are your thing, you will love attention to detail of the candlelight club. The cocktails are yum and we drank ourselves silly with the champagne that came with our table. The cabaret was brilliant fun and the DJ really got the room moving. The only down side is that the dance floor is too small but that is just me and that the night passed by way to fast! Could not believe the time when the house lights came up! We really would have partied on longer! Germaine visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2016
02 Nov 2017 by
5

Phenomenally good time. Prices for drinks were reasonable (£8.50!) and the ambiance was extraordinary. The live entertainment was top notch. Overall a very positive experience. visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017
02 Nov 2017 by
5

Fantastic band, DJ and 1920s vintage cabaret acts. All in all a really good night. Adrian visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017
02 Nov 2017 by
5

We were so excited, upon arrival we were impressed. Dim lighting, great atmosphere. Then the disappointment... the meal. We had a seating at 9pm, literally waited 45 mins for our salad starters, received our mains at 10.20pm. When it’s a 9pm sitting you can imagine how hungry we were waiting watching all the tables around us being served. We missed a lot of the dancing waiting to be fed. Putting into consideration the price charged for the meal on top of the entrance fee, it really wasn’t up to scratch. Once the meal came out it was tepid and extremely average. Our dessert choices weren’t what we asked for, there only seemed to be green cake. If you pay £45 per person for the meal alone, then you have to ensure it’s good quality, served hot and on time, especially when we had to pre choose, there is no excuse. I wrote to the Candlelight club with my issues but they never responded. Shame because it had the potential to be an amazing night. the entertainment and venue were great. Pia visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Hi Pia, I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the food service. We did actually reply to your first email—perhaps it is in your spam folder—but in any case I'm glad we have subsequently had the chance to discuss the problem with you and make up for the inconvenience.
01 Nov 2017 by
3

The Candlelight Club was fantastic, as always. Dress in your best 1920's clothes and go back in time to a refined night of great music, great dancing, great atmosphere, and a great time. Paul visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017
31 Oct 2017 by
5

The evening was ok - I had a reasonably fun time dancing, but wouldnt go again. The drinks were expensive and it was annoying that it was a cash bar. The tickets felt overpriced given the quality of the decorations and venue. The host for the cabaret was depressingly dated - a magician who chooses an attractive young girl from the front row as his assistant and makes mildly sexist gags.... it's not that it's massively offensive, but it's just very boring and unsophisticated. visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017
31 Oct 2017 by
2

Perfect in every way. Loved my hen party thank you Laura visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017
31 Oct 2017 by
5

The venue was way out in the sticks (Leyton). The meal service was a disaster (totally disorganized), I had to ask 3 times in the course of 45 minutes to get my food served. The organizers did not set a standing area for people who didn't book tables, so they kept blocking the view for those of us who paid to have table and enjoy the show. The cabaret show conflicted with the dinner, so we missed the best one. The second show was lame compared to the first one. visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Hi Luis, I'm sorry about the delay in getting your food order brought to you. Note, however, that the Candlelight Club is primarily a party rather than a seated show: the area between the tables and the stage where the band are playing is intended as a dance floor so it will indeed fill up with people. I'm sorry if you found this inconvenient.
31 Oct 2017 by
3

Candlelight Club is a fantastic concept and it's always a pleasure to have a 'club night' that involves dancing to live music. Punters make a real effort and the acts are great. A few page 1 errors, having a cloakroom that is full an hour and a half after doors open is a pain, especially as the weather gets colder later in the year, also the cocktails weren't great. I'm no expert but we had to get a few remade as it tasted like we were just doing shots. Also one of the bars ran out of glasses (??). Other than that, really fun night. Jack visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017
31 Oct 2017 by
4

It was great fun, awesome atmosphere and everyone got into the spirit of dressing up. The music was fantastic, and we had great fun on the dance floor. Only disappointment was the quality of entertainment varied a bit. Some of the performances weren’t great, and it was disappointing having to pay extra for the tarot card reading. And each reading took so long, you were queuing an hour even though there was only couple in front! In the end gave up waiting, as lots of others did too. It was shame, but at least there was fab music to enjoy - the band and the quartet in particular were awesome. visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Hi Jacynth, I'm sorry you had to wait to see our tarot reader—there were supposed to be two of them but the other one had to cancel at the last moment due to illness.
31 Oct 2017 by
4

Our second Candlelight evening and every bit as good as the first. For a fun night out with people all looking to enjoy themselves, these nights are brilliant. Dinner is not in the fine dining class but given the 'temporary' facilities it works for us. Stephen visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017
31 Oct 2017 by
5

Disorganised, amateurish, extremely bad value for money. Lucy visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017
31 Oct 2017 by
1

Such fun. A brilliant (but expensive) night Joe visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017
31 Oct 2017 by
5

Venue was way too far and in the middle of no where (Leyton)!!!! Very inconvenient.. visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017
31 Oct 2017 by
3

My first time at the Candlenight club and looking forward to coming back! Great atmosphere and fantastic entertainment. I would recommend a bit more training for the guys making the cocktails but overall a really great evening so thank you. Also a special mention to the guy hosting in the main hall.. He was fantastic. Champagne! visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2017
31 Oct 2017 by
5

The band was amazing, the food was good even though there was a confusion about the pre orders. The drinks are a bit more expensive. There was barely an effort to create an atmosphere, couple of candles and 2 dancers and that was pretty much it. I’d expected something more impressive and it felt as if the atmosphere was rather created by the guests who dressed up properly etc. Overall it was a fun night but for the money that is being charged, one would expect sth a little extra. visited The Candlelight Club on 09 Sep 2017
06 Oct 2017 by
4

One of the best evenings ever and we went twice! Never disappoints, the entertainment is first rate. Love it!! Helen visited The Candlelight Club on 31 Dec 2016
14 Sep 2017 by
5

Wow! What an amazing night! The Candlelight Club is just so much fun! Fabulous live music, great vibe, friendly people, dancing all night! What more could you want!!!! Go! Go! Go!!!!
11 Sep 2017 by
5

I always have a fantastic night at The Candlelight Club. Authenticity 1920s: great music and dancing with an up for it crowd! Highly recommend! Stephanie visited The Candlelight Club on 09 Sep 2017

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Thanks, Steph, you're always the life and soul. See you again soon!
11 Sep 2017 by
5

Went to the Candlelight Club for my birthday. Everyone loved it! Cannot recommend this night enough. visited The Candlelight Club on 09 Sep 2017
11 Sep 2017 by
5

Rather disappointing . Firstly the event did not start on time and we had to spend nearly 25 minutes waiting outside in the courtyard , until they were ready to let us in . Not a good start . Secondly , our first , second , third and fourth selections of drinks from the bar menu were all unavailable . This is very poor . If drinks are offered on the menu , they should be available at the bar . Thirdly , the place was nearly empty for the first two hours and consequently the atmosphere was to be honest , dull , uneventful and quite boring . Only a bit later , when the band came on , did things start to liven up a bit and it improved a little . Over all the evening lacked any kind of structure . It would have benefitted from having some hosts there to mingle with the patrons and get more of a party atmosphere going . Also , it would have been better if the band came on earlier , so that people didn't have to leave before their second set . Everything considered , an unremarkable evening and certainly not worth £27.50 per head . Lynn visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Sep 2017

Reply from The Candlelight Club

HI Lynn, I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed. It's true we were not quite ready at 7pm, but we opened shortly after, so if you were waiting for 25 minutes in the courtyard then it must have been a failure in letting you know that you were free to go in, for which I apologise. We open at 7pm for the benefit of those who are dining, but we know from experience that it takes until about 9pm for most guests to have arrived, which is why we don't start the entertainment till then (We used to start it earlier, but people would complain that they had missed some of it, so we moved it back.) I'm also sorry that some of your drinks choices were not available: sometimes there is an unexpected demand for certain drinks and we run out of key ingredients.
11 Sep 2017 by
2

The hostess who greeted us was friendly and helpful, offering to take my hat, umbrella and briefcase and finding us a table.. The champagne was reasonably priced at £40 a bottle. I was pleased that the DJ, Auntie Maureen, who complied with our request to play a tango. The French cabaret act was professional, amusing and she could sing, which makes a change, though it annoyed me that many of the guests, particularly the younger females, continued to natter in loud voices while she performed . If I'd have been her I'd have told them to shut up or continue their conversations outside in the garden, which is quite pretty by the way, and a pleasant place to cool down or smoke .The band were young, skilled musicians and full of energy, and the crowd were soon dancing enthusiastically, if inexpertly. George visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Sep 2017
10 Sep 2017 by
5

Lovely evening!! We received an email a day before telling us where to go and how to dress. We arrived a bit early and would recommend getting there at 20:30-21:00 when the host sings and the band starts to play. Everyone dresses up 1920s style. The band was the swing it Dixie band and they honestly made the night for us they were fabulous with their rendition of known classics (some of it was Disney) and really got everyone on their dancing feet. Great evening out highly recommended visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Sep 2017
10 Sep 2017 by
5

Fantastic night, the band were really good, the DJ was good, the Cabaret acts were good, the atmosphere was just wonderful, highly recommended. Adrian visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
5

Most everything was excellent - the food, the drinks, the music and the entertainment was all excellent. The main problem, however, was the heat. The venue was obviously not suited for having that many people (and that many candles!) on a hot summer evening, and as such it was just too warm most of the time. What made it worse was that the bar ran out of ice and cold water part way through and we had to wait for a re-supply before we could cool down! If it had not been for the heat problems this would easily be a 5-star review, I hope they take it into account for the next summer event! visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
3

Great cabaret show and beautiful venue. visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
5

As much fun as usual, however it was incredibly hot and the venue for the "normal" candlelight club was a bit better. Although the normal parties are a bit better still an amzing night. Cornelia visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
4

A truly great experience. Will do it again in the future. Andrew visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
5

A fabulous experience, food and libations were excellent, entertainment was top notch! Helen visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
5

The evening was great, many thanks to the even organisers. Couple of pieces of hopefully constructive feedback. 1. The heat though likely unexpected, could have been better handled by staff responding earlier to opening windows and doors to allow the cooler air to flow. In addition, I think that waiting staff could have arranged for jugs of water to be placed on tables etc and re filled 2. The dinner services was not the best (2 hours to get to mains), however, the waiter that served our table handled it well and was sensible enough to offer a couple of bottles of free prosecco - this always removes anger and frustration. However, the bar did run out of glasses and ice buckets at one point - again, likely to be a function of the heat, but could have been a little bit better catered for. 3. Venue was amazing - I would hope that now you have tried it out you get the opportunity to use it again. Hope to attend another of your events in the future Thanks visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
4

Lovely venue but sooo hot on the night (no fans, air conditioning,or even windows that opened) it was unbearable and we left early. I even think it would have breached health and safety laws with the extreme temperarure. The band in the ballroom was fairly lacklustre too and for those that really love 20s n 30s music, it wasn't up to scratch. The band didn't play all night too. A va va voom singer would have helped n a much more fun and playful vibe overall. Some roving entertainers in the hall wld hve been great. Highlight of the night? The 2 fab tarot readers. visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
1

Fantastic night - 2 rooms of great entertainment. The only thing I would say is that there are 2 hours between doors opening and everything getting going while people have their meal. If you aren't eating, this time drags a bit, however once the entertainment starts, it is a great fun night, everyone getting on and mixing in together. Would definitely go again. Prefer this venue to the one for New Years Eve 2016 Helen visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
5

It was a travel back in time. We were sorrounding by flappers and well dressed men as in the ancient prohibitiosm age. Wonderful cabaret and live music. Defintely recommended, definitely to do it again! Francesco visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
5

Stating the obvious for anyone there, but it was just too damn hot. The organisers chose keeping ambiance over guest comfort for too long by keeping curtains closed and no air circulating. It was like room was a sauna and quite frankly made what should have been a fantastic night less so. Bar ran out of cucumber mix for the Bellini early - and depending which staff you got was the quality of your drink. Cabaret room would have been fun if not a sauna. Was such fun dressing up, music was great except for a few random modern songs. Would go again - in winter. visited The Candlelight Club on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
3

Beautiful atmosphere, great entertainment with lots of dancing. We took our 21 year old son & 24 year old daughter and her boyfriend and we all had marvellous time. Thank you for wonderful memories visited The Candlelight Club on 10 Jun 2017

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Hi Esther, I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed themselves. Thanks for letting us know.
14 Jun 2017 by
5

Wonderful! Extremely well organised, great atmosphere with brilliant entertainment and we'll priced drinks. Thank you for a wonderful birthday experience! Danielle visited The Candlelight Club on 10 Jun 2017

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Hi Danielle, thanks for coming and I'm so pleased it helped make you birthday a special one!
13 Jun 2017 by
5

Amazing venue, fantabulous entertainment, glorious cocktails and champagne served in vintage-style coupe glasses, all lit by candlelight - as classy and sophisticated as a secret and exclusive speakeasy right out of Jeeves and Wooster, and with a lovely thriving vintage-themed evening garden party to boot. Loved the popcorn, a very fun touch and gosh does it goes well with bubbly. The next event cannot come soon enough! Priya visited The Candlelight Club on 10 Jun 2017
12 Jun 2017 by
5

Loads of fun! Everyone had made a really great effort with the outfits which made for a good atmosphere. However I waited half an hour for what I can only describe as a burger van burger which was over priced. Eat before you go! Francesca visited The Candlelight Club on 10 Jun 2017
12 Jun 2017 by
4

A great evening, the place looked fantastic and the atmosphere was great. It is always nice to go to somewhere a little different, live music, a compere and good cocktails. A cut above the run of mill nights, highly recommend. Adrian visited The Candlelight Club on 10 Dec 2016
12 Jun 2017 by
5

Another excellent evening at the Club. Good music, friendly people and took advantage of the weather to sit outside in the delightful garden area. David visited The Candlelight Club on 10 Jun 2017
12 Jun 2017 by
5

We arrived to a wonderful evening of glamour and were transformed to 1920's Hollywood. The band played some great jazz. The crowd were really friendly and looked amazing. Perfect night! Edward visited The Candlelight Club on 10 Jun 2017
12 Jun 2017 by
5

Not what I expected. Sad venue with poor decorations. The only thing good was the band. Would not recommend. visited The Candlelight Club on 10 Jun 2017
12 Jun 2017 by
2

Lot's of potential, but poorly executed. On arrival, the outside courtyard was still being set up, with the chairs still stacked and the BBQ and bar being stocked. Inside there wasn't a single sign of 1920s decoration paid for the large table, which was cleared once over the course of the whole evening - at 11.45pm just before close (imagine the staff wanted to get home...) overall a fun evening, but just a shame. visited The Candlelight Club on 10 Jun 2017
12 Jun 2017 by
2

Unfortunately for once i was truly disappointed by the lack of effort to make the popup place a real 1920's club.... decoration a bit cheap and the band was good but not lively enough - crowd wanted to dance and have more fun i think ! Still a good night though Greg visited The Candlelight Club on 10 Jun 2017
12 Jun 2017 by
2

In general the Candellight Club is a nice idea. I love such parties but they offered a bad price-performance ratio, even for London. Some drinks or food offered in the menu were not available and the band played only about two hours where they had a two hours brake in between. The worst was that the DJ, who played the music during band's brake, played 80ies and 90ies music which didn't fit to the theme night and downgraded the mood. It is just too expensive in relation to the poor supply. Ramona visited The Candlelight Club on 21 Apr 2017

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Hi Ramona, thanks for your feedback and I'm sorry if you didn't feel the night was good value. Our DJ Auntie Maureen mostly plays music from the 1920s to the 1940s, plus jive and early rock 'n' roll from the 1950s and even some blues and Latin from the 1960s. I confess I'm not sure what you mean about music from the 1980s or 1990s.
08 Jun 2017 by
2

Spectacular night - so many nice things to say - venue has been transformed to a perfect 1920s scene, food and cocktails were fabulous, the crowd exhilarating and sexy! Perfect score Plamen visited The Candlelight Club on 19 May 2017
23 May 2017 by
5

The whole experience was amazing-the secretive build up and 'reveal' two days before was great fun. Loved the venue, the way it was decorated and the fabulous atmosphere. The musicians were amazing and we all loved 'Champagne Charlie.' The only let down was the food. Starters were poor - 4 prawns thrown on a plate with a handful of salad leaves, likewise the melon and halloumi - couldn't find any halloumi on my plate! The lamb tegine was tasty but the rice was cold. It felt refrigerated rather than just left to go cold before serving. Thought it was just mine and was too polite to comment but discovered the next day all of my party's rice was the same. Apart from the food the night was WONDERFUL and I would definitely recommend it for a special occasion, so different and unique. visited The Candlelight Club on 20 May 2017

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Hi Bev, thanks for the feedback and I'm so glad your group all enjoyed themselves. The dish accompanying the main courses was tabbouleh, a Middle Eastern herb and bulgar wheat salad that is actually meant to be served cold—sorry if this came as a surprise to you! Perhaps we should have flagged it up on the menu.
22 May 2017 by
5

Really enjoyed this event. Went as part of a hen do group and it was ideal. The band were fabulous and the team were very friendly and helpful. Only feedback for improvement was the food we ordered (snacks) came out a little slow. Not a big deal but just some feedback from us girls 😉 visited The Candlelight Club on 20 May 2017
22 May 2017 by
4

My party and myself had a really wonderful evening. The atmosphere was great, with everyone dressed up and the candle light creating a lovely atmosphere, and music was great, getting everyone up and dancing. There was a great Jazz band as well as Champagne Charlie, the caberet artist and auntie Maureen the DJ who all entertained us well all evening, the music wasn't technically all 1920's some was from 40's and 50's but nonetheless great entertainment all evening. My party and myself enjoyed our meal, an optional extra which was delicious. We did say however it was a shame the waiting staff were rather too causally dressed for such an event but they were all most freindly ensuring we had a good evening. We will most definitely be going again, and well done to Clayton for organising it all. Stephen visited The Candlelight Club on 20 May 2017

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Thanks, Stephen, I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves, and thanks for coming over to say hello!
22 May 2017 by
5

The event was fun but a little disappointing. We had the 3 course meal and the food was bad. The candles on our table were not long lasting so were completely melted less than 2 hours in and the cocktails were watered down immensely. That said, the band were great and everyone was dressed the part which helped. Not worth the money for the dinner but would consider going again without the food. More could have been done to create the atmosphere. It seems the event was created by spending the least amount possible. lebarnes visited The Candlelight Club on 20 May 2017
22 May 2017 by
3

Had a great time on Friday night and so did everyone else in our group. The staff were really great and welcoming (thanks Clayton for holding on to my wallet which I lost), the food was good and the band/music was spot on. The only thing that was a shame was that it had ot finish at 12pm!

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Thanks, Amir, I'm glad we were able to get your wallet back to you in the end!
21 May 2017 by
5

The building was mediocre, no decoration whatsoever. Music good but not enough entertainment Laura visited The Candlelight Club on 19 May 2017
21 May 2017 by
3

Budget decoration, the band only played for half an hour, lights were on for the majority of the night, food looked like it was bought from M&S. Definitely wouldn't recommend. sim visited The Candlelight Club on 19 May 2017

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Hi Sim, I'm sorry that you were disappointed by your experience. I guess you must have left early, as the band actually played for an hour and half, plus half an hour of cabaret from Champagne Charlie. Aside from all the candles, the only lights in the room are the ones on the stage, which are only on during the performances.
21 May 2017 by
1

Great fun. Wish the music started earlier visited The Candlelight Club on 19 May 2017
21 May 2017 by
4

We really enjoyed this night! It was great to see all the costumes and the efforts people made to dress up. the band in particular were amazing and we had great fun dancing to them and the DJ. Jacynth visited The Candlelight Club on 21 Jan 2017
07 May 2017 by
4

My wife and I had an absolutely brilliant night and really enjoyed ourselves. That said, I would like to take this opportunity to post some, hopefully constructive, criticism with a view to making future Candlelight Club's even better. So at one point Champagne Charlie (who was, as always, a brilliant host) asked how many people had been before ... the show of hands was pretty low and I'd like to offer a possible reason for this (I'd actually think twice about going again myself, despite having had a terrific night). For the money (and it's not cheap) - I really think the set dressing needed a LOT more effort. The club makes a BIG thing out of the venue being "entirely lit by candles" and I'm sorry but it's just not. The venue is lit by a un-atmospheric emergency ceiling and exit lights - and then each table has candles on it. This is not what I was expecting at all. I was expecting the place to be dark and moody instead of which it was ... well, a pretty ugly dingy basement basically. Also (sorry, this is sounding really negative and I'd like to stress again that I had a very enjoyable night) - I really think you might have have dressed the room a lot more than you did (have you been to any Secret Cinema events? Or The Last Tuesday Society? We're talking the same sort of money here). My wife and I arrived pretty early and at one point while we were eating two of the staff (who were all BRILLIANT by the way) were trying to blu-tak a bit of A4 paper over one of the emergency exit lights. Could you really not have spotted and fixed this problem a bit sooner? (I don't know when you take posession of the venue). To be honest, the main thing that sets the mood of the venue is the effort your guests go to to dress up. Anyway, thanks again and if the organisers need to contact me (and please do) then I'm sure they can find me on the facebook group. I'd really like feel it would be worth coming again. Alec Turner Alec visited The Candlelight Club on 21 Apr 2017

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Hi Alec, and thanks for your comments. You are quite right about the lighting: we had not used that particular room before and it was only when we lit the candles and switched the lights out that we realised there were these emergency lights which were so bright as to spoil the atmosphere. We did eventually manage to dim or extinguish them but for the first couple of hours i admit you could not describe the space as "candlelit", and for that I apologise.
28 Apr 2017 by
4

The band was brilliant and it attracted a very friendly crowd. As a non-diner it was a bit strange turning up in a slightly cramped basement while people were sat at tables eating. There wasn't much space for the people drinking so we were crammed into the back. Michael visited The Candlelight Club on 21 Apr 2017
26 Apr 2017 by
4

Gatsby should be elegance and decadence and magic. It felt a little cheap. I'd expect table service and moe effort with the venue. visited The Candlelight Club on 21 Apr 2017

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Hi Colette, I'm sorry you weren't taken by the venue: it is meant to feel like a speakeasy, hence the warehouse vibe, the packing-case bar, etc, but on 8th July and 28th October we're having special "ball" events at a grander venue that might be more what you are looking for.
26 Apr 2017 by
1

Clayton Hartley is a charming host and this is one of the best vintage events in London. This particular night band was from Norway, unsophisticated in their choice of material and musicianship, but on other occasions I have been to the Candlelight the bands were top class visited The Candlelight Club on 11 Jun 2016
26 Apr 2017 by
4

Fantastic night, band amazing, very organised, loved it, thank you! visited The Candlelight Club on 22 Apr 2017
26 Apr 2017 by
5

i went there with my friends for new year and it was one of the best night i spent in London ! the band was great, champagne Charlie was very funny and the cocktail was delicious slightly expensive thought. Will highly recommend it! Miss Miriam visited The Candlelight Club on 31 Dec 2016
13 Mar 2017 by
4

Had a fabulous evening at my first Candlelight Club event - despite the fact that I was doing Dry January! There was enough entertainment, music and dancing to keep me occupied that it didn't matter that I was drinking pineapple juice :) Samantha visited The Candlelight Club on 21 Jan 2017
03 Feb 2017 by
4

Absolutely brilliant night. The band and the DJ were absolutely brilliant. We all danced our little socks off. The drinks were nice. To be honest it was probably one of the best nights out we have had! It was planned perfectly and the venue was so secretive. All lit by candles which just made it the most fabulous atmosphere. The host was excellent at getting back to me and really went out of his way to make our night special. Cocktails were nice (and strong!) and there was a few different wines to choose from. The food was ok, not brilliant and probably not quite enough for the men in our group. I wasn't expecting much as it's mass catering but I enjoyed it all the same. Actually felt like I had gone back in time! Perfect night!!! James visited The Candlelight Club on 21 Jan 2017
23 Jan 2017 by
5

It was a brilliant night with great people to get to know, The dancing area was a bit small but everyone al had fun dancing the night away. I'm looking forward to going back to the CandleLight Club in the very near future :) Joe visited The Candlelight Club on 21 Jan 2017
23 Jan 2017 by
5

Champagne Charlie was a great host for an incredible night with amazing music! A slightly bigger dancing area would be nice though. Cornelia visited The Candlelight Club on 21 Jan 2017
23 Jan 2017 by
5

great people, great music, loved Champagne Charlie :) impatient for the next CC party.A bigger area to dance would be good, but proximity make it funnier and a good way to know new people :) Nicolas visited The Candlelight Club on 20 Jan 2017
23 Jan 2017 by
5

The pictures posted show a more elegant venue than the one the event took place in . It was a cold bare venue . The music and people were great though but the venue was not ! sahar visited The Candlelight Club on 20 Jan 2017
22 Jan 2017 by
3

Excellent NYE at the CC. Very good performance but Champagne Charlie and the Bubbly Boys and good overall atmospheric. A bigger area to dance in would be good though. Thomas visited The Candlelight Club on 28 Oct 2016
10 Jan 2017 by
5

Food was terrible, cold and 2 hours late although if it was served properly then it would have been lovely! But what a fantastic night! The new year venue could have been better something like an under ground basement like a real 1920 speakeasy and not an back street community centre but absolutely loved it! 100% will go again! Best new year iv had! And what's good is everyone attending really goes all out and gets into it I don't like leaving bad reviews when the negative things could have been avoided but paying just under £500 for four people and then over hearing the words ' I don't know what they are on about, our food great. Do whatever to shut them up' is not ok! 100% would never eat at the night again but would definitely go again and everyone should! It's brilliant! Iv taken 1start for the food and 1for the rudeness of what I think was the manager! Victoria visited The Candlelight Club on 31 Dec 2016

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Hi Victoria, while we are delighted that you enjoyed the overall experience, we're sorry that you found the dining experience so unsatisfactory. This was not an incident of which we were aware so we are looking into what happened, but if you would be like to discuss it with us please contact us at david@thecandlelightclub.com.
08 Jan 2017 by
3

Amazing night, fabulous music and dancing. I am definitely going back as it is hard to find a fun and different night out in London. Everyone made a massive effort with their outfits!!
06 Jan 2017 by
5

Fantastic from beginning to end. Will definitely do it again next year. Well done Candlelight Club!! Helen visited The Candlelight Club on 31 Dec 2016
03 Jan 2017 by
5

Excellent! Fantastic atmosphere, great music, excellent organization, perfect management. I would only suggest you to keep the prices of cocktails a little bit down, the ticket was already quite pricey :)! Regarding the tarot readers: you might consider using some atmosphere for them as well, maybe a tent made out of old red curtains! Overall a great party! Valeria visited The Candlelight Club on 31 Dec 2016
03 Jan 2017 by
5

Great fun evening, a different way to see in the New Year. The crowd were fun, energetic and friendly. Would definitely do it again, but I would reserve a table next time Helen visited The Candlelight Club on 31 Dec 2016
02 Jan 2017 by
5

Terrific NYE - what an electrifying atmosphere, terrific energy, a fun-loving crowd. Simply brilliant. Ian visited The Candlelight Club on 31 Dec 2016
02 Jan 2017 by
5

We had an amazing NYE the only issue was that the food was slow in coming. Apart from that it was brilliant!!! Jaime visited The Candlelight Club on 31 Dec 2016
02 Jan 2017 by
5

Excellent club...great live music, services, location It is a place definitely we'll come back again!!! Amalia visited The Candlelight Club on 31 Dec 2016
02 Jan 2017 by
5

Used to be 12£ and the band played longer than had breaks unlike now. The floor has holes and metallic bits. Too many tables/chairs, less dancing space. kitchen was useless:-( Evelyn visited The Candlelight Club on 09 Dec 2016

Reply from The Candlelight Club

Hi Evelyn, I’m sorry you were disappointed with your experience; it sounds like you have been before and enjoyed it more. I’m guessing you came on the Friday this time, when we did have problems with the catering (the kitchen team were held up in traffic and lost several hours, meaning many of the food orders went out late). The Candlelight Club has never actually been £12, though—perhaps you are thinking of a different event? The band played for an hour and a half, the same as usual; the only thing that has changed this year is that we now have 20–30 minutes of cabaret as well. The dance floor area in front of the stage is actually slightly bigger than it used to be, but it was a particularly busy night, so it might have seemed less spacious. I’m also sorry about the strange steampunk bits on the floor: the venue had some damage to the floorboards and made emergency repairs with metal plates, which is rather inelegant, I admit, but it needed to be made safe for dancing on.
11 Dec 2016 by
2

We had high expectations based on reviews we'd read, and this completely exceeded them. Superbly organised, fantastic music, it was impossible NOT to dance, and there was an atmosphere that just has to be experienced first hand, as words won't do it justice. We will definitely be coming to this again in future. Abby visited The Candlelight Club on 30 Jul 2016
02 Aug 2016 by
5

One word BRILLIANT! In a room full of candles and flappers, we danced the night away, It was incredible watching the 'proper' dancers. Lessons necessary before our next visit in October! Neil visited The Candlelight Club on 30 Jul 2016
01 Aug 2016 by
5

magical night with an amazing band, a beautiful venue and great ambiance. I will absolutely go to the next one and even invest is some more authentic clothes to stand out. jlilinshtein visited The Candlelight Club on 30 Jul 2016
01 Aug 2016 by
5

Makes me sad that I was only able to go to one of these as I am moving away from London shortly. A magical night that I wish I could experience every week. Good food, good drink, good friends, good music, good moves. It was a Magical evening. Champagne! Mary Helen visited The Candlelight Club on 11 Jun 2016
13 Jun 2016 by
5

2nd visit to Candlelight Club. Excellent fun definitely going to attend again. 1920,s reborn in Year 2016 great live music and funky period DJ with Auntie Maureen can't wait until next event -jolly well done Jeremy visited The Candlelight Club on 11 Jun 2016
13 Jun 2016 by
5

2nd visit to Candlelight Club. Excellent fun definitely going to attend again. 1920,s reborn in Year 2016 great live music and funky period DJ with Auntie Maureen can't wait until next event -jolly well done Jeremy visited The Candlelight Club on 11 Jun 2016
13 Jun 2016 by
5

Some initial problems upon arrival as chairs and glasses had not arrived yet. Instead of being offered a drink and asked to wait, until sorted we were shown to our table (one of the few with chairs) and almost immediately served our starter, while all around us chairs were being assembled and carried to the tables. There was a waiter, but he focussed more on guests without a dinner reservation rather than with us, so that we had to get our drinks ourselves, which isn't a problem, but it would have been nice to have had drinks served at the table at least for our dinner. After the starter and the main, which was delicious but small portions we had to wait for an hour for our dessert, which was disappointing (the couples sharing our table weren't so lucky, they had to wait for over an hour for their main courses). However, the entertainment was great, Champagne Charlie and the band brought the place to life and we had a fun time on the dance floor. In summary, great night once the entertainment started, but in future we will skip the disappointing meal and turn up for the party only. Niclas visited The Candlelight Club on 11 Jun 2016
13 Jun 2016 by
3

An excellent night. Everything was first rate: the DJ and the live band both set the tone, everyone made an effort to dress for the jazz age, the cocktails were just perfect and the whole . Then there this a charismatic venue with a good outside terrace all adds up to a great night and a feeling the roaring 20's never ended. Adrian visited The Candlelight Club on 11 Jun 2016
13 Jun 2016 by
5

The candlelight club hies good professional bands/musicians to whom one may dance swing, balboa, quickstep, Charleston and slow foxtrot plus the odd rumba. The guests, especially the men, are well dressed- they wear respectable dinner jackets, rather than cheap junk from fancy dress costume shops, and the atmosphere is relaxed. Clayton Hartley is a refined and respectable host. The cocktails are well mixed and quality ingredients are used. One of the few decent places to for dancing and a bit of fun in London if one prefers music with a melody and guests not dressed in torn jeans and T shirts George visited The Candlelight Club on 11 Jun 2016
13 Jun 2016 by
5

The best night out I've ever experienced. Champagne, jazz, dance, fabulous people: What else could one ask for. The cabaret style entertainment was the cherry on top as everyone was hooked into an evening of 1920s greatness. Sebastian visited The Candlelight Club on 11 Jun 2016
13 Jun 2016 by
5

Show Hide all


Buy Tickets