Jimmy's Winter Lodge - Fondue Club


Recommended

Join the wait list below and be the first to hear of new dates released

Joining the waiting list...

GOOD NEWS... You're on the list!!

We'll email {{waitingListEmail}}
if any more tickets or dates become available.

Description

Monday 18 December 2017 and 11 other dates
Multiple start times (see ticket info)
£30
Food & Drink, Something A Little Different, Supper Clubs, Date Night
Waterloo
Over 18

Please note: ticket purchases here are for our gorgeous, winter lodge pop-up not the riverside snow globes.


Winter is almost here, but fear not as the king of pop-ups, Jimmy Garcia has created the ultimate alpine foodie retreat to protect you from those bitter chills. 

Jimmy's lodge is situated at the bustling south bank, overlooking the Thames and the timeless buildings of London. Getting into the festive spirit, a cosy, two-storey cabin has been built with wooden cladding and a roof-top dining space sheltered with a roof and gifted with the best views south of the river. There is also a heated riverside alpine bar, with fire-pits, a canopy roof and a fantastic array of hot toddies and cocktails. 

The reservation only upstairs communal dining experience will serve mulled wine cured gravlax salmon, smoked goat’s curd and game terrine on brioche toast starters to share, followed by the traditional alpine fondue served with a selection of artisan charcuterie, new potatoes and bread. The downstairs winter grill will serve grab and go dishes including the show-stopping raclette burger, the wild boar and apple hot dog and ‘aspen fries’ topped with parmesan and truffle.

Possibly the most exciting feature of the lodge on the river is the inclusion of the Instagram - ready 'snow globes'; four gorgeous private dining domes available to book for up to 10 people per dome. The snow globes will be serving a set menu that features a trio of canapés followed by côte de boeuf to share, with charred broccoli, salted almonds and chilli butter. 

FONDUE CLUB (sample menu)

Starters

Selection of Small plates to share
Mulled Wine cured Gravlax Salmon, Poached Baby Pear, Rapeseed Oil Croute, Lemon Creme Fraiche
Game Terrine, Bacon Crumb, Plum Jam, Brioche Toast
Smoked Goat Curd, Roasted Pumpkin, Pickled Beetroot, Toasted Hazelnuts
-----
Main Course- Fondue! 

Traditional Alpine Fondue
Selection of Artisan Charcuterie
New Potatoes, Bread, Side Salad
-----
Dessert


Blackberry Ripple Mousse
Spiced crumble, compote, fresh winter berries


ticket info & dates/times

Finding event dates...

{{ ::date.nice_date }} Cancelled

Ticket Event time Cost
{{ ::ticket.ticket_type }}
{{ ::ticket.description }}
{{ ::ticket.start_time }} - {{ ::ticket.end_time }} {{ ::ticket.price | currency:'£' }}

Location

Jimmy's Lodge
78 Waterloo Bridge, London, SE1 9PX

Area:
South London

Nearest station:
Waterloo (Tube)

Terms

1. The ticket holder voluntarily assumes all risks and danger incidental to the event for which the ticket is issued, whether occurring prior, during or after the event. The ticket holder voluntarily agrees that the management, venue, event participants, DesignMyNight (WFL Media Ltd) and all of their respective agents, officers, directors, owners and employers are expressly released by the ticket holder from any claims arising from such causes.
2. Tickets are issued subject to the rules and regulations of the venue.
3. Please check your tickets, as mistakes cannot always be rectified.
4. Occasionally, events are cancelled or postponed by the promoter, team, performer or venue for a variety of reasons. If the event is cancelled, please contact us for information on receiving a refund from the responsible party. If the event was moved or rescheduled, the venue or promoter may set refund limitations. It is your responsibility to ascertain the date and time of any rearranged event.
5. The venue reserves the right to refuse admission and may on occasion have to conduct security searches to ensure the safety of the patrons.
6. Every effort to admit latecomers will be made at a suitable break in the event, but admission cannot always be guaranteed.
7. We regret that tickets cannot be exchanged or refunded after purchase.
8. Tickets are sold subject to the venue or promoter's right to alter or vary the programme due to events or circumstances beyond its control without being obliged to refund monies or exchange tickets.
9. If this ticket is re-sold or transferred for profit or commercial gain by anyone other than the promoter, venue management, DesignMyNight or one of their authorised sub-agents, it will become voidable and the holder may be
refused entry to or ejected from the venue.
10. The venue may operate a No Smoking Policy.
11. The promoter, venue management and DesignMyNight accept no responsibility for any personal property.
12. The event listed on the purchased ticket is strictly for ticket holders who are over 18 years of age. Identification may be required.

Venue

Jimmy's Lodge Jimmy's Lodge

Update - Our Snow Globes are selling out fast. With an unprecedented demand for the snow globes they are selling...

Organiser

(16 reviews) Show Hide all



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Very tight space on the table and you barely can eat without elbowing the stranger next to you. Starters are great, fondue is way below average, dessert looks like dog food. I found mud in my salad and the waiter confirmed it was mud and said it was normal. Didn’t even change the plate. The view: windows are completely steamed, well 30 people squeezed inside couldn’t be different. I want my money back! Amanda visited Jimmy's Lodge on 17 Dec 2017
17 Dec 2017 by
1

What a fantastic night we had! The food was great!! Loved every bite. The service was great, felt so wintery and cosy.
13 Dec 2017 by
5

An outstanding night! Very well organised by friendly and jovial staff. Food delicious given the scale of the event and the mulled wine was a real touch. On arguably the coldest night since the Ice Age (great Xmas movie JFYI), the lodge was set up in a wonderfully cosy and beautifully decorated fashion. See you next year, Jim
13 Dec 2017 by
5

I cannot believe these negative reviews! I came with 30 friends this Saturday and had the best Christmas party we have ever had as a group. The staff went above and beyond to make this the perfect evening and were so accommodating! The starters were the highlight, particular mulled wine cured salmon. Beautiful Christmas decorations, and there were heaters and blankets so it was super cosy. Cannot recommend enough, yes it is one long table and you may be sitting next to new people but it’s a pop up! If you want a festive treat this is the place. Great work jimmy and team.
13 Dec 2017 by
5

I came to the refuge lodge in a big group last Saturday and we had the best time! It was so warm and festive, the cheese was delicious, in particular I want to comment on the staff working that evening who went above and beyond to make our time special. So thankyou very much I’ll definitely be returning!!
13 Dec 2017 by
5

Dear Jimmy, I only write reviews when an experience is brilliant or terrible. I wonder if you can guess which way this one is going? Well sadly it is the latter. Your Pop Up is by far and away the worst dining experience we have had in London for as long as I can remember? It was awful. There was not one bit of the experience that I can review positively. The Lodge felt like we were inside a shipping container, the door when opened reduced the temperature several degrees, it was freezing, the staff were young and clearly inexperienced, the chef was a guy who just stirred a pot of hot cheese. The actual accompanying dishes for the fondue were simply packet food from a supermarket. This was simply a culinary disaster. To cap it off we were offered a thimble sized toffee digestive on the house, bloody hilarious. If you are going to do a Pop Up then try creating something memorable not something that fails to deliver on all levels. My tip to anyone considering parting with their hard earned cash, is go to McDonalds it will be a far more satisfying and a far cheaper experience. So Mr Jimmy as you can see we were more than disappointed with your promise of a alpine foodie experience. One last question have you ever been to Austria or Switzerland? I think probably not.

Reply from Jimmy's Winter Lodge - Fondue Club

Hi Phil, Sorry to read you did not enjoy your time with us at Jimmy's Lodge. I am not able to link your name to any bookings at this point in time - Would you mind emailing me on james@jimmyspopup.com with the booking name and date you attended, Kind Regards, James
11 Dec 2017 by
1

We hosted 8 clients in one of Jimmy's snow globe for lunch on Thursday and it was amazing!! The igloo's were warm and cosy in the rain and beautifully styled with rustic and festive finishing touches. The service was fantastic, the food was absolutely delicious and we have received lovely feedback from our guests. Thank you for looking after us so well.

Reply from Jimmy's Winter Lodge - Fondue Club

Thanks Goldbornevents Team! Was lovely having you and your clients along - we look forward to having you back again in the future!
11 Dec 2017 by
5

I have just left with my wife who’s birthday it is today and this was a gift to her. I had read the reviews before attending but I can HONESTLY state that our experience was completely different...food, venue, warmth, staff and drinks were superb...so much so that we are thinking of make this a gift for 2 others in the family...GREAT TIME...GREAT DAY...WELL DONE TO ALL AT JIMMY G’S 👍

Reply from Jimmy's Winter Lodge - Fondue Club

Hi Dpuk, Many thanks for your kind words, Great to hear you had a good time with us! Look forward to having you along next time. Hope you have a lovely festive season.
07 Dec 2017 by
5

We attended last weekend and had dinner upstairs in the lodge - it was a massive waste of money. I didn't take my coat off the entire time, there was no heating and it was freezing. The food was average overall, the terrine was so fatty - the fondue was good and they were generous with the portion (i think because the table next to us didn't show up). Pudding was very simple, we had the crumble. The wine was overpriced. Two tables left as pudding came out as they were so disappointed. The staff were friendly, although they didn't really have to do anything so the 12.5% service charge was ridiculous. All the food was ready prepared so they literally just had to put it on the table and clear plates - they didn't even serve the wine, just plonked down the bottles. Would not go again camilla visited Jimmy's Lodge on 02 Dec 2017

Reply from Jimmy's Winter Lodge - Fondue Club

Hi Camilla, I am sorry to read this. We have since resolved our heating issues, I apologise you were affected by this! I have shared your comments about the Terrine and the Dessert with the kitchen team. Service charge is optional and you should have been made aware of this. Please feel free to get in touch with me on james@jimmyspopup.com if you would like to discuss further. Best wishes,
06 Dec 2017 by
2

My friends and I went for dinner last night in the upstairs area. Food was epic (I'm still full today), and views over the river were lovely. We had great fun chatting to everyone at the table! We were worried about the cold, but the team assured us they had sorted the heating out and they were right, it wasn't a problem for us. Keep up the good work!

Reply from Jimmy's Winter Lodge - Fondue Club

Hi Liz, Glad to read you had a good evening! Hope to see you and your friends back at the lodge again soon!
05 Dec 2017 by
5

We really enjoyed this experience. The other comments below on it being cold - this is London. It was warm enough, it's meant to be cosy and we loved the food. Keep up the good work and we will keep coming to these pop ups to experience something different. Niki visited Jimmy's Lodge on 18 Nov 2017

Reply from Jimmy's Winter Lodge - Fondue Club

Hi Niki, Great to hear you enjoyed your evening! Look forward to having you back next time!
05 Dec 2017 by
4

What a joke. You pay £40 per person to sit in the cold, inside a tiny space, barely hearing your friends because it is full of people sitting all in the same table. A fondue that I can make at home for £6 with more privacy and heater. The igloos are made of plastic, nothing like on the pictures and it is the least glamourous atmosphere compared to how they make it look. They are outrageously expensive and you can't see anything from the inside after a while of being there. Just a good old fashion rip off.

Reply from Jimmy's Winter Lodge - Fondue Club

Hi Alexia Many thanks for taking the time to write your feedback. I am really sorry to read that we did not manage to meet your expectations on this occasion. Would you mind dropping me an email on info@jimmyspopup.com with your booking name and date you joined us at the Refuge as I am unable match your name to any reservations at this point. I will also try and address your point’s bellow. Heat When we opened we were significantly limited by the amount of power we were able to allocate to heating. We have since been able to provide a gas heating alternative that we believe has solved the problem, along with this we have blankets available for those that still find the room too cold. I am however sorry that this affected you. Communal Dining When booking tickets we do advise that the event is a “Communal dining experience” we do this for almost all our pop ups as we believe it is a fun way for our guests to meet new people and share a meal with others – I am sorry this did not suit you. Value I don’t think it is entirely fair to say you could recreate the meal for £6. As you have not taken into account the Cured Salmon, Game Terrine, Winter Veg salad starters or the bread, Charcuterie and potatoes that come with the fondue or the dessert. Igloos Our guests that have dined in the igloos have really enjoyed their experience. Please feel free to get in touch with me to discuss further. Otherwise, I hope you have a fantastic festive season. Best wishes,
02 Dec 2017 by
1

Sorry but this just doesn’t work - we expected a warm alpine room decked out all cosy and festive. What we got was one freezing room, no coziness at all and a very very simple meal - the potatoes were under cooked and really tasteless - I guess the guys have never been skiing or to the nordics if they think that is how people eat fondue langloan visited Jimmy's Lodge on 28 Nov 2017

Reply from Jimmy's Winter Lodge - Fondue Club

Hi Langloan, Many thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read that your experience was not as you had anticipated when you visited our Refuge Restaurant. We have since managed to resolve our heating issues and I am really sorry you were affected by this! Blankets should have been made available for you on the day. I have fed back your message regarding the undercooked/tasteless potatoes to our kitchen team. Feel free to get in touch on info@jimmyspopup.com if you wish to discuss further. Best wishes
29 Nov 2017 by
1

So disappointed. The room was really cold, with no heating at all. It’s set up as one long table with not enough room between you and your neighbours to eat properly. It’s a proper squeeze. Food was ok, except for the brûlée which was so shallow and mediocre. Staff were lovely and made the best of a very bad situation. I can’t recommend this place, the whole set up with ridiculous and cheap. Give it a miss or go prepared with a thick coat knowing that you’ll be eating close up with 20+ strangers. Mark visited Jimmy's Lodge on 25 Nov 2017

Reply from Jimmy's Winter Lodge - Fondue Club

Hi Mark, I am sorry to read you were disappointed by your visit to the Refuge. We have since managed to resolve our heating issues and I have fed back your thoughts about the brluee (as a result it has now been changed to a winter berry mousse) I am glad to read that you thought the staff were lovely and I will be sure to pass on the message to them. Please feel free to drop me an email on info@jimmyspopup.com if you wish to discuss further. I hope you have a great festive season. Best wishes,
26 Nov 2017 by
2

We were a large group and had a great time! The setting is cool and the starters were delicious. The fondue was slightly gloopier than we've had before but all tasty and there was plenty of dipping foods. The vin chaud was perfect for the setting (it's a bit chilly in there) and the staff were lovely. Olivia visited Jimmy's Lodge on 19 Nov 2017

Reply from Jimmy's Winter Lodge - Fondue Club

Hi Oliva, Lovely to read that you and you're friends had a great time at the Refuge! Thank you for your feedback on the Fondue - I have handed that on to the kitchen team. Hope to see you again sometime soon.
24 Nov 2017 by
4

Very disappointed. Everyone cramped onto the table and food well below average. Not worth the money. Keep your coat on. Sabina visited Jimmy's Lodge on 18 Nov 2017

Reply from Jimmy's Winter Lodge - Fondue Club

Hi Sabina, Sorry to read you were disappointed by your visit to the Refuge and you did not enjoy the communal dining. I would be interested to hear more about why you thought the food was below average. Feel free to get in touch with me on info@jimmyspopup.com to discuss. Best wishes.
19 Nov 2017 by
1

Show Hide all


Buy Tickets