The Crooked Billet

Pub

Book & Enquire for free

The Crooked Billet photo The Crooked Billet photo The Crooked Billet photo The Crooked Billet photo The Crooked Billet photo The Crooked Billet photo

Description

The Crooked Billet is a treasured London pub is situated right at the tip of the beautiful Wimbledon Common. This typical Young's pub offers award winning cask ales, craft beers, a cracking selection of old and new world wines and always a warm welcome, for those who've strayed beyond the village's high-street.

The friendly atmosphere can be enjoyed inside by the cosy fire on large leather sofas, and diners in the Pantry can tuck into quality seasonal British produce prepared from fresh to deliver great pub food classics as well as succulent Sunday roasts of Aberdeen Angus striploin of beef, organic Dorset leg of lamb or half roasted chicken, or why not try all three? 

You might prefer to appreciate The Crooked Billet's very own grass lawn with a tall pitcher of Pimms and an al-fresco lunch, so grab a deckchair or a rug and take your pick of the best spot.

Info

No Door Charge
No queues normally
Happily Affordable ££
Wimbledon
18
Pub
Disabled Toilets
None

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 00:00
11:00 00:00
11:00 23:00

Location

The Crooked Billet
14-15 Crooked Billet, London, SW19 4RQ

Area:
South London

Nearest station:
Wimbledon (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

(54 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Visited The Crooked Billet on 2018-01-21
by on January 23rd, 2018
5

It was great and the service was really friendly. Food was delicious. Love the country style at the crooked billet ! See you soon ! Visited The Crooked Billet on 2018-01-12

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Fantastic to hear your compliments, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again very soon.
by on January 14th, 2018
5

Wonderful pub, great staff and service and delicious roast! Thanks! Visited The Crooked Billet on 2018-01-07

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you very much for your lovely compliments.This means a lot to us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
by on January 9th, 2018
4

Terrific Sunday lunch and bonus points to the staff for accommodating our late arrival with a smile! Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-31

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Always great to hear lovely compliments and share with our team. Thank you for taking the time. We hope to see you again soon.
by on January 3rd, 2018
5

Probably just NYE bad luck as eaten here before and it was great. Booked a table for 4 adults and 4 children which was confirmed for 4-6.30. Arrived early and table was ready which was great. Most had Sunday roasts which were piled high with cabbage. Chicken was unfortunately dried out. Finished main meals by 5.20 latest and then ignored by staff who were joking and having tea towel fights until 5.57 when we were told we would need to leave in 3 mins as no children allowed after 6. We were subsequently offered the option to stay and have desserts but decided to leave and eat at home. V poor but hopefully just a blip. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-31

Reply from The Crooked Billet

My name is Duncan and I am the general manager here. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointing visit to us. We pride ourselves on our efficient, friendly service and freshly prepared menu so when this does not happen and something goes wrong then our aim is to always ensure that mistakes are rectified and our guests leave happy. This does not seem to have happened on your visit. I will look into what went wrong and speak to the team to ensure that problems like this do not occur in the future. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope that we will see you again.
by on January 2nd, 2018
3

I would definitely recommend Christmas Day at the Crooked Billet. The atmosphere was great, the pub team friendly and the food fantastic as always. It was so lovely to celebrate our baby’s first Christmas there... and be able to take our dog too! A big thumbs up 👍 Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-25

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you so much or your wonderful compliments. It was really lovely to spend Christmas lunch with you and your family. Always such a special day. See you again soon.
by on January 2nd, 2018
5

Great and friendly service as usual. Food is also great take care Sean Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-30

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you so much for your compliments, always great to hear and means so much to us. We hope to see you again soon.
by on January 1st, 2018
5

Great as always. Good food and good service. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-28

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Great to hear and share with the team, thank you for your compliments and taking the time to feedback and we hope to see you soon.
by on December 30th, 2017
4

The pub is lovely and has great atmosphere. The service was slow and inattentive but friendly and accommodating - we will go again but would not order the pie of the day this time - go for the duck Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-28

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your visit. It's great to hear your compliments but I was sorry to hear that your service on the day you visited was not up to our usual standard. We do hope to see you again soon.
by on December 30th, 2017
3

Fantastic food and really friendly staff. They made our Christmas Day really special. Thank you so much. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-25

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Fantastic to hear and thank you so much for your wonderful compliments. Christmas day is always made special by everyone who we share it with. We hope to see you again soon.
by on December 27th, 2017
5

Amazing atmosphere and service. One of our best Christmases! Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-25

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments. It is always great to hear and share with the team. We also had a wonderful time on Christmas day and it is always great to share with everyone. We hope to see you again very soon.
by on December 27th, 2017
5

Sorry to see that the starter selection has been reduced from previous (we ended up not having any at all which was probably no bad thing as mains were huge!!) but overall staff were great (as always) and main course just what we expected. Thank you, thoroughly enjoyed. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-24

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Sorry to hear of your disappointment at our reduced starter menu, however, very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and also our portions. We hope to see you again soon.
by on December 26th, 2017
4

We always come for Christmas Eve lunch. Very friendly staff and good service. Very Christmasy! Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-24

Reply from The Crooked Billet

That's really great to hear and we are so happy that you enjoyed your lunch with us. Thank you so much for your lovely compliments. We hope to see you again soon.
by on December 26th, 2017
5

As always good service and lovely food Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-23

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you very much for the lovely compliments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
by on December 25th, 2017
4

Great service and food. Really enjoyable afternoon Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-23

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for your comments and really happy to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon with us.
by on December 25th, 2017
5

Wonderful, cosy pub atmosphere with friendly staff, good selection of drinks and tasty food. Thank you Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-19

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thanks for the great feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your visit to the Crooked Billet and hopefully we'll be seeing you soon!
by on December 21st, 2017
5

Overall good experience and atmosphere. Food was overall very tasty, however the cheese board could've had a wider variety of cheese's & the crumble was very bitter. Feedback from the Vegan menu was very good, and they felt very well caterred for. Thank you Crooket Billet for a great evening! We'll be back again Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-18

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for your feedback, we've passed your comment onto the Chefs so we can work on improve our menus to make them the best they can be. We know it's hard to find a good Vegan Menu sometimes, we try to look after everyone and it's great that they've felt that we've looked after them. Looking forward to seeing you soon!
by on December 20th, 2017
4

its always great to dine at there,especially sunday roast and their puds are spot on.cozy,warm atmosphere with proper fire place,great and friendly people.had great time, Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-17

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for the positive review, we put a lot of effort into making the Crooked Billet feel like a home away from home for our customers and it's great when people love it so much they come back again and again. We'll be seeing you soon for another Sunday Roast!
by on December 19th, 2017
5

Lovely atmosphere and good food. However, the service on the day wasn’t great as the staff didn’t seem to pay much attention to our table, orders came out wrong and/or in the wrong order. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-17

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry that our service didn't meet expectations on this occasion. We strive to give great service, but sometimes that doesn't happen. We've spoken to our staff to ensure that we give the best service all the time. Hopefully this hasn't put you off and we'll be seeing you again here at the Crooked Billet.
by on December 19th, 2017
3

We had a lovely Sunday lunch - great atmosphere, attentive staff and yummy food! Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-17

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thanks for the great comments, we've glad you enjoy our great Sunday Roast's as much as we enjoy serving them!
by on December 19th, 2017
5

Very pleasant evening and very well looked after by the staff, thank you. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-13

Reply from The Crooked Billet

That's amazing to hear, thank you. Ill be sure to let the guys know. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
by on December 18th, 2017
4

Fabulous food and super service. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-15

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you very much for the lovely compliments. This means a great deal to us. we look forward to seeing you again soon.
by on December 17th, 2017
5

As always, the food was delicious, and the staff friendly and attentive. It was a lovely atmosphere, with the fire burning in the background. Thank you. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-14

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you so much for the lovely review. Ill make sure to pass this around as I'm sure the staff will love to hear this. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
by on December 16th, 2017
5

Good food & beer, pleasant service, warm fire... Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-13

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you very much for your lovely compliments.this means a lot to us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
by on December 15th, 2017
5

A very busy Sunday lunch service. A warm welcome and some delicious food. Staff so polite and efficient, thank you. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-10

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments. it really means a great deal to us and our team. We hope to see you soon.
by on December 13th, 2017
4

Lovely pub however the service and the food was very poor. We had to ask every time to order drinks, main meal, dessert and for the bill. My roast was over cooked, the was lamb dry and I think the roast potatoes had been cooked hours earlier & were very disappointing. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-10

Reply from The Crooked Billet

My name is Duncan and I am the General Manager here at the Crooked Billet. I was very sorry to hear that your visit to us was not great and I am looking into what went wrong. If you would like to give me a call on 02089464942 or email me at crookedbillet@youngs.co.uk so we can discuss this further. I look forward to hearing from you.
by on December 13th, 2017
1

Excellent welcome service and great food! What’s not to like? Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-10

Reply from The Crooked Billet

We're so happy that you enjoyed your lunch with us and thank you for your wonderful compliments. Always great to hear and share with the team. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
by on December 12th, 2017
5

I had had a good experience at the Crooked Billet previously and therefore decided to invite my wife on this occasion. Unfortunately this time the experience was not good. My wife had the steak and ale pie which had a soggy lid and chips that were past their best. I commented on this and we were offered free desserts or a round of drinks. The atmosphere in the dining area was spoilt by cold draughts. Moving to another table did help a little but we were quite cold by this time. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-30

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your visit this time was not an enjoyable one. We pride ourselves on delivering an all round great experience with delicious food and a warming welcoming atmosphere, so was really sad to hear of your disappointment. We are looking at minimising any drafts that we have in our Pantry area and really hope that you will come back and give us another try.
by on December 7th, 2017
2

Cosy pub, good food and big portions (especially the fish and chips), the service was also efficient and friendly, we will definitely be back! Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-02

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thanks for your great feedback, we pride ourselves on having great Fish and Chips and we're glad you enjoyed it too. Some find the big portions a bit scary at first, but we see it as a challenge. If you couldn't finish it this time, try again when you visit us again!
by on December 6th, 2017
5

Lovely pub, with restaurant quality food. Always been one of my favourite places to eat in Wimbledon. A big draw for me is that my dog is also welcome, which means I can have dinner with my friends without leaving my four legged one at home. It is a busy pub with a cosy atmosphere without feeling over crowded or too noisy. Lovely staff, always welcoming. Only reason I've not give it 5 stars is because they ran out of steak. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-02

Reply from The Crooked Billet

It's great to hear that you love our pub as much as we do and we are always delighted to welcome our four legged friends. Next time you pop by, try our Slow cooked beef brisket, (if you have not already) Its delicious and going down a storm in this cold weather.
by on December 4th, 2017
4

Looked after very well, thank you. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-12-02

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for your compliments, it's always lovely to hear and share with the team.
by on December 4th, 2017
5

Lovely staff, excellent service and GOOD roast veg! We were a table of 7, mixed up booking online (I thought I'd booked for Sunday, but had booked for Sat) however, staff thankfully sorted us a table, and it's so good that we are back at midday on the 6th Dec for our "work from home" Christmas lunch... see you then! Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-25

Reply from The Crooked Billet

We're so happy that you enjoyed your lunch with us and thank you for your wonderful compliments. Always great to hear and share with the team. We are looking forward to seeing you again on the 6th for your Christmas get together.
by on November 28th, 2017
5

Lovely atmosphere, good service and food. Some guest ales would be good. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-22

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your visit to the Crooked Billet! We're always looking to expand our beer range and we've trying out some different craft beers and ales in the past few months. Stay tuned, next time when you come in there will be something new and different on the bar for you to try!
by on November 26th, 2017
4

Great ambiance, food was delicious and staff were very friendly! The only slight watchout is with the fire and heating inside it was so hot inside, so bring layers to strip off! :) Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-19

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for your awesome comments! We're glad you enjoyed your food and your comments will be shared with the team. We try to create the cosiest pub possible and with our heaters and fire, it can get a bit warm. Next time, we can turn the heater down for you a bit, but the real coal fire only one setting i'm afraid: Roaring!
by on November 23rd, 2017
4

I always enjoy Crooked Billet; and my two friends did too (their first visit). Excellent choice of wine by the glass, always good food and a really nice ambiance; especially the open fire for chillier days. Service was excellent too Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-21

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for your amazing review, we're all so glad you enjoy the pub atmosphere as much as we do creating it! Be sure to grab some mulled wine when you're next to fire next time, it's a match made in wintery heaven!
by on November 23rd, 2017
5

Excellent pub,. service & food. As we had a golden retriever puppy with us they even located our table away from passing traffic so everyone could relax and enjoy their meal. Exceptional. Will definitely return Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-19

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments. it really means so much to us and our team. We hope to see you soon.
by on November 21st, 2017
5

Amazing Sunday lunch - the stuffed pork belly was divine and the sides were great. We also enjoyed the crumble with an Americano and it was all lovely. 100% would recommend. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-19

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for your fantastic review and it's really great to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us. Next time you visit you will have to try the salted caramel brownie, a favourite of mine. Hopefully we will see you soon
by on November 21st, 2017
5

Wonderful night. Excellent food and drinks. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-18

Reply from The Crooked Billet

That's really great to hear and we are very happy that you enjoyed your evening with us. We hope to see you again very soon.
by on November 20th, 2017
5

Very good service and lovely food. Great atmosphere too. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-17

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for the great comments, always lovely to hear and share with the team . We hope to see you again soon.
by on November 19th, 2017
4

Great evening - staff very helpful and lovely atmosphere for our drinks evening, Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-16

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. Thank you so much for your compliments. We hope to see you again very soon.
by on November 18th, 2017
5

A really great local pub with better food than most - the steak and ale pie was delicious. Friendly and happy service, and good beer. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-16

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments. Its always great to hear and share with the team. We hope to see you again soon.
by on November 18th, 2017
4

The meal was absolutely fantastic. The meats were melt in the mouth. Wonderful Yorkshire puddings too. A great time was had by all celebrating my dads 80th birthday. The staff were very attentive & pleasant. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-12

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit with us. We are delighted that you had a great time celebrating your Dads birthday and its really great to hear your wonderful compliments. We hope to see you again soon.
by on November 14th, 2017
5

Had a lovely roast with the family. Service was great and very cosy in the back pasr of the pub near the fire. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-12

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for your lovely compliments. we're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday with us and we hope to see you again soon.
by on November 14th, 2017
5

We were there from 12.30 until closing time. Great service, great food, great atmosphere 😃 Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-11

Reply from The Crooked Billet

That's really great to hear and we are so happy that you enjoyed your day with us. Thank you so much for your lovely compliments. We hope to see you again soon.
by on November 13th, 2017
5

As usual, the welcome we received upon arrival was that of a warm one. The food was superb and service fantastic! That, mixed with a great range of drinks (beers and whiskies to be more precise) made for a wonderful visit to our favourite London country pub! Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-11

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you so much for your feedback. It's always really great to hear and share with the team, who will be super chuffed. We hope to see you again.
by on November 13th, 2017
5

Lovely food and atmosphere, good beer and portions. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-11

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for the great comments. Always lovely to hear (and we do love our big portions).
by on November 13th, 2017
4

Great food and friendly service. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-02

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Great to hear, thank you for taking the time and we hope to see you soon.
by on November 4th, 2017
4

Loved my visit made very welcome hector_specter2017 Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-11-01

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you so much for the lovely comments, its always lovely to hear.
by on November 3rd, 2017
5

It's a lovely pub in a great location and the service was attentive. But we were disappointed by Sunday lunch. Grey overcooked beef - we were given no choice of how we wanted it cooked - soggy roast potatoes and a flaccid Yorkie. The children's menu is also pretty shocking. £7 for a bowl of pasta with tomato sauce feels like they've decided they don't want kids and are pricing to create a disincentive. Plenty of people clearly do like it. But it's not for us. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-10-29

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your visit. I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your lunch with us . We pride ourselves on our Sunday roasts and always use fresh seasonal ingredients for all the food on our menu so we was sad to hear of your disappointment. We hope you will give us another try.
by on November 2nd, 2017
2

Such a GREAT pub! Great food, amazing setting, and lovely people Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-10-28

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you so much for your compliments and such lovely feedback. It's always great to hear and pass onto our team.
by on October 30th, 2017
5

The waiter forgot to put our main course order through... we had to wait around 45 min between starter and main course and nobody seemed to notice until we finally asked. We were offered a free round of drinks, which we didn't need, or desserts, but desserts were charged on the bill. It wasn't great. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-10-28

Reply from The Crooked Billet

My name is Duncan and i am the General Manager here at the Crooked Billet. I was very sorry to hear that your visit to us was not great and I am looking into what went wrong. If you would like to give me a call on 02089464942 or email me at crookedbillet@youngs.co.uk so we can discuss this further. I look forward to hearing from you.
by on October 30th, 2017
1

Nice roast and amazing brownies Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-10-22

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for your great comments, we look forward to seeing you soon. Kindest regards
by on October 24th, 2017
5

Excellent service as ever, we ordered the Sunday lunch the meat dishes were perfect, the veggie Wellingtons lacked flavour, the one that use to be on the menu was more tasty. Visited The Crooked Billet on 2017-10-22

Reply from The Crooked Billet

Thank you for taking the time to feed back on your visit and great to hear your compliments. Sorry you did not enjoy the Wellington. We have been looking at changing the ingredients to make it available to more diners but we will continue to review with our head chef. We hope to see you again soon .
by on October 24th, 2017
4

Nice atmosphere here, shame it was raining the day we went so we couldn't sit on the grass. Always next time though!
by on January 1st, 1970
3
1 person(s) found this helpful

Show all Show fewer


If you like The Crooked Billet, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.