Founders Arms

Book & Enquire for free

Founders Arms photo Founders Arms photo Founders Arms photo Founders Arms photo Founders Arms photo Founders Arms photo

Description

The Founders Arms, with an amazing location right on the Thames, offering amazing views of the London skyline, is a popular spot for people of all ages. You can expect anything of the typical pub in terms of design, with a warm and welcoming feel. If you're lucky enough to catch one of the riverside tables on a sunny day, be prepared for breathtaking views.

Their home-cooked menu & daily specials cater for all & include pub classics like beer-battered fish & chips, sausage & mash & steak & ale pie alongside their burgers, sandwiches, pasta & salads. They are also proud to offer Young’s award-winning range of real ales, bottled & draught super-cold imported lagers & cider, a list of world-class wines & spirits. Pimm’s & lemonade flows in the summer, mulled wine in the winter. Day or night, summer or winter, there is always an amazing atmosphere! 

Info

No Door Charge
No queues normally
Splash the Cash £££
Waterloo
Over 18
No music
Wheelchair Access, Disabled Toilets
None

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
09:00 23:00
09:00 23:00
09:00 23:00
09:00 23:00
09:00 00:00
09:00 00:00
09:00 23:00

Location

Founders Arms
52 Hopton Street, London, SE1 9JH

Area:
South London

Nearest station:
Southwark (Tube)
Open in Citymapper
Open in Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Pint of Lager £4.75
Pint of Real Ale £4.35
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £4.85
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £5.60
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £8.15
Bottle of House Wine £23.50
Bottle of Champagne £58.50

Menus

Brunch menu Download
Menu Download


This venue serves British, Pub Food and Brunch food.

(59 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

We enjoyed our visit as the founders arms it is in a great location. However it was difficult to get staff attention when we first arrived and rather that just being told "oh your table is over there" it would have been nice to be shown over to the table and advised it was not waiter service for drinks. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-23

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi there, we're very sorry to hear about the service you received on your visit. We like to pride ourselves on our service so it's very disappointing to hear that this happened. We really appreciate the feedback and will discuss this in our next team meeting. Apologies once again and we hope you will give us another chance in the future. ~Team Founder's
by on January 8th, 2018
3

We try to order the special(a fish dish)and that was out. Next tried to order fish and chips and that was out. Ordered the sirloin steak which was terrible and only ate half. Was sick during the night with food poisoning. Would not recommend or ever eat there again. Wait staff didn’t seem to care about our business. This restaurant was recommended from a friend, we were very disappointed. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-28

Reply from Founders Arms

Could you please contact us with the time, date and details of your visit to foundersarms@youngs.co.uk. We take these allegations very seriously and the information provided will be passed on to our Health & Safety Partners
by on January 4th, 2018
1

Great location and interior - perfect for a nice lunch/dinner catchup. However the service was terribly slow even though it was not that busy. Drinks came nearly after the meals had been finished and the meals were not served particularly hot. as if they have been sitting there awhile. Visited Founders Arms on 2018-01-01

Reply from Founders Arms

HI There, thank you very much for the constructive feedback and we will use this to improve our service. I hope you will visit again soon and we can improve our offer
by on January 3rd, 2018
3

food was very good. Noise level was very high. Probably to be expected on NYE Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-31

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There, so glad you enjoyed seeing in the New Year with us. Hope to see you again soon
by on January 2nd, 2018
5

We really enjoyed the New Year’s Eve and food Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-31

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There, so glad you enjoyed seeing in the New Year with us. Hope to see you again soon
by on January 2nd, 2018
4

Excellent Christmas meal at Founders Arms. They catered for our difficult dietary requirements and the food was really good. Nice atmosphere and lovely views over the Thames. We will definitely go back here again. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-20

Reply from Founders Arms

HI There, so glad you enjoyed your time with us, hope to see you again soon!
by on January 2nd, 2018
4

Always good food and drink thanks Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-30

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There, thank you so much for the comments and the 5 star rating. So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again soon!
by on January 1st, 2018
5

Easy to book, polite friendly service and good food. All good Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-29

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There, thank you so much the great feedback, so glad you enjoyed your experience with us Happy New Year! Team Founder's
by on December 31st, 2017
4

Very nice pub, great view onto St Paul and the Thames. Friendly staffs, comfortable dinning area for 8 people (table booked in advance)....a bit more salad with sandwiches/burgers/baps would have been welcome; apart from that we had a great relaxing lunch! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-24

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi there, Thank you so much for the nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our pub and location and we will pass your comments onto the chef regarding the leaves. Hopefully we will see you in the new year and see about getting you a bit more salad. Many thanks, ~Team Founders
by on December 29th, 2017
4

Food was amazing as always .... sadly there was a Xmas hangover with the service... Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-27

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi there, many thanks for taking the time to review us. Thank you for the great comments about the food and we are very sorry to hear about the standard of service you were given. If you have any details to add then please don't hesitate to contact us, we appreciate all feedback to help us improve our offer and we hope you will give us another chance in the new year. Yours with apologies, ~Team Founders
by on December 29th, 2017
3

love the food, ambience and serivce, Ferdinando was great! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-21

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi there, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you had a great experience with us, Ferdi thanks you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you in the new year. Many thanks, ~Team Founders
by on December 26th, 2017
5

Thank you, we enjoyed our time with us very much and ate very delicious. Thanks in particular to "Little Robbie Williams" Jonas. Reinhard Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-12

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi there, thank you for your amazing review. We are so happy that you had a great experience with us and we have passed your kind comments on to Jonas :) Many thanks ~Team Founders
by on December 26th, 2017
5

Had an amazing evening. I had booked a table for family and I to help celebrate our engagement. The staff were very quick and very, The bar food was quick, and tasty. I actually found the prices very competitive for a city pub. Would definitely recommend to a friend. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-22

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi there, thank you for such a lovely review. Congratulations on your engagement! We are so happy that you had a great night and we look forward to hopefully seeing you in the new year. Many thanks, ~Team Founders
by on December 24th, 2017
5

Very disappointing service with a rude and unfriendly waiter. The food was also below average with overcooked burgers and fries. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-21

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi there, we are very sorry to hear about your disappointing evening and offer our apologies for that. As an apology we would like to invite you back and offer 2 burgers on the house to show you that we can do it right. As for the waiter, I have spoken to him and we will be doing some team training in our next team meeting. Sorry once again and we hope you'll give us another chance soon. ~Team Founders
by on December 23rd, 2017
1

Food was lovely, great service and beautiful view of London. Thanks Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-20

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There, thanks so much for the wonderful comments. Hope to see you again soon!
by on December 22nd, 2017
5

Very late posting this, but we felt the food was excellent value, the service attentive and very helpful, and we had a lovely time! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-07

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There, thanks so much for the wonderful comments. Hope to see you again soon!
by on December 21st, 2017
5

Enjoyable office Christmas lunch. Great views; good-sized, well-presented food and drinks; excellent atmosphere; attentive and friendly service, especially Jonas and Adrianna. Many thanks. Merry Christmas. Sherpa Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-19

Reply from Founders Arms

Thank you so much for the lovely comments, I will pass your comments on to Jonas & Ada
by on December 21st, 2017
5

It was an amazing evening Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-16

Reply from Founders Arms

We're so glad you had a great evening! We look forward to welcoming you back again. Merry Christmas ~ Founders Arms
by on December 18th, 2017
5

Excellent night - great food and great service Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-16

Reply from Founders Arms

So glad you had a great experience, see you again soon and thanks for the lovely comments
by on December 18th, 2017
5

Lovely venue, very good food and the staff were brilliant. Professional and friendly. There were 11 of us and everything was perfect. Thanks! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-14

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There, thanks so much for the wonderful comments. Hope to see you again soon!
by on December 18th, 2017
5

Good service, good beer and worth a visit! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-05

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There, thanks so much for the wonderful comments. Hope to see you again soon!
by on December 17th, 2017
5

An excellent evening! Our booking went very smoothly indeed; food was great, staff were lovely and friendly throughout the night, and the location was perfect. 10/10 guys! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-15

Reply from Founders Arms

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, so glad you enjoyed your visit. We will pass your comments onto the team. Merry Xmas, ~ Team Founders
by on December 17th, 2017
5

Excellent location, it was very warm and welcoming on the cold wet day that we were there for our department Christmas drinks. The team really enjoyed the sharing platters, Many thanks to the staff for being so helpful. We'll be back in the summer :-) Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-13

Reply from Founders Arms

Thank you so much the great comments, so happy you enjoyed your time with us. Will pas on to the rest of the team Merry Xmas, Team Founder's
by on December 15th, 2017
5

I booked the Founders Arms for a work Christmas party for 15 people. We had a really great evening - beautiful view of the river and the food was great. Would definitely recommend Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-12

Reply from Founders Arms

Thank you so much for the amazing cxomments and so happy your enjoyed your time with us. See you again soon Merry Xmas, Team Founder's
by on December 14th, 2017
5

Meal for 20 at a busy time of year (Dec 12th) didn't seem to faze the team at all. They were polite, fast and helpful throughout and the food was great - what's not to love! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-12

Reply from Founders Arms

Thank you so much for the amazing comments, so happy you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon Marry Xmas Team Founder's
by on December 14th, 2017
4

Good pub and nice food. I celebrated my birthday and they reserved a couple of tables for me as promised. Service was attentive and friendly. Thanks to you all Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-10

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There, so glad your enjoyed your time with us and thanks for the kind words. Hope to see you again soon!
by on December 14th, 2017
4

Very acommodating staff, we had a few changes in the run up to the event and it was no problem at all - the staff were all lovely and extremely helpful and the food was delicious - not a bad comment from any of our party of 41 people! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-07

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely feedback (we're hoping the 2* rating was maybe an accident?!) We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon! Team Founders
by on December 13th, 2017
2

Really great Christmas dinner food, good value and spectacular views. Really loved the booking process, so easy and painless. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-09

Reply from Founders Arms

Thank you so much for the great review! hope to see you again soon. Merry Xmas, Team Founder's
by on December 11th, 2017
5

Lovely food and friendly staff! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-08

Reply from Founders Arms

That's really nice to hear, thank you for your review! Please stop by again soon!
by on December 11th, 2017
4

Excellent Christmas lunch with good service thank you. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-06

Reply from Founders Arms

Thank you for your feedback, it's really appreciated! Glad you enjoyed you visit, we hope to see you again soon
by on December 10th, 2017
5

Great, as always! Nice people, great service and warm atmosphere, comforting food for adults and kids in this cold Saturday night! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-02

Reply from Founders Arms

Thank you so much for the amazing feedback, hope to see you again soon!
by on December 6th, 2017
5

A little disappointing that everyone’s first option for food wasn’t available. Other than that food was good in the end. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-03

Reply from Founders Arms

Apologies that your first choice wasn't available, we endeavour to have enough items to supply our hungry customers but we do get very busy on occasion. Happy you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you soon
by on December 5th, 2017
3

Very good pub grub and service Visited Founders Arms on 2017-12-01

Reply from Founders Arms

So happy you enjoyed your experience, hope to see you again soon
by on December 3rd, 2017
4

This is my third work Christmas party that I have hosted at founder's arms. The food platters are always delicious and good value for money and the staff are always helpful and attentative. Thank you for another successful work xmas party! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-30

Reply from Founders Arms

Fantastic! Thanks for the amazing feedback, hope to see you next year
by on December 3rd, 2017
5

Great atmosphere and good food Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-29

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi there, Thanks for your feedback, glad to hear your enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you again soon Team Founders
by on December 1st, 2017
4

Noisy but good food and friendly service Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-25

Reply from Founders Arms

Thanks for the 5 star rating, sorry about the noise but it does get busy! Merry Xmas, Team Founder's
by on November 27th, 2017
5

food good. Service was a little slow but it was super busy so that was ok. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-21

Reply from Founders Arms

Happy to enjoyed the food and apologies for the time you waited, we do try to inform all of our customers if there is a wait on food when ordering. Hope to see you again soon. Merry Xmas, Team Founder's
by on November 27th, 2017
4

Recommend. Fantastic views on St. Paul Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-23

Reply from Founders Arms

Thanks for the 5 star rating and kind words Merry Xmas Team Founder's
by on November 25th, 2017
5

Great friendly staff, great choice of drinks and lovely relaxed atmosphere! We love Brunch here as children are welcomed too! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-18

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There Thanks so much for your feedback, it feels good to be doing a great job! See you Soon Team Founder's
by on November 20th, 2017
5

Everything was great food and atmosphere! Thank you! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-17

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There Thanks so much for your feedback, it feels good to be doing a great job! See you Soon Team Founder's
by on November 19th, 2017
5

I lunch here every 6 weeks or so with 2 ex work colleagues. The location close to Blackfriars station is perfect for trains coming from different compass points in London. The service is always good although the turnover of staff is very high. It's rare to see the same staff for moe than a couple of visits. The food is well cooked and there is usually a choice of 3 specials alongside a standard menu. Prices are on the high side but not outrageously so for Central London. Main, sweet and coffee and a couple of pints of (well kept) Peroni are usually around £100 for 3. The view of St Paul's and the Thames is pleasant with the option of eating outside or in the warm/air conditioned bar and restaurant area. Many tourist attractions are nearby making this a suitable venue for a lunchtime break. Most of the clientele seem to be local business people particularly in winter. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-16

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There, thanks so much for the wonderful comments. Hope to see you again soon!
by on November 18th, 2017
4

Great location, great food, comfortable atmosphere and perfect service, thanks - we will definitely be back Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-14

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There Thanks so much for your feedback, it feels good to be doing a great job! See you Soon Team Founder's
by on November 16th, 2017
5

The food was great and a fantastic service from the team, A great night out. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-07

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There Thanks so much for your feedback, it feels good to be doing a great job! See you Soon Team Founder's
by on November 14th, 2017
5

A few more staff would have been helpful. Chased our first drink for 15 minuets! Otherwise it was fine without being outstanding. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-11
by on November 13th, 2017
3

The service was great. ,! Food not quite as good as our experiences here in the past. Skin on cod not so good. Smaller portions than in the past and sadly the chocolate bread and butter was more like a suet pudding. On reflection we should have sent it back ! Perhaps a bad day because we usually enjoy the food here Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-11
by on November 13th, 2017
3

I had booked 3 tables for my husband's birthday, and we arrived around 7.30/8pm. There were 20 of us altogether and we all ordered food and drinks. My baby of 5 months was sleeping in the pram between the tables. The manager turned up and told me that the baby would have to leave by 9pm. I asked why, and she said "it was no environment for a baby". I asked if it was the law and she said no, it was just their rules. If I'd had a child running around the place then I would have understood. But this was meant to be an upmarket bar/restaurant, not some shoddy back alley establishment with drunks lurching about. The baby was sleeping in the pram, happy as Larry, not bothering anyone and obviously content. She in fact loves being around people and hubbub, I think it makes her feel safe. My husband tried very hard to reason with the manager but no luck. He wanted everyone to leave but it was his birthday and I felt bad about ending the night after 1 hour, so I left the party by myself with the baby and went back home alone. I don't know what was worse, the ridiculous "rules" they had, the amount of money we spent at the establishment that night, or how crap she made me feel as a mother telling me this was "no environment for a baby". Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-09
by on November 11th, 2017
1

Nice venue for my leaving do Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-02
by on November 10th, 2017
4

We went to the Founders Arms for a reunion lunch so wanted somewhere special. Also one of our group is Gluten Free . Jamie at Founders replied to my request re dietary needs very promptly and volunteered a great table for us. Really good, prompt service. We would use this location again - although next time there will be more of us - just warning you F.A.! Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-07

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There Thanks so much for your feedback, it feels good to be doing a great job! See you Soon Team Founder's P.S the more the merrier
by on November 9th, 2017
5

Wonderful waitress: Polish, 24, been with you 4 months. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-07

Reply from Founders Arms

Hi There Thanks so much for your feedback, it feels good to be doing a great job! See you Soon Team Founder's
by on November 9th, 2017
5

Food very tasty but did come out cold! Was a shame as it worked out quite expensive for 5 people. Visited Founders Arms on 2017-11-04
by on November 6th, 2017
2

A group from work visited the Founders Arms for a Christmas lunch. The mains were tasty and cooked well but the Yorkshire puds were dry and there was far too much veg on the side (and I do mean way too much), which was very wasteful. We interacted with four members of staff, with three being very professional and friendly and one not really having much experience (she tried to send away a latecomer telling him she had no record of us being there and seemed baffled when some at the table asked for bread and small plates. One dessert was missed at first, with the same server saying there was no record it had been ordered. It took a supervisor/duty manager to come out and check their system to find the order and verify we did indeed order it (a diner was offered free ice cream due to this mix-up). Overall the experience was great and I would recommend this pub for the food, service, atmosphere and location. Visited Founders Arms on 2016-12-14
by on December 22nd, 2016
4

Rubbish service not interested in local people rushed out the door beers poor with no customer service even glasses like something out of 1980 Visited Founders Arms on 2016-12-13
by on December 16th, 2016
1

Everyone had a fabulous time! Great food, service - thank you! Visited Founders Arms on 2016-12-13
by on December 15th, 2016
5

amazing amazing amazing viewww - drinking here was the best idea i've ever had :D
by on March 28th, 2013
4

Right on the river, my ideal drinking and dining spot. Everyone loves a view of the Thames and The Founders Arms delivers!
by on March 5th, 2013
4
1 person(s) found this helpful

This is an excellent pub, the view is amazing, plus it's great if you're off to the Tate and want to grab a drink before or after.
by on September 11th, 2012
4

Average pub but in a great location. Food wasnt bad and service was pretty quick.
by on April 19th, 2012
4

I've been on a date here and it was great place for a date, order some delicious food without all the fancy pantsie fuss and have drinks on the terrace with the amazing view.
by on March 8th, 2012
4

What a location! Set right on the thames with fantastic views over the City of London and st pauls, this is a great stop off when walking along the southbank. I love the cosy blankets they give you in the winter for those wanting to sit outside. A cracking london pub.
by on November 21st, 2011
3

Show all Show fewer


If you like Founders Arms, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.