Jugged Hare

{{currentVenue.offers.length}} Offers Available!

{{offer.title}}

{{offer.availabilityDays}} between {{offer.availabilityTimes}} , {{time}} {{offer.availabilityNumPeople}} ( Valid from {{offer.start_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} to {{offer.expiry_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} )

{{offer.description}}



Make a booking to select an offer

{{numPeopleNote}}

Ok

Sorry, there are no times available to book on this date.

Go back

Please note:
{{restrictionNotes}}
Back
{{venueName}} This venue has availability at these times:
We couldn't find any availability around the times you specified, but you can still make an enquiry.

Type of enquiry

Booking confirmed

Woohoo! Your booking at {{venueName}} is confirmed. You will receive confirmation via text and email shortly.

Thank you for booking with DesignMyNight.com

Enquiry received

{{venueName}} We have successfully received your booking enquiry and will get back to you as soon as possible. You will be contacted by the {{venueName}} team shortly.

We have received your booking enquiry and we will work with {{venueName}} to confirm your booking. You will receive confirmation of this enquiry via text and email shortly.

Name: {{booking.first_name}} {{booking.last_name}}
Date: {{booking.date | date:'EEEE d MMMM'}}
Time: {{booking.time}}
Guests: {{booking.num_people}}
Checking availability..

Oops!

Jugged Hare photo Jugged Hare photo Jugged Hare photo Jugged Hare photo Jugged Hare photo Jugged Hare photo

Description

An old-fashioned spirit centering around good food, good service and a friendly atmosphere. An authentic British pub for sure. 

The Jugged Hare was originally part of the National Westminster Bank back in the 1800s so exudes this old-time aesthetic with its rich, wooden clad interior. Taking its name from the traditional British dish where a hare is slow cooked in an earthenware dish, this Fuller's delight has created its own Modern version of this historical offering with the Jugged Hare Pie - gently braised meat with various veg in a deliciously rich port and redcurrant gravy. True to their Fuller's title, this pub satisfies the classic punter craving for a homemade pie with a superb range of pastry-pleasing ingredients. 

There's always a healthy stock of cask ales and beers available at this cosy boozer with Chimay, London Pride, Hobgoblin and ESB all up for grabs. 

Info

None
No queues normally
Happily Affordable ££
Victoria
18
Wheelchair Access
None

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 21:30
12:00 21:00

Location

Jugged Hare
172 Vauxhall Bridge Road, London, SW1V 1DX

Area:
Central London

Nearest station:
Victoria (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Menus

Pre-Theatre Menu Download
Christmas Menu Download


This venue serves Pub Food, British, Roast Dinner, Gastro and Fine Dining food.

(47 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Excellent food served quickly. Good quality beers (I especially liked the Damson Porter) served by friendly staff visited Jugged Hare on 17 Nov 2017
19 Nov 2017 by
5

The staff couldn’t have helped more if they tried. Very friendly and gave the impression nothing was a stretch or a problem. Food was fantastic! visited Jugged Hare on 12 Nov 2017
14 Nov 2017 by
5

The staff couldn’t have helped more if they tried. Very friendly and gave the impression nothing was a stretch or a problem. Food was fantastic! visited Jugged Hare on 12 Nov 2017
14 Nov 2017 by
5

busy Saturday evening so had to place own order at bar. Also went downstairs to place dessert order as staff seemed rushed off their feet. visited Jugged Hare on 11 Nov 2017
13 Nov 2017 by
4

Shared pies - lovely. Manager guy very welcoming and helpful. Irish girl and Fellaini also excellent. First time - will go back. visited Jugged Hare on 21 Oct 2017
23 Oct 2017 by
5

Matt and the crew did a great job looking after us, great service, and great atmosphere! visited Jugged Hare on 19 Oct 2017
21 Oct 2017 by
5

The Jugged Hare has great ambiance, great service and great food - it is perfect! I planned a dinner for a group of 20 people and they were so helpful and took excellent care of us. Their pie tasting board is the best. Highly recommend! visited Jugged Hare on 18 Oct 2017
21 Oct 2017 by
5

Great Relaxed Sunday Lunch With Friends We four couples from around England converged on the Jugged Hare for its 12 noon opening. We had a reserved table upstairs. Maarja brought us a continuous supply of tap water along with good drinks and excellent food - pies or Sunday roasts. Maarja let us order at our own pace so it was gone 4pm when we said our goodbyes and headed our separate ways. This is a great place if you want to meet up with friends. Total cost for eight of us was £220 + tips. (First published on TripAdvisor) visited Jugged Hare on 15 Oct 2017
18 Oct 2017 by
5

I have already contacted after our visit n Saturday as we had such a lovely time ! The staff , food and atmosphere were excellent and it was the best place that we have been for a meal in a long while. It is totally due to the staff going that extra mile to look after their customers without being intrusive, We shall return ! visited Jugged Hare on 30 Sep 2017
02 Oct 2017 by
5

My friends and I meet monthly for some board games on the weekend at the Jugged Hare and it is a great venue. The staff are always very helpful and the food and drink are excellent. I'd recommend the burger with a pint of Seafarers which is always very good. visited Jugged Hare on 17 Sep 2017
19 Sep 2017 by
5

V tasty food and relaxed atmosphere visited Jugged Hare on 03 Sep 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thanks for the great review, really glad you enjoyed the food. Hope to see you again soon!
05 Sep 2017 by
5

Held a private event here and it went very smoothly. Staff were helpful with organisation and it was a great venue for a get together visited Jugged Hare on 12 Aug 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review we really appreciate it. Glad your event went well and hopefully we'll see you again in the future!
17 Aug 2017 by
5

Good food, great service. Very happy. visited Jugged Hare on 25 Jul 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thanks for the great review. Delighted you enjoyed the food and had a good time. Hopefully see you again soon!
01 Aug 2017 by
5

I went there to have the pie and ale sampler. And they were out! (At 6:30 withe a reservation) Beer and other food good, but disappointed.nonetheless. visited Jugged Hare on 07 Jul 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review we really appreciate it. We apologise the pie tasting board was unavailable however as our food is cooked fresh, sometimes if we have a busy lunch it is possible to run out of certain things by the evening. We take all comments very seriously though and we have tried to make sure we have more available in the evening. We really hope you come again soon though so you can have the pie taster board!
12 Jul 2017 by
3

Fantastic food and friendly staff. The beer on tap is pretty good too. visited Jugged Hare on 21 May 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thanks for the great review. Really pleased you enjoyed the food and your evening. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
23 May 2017 by
5

Great staff at a lovely place !! visited Jugged Hare on 19 May 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thanks for the awesome review. Delighted you were happy with the service, it's easy when you have such great customers :) See you again soon!
22 May 2017 by
5

Held my son communion party here upstairs. Venus purfect, staff helpful and acomadating. Friends and family enjoyed. Food lovely. Very happy day. visited Jugged Hare on 07 May 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Really glad you enjoyed your day! Hope to see you again soon
09 May 2017 by
5

It was fine thank you. However, including a service charge of 12.5% on everything including drinks which we got from the bar ourselves is a bit of a cheek. visited Jugged Hare on 30 Apr 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thank you for your feedback, hope to see you soon again
03 May 2017 by
4

Thanks for all your help in making our New Members' event go well on Monday evening in the balcony. We will probably do another in about 9 -12 months. visited Jugged Hare on 24 Apr 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thank you for your feedback, next time we will make sure your event goes well too
26 Apr 2017 by
4

A very disappointing experience. After researching London's best Sunday roasts, to which The Jugged Hare Victoria can up high in the list, we had a very dull experience. The only reason for gaining one star is for the Yorkshire pudding, however the rest of the roast was very average - no crackling on the Pork (despite asking the waitress to which she said it did come with it), the "duck fat potatoes" were merely steamed/boiled and then very slightly dried/crisped in the oven, and besides this, the pub had NO atmosphere. Dull and uninterrsting, and poor service. Don't be fooled by google! This one shouldn't be on the list! Jessica visited Jugged Hare on 23 Apr 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thank you for your feedback - I understand the depth of feeling around this issue. I am a new manager at The Jugged Hare and my goal is to create the atmosphere and provide the value for money by serving outstanding beer, delicious food in clean and safe environment, with excellent customer service from well-trained and motivated team members. It would be great if you could email me at theJuggedHare.Manager@fullers.co.uk so I can personally apologise to you. All the best, Grazina
25 Apr 2017 by
1

Our trip to the Jugged Hare was a bit of a let down. When we ordered we were told that they had run out of a few dishes, so we re-chose. Our waiter then came back to tell us that they had run out of those dishes that we had re-chosen, so some of us chose again. We were then told a third time that they had run out of some of THOSE dishes, so a member of our party had to choose again. I think in total there were about 7 or 8 dishes that we were told they had run out of, including a salad, which seems ridiculous. Then, when the food did arrive it all came at completely different times. The roasts came within 20 minutes, followed by a burger, followed by my dish about 20 minutes later and then finally a salmon sandwich, which somehow took 45 minutes to make. We had a lovely waiter though who was clearly doing his best and I felt sorry for him that he had to constantly return to our table to tell us that yet more dishes had run out. It was marathon day so perhaps the pub had been overloaded with people, however we were there at 3.45 so there can't have been that many people coming in before then if they had been running, and I would have thought given their proximity to the finish line they might have pre-empted that they'd be busier than a normal Sunday. It was a shame as the menu looked great and the variety of choice was the reason I'd chosen it, which was then gradually diminished as we ordered. Food, when it did come was fine. visited Jugged Hare on 23 Apr 2017
25 Apr 2017 by
2

Reasonable price for the posh fish pie which was really tasty and I liked getting the choice of gravy or parsley sauce, mash or salad. The bar man was really attentive and friendly too. Megan visited Jugged Hare on 20 Apr 2017
22 Apr 2017 by
5

Delicious pies, friendly service, good value and cosy bar. visited Jugged Hare on 15 Apr 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thank you so much for spending time to rate us. Much appreciated
17 Apr 2017 by
4

Really helpful staff and a great place to spend a Sunday ! visited Jugged Hare on 19 Mar 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thank you for 5 starts. I am glad you had a great time on Sunday . Hope to see you soon.
21 Mar 2017 by
5

Very uncomplicated staff, great experience, good food and drinks visited Jugged Hare on 17 Mar 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Everybody working at The Jugged Hare will love this feedback, thank you for taking time to do something nice as this
19 Mar 2017 by
5

Excellent pies... friendly service... decent beers. Well worth a lunchtime trip. visited Jugged Hare on 14 Mar 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thank you for such a nice feedback, hope to see you soon
16 Mar 2017 by
4

Delicious breakfast, very friendly staff and a beautiful pub- full marks! visited Jugged Hare on 10 Mar 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thank you!
14 Mar 2017 by
5

Fantastic, we held our company quiz night at the Jugged Hare. Staff were friendly and helpful and we were well looked after. visited Jugged Hare on 02 Mar 2017
06 Mar 2017 by
5

Enjoyed my party at the Jugged Hare. Staff very helpful. visited Jugged Hare on 04 Feb 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

Thank you for four stars. Hope it wasn't your last party at the Jugged Hare
11 Feb 2017 by
4

Always a great night at the Jugged Hare. The beer selection was really good, particulary the Seafarer. Had the fish and chips which was lovely. Please continue the online discount code of 20% as it was great for our group to have meals. Looking forward to returning soon... visited Jugged Hare on 26 Jan 2017

Reply from Jugged Hare

ah.. such a lovely feedback. thank you and see you soon
28 Jan 2017 by
5

Highly recommended. I hired part of the balcony for my work leaving do last week. It's much easier to talk to friends in you own space and they can supply tasty canapes, sandwiches, pies. visited Jugged Hare on 12 Jan 2017
17 Jan 2017 by
4

The staff was very welcoming, and took good care of our group. Food was delicious! visited Jugged Hare on 05 Jan 2017
10 Jan 2017 by
5

Service and table/environment was great, but the food was average at best. I had the sausage sandwich with chips - and the sandwich was cold, with the sausages not that big, and the chips weren't crispy, just chewy... visited Jugged Hare on 15 Dec 2016
21 Dec 2016 by
3

This is the second year we have held our Car Club Christmas get together and it was very good, friendly helpful staff and well cooked and presented food enjoyed by all. No doubt we will return again next year. Tim Hely Singers Owners Club visited Jugged Hare on 17 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
5

Our visit was truly awful. We had planned our Christmas lunch for 60 people for weeks. On the day myself and a friend had to set up the tables ourselves, laying out cutlery and glasses etc as the staff were not prepared. Food was 2 hours late. Some people had to leave without having eaten a thing. One waiter was extremely rude when asked whether the food was hot. His response was "what do you want me to do, bite it?" It was beyond disappointing. When you've put so much effort into an event you don't expect this kind of service. Diabolical. Not even worth one star but it wouldn't let me submit without.. visited Jugged Hare on 16 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
1

The team were very patient with my changing demands during the booking process. They made us feel welcome and looked after us during the whole evening, making this a special event. visited Jugged Hare on 16 Dec 2016
18 Dec 2016 by
4

The staff are fine but the food was awful and overpriced and we were rooked into purchasing white wine at £28 per bottle. Will never eat there again. visited Jugged Hare on 16 Dec 2016
18 Dec 2016 by
1

Great ambiance in the venue which was enjoyed by all. Staff were helpful and polite. Good beer, prices on the high side. We ordered four sharing platters which were quite tasty but the portions were felt to be quite meagre: we did not get a lot for the £72 paid. Thanks anywY for a good night which we enjoyed. visited Jugged Hare on 16 Dec 2016
18 Dec 2016 by
4

Having pre- ordered the food, some of the choices were disappointing in particular the fishcake starter which had very little fish and was mostly potato, the smoked paprika chicken which was cold, dry and rather tasteless. Also kale was substituted for the spinach in that dish. The chicken and chorizo linguine had no chicken ( we did get a discount for this). visited Jugged Hare on 16 Dec 2016
18 Dec 2016 by
2

Unfortunately all negative.. It does not deserve any stars. The meal was very poor in both quality and quantity. The wine was seriously overpriced, even for a pub. If you can not improve on what you did on Friday, it is better not to do it at all. Just stick to Beer. visited Jugged Hare on 16 Dec 2016
18 Dec 2016 by
1

Food was cooked well with lots of flavor, staff friendly and attentive. Would definitely choose the Jugged Hare for next years Christmas Lunch. visited Jugged Hare on 12 Dec 2016
14 Dec 2016 by
4

Lovely staff, food, drink and pub. Only negative we had was the lack of music, when we were told they would have this, or we could plug in our own device. Unfortunately this was not possible, so didn't really fit in with the vive we wanted for a Christmas party. visited Jugged Hare on 07 Dec 2016
12 Dec 2016 by
4

Good dinner, friendly waiters, and also good desserts. I recommend this pub for the atmosphere visited Jugged Hare on 26 Nov 2016
08 Dec 2016 by
4

Great doing business with you, thank you for your patience with all the changes! Meal was lovely and both Lilly and Miriam were very welcoming and helpful throughout visited Jugged Hare on 06 Dec 2016
08 Dec 2016 by
5

We had a great Christmas company lunch. Staff were great and service top notch. visited Jugged Hare on 02 Dec 2016
04 Dec 2016 by
5

Really helpful and very kind staff. I hired the mezzanine for a quiz and will certainly use hits location again. visited Jugged Hare on 20 Nov 2016
22 Nov 2016 by
5

Three of us had dinner and drinks on a Thursday evening in the dining area. Good food, selection of ales, a decent bottle of Rioja for £18 and good service. We will return. visited Jugged Hare on 17 Nov 2016
19 Nov 2016 by
4

Show all Show fewer


If you like Jugged Hare, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.