The Wood House

{{currentVenue.offers.length}} Offers Available!

{{offer.title}}

{{offer.availabilityDays}} between {{offer.availabilityTimes}} , {{time}} {{offer.availabilityNumPeople}} ( Valid from {{offer.start_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} to {{offer.expiry_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} )

{{offer.description}}



Make a booking to select an offer

{{numPeopleNote}}

Ok

Sorry, there are no times available to book on this date.

Go back

Please note:
{{restrictionNotes}}
Back
{{venueName}} This venue has availability at these times:
We couldn't find any availability around the times you specified, but you can still make an enquiry.

Type of enquiry

Booking confirmed

Woohoo! Your booking at {{venueName}} is confirmed. You will receive confirmation via text and email shortly.

Thank you for booking with DesignMyNight.com

Enquiry received

{{venueName}} We have successfully received your booking enquiry and will get back to you as soon as possible. You will be contacted by the {{venueName}} team shortly.

We have received your booking enquiry and we will work with {{venueName}} to confirm your booking. You will receive confirmation of this enquiry via text and email shortly.

Name: {{booking.first_name}} {{booking.last_name}}
Date: {{booking.date | date:'EEEE d MMMM'}}
Time: {{booking.time}}
Guests: {{booking.num_people}}
Checking availability..

Oops!

The Wood House photo The Wood House photo The Wood House photo The Wood House photo The Wood House photo

Description

The Wood House brings a breath of fresh air to London's pub circuit. As well as a spectacularly inviting dining room and grand pub garden it has a generous menu, offering a range of seasonal delights. Perfect for any occasion, any time of year and for anyone, The Wood House is the place to be all year round, whether you're chilling with mates for after work drinks or tucking into a hearty Sunday roast with your family.

The Wood House uses only the finest ingredients in its food, much of which is locally sourced, and guests will be pleased to find all the popular British pub classics on the menu. Not only do they serve delicious food from their kitchen, but they have a resident Burger Shack in the garden, offering juicy burgers and curly fries for you to indulge in, pop in after your walk in Sydenham Woods. 

As for drinks, the pub offers a wide range of continental beers and award-winning ales, as well as a fantastic wine list. There's no doubt you'll fall head over heels for The Wood House's lively, rustic charm.

What's on

To see all upcoming events view the full event calendar.


Sensory Wine Night - A sensorial trip to explore and taste the world of wine

Sensory Wine Night - A sensorial trip to explore and taste the world of wine

Thursday 2 November 2017

The evening is an opportunity for you to learn and demystify the world of wine. You will have a chance to taste five...

Info

No Door Charge
No queues normally
Happily Affordable ££
Sydenham
18
Wheelchair Access, Disabled Toilets
None

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
12:00 23:00
12:00 23:00
12:00 23:00
12:00 23:00
12:00 00:00
12:00 00:00
12:00 22:30

Location

The Wood House
39 Sydenham Hill, London, SE26 6RS

Area:
South London

Nearest station:
Sydenham Hill (Rail)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Pint of Lager £4.30
Pint of Real Ale £3.90
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £4.55
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £5.15
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £6.70
Bottle of House Wine £18.50
Bottle of Champagne £31.50

Menus

Sample A La Carte Menu Download
Sample Sunday Menu Download
Sample Sandwich Menu Download


This venue serves British, Grill, Brunch and Roast Dinner food.

A word from the chef:
A range of British pub classics and lighter dishes, from salads to our delicious sausage & mash. We also have our fantastic Burger Shack in our garden where you can order a juicy burger, curly fries and relax in one of our heated garden huts.

(239 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Very nice food. Elegant and cozy setting. We went for family lunch with baby and a dog, enjoyed it. visited The Wood House on 15 Oct 2017

Reply from The Wood House

Hey there! I'm Ollie the bookings manager for The Wood House. Thanks for the great review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. We are super dog and family friendly and encourage families to bring their four legged friends with them to the pub. we hope to see you again soon. Ollie
18 Oct 2017 by
5

Beautiful pub- fantastic Sunday lunch! Great for families and bringing a pram with baby. 1partridgew visited The Wood House on 15 Oct 2017

Reply from The Wood House

Hey there! I'm Ollie The Wood Hous's booking manager. Thanks for the great review. We really do appreciate the time taken to leave us a little feedback. We are so pleased you loved your Sunday lunch and think our pub is beautiful - we do too :) We look forward to you dropping by again soon! Ollie
16 Oct 2017 by
4

Great pub for a pre-dinner drink and food is very good - much better than your average pub. visited The Wood House on 13 Oct 2017

Reply from The Wood House

Hey! Thanks for such a glowing review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. Please do come back and visit us again soon. Ollie Bookings Manager
14 Oct 2017 by
5

Food was average and as such felt overpriced. However, the waitress was extremely good which made up for it. visited The Wood House on 11 Oct 2017

Reply from The Wood House

Hello there, I'm sorry you felt our food is average, however we do ensure our menu is bursting with the best British, seasonal produce that is on offer. As such we do price ourselves competitively against other businesses within the area. We do consider ourselves to be the premium pub thus reflecting that in our food and pricing. We love to hear when our waiting staff are doing a great job and ensuring you guys are looked after well. We hope you visit us again in the future. Regards, Ollie Bookings Manager
12 Oct 2017 by
4

Lovely food and wonderfully attentive staff visited The Wood House on 08 Oct 2017

Reply from The Wood House

HI there, I'm Ollie the bookings Manager here at the Wood House. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a little feedback. We really do appreciate it. So pleased you enjoyed your food and experience with us, please do visit again soon! Ollie
10 Oct 2017 by
5

Everything was good except the single portion shepherd's pie which my mother in law ordered (it was her 85th birthday) was smaller and not as good as the one she had on her previous visit which was shared between two people ! Pity as we were celebrating her special birthday. But The roast chicken and trimmings were excellent but we missed having some cranberry sauce with it and being offered mint sauce by a passing waitress as an alternative was amusing ! The waitress we had looking after us was fantastic and attentive to everyone ...with a great sense of humour ! We were sat opposite the kitchen near the big table and could see how hard everyone was working including the kitchen staff ! visited The Wood House on 08 Oct 2017

Reply from The Wood House

Hello there, My names Ollie and I'm the bookings manager here at the Wood House. First off, thanks for leaving us some feedback on here, we really appreciate it. Secondly, I'm sorry you were a little disappointed with your Sheppard pie, especially on your mothers Birthday. Unfortunately we don't do the sharing Sheppard's pie any more as we like to change our menu to keep things interesting and explore new dishes. However I do hope you enjoyed the one you had. I'm very pleased to hear that your waitress was looking after you so well. We pride ourselves on our service here, (although perhaps not on condiment recommendations) haha, but I will make a note of this and discuss with the waitresses that perhaps mint sauce with chicken is missing the mark a little. We do hope to see you again soon. Ollie
09 Oct 2017 by
4

Delicious food, excellent service even though it was busy and the waitress helped us serve a birthday cake and made it all happen without any problems. Helpful staff, lovely atmosphere, child friendly and very quick service for Sunday roast. Thank you Woodhouse! visited The Wood House on 08 Oct 2017
09 Oct 2017 by
5

Slow service. Waited an hour for our food. Average Sunday lunch, lamb was really fatty. visited The Wood House on 08 Oct 2017
09 Oct 2017 by
2

An excellent place for an informal lunch as well as being dog friendly. Loved the outside cabins and the space. Food fine, if not exceptional. visited The Wood House on 07 Oct 2017
08 Oct 2017 by
4

The Wood House is always a great idea.. I have introduced some friends and family and they have not been disappointed. The service and food is always amazing. The fact that they have introduced a cocktail menu is even better. Great prices and I never leave disappointed. This is a great find in my local area is amazing.. visited The Wood House on 06 Oct 2017
07 Oct 2017 by
5

Lovely food and superb service visited The Wood House on 01 Oct 2017
02 Oct 2017 by
5

It was our first time but now I understand why it is fully booked 3 weeks in advance! Food was excellent. It was served within a flash of lightning. My son said it was the best brownie ever tasted and the whole thing was not expensive either. Fabulous! visited The Wood House on 01 Oct 2017
02 Oct 2017 by
5

A nice place to eat and the staff were friendly and helpful but a bit expensive. I ordered a 21 day Angus rump which I assumed to be a steak but it turned out to be 2 slices of beef. Also mushy peas with the fish and chips were cold. Having said all that the actual meals were good and plentiful. The grandchildren liked the garden area. Because I was unhappy with the Angus beef we renegotiated the bill which was nice of them. visited The Wood House on 01 Oct 2017
02 Oct 2017 by
3

The roast dinners have definitely improved and my veg roast was delicious. The meat eaters also said the meat was very tasty! Everyone who served us were very polite and helpful.. The only negative point about my visit was that the table I asked for was not booked, so double check the area you want has been reserved correctly! visited The Wood House on 01 Oct 2017
02 Oct 2017 by
4

Very helpful waitresses. Lovely food visited The Wood House on 30 Sep 2017
01 Oct 2017 by
5

Waitress took long to serve drinks after the order was placed, then took long to take food orders. She did not clear the table correctly. Everyone had finished eating and desserts were served whilst the table still had dinner plates and empty glasses on. One of the main courses was not served as the waitress forgot it was ordered and then it was placed on our bill. visited The Wood House on 30 Sep 2017
01 Oct 2017 by
2

Due to illness, we had to cancel our booking at short notice, Am now about to re-book. Based on previous experience, I have given a rating of 4 out of 5 stars. visited The Wood House on 28 Sep 2017
29 Sep 2017 by
4

Friendly, helpful staff and finally a pub that's sufficiently well staffed! Lovely garden and on a warm Indian summer's day the perfect spot. Decent food, good vibe. If you don't like screaming kids with your lunch, avoid the garden in summer though. visited The Wood House on 24 Sep 2017
25 Sep 2017 by
4

Poor. One meal was brought out 35 minutes before the rest of our party of four. The food was okay but certainly not worth the price. We were not offered any sauces (i.e., horseradish sauce with beef roast) and were unable to find a member of staff to assist. Won't be returning. visited The Wood House on 24 Sep 2017
25 Sep 2017 by
1

Really lovely pub and service and food great! Could have had another fish option other than fish and chips. Overall though a really good experience. Thanks visited The Wood House on 17 Sep 2017
18 Sep 2017 by
4

Staff very helpful and pub very child and dog friendly. We celebrated my sons 40th birthday and found food god. Unfortunately my daughter who had the chicken has been ill all night. Most of us had beef , pork or vegetarian and are all fine. Thanks for your help with booking, cake etc Judith visited The Wood House on 17 Sep 2017
18 Sep 2017 by
4

The maitre d was slightly miffed when I asked for a couple of children to be added to the table. The fault from my perspective was because of the reservation app, which didn't work when I received the reservation reminder. I tried to alert the Woodhouse that I wanted to add two extra people. It didn't work. Other than that the lunch was good. A very charming, attentive Lithuanian girl made the whole experience excellent. visited The Wood House on 10 Sep 2017
12 Sep 2017 by
4

The food was good and our server was very nice and attentive, but the wait time for the food was too long. Also the special request burger order was taken by our server correctly but the kitchen messed it up not just once but twice. Very disappointed. visited The Wood House on 10 Sep 2017
12 Sep 2017 by
3

Very enjoyable, good food and good service visited The Wood House on 08 Sep 2017
11 Sep 2017 by
5

Nice Pub, lovely friendly staff visited The Wood House on 02 Sep 2017
05 Sep 2017 by
4

Very polite and helpful waitress visited The Wood House on 01 Sep 2017
02 Sep 2017 by
5

Most of the staff were friendly enough but I couldn't understand why they didn't take the used plates away until eventually we had to ask by which time my husband was a bit annoyed. We had the Sunday roast which looked great but the potatoes weren't cooked properly inside and skin which you'd expect to be crispy was just really tough! We weren't offered a desert menu and had to call someone overto order more drinks. You'd think for £15 just for a roast dinner the service would be better. I won't be returning any time soon. visited The Wood House on 27 Aug 2017
31 Aug 2017 by
3

Very good. Service excellent. Have booked for a group in two weeks time. visited The Wood House on 27 Aug 2017
29 Aug 2017 by
5

Excellent food , attentive staff no brilliant service visited The Wood House on 27 Aug 2017
29 Aug 2017 by
5

Sorted out my reservation on a busy Bank Holiday Sunday. Food was lovely, served quickly & piping hot ! We will be back. visited The Wood House on 27 Aug 2017
28 Aug 2017 by
5

Very good food n service. Nice interior highly recommend visited The Wood House on 27 Aug 2017
28 Aug 2017 by
5

Lovely venue but waitress mixed up our order. The mains took very long time to arrive and then they were incorrect. Beef was very over done. The waitress did correct the order but meant we had to wait for this to be cooked, however, the waitress did take this off the bill but still would have preferred to eat all together. visited The Wood House on 27 Aug 2017
28 Aug 2017 by
3

Lovely venue but waitress mixed up our order. The mains took very long time to arrive and then they were incorrect. Beef was very over done. The waitress did correct the order but meant we had to wait for this to be cooked, however, the waitress did take this off the bill but still would have preferred to eat all together. visited The Wood House on 27 Aug 2017
28 Aug 2017 by
3

The service was excellent and attentive. Nothing was an issue. visited The Wood House on 27 Aug 2017
28 Aug 2017 by
5

We were disappointed with the Sunday Lunch. The beef was very tough and we didn't receive everything we ordered, even after reminding the waiting staff. However the lady singing in the garden was really enjoyable. visited The Wood House on 27 Aug 2017
28 Aug 2017 by
2

Loved it as usual. Good food ,great staff and good atmosphere. visited The Wood House on 27 Aug 2017
28 Aug 2017 by
5

Fantastic experience. The service and our Waitress in particular was excellent. The Sunday roasts were delicious (highly recommend pork belly) and great kids food. We loved sitting in one of the garden huts and the location is ideal for children to have some space to explore as well as a table tennis table. Would highly recommend and think we'll be regulars now! visited The Wood House on 27 Aug 2017
28 Aug 2017 by
5

The Bar closed too early - no warning bell - bad show old boy , bad show visited The Wood House on 24 Aug 2017
25 Aug 2017 by
4

Pleasent staff and an interesting menu, of well prepared food, with generous portions. A diner who preferred traditional English Food might have had difficulty in choosing a meal, other than fish and chips. My guests and I enjoyed our meals, and I will come again. visited The Wood House on 22 Aug 2017
24 Aug 2017 by
4

Great Day especially for our 2 1/2 yr old. She got to see the farm animals ( 3 x times ), had her face painted, 1st time ( as did her mum+dad :) ). Lovely lunch, and Charlie our lab even got treats. Staff were great, very friendly. It's our fav pub xxx visited The Wood House on 19 Aug 2017
21 Aug 2017 by
5

Long time between courses . A soup of the day might be helpful. visited The Wood House on 20 Aug 2017
21 Aug 2017 by
2

We really enjoyed our afternoon. Lovely food, great service and lovely atmosphere visited The Wood House on 20 Aug 2017
21 Aug 2017 by
5

Excellent Sunday roast and very attentive staff visited The Wood House on 20 Aug 2017
21 Aug 2017 by
5

Always good on quiz night. The staff work really hard. visited The Wood House on 17 Aug 2017
18 Aug 2017 by
4

We had a lovely evening celebrating a family birthday. The menu, which had changed from our previous visit last month was brilliant and most of the adults agreed that they could have chosen anything from the mains and enjoyed it. All our kids ranging from 8-16 also found things they loved - and all decided to eat from the adult menu too! The table tennis table kept them occupied when they were waiting for food which was a bonus for us. visited The Wood House on 15 Aug 2017
16 Aug 2017 by
5

Great food, great atmosphere and efficient service. visited The Wood House on 13 Aug 2017
15 Aug 2017 by
5

Absolutely lovely. Highly recommended. Friendly and polite staff. visited The Wood House on 29 Jul 2017
11 Aug 2017 by
4

The food and the service were great, no complaints at all and we will definitely be back! visited The Wood House on 07 Aug 2017
08 Aug 2017 by
5

Good food generally and service. Side dishes were cold and also very small for the price. visited The Wood House on 05 Aug 2017
07 Aug 2017 by
4

Lovely garden for when the weather is nice - food was good and service to match. One point - burgers are run separately and caused or group to eat at different time which caused a bit of unhappiness. Maybe you could manage that instead of the guest? visited The Wood House on 06 Aug 2017
07 Aug 2017 by
4

Excellent lunch in pleasant surroundings. First class service. visited The Wood House on 02 Aug 2017
03 Aug 2017 by
5

Lovely mid-week lunch for an impromptu family gathering. The food was lovely, great atmosphere and service and spacious setting made for a whole wonderful afternoon catching up! Thank you! visited The Wood House on 26 Jul 2017
01 Aug 2017 by
5

the service was very very slow. would not go again on a Sunday. visited The Wood House on 30 Jul 2017
01 Aug 2017 by
1

Staff were really friendly and helpful visited The Wood House on 29 Jul 2017
31 Jul 2017 by
5

My friends & I thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The service was also very goog. I cannot fault my visit & would recommend this pub to others. visited The Wood House on 29 Jul 2017
30 Jul 2017 by
4

Fabulous place- wonderful staff Unfortunately menu choices were not great as two choices were unavailable, however will definitely be going back visited The Wood House on 19 Jul 2017

Reply from The Wood House

Hello there, thanks for the lovely review. Apologies for the limited menu choice today. As we are a fresh kitchen some of our menu is dependent on supplier availability for that day, apologies. thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Kind Regards, Oliver Lakey Sales & Marketing Coordinator
20 Jul 2017 by
4

nice food.child friendly place. shame no burgers on Sunday night visited The Wood House on 16 Jul 2017

Reply from The Wood House

Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for the lovely comments. Our Burger shack is open until 7pm on a Sunday. We try to open it whenever possible. We can do our main menu burger on request. Kind Regards, Oliver Lakey Sales & Marketing Coordinator
17 Jul 2017 by
4

I ordered steak and the meat had an off taste. It was awful. visited The Wood House on 15 Jul 2017

Reply from The Wood House

Hello, I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your steak. I would dearly love to have a quick phone conversation regarding this and offer our apologies. Could you please give me a call on 0208 693 5666. I will also be speaking to the kitchen regarding this. Kind Regards, Oliver Lakey Sales & Marketing Coordinator
17 Jul 2017 by
2

We had a fantastic party at the wood house. Thanks for the quick service and good food. visited The Wood House on 15 Jul 2017

Reply from The Wood House

Hey Folks! Thanks so much for the lovely feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your evening party with us. Please do visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Oliver Lakey Sales & Marketing Coordinator
16 Jul 2017 by
5

Great food, lovely, friendly staff and beautiful garden. Perfect for a summer's evening. visited The Wood House on 14 Jul 2017

Reply from The Wood House

Hey there, thanks for the great feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed our beer garden. Please do visit us again soon! Kind Regards, Oliver Lakey Sales & Marketing Coordinator
15 Jul 2017 by
5

My party and I had a lovely afternoon at the Woodhouse. We were a fairly large group and there were at least 2 other large groups there at the same time which I'm guessing is unusual for a Tuesday lunch time. We noticed there was only one waitress working and she did seem somewhat rushed off her feet. However she did the best she could and was very polite and helpful. We had 2 toddlers in our group that eventually, after eating, wanted to go outside and have a bit of a run around. There were no other customers outside at the time so they certainly weren't bothering anyone and there were also 2 adults from our party supervising them. The Manager of the Woodhouse was showing round a lady who was a potential customer at the time. We were very disappointed with her attitude. She comment under her breath about the children running around and how "it wasn't a playgroup". She didn't say a word to anyone directly and made us feel very uncomfortable. We'd been very careful to make sure our toddlers didn't bother anyone and were watching them the whole time. Her attitude was very unprofessional and made us feel very unwelcome so left shortly after. I didn't get her name but checked with the waitress if it was the Manager and she confirmed it was. For reference, the Manager was wearing a pink shirt. It's such a shame that the Manager of all people spoilt what would have been a lovely visit for a birthday celebration. visited The Wood House on 11 Jul 2017
12 Jul 2017 by
3

Helena was fantastic! Really attentive waitress. We had a lovely time. visited The Wood House on 10 Jul 2017
11 Jul 2017 by
5

Good food and nice atmosphere visited The Wood House on 09 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
5

Great place - kids love the table tennis but a small playground for younger kids like at the Paxton & Rosendale would make it even better! Staff are lovely, speedy service & tasty food : ) We will be back... visited The Wood House on 09 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
4

It was our first visit to the WoodHouse Beer Garden. We were a party of 9 celebrating my husbands birthday including 5 adults and 4 children. We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon. We had a lovely server who made sure we were looked after. The food was good and the atmosphere was fantastic. The environment was modern and clean The children were very happy playing/meeting new friends and all the adults felt relaxed and chilled out. The only thing I would suggest is quicker service (it did take some time for drinks and food to come out) and a dedicated space for the children to play would top it off and make this a 5* rating. As it was the most space was right outside the toilets so not ideal. Overall a good experience. Just a couple of small changes would make it excellent..l Will definitely be going back and recommending. visited The Wood House on 09 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
4

Our first visit. Very friendly staff. Welcoming to our dog with iced water and biscuit treats. Lovely large outdoor garden area with plenty of space between tables. Food was well prepared, crispy steamed veg, succulent roast meat. Good size portions. Reasonably priced for London. Well worth a visit. visited The Wood House on 09 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
5

We had a great time at time, sat in the beer garden with our toddlers, who had a enough space to keep them occupied. The food was standard but very good table service. We confused the waitress a little with our orders but she resolved the issue without making us feel like we were being difficult. Defiantly recommend to friends and family, visited The Wood House on 02 Jul 2017
03 Jul 2017 by
4

Great food, great staff and a great atmosphere visited The Wood House on 02 Jul 2017
03 Jul 2017 by
5

Great garden to hold a chilled get together in. Staff were great and really helpful. Had some snack boards which everyone loved. visited The Wood House on 01 Jul 2017
02 Jul 2017 by
5

The team at The Wood House couldn't have doe enough to accommodate our afternoon. They hung decorations, allowed us to bring our own cake and provided a good knife and plates. Made for a really lovely afternoon. visited The Wood House on 24 Jun 2017
26 Jun 2017 by
5

Rubbish online service to book a table as it stated that's the time I had booked is not given unless someone calls me back so I hadn't heard from them so booked somewhere else visited The Wood House on 18 Jun 2017
19 Jun 2017 by
3

Lovely food, friendly staff, airy dining room on a hot day & big garden. Only downside is no play area for the kids like other family pubs in the area. Thanks visited The Wood House on 18 Jun 2017
19 Jun 2017 by
4

The bar staff were incopient and displayed no for of training whatsoever The food was under mediocre Not a pleasant experience at all visited The Wood House on 17 Jun 2017
18 Jun 2017 by
1

We requested a table outside but were given one inside. No one came to serve us, the champagne was flat so we left without having dinner! visited The Wood House on 14 Jun 2017
15 Jun 2017 by
1

Nice spot. Sunday roast was disappointing - nobody likes a pallid, undercooked roastie and I've never had al dente swede before! Burgers looked good though so I'd still recommend because the garden area is so nice. visited The Wood House on 04 Jun 2017
05 Jun 2017 by
3

Food was excellent. The best chicken salad I've had and I've had a lot! The sharing platters were amazing too and very generous portions. visited The Wood House on 03 Jun 2017
04 Jun 2017 by
4

Vestina our waitress was excellent,professinal and freindly. The two roast dinners were really nice. Our daughter had cod and chips which ahe did not enjoy seemed under cooked. On the whole a nice experience. Would go again and recommend. Sharon visited The Wood House on 28 May 2017
01 Jun 2017 by
3

I've never visited a restaurant at 7 o'clock on a Friday night only to be told that there was no steak, no chicken kiev and at the end of the meal, no coffee. The one star is for the poor waitress who did her absolute best despite all this. visited The Wood House on 19 May 2017
30 May 2017 by
1

Everything was brilliant! The food, the table and the service! visited The Wood House on 29 May 2017
30 May 2017 by
5

We were a big group for a birthday party and the venue was amazing the food good and the service great. Had a truly fabulous day! visited The Wood House on 27 May 2017
30 May 2017 by
5

It was most disappointing having booked and confirmed by phone that when we arrived our table was not ready and we then had to move tables around. The food was nice but mistakes were made with both our drinks and food order, with the wrong dishes being brought at the wrong times. visited The Wood House on 20 May 2017
30 May 2017 by
2

It was great, the best place so far. visited The Wood House on 28 May 2017
29 May 2017 by
5

Lovely pub and staff great, we had a table booked for 20 but the area reserved wasn't big enough, after a bit of rearranging we all got seated, staff were great in sorting this out. visited The Wood House on 20 May 2017
24 May 2017 by
4

A lovely place for a sunny lunch outside. Roast beef was ace, lamb less flavoursome; both with giant Yorkshire's. The staff are friendly and helpful. We'll be back. visited The Wood House on 21 May 2017
22 May 2017 by
4

The standard of service was excellent and Cydni was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the food was poor. The roast lamb was served on cold plates and thus was luke warm at best. The pork belly was more like a thick piece of bacon. The vegetables were "tough". I do not know how this had been achieved, but they were difficult to cut and to chew and really not at all pleasant. I doubt that we will go there again because this is the second time in succession that the food was far from good. When the cook was told by the waitress he just shrugged. A less than adequate response. It is a great shame because the venue is pleasant and has been refurbished reasonably recently. visited The Wood House on 21 May 2017
22 May 2017 by
1

We were really looked after when we came to the Woodhouse for a wake. coffee and tea ready for guests, bacon sandwiches and cakes all available too. We had a lovely space at the front of the pub reserved for us and we felt that nothing was too much hassle. For lunch we moved in to the restaurant and had sharing starter platters so that we didn't have to wait too long for everyone to order their main courses, which everyone chose individually. Everyone enjoyed the food so , well done! Kind, thoughtful and efficient, I would highly reccommend this venue for a special occation. visited The Wood House on 18 May 2017
21 May 2017 by
5

Oliver and the gang at The Woodhouse were amazing and very accommodating for my family when we had my mums wake here! Great food great service and beautiful surroundings made it an amazing and memorable send off she would have been proud of. Thank you so much from the Iceton Family and friends. visited The Wood House on 18 May 2017
19 May 2017 by
5

A big fan of The Wood House usually - especially in the summer when you can sit in the garden. However this time I visited with a guest who was gluten intolerant and requested a burgerless bun at the burger shack - when this arrived it was very poor quality. The cheese wasn't melted (it wasn't even on the burger - just placed next to it on a plate) and it didn't include any of the additional toppings that were on the same burger with a bun (e.g. fried onions etc.). When we returned it to complain, the girl serving was very rude and antagonistic - a real shame. Also annoying that you can't order the same food inside and out - we wanted chunky chips along with our burgers and had to order them separately at the bar, so they arrived at a completely different time... visited The Wood House on 14 May 2017
15 May 2017 by
2

Lovely, family friendly pub! Good food, and Aspalls on tap! Fantastic! visited The Wood House on 13 May 2017
14 May 2017 by
5

The food and service were both excellent. The cod loin and shepherd's pie chosen by the adults in our group were gourmet pub standard. We sat in the dining area adjacent to the gardens. It was busy but comfortable and not cramped- ideal for a family group of nine including three primary aged children who were very happy with the children's menu. The waitress who attended us was particularly welcoming. visited The Wood House on 13 May 2017
14 May 2017 by
5

Hello, my husband and I ate at The Wood House for his birthday dinner last night. The food was OK but pretty average. We found the menu quite limited. The ladies at the bar were super friendly and helpful though, so we cannot fault them at all. The pub is really nicely decorated with some cosy areas. I don't think we will return to eat there but perhaps for a drink as you are less than five minutes walk from our house. I hope this helps. visited The Wood House on 10 May 2017
11 May 2017 by
3

Staff were really helpful and the food has really improved and was all delicious! Melissa visited The Wood House on 05 May 2017
07 May 2017 by
5

The buffet menu was beyond any of our expectations - excellent quality food, delivered on time with personal oversight by the manager Oliver, who even organised for us to be able to take what was left away with us. An excellent service. visited The Wood House on 04 May 2017
05 May 2017 by
5

Lovely atmosphere but for a Sunday roast the meat was very average. We each tried pork, beef and lamb and all three were sliced very thinly (actually reminded me of school dinners I hate to say) and over cooked which was a shame. visited The Wood House on 30 Apr 2017
02 May 2017 by
3

Now the Woodhouse is under new management I can not praise it enough. We went on a bank holiday weekend and were in a group of seven. We all ordered roast lunches and they arrived quickly and were delicious. The portions were generous and were beautifully cooked. Definately recommend. visited The Wood House on 01 May 2017
02 May 2017 by
5

Wonderful service and food. Special touch was staff going out of their way to 'gluten free' some dishes which my wife really appreciated. Excellent all round. visited The Wood House on 01 May 2017
02 May 2017 by
5

Very good service - quick to respond to an email, helpful with my disabled father, open yo having a dog in and generally friendly. Food good pub fare for a Sunday, with a veggie option. Highly recommend. visited The Wood House on 01 May 2017
02 May 2017 by
5

Excellent food and service. Child and dog friendly. visited The Wood House on 01 May 2017
02 May 2017 by
4

Lovely atmosphere, lively but friendly. Our waitress was superb, couldn't do enough for us. Good food, hot and enjoyable. We will visit again. visited The Wood House on 01 May 2017
02 May 2017 by
5

Potatoes and meat overcooked. Got a different beer than I ordered. All in all, very disappointed. visited The Wood House on 30 Apr 2017
01 May 2017 by
1

Good food and really good service. visited The Wood House on 30 Apr 2017
01 May 2017 by
4

Very enjoyable meal and reasonable price visited The Wood House on 29 Apr 2017
30 Apr 2017 by
5

We booked a table for a family Easter Sunday lunch . We had a lovely round table with a view to the garden . Although the table was booked for a two hour slot we were not rushed , we were told towards the end of this time that we could stay at the table due to other party being placed at other available table . Food and service were good . We will definately return thank you visited The Wood House on 16 Apr 2017
26 Apr 2017 by
4

The food was very nice. The service was excellent. Friendly and efficient with a smile. Thank you Kourosh visited The Wood House on 23 Apr 2017
24 Apr 2017 by
5

Despite asking for somewhere quiet, we were seated just inside the door to the conservatory, so not a great first impression. Ordering and the food arriving was quick, but having asked the male member of staff for ketchup, and then reminded him, we waited about 5 mins, then had to catch another member of staff and wait a few minutes more! The food was then luke warm, but since I had a meeting shortly after, we ate it anyway. A poor first impression overall. Unlikely I will come back again visited The Wood House on 22 Apr 2017
23 Apr 2017 by
3

This was my first time back since the reopening. I was really happy with the service provided and the standard of food. visited The Wood House on 21 Apr 2017
22 Apr 2017 by
5

We had a great time at the Wood House for an Easter Monday lunch. I had been last summer just for drinks and the service had been slightly haphazard so I was delighted that our party which include 5 under 5s and 2 dogs were excellently taken care of with friendly service and super quick food- especially important for the kids. We will be back! visited The Wood House on 17 Apr 2017
18 Apr 2017 by
5

Very pleasant place and service was good, although all additional requests made when ordering food, had to be repeated when food was delivered, as they had been missed off. Also the food could have been a lot hotter. It was all just tepid. visited The Wood House on 17 Apr 2017
18 Apr 2017 by
3

We all enjoyed our food (especially the harissa halloumi dish). Very noisy and were seated by the frequently opening door however. visited The Wood House on 17 Apr 2017
18 Apr 2017 by
4

The Woodhouse is a lovely setting and the food is gorgeous, with really big portions of good food. The service is awful and I have found it to be the same everytime I visit. We had to ask to order our drinks, ask to order our food, nobody checked to see if we were enjoying our food. When it came to paying nobody asked if everything was ok or said thank you. The wasn't a shortage of staff so it is disappointing that they can't focus on their customer service. Leanne visited The Wood House on 16 Apr 2017
17 Apr 2017 by
3

Lovely family sunday lunch at the Woodhouse. We sat in the garden so had to go inside to order the food. Ordering 9 meals and 9 drinks was not ideal. Had to take several trips to the bar to collect the drinks. Could have done with some service outside. I think they need more staff behind the bar rather slow service. Food was excellent. Apart from the Cauliflower cheese. Just came out as a whole Cauliflower with hardly any cheese. Overall great pub, great sunday roasts and lovely outdoor area. visited The Wood House on 09 Apr 2017
10 Apr 2017 by
4

We had a wonderful time! The pub has an amazing garden, children were very happy. Great food, and the pub stuff is super helpful and welcoming. Best place ever! visited The Wood House on 08 Apr 2017
10 Apr 2017 by
5

good food and service; nice atmosphere visited The Wood House on 01 Apr 2017
02 Apr 2017 by
5

Great food, and good service. visited The Wood House on 01 Apr 2017
02 Apr 2017 by
5

Lovely food and good service. visited The Wood House on 01 Apr 2017
02 Apr 2017 by
4

Fantastic lunch at The Wood House yesterday.Large portions of great food for kids and adults.Lovely waiting staff too -will definitely go back visited The Wood House on 01 Apr 2017
02 Apr 2017 by
5

Slow service, long wait, rude staff, dirty table, expensive. Nice gsrden though! visited The Wood House on 27 Mar 2017
28 Mar 2017 by
1

Lovely location, garden and interior, good choice of beer and ale. Wine very expensive. Food only average and expensive for what it was. Only one vege option on the whole menu, which was over priced and mediocre. Service so so. We arrived to be told card machine was broken so could we please go and get cash. Drove out to cash machine, came back, to be told machine working again, no apology offered. Food took a while to come despite it being a very quiet monday night. Our outside table was not wiped down or cleared despite it being grubby and dusty on arrival. Disappointing- it's got potential to be a great pub , but it certainly isn't that at the moment. visited The Wood House on 27 Mar 2017
28 Mar 2017 by
2

The service was very good but the food was cold when it come out. The plates could have been warmer which might of helped. visited The Wood House on 26 Mar 2017
28 Mar 2017 by
3

Lovely restaurant, average food. Would visit again. visited The Wood House on 26 Mar 2017
27 Mar 2017 by
3

We ate in the conservatory and then headed outside after lunch for a few drinks in the sun – fantastic service and great beer garden! Alex visited The Wood House on 26 Mar 2017
27 Mar 2017 by
5

Food really good. Seemed to be problem with dessert as it took a while to arrive. visited The Wood House on 25 Mar 2017
26 Mar 2017 by
5

Lovely inside, food excellent, staff helpful visited The Wood House on 23 Mar 2017
24 Mar 2017 by
5

Great ambiance, fantastic service and delicious food! visited The Wood House on 21 Mar 2017
23 Mar 2017 by
5

Food and waiters were excellent but due to an over an hour wait for our lunch to be served we were still eating our desert when the table was due to be used by the next booking. So management tried to get us to move into the lounge to finish. If we had received our food earlier this would not of happened. I suggest you recommend to your customers when booking a table that they should take into account for the extremely long wait for their food to be served as to how long they may need their table. visited The Wood House on 19 Mar 2017
21 Mar 2017 by
3

Went with large group of kids and parents (some 25 people). Very relaxed and all had a good time. Only some food a little delayed. visited The Wood House on 19 Mar 2017
20 Mar 2017 by
5

Our server was absolutely lovely! Food was great, starters were good but your pork belly roast was delicious! visited The Wood House on 19 Mar 2017
20 Mar 2017 by
4

Whilst the food was nice the service was poor. We have been twice recently and both times found the service erratic and had to ask for drinks etc several times. It's a shame as it's a lovely place. visited The Wood House on 17 Mar 2017
18 Mar 2017 by
2

Reasonably slow service and waiters kept clearing - or attempting to clear - glasses from the table which were still being used. Very good food though and a lovely atmosphere visited The Wood House on 12 Mar 2017
13 Mar 2017 by
3

Wonderful service, great food and lovely atmosphere. It was very busy and lots of kids and our waitress was very patient and worked really hard. We'll definitely be back!! visited The Wood House on 12 Mar 2017
13 Mar 2017 by
5

Great service. Our second time dining there. visited The Wood House on 05 Mar 2017
07 Mar 2017 by
5

Thanks to Justina and the team. Everything was perfect. A sad event was helped by the social event after held at the Wood House. visited The Wood House on 03 Mar 2017
06 Mar 2017 by
5

The venue is great and the food was delicious. However, our food arrived after 1.5 hours of waiting and it was really hard to get the stuff's attention to order any drinks. Once we did order the drinks, we had to chase it twice and it finally arrived after 25 minutes. visited The Wood House on 04 Mar 2017
06 Mar 2017 by
3

A very good experience. The staff were kind and helpful, and everyone enjoyed the occasion, though it was tinged with sadness. visited The Wood House on 28 Feb 2017
01 Mar 2017 by
4

Friendly service. Quite a number of customers for a Monday lunchtime. Fish pie with cheesy mash and a side of cabbage kale hit the spot! Will definitely go again visited The Wood House on 27 Feb 2017
28 Feb 2017 by
4

Perfect Sunday lunch with the family. Very cosy and great food; especially the side of cauliflower cheese ! visited The Wood House on 26 Feb 2017
27 Feb 2017 by
4

The chef was extremely accommodating as my friend was vegan and he created an amazing meal for her! Angie_A visited The Wood House on 13 Feb 2017
14 Feb 2017 by
5

We sat near the fire exit. People kept pouring in and out and it was freezing. My mother had to put her coat on and the children had to move to the other side of the table. A lady on another table, a wheelchair user, had to move seat and put her coat on as did others on her table. You really need a clear sign for people that the door is only for disabled access or fire exit and not public thoroughfare. Your staff seemed to feel helpless about how to handle it. It really spoiled the meal and was very annoying. Our waitress was excellent but really there was little she could do to recover the experience of sitting in a freezing draught for the whole meal and not having anyone sort it out visited The Wood House on 12 Feb 2017
13 Feb 2017 by
3

The new management is a vast improvement to the past, and can only go to bigger and better heights. visited The Wood House on 11 Feb 2017
13 Feb 2017 by
5

New management and thankfully a great new atmosphere.....had a great afternoon, great result in the rugby and cracking service., visited The Wood House on 11 Feb 2017
12 Feb 2017 by
5

Great Really good afternoon:evening visited The Wood House on 11 Feb 2017
12 Feb 2017 by
5

Had a great time. Good food as well. visited The Wood House on 11 Feb 2017
12 Feb 2017 by
5

Nice relaxed afternoon watching the rugby. We had lunch/dinner which everyone enjoyed. The service was good, the team were very attentive. visited The Wood House on 05 Feb 2017
06 Feb 2017 by
4

Great for young family get-together visited The Wood House on 04 Feb 2017
06 Feb 2017 by
5

Great evening, lovely food and staff. Everyone so helpful. visited The Wood House on 04 Feb 2017
05 Feb 2017 by
5

Absolutely loved it, got a free round of Guinness. The food was delishes and portions are so generous. You can never please my wive, but this time she was over the moon with her veggie option. We had a fab afternoon. The new Managers is absolutely on the ball! Keep up the good work and have a day off:))) visited The Wood House on 04 Feb 2017
05 Feb 2017 by
5

We all enjoyed our meal. The service was very good. Unfortunately, and the reason for awarding 4 stars, was that some of the potatoes were under cooked. Whilst we were offered more the time that would have taken would have meant one person eating alone. visited The Wood House on 28 Jan 2017
29 Jan 2017 by
4

Food was ok. Quite noisy a lot of kids running around. Friendly service. Food took a long time. visited The Wood House on 28 Jan 2017
29 Jan 2017 by
3

Very good standard grub now. Used to be carnage. visited The Wood House on 22 Jan 2017
23 Jan 2017 by
4

Fab Manageress & staff !! Must be five words ??...er , ok ...is this enough now ? visited The Wood House on 12 Jan 2017
17 Jan 2017 by
5

Show all Show fewer


If you like The Wood House, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.