The Guard House

Book & Enquire for free

The Guard House photo The Guard House photo The Guard House photo The Guard House photo The Guard House photo The Guard House photo The Guard House photo

Description

A charming and friendly pub.

Found in the heart of old is a disused army barracks Young's have transformed this rustic space into a modern, chic gastropub, with the new addition of the elegant glass house. However, all the while retaining the authenticity of a military officers mess with cosy leather armchairs and sofas at the heart of the original structure. 

Set between a selection of dining rooms, laid-back drinking areas and bars, The Guard House has gone out of its way to become one of the most attractive pubs in Woolwich.

Not only can you expect a roster of traditional London pints and craft bottles. At The Guard House we pride ourselves on only using the best of British seasonal produce we can get our hands on, to design our quintessentially British menu. 

 

Info

None
No queues normally
Happily Affordable ££
South London
Wheelchair Access, Disabled Toilets
None

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
10:00 23:00
10:00 23:00
10:00 23:00
10:00 23:00
10:00 00:00
10:00 00:00
10:00 22:00

Location

The Guard House
No 1 Street Woolwich, London, SE18 6GH

Area:
London

Nearest station:
Woolwich Arsenal (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Pint of Lager £4.70
Pint of Real Ale £4.35
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £4.70
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £5.55
Cocktail £8.00
Spirit and Mixer (50ml double shot and mixer) £5.10
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £7.20
Bottle of House Wine £20.50
Bottle of Champagne £37.50

This venue serves British, Gastro, Brunch and Vegetarian Friendly food.

Private Hire

Name Type Capacity
Seated
Capacity
Standing
Cost Min spend
Midweek*
Min spend
Weekend*
The Mess Private Room 30 50
The Conservatory Private Room 25- 30 40
The Glass House Venue Hire 60-70 100-120
* The minimum spends are a guideline only and vary according to the day and time of the year.

(92 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

The Gurad house staff were so friendly and helpful The service was great from the host I will definitely have other event there . Visited The Guard House on 2018-04-21
by on April 23rd, 2018
5

Staff tried hard but didn’t always go to plan. Orders came out wrong but rectified soon after & good was good. Seemed a little chaotic even though it was not busy Visited The Guard House on 2018-04-21
by on April 22nd, 2018
3

We had Sunday lunch for 6 booked in and turned up with 7. This was not a problem. The food and drink was good and the waiter was great. Visited The Guard House on 2018-04-15

Reply from The Guard House

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're very happy that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards The Guardhouse Team
by on April 17th, 2018
5

Booked a table for dinner but it was very confusing when we arrived as we were told to just grab any table, I wasn't sure what was going on as no menu's were brought to us and the table left unset...all a little odd and confusing. Service was slow and a couple of our meals weren't has hot as we would have expected. The food was ok, nothing exceptional for the price band and one of the steaks that had been requested well done was closer to medium rare. We have visited previously and were very impressed but the standards have definitely dropped dramatically which is a real shame. I don't think we'll be rushing back certainly not for food. Visited The Guard House on 2018-04-14

Reply from The Guard House

Hi, We are very sorry that your visit was not acceptable. We do expect all our staff to ensure that customers are happy and that the food is as ordered and of a high standard. If you could pop us over an email with the date and time of your booking and any other details to www.theguardhouse@geronimo-inns.co.uk we would appreciate it, we can get in touch and offer you a complimentary meal. Kind regards The Guardhouse Team
by on April 16th, 2018
2

Very nice venue for an event and chill out but the food needs an improvement. Terrible overpriced food. This place needs a good chef with nice ideas to become a successful business, most needed in Woolwich! Visited The Guard House on 2018-04-14

Reply from The Guard House

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit and did not enjoy the food. If you could pop us over an email with a few more details about your visit, what you had to eat? when? That would be lovely. theguardhouse@geronimo-inns.co.uk we will look further in to your complaint. Many Thanks The Guardhouse Team
by on April 15th, 2018
2

This place is in a great location and should be packed on a Sat eve. Yet the mismanagement and care from the staff made us run for the hills. The food is tasteless when they have any of the items on the menu. The staff doesn't know what day it is or what your order was to the point that you can walk out from the place without paying. The online reservation system is a shamble and the way that the dinning tables and drinks areas are set up leave a lot to be desired. If you want a nice experience, go to the other Pub in the complex and you will not regret it as I did going to the The GuardHouse. Visited The Guard House on 2018-04-07

Reply from The Guard House

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit and did not enjoy the food. If you could pop us over an email with a few more details about your visit, what you had to eat? when? That would be lovely. theguardhouse@geronimo-inns.co.uk we will look further in to your complaint further. Many Thanks The Guardhouse Team
by on April 14th, 2018
1

We had a birthday party. The venue was lovely, real fire, warm and comfortable. The food was very good -everyone praised it. My only complaint was the service. The food was late and there seemed to be a shortage of staff. However the event went well and was much enjoyed. Visited The Guard House on 2018-03-25

Reply from The Guard House

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate all feed back, sorry that your food ran late but we very happy that you had a lovely party. Kind regards The Guardhouse Team
by on March 31st, 2018
4

This was my 3rd time to the guard house and oddly, this time things seem to have been quite different. The food was mediocre (had fish and chips), and there was lots of cleaning going on by staff. So much so that even cutlery had been removed from our table before we even had our food and it was never returned. Food was just served with no cutlery. We had to get it ourselves. Bar staff attentive, though. Overall, it's a good location and nice place to go, especially in Woolwich. But last Sunday evening was a bit of an odd one. Visited The Guard House on 2018-03-18
by on March 20th, 2018
3

The team were very accommodating to our needs pre booking. We hired out the Garden room, which lovely. We used the large screen for our event and all worked really smoothly. We ordered 4 tray platters which were fantastic- except the chicken wings which were over fried and tasteless. It’s a great venue for events and the staff were so helpful and quite patient towards our many requests! People still struggle to find this venue if driving, better signage for drivers would be useful. Visited The Guard House on 2018-03-18
by on March 20th, 2018
4

We love the location and decor etc of the guards house and have eaten there a few times. We booked a lunch for the family on Sunday and were left disappointed by the food. The menu is simple and sounds delicious, but out of the three starters, only two were available, the beef roast was effectively an extremely overcooked steak, we asked for extra gravy and never received it, and the soup resembled a paste - though was quite tasty. Our waitress was lovely, and we would love to return as there is really nothing similar in woolwich yet, but for £50 a head, we left feeling hungry and disappointed which was a real shame. I hope this feedback can help with any future changes. Visited The Guard House on 2018-03-18
by on March 19th, 2018
2

Not great, food was over priced and the service wasn't fantastic. The food tasted okay but was not worth the price. It's another classic youngs pub that offers nothing new. Visited The Guard House on 2018-03-11
by on March 12th, 2018
2

enjoyed our Sunday Roasts - meat tasty, potatoes crunchy and fluffy and a range of vegetables; attentive staff, good service Visited The Guard House on 2018-03-11
by on March 12th, 2018
5

Good food, but dreadful service Visited The Guard House on 2018-03-11
by on March 12th, 2018
3

Great venue, great food and staff experience. Visited The Guard House on 2018-03-09
by on March 11th, 2018
5

Very good service and food for Sunday lunch Visited The Guard House on 2018-03-04
by on March 5th, 2018
5

We visit the Guard house fairly often. On this occasion, as usual, the food was of a high standard but unfortunately some items on the menu had run out, so choicewas restricted. Staff were efficient and friendly. The new(ish) layout with booths is a great improvement, especially for parties of 6, as we are able to book in advance, and all sit together comfortably. Look forward to our next visit and hope a full menu is available. Visited The Guard House on 2018-02-24
by on February 28th, 2018
3

The Guardhouse is a hidden gem. Amazing private rooms and very considerate and friendly staff who went out of their way to make our event run smoothly. The canapé selection was tasty with choices to suit everyone's taste. I would highly recommend this venue if you are after a cosy, unique and inviting ambiance. I will definitely be popping in soon for a spot of brunch or lunch. Visited The Guard House on 2018-02-20
by on February 21st, 2018
5

Visited The Guard House on 2018-02-12
by on February 13th, 2018
4

Great night out with friends and family. Organised leaving due for sis. Group of10. Arrived 10 min earlier ...although everything was pre booked table wasn’t ready...never mind staff was very friendly and helpful. Food arrived 20 min late but knowing there were ontaher 2 parties (one wedding) I suppose we could wait a little :-) Great atpospher, great food, fab staff(even chef’s were very chatty ) :-) Must visit. Thank you to JP and other staff for looking after us Andrea Visited The Guard House on 2018-02-10
by on February 12th, 2018
4

I was disappointed ive been here several times including Christmas Day and its been good. Service last night bot good. My liver and bacon came with literally a teaspoon of gravy i had to go to bar to ask for some. The liver was cut too thick and who cooks liver and bacon without onions? It wasn't good. After table cleared noone came and asked if we wanted desert and again after a 25 minute wait i went to the bar and asked for 3 expresso martini. As the service was so bad I asked for bill at the same time. This has put me off going again Visited The Guard House on 2018-02-10
by on February 11th, 2018
3

We had a 30th birthday party here and can honestly say of all the places we have hired for private parties this by far the best venue! The staff couldn’t be more accommodating and the venue itself is lovely! Visited The Guard House on 2018-02-10
by on February 11th, 2018
5

Good experience and helpful and used initiative and pro active Visited The Guard House on 2018-02-08
by on February 9th, 2018
3

Great evening staff were absolutely brilliant on the day. Bit of confusion about the booking and previous event overran which meant that people were rushing around clearing things away as guests were arriving. Apart from this everything else ran extremely smoothly and was enjoyed by all our guests. Visited The Guard House on 2018-02-03
by on February 5th, 2018
4

We arrived and waited at the reception desk for fully five minutes. Staff often looked in our direction but made no attempt to approach. Eventually someone arrived and then went to check the reservation we had made. He then said ‘ Just find a table where you like’. He finally took us to a small room with a view of several dustbins outside the window. The room was also cold. We decided to leave. We shall not be going again as there are two other far better establshments nearby. Visited The Guard House on 2018-01-28
by on January 29th, 2018
1

We arrived and were told the rolls were not working so we couldn’t eat. The restaurant was already open for half hour and it would have been fair to have been contacted first about the issue. All travel was not worth it. Visited The Guard House on 2018-01-28
by on January 29th, 2018
1

The service is quite poor as is the communication with the members of the staff in terms of having a private booking. The bread was also hard Visited The Guard House on 2018-01-27
by on January 28th, 2018
2

The menu i wanted, was not available on the day, but this is a minor point Visited The Guard House on 2018-01-25
by on January 26th, 2018
4

Excellent service - polite and efficient Beautiful setting Tricky parking Confusing access Visited The Guard House on 2018-01-14
by on January 15th, 2018
4

The booking of the venue was clumsy, we book the conservatory for private hire event and I didn't have a good experience at all, no response to emails, no confirmations unless chasing etc. however I made the booking and it was reserved when we arrived. From the point of arrival everything went perfectly, staff where welcoming and polite, food was beautiful tasty and on time, the drinks were swift and on point. Over all I would recommend this private hire room I would just ask the management to put someone in control of events to that we have a smoother start. Visited The Guard House on 2018-01-14
by on January 15th, 2018
4

We booked the Conservatory & The Mess Bar for our wedding reception and it was absolutely brilliant. The customer service at the guardhouse is amazing. There wasn't anything we asked for that Kerri & her team didnt try to make possible. We started our afternoon with Canapés & a prosecco reception to welcome our guests. Even though the food was delicious & the service top knotch, things could have progressed a bit faster with this part, as our guests were starting to get hungry & a bit impatient. Also, the pre-ordered food made things a bit complicated when we started dinner. But in the end everything worked out amazingly. Everyone of the staff was super friendly & helpful and made us enjoy a fabulous night at the guardhouse. Would definitely go for the private hire again & also recommend the place to our friends & family, if anyone is ever looking for a beautiful, intimate restaurant with excellent food & drinks. Visited The Guard House on 2018-01-06
by on January 12th, 2018
5

I am only giving this three stars because of Chubs and Reggie, they saved the Guard House skin on New Years Eve, without them their night would have been a disaster. We arrived and were served promptly in the beginning with our meal, but as the night progressed it became obvious that there was a staffing issue.. with the kitchen staff leaving at the end of their shift promptly at around 10pm ( I think) nothing wrong with that you might say, but the problem was, those of us who had booked the New Years Eve meal, had not been served with our desserts. We were left sitting at our table with no drinks either for around forty minutes..in the end we had to complain and demand some drinks, we were waiting for the other free cocktail we were promised but sadly due to the kitchen issues there was no one around to make it...we ended up with a glass of wine/beer each, we did get the cocktail later on but it didn't change the fact that we had sat there for nearly an hour with no drinks at all. What we couldn't understand was why, when its one of the busiest nights of the year, and something the Guard House had sold tickets for, the kitchen staff's hours were not extended to suit the demand??... there was no organisation there at all, with staff running around trying to keep everyone happy...we felt really sorry for them...if it wasn't for them, we would have walked out and gone over the road to the Dial Arch where we know we would have been served a lot quicker. We feel that the event was really badly managed and did not show the Guard House in a good light at all. that said, we did enjoy the party/music afterwards, that part was fun. what a shame the rest of the night was such a shambles. Note: I should mention that we were given a free bottle of wine as a good gesture...but I was still charged for my meal and the glass of wine I ordered when I first arrived....not really much goodwill their either, but there were no members of the management team around to authorise anything else. Thank you Reggie & Chubs! Visited The Guard House on 2017-12-31
by on January 10th, 2018
3

Great service and delicious food!! Loving the new decor also ❤️ Visited The Guard House on 2018-01-03
by on January 4th, 2018
5

Kerry and the rest of the staff were very efficient and attended to all our needs and the food was excellent. This was the first time my wife and I have had Christmas dinner away from home or family – and we have been together for almost 50 years – and we were a little apprehensive about how we would feel, but we found the experience to be a total delight. Thank you very much. Visited The Guard House on 2017-12-25
by on December 28th, 2017
5

A fabulous Christmas Day experience. Service is always good at the Guardhouse but today the team were particularly attentive. It made for a really special lunch with my mum. Christmas pudding was delicious! Next year you need Brussels Sprouts though! :) Visited The Guard House on 2017-12-25
by on December 27th, 2017
5

We went for Christmas dinner 2nd year running. Liked it much more this time as it felt more buzzy and full. Service and food were great. Ive been during year as well. Its always good. Recommended Visited The Guard House on 2017-12-25
by on December 26th, 2017
5

It was fcuking shite don't go Visited The Guard House on 2017-12-21
by on December 24th, 2017
1

Service was great, food was superb, hope to come back soon. Visited The Guard House on 2017-12-23
by on December 24th, 2017
4

We arrived with no welcome we're ignored at the bar by some frantic woman I informed her we had a table booked ah yes she said it's ready er how did she know she left us stood at the bar didn't offer us a drink then she scurried off . We stood there for a further fifteen mins before leaving and dining at the dial arch a few mtrs away . We were greeted seated fed and watered . Much more civilised . Stay away from the guard house . Visited The Guard House on 2017-12-21
by on December 22nd, 2017
1

We booked a table for Christmas dinner for 9, but when we arrived were told they didn’t have us on their system and to wait 30 minutes but there ‘might not be enough food left’. They didn’t seem to care at all and just left us waiting. Not impressed. We went next door to Dial Arch who were lovely and did their best to accommodate us. Visited The Guard House on 2017-12-14
by on December 16th, 2017
1

Good meal with efficient and friendly service. Great improvement since the refurbishment. Visited The Guard House on 2017-12-15
by on December 16th, 2017
4

Great food service and staff, can't ask for anymore from them and helpful throughout. This is the second year we have used them for our Christmas party and would not hesitate to hire out the area again. Visited The Guard House on 2017-12-08
by on December 11th, 2017
5

My Wedding Party was booked from 3pm but when we arrived around 3.30pm anything was ready yet: tables were dirty and bar was closed (beer tap were still with the cling film on!!!!!). None was "waiting for us" and I had to go and look for someone who could help as all the guest were in the booked room with no music & no drinks - the manager was also too busy to come to me and apology. After, when we have been moved in the second room booked, food slowly came as agreed but the boards were left too randomly on the tables, waiters didn't even tried to have a look around a make sure that all the guests (it was just 20 of us) had tried their canapes and were happy with them; there was no person in charge of the party but we had always to go and look for someone in the whole pub to make our requests/drinks order.. which I think it is unacceptable (order drinks take us around 1 hour per round). Service was very poor even if I was expecting seriously something very basic. Quality of the food was quite good - that's one of the positive aspect together with a one and only two bartenders who were probably the only ones to know what to do (but anyway they were busy managing the other two parties as well). Hope they would hire some more staff (they were very busy i got to say) probably more experienced as the place itself has a very big potential. Visited The Guard House on 2017-11-25
by on November 28th, 2017
2

Our food was delicious and we think the make over is classy. We were delighted to get one of the comfortable booths. Visited The Guard House on 2017-11-11
by on November 12th, 2017
5

The only reason why I give it any stars at all is because of the friendliness of the staff. However waiting 2 1/2 hours for food is unacceptable and the chef should be completely replaced! The food was of poor quality and if you wish to serve food please keep it simple rather doing over cooked steak and burned broccoli! I won’t be returning however I hope you review the menu and chef. Visited The Guard House on 2017-11-11
by on November 12th, 2017
2

The staff were friendly and very helpful . We also enjoyed our food immensely. Visited The Guard House on 2017-11-05
by on November 6th, 2017
5

It was a perfect day to celebrate a Retirement party for 22 people. The ambiance and selection of food is excellent. The staff are very accommodating and very friendly. This was my third time I organised a large party same room, same place. I’m fully satisfied with the overall experience. Visited The Guard House on 2017-10-28
by on October 29th, 2017
5

Better than we expected given some of the reviews. It's a lovely venue and staff were friendly and welcoming...but someone forgot to tell chef about the unlimited roast potatoes and yorkshires as advertised on web with Sunday lunch ! They were hard to come by and slow ...shame... Visited The Guard House on 2017-10-22
by on October 23rd, 2017
4

I used the guard house for my son christening party. They were very helpful with organising the event however I ordered a buffet which on the day came out an hour late and there was vegetarian food on the same tray as beef burgers. I won’t go in to all details but I wasn’t at all happy with my experience the only good thing was the bar man who was very helpful in resolving the situation and getting a full cash refund. If you was a nice relaxing meal and a drink I highly recommend but I wouldn’t hold an event there. Visited The Guard House on 2017-10-22
by on October 23rd, 2017
2

Our son's birthday party was a success, thank you, We particularly appreciate great service provided by the waiter (Jess?) who looked after us very well. We appreciate two bottles of prosecco we were offered as well as being allowed to continue to party after our official booking slot finished. It shows everyone enjoyed the place! Food and beverage were really nice, everyone enjoyed their meal. The only comments that were fed back to me were on chips which were thought to be quite salty. I also believe Pork was thought to be quite fatty. Overall 5 stars, thank you The Guard House. Visited The Guard House on 2017-10-15
by on October 17th, 2017
5

Fabulous venue to hold a private party, the food was spot on and all the staff especially Kerri the manager was so professional, yet friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure our party was as special as it was! Thank you so much and will/would definitely book again 🥂😀 jo & Kate Visited The Guard House on 2017-10-14
by on October 15th, 2017
5

I reserved the a private area which included bar lounge and dining table for an intimate gathering of family and friends for the memorial of my parents. The Service was excellent, all guests commented on how lovely the venue was. The food was good. I only wish I had pre-ordered more canapes as they were delish. The communication from the staff before and during event was brilliant and polite. I would recommend 100% Thank you for helping to make the memorial perfect. Visited The Guard House on 2017-10-12
by on October 13th, 2017
5

Good selection of good food. Visited The Guard House on 2017-10-08
by on October 10th, 2017
4

We were hosting friends and everything was a bit disappointing. Service was always charming, but slow. Caesar salad was requested with chicken, but arrived without, Bubble and Squeak seemed to be missing all cabbage and was not as one would expect at all (clearer description required), but was tasty, crumble chosen as a pudding as double-checked that it came with custard - when other desserts came, were then told that there was no custard available that day. So, all in all disappointing. Also had to ask for music to be turned down - very loud for 12.30pm on a Saturday. Visited The Guard House on 2017-09-23
by on September 25th, 2017
3

Food was excellent, quick service but one of the staff members was trying a bit hard to be cool and came across as a bit rude Visited The Guard House on 2017-09-24
by on September 25th, 2017
4

A fantastic meal and the staff were incredibly accommodating in serving my pregnant wife something off menu. Couldn't recommend this place any higher :) Visited The Guard House on 2017-09-15
by on September 18th, 2017
5

Beautiful venue, mix of old and new - all fantastic. We had a private party in the modern end of the building and all the guests were stunned that there was such an impressive venue in this neck of the woods. It's truly lovely, great food and friendly staff. Visited The Guard House on 2017-09-02
by on September 12th, 2017
5

Very upset. I made the booking well in advance. I requested a table in the bar for cocktails at 7 before dinner and access to a cake or help with my own. Your staff knew nothing about this, only of the dinner booking. You had a private party in the bar. We were told we could still have cocktails outside the toilets. Gee Thanks. Very upset and embarrassed in front of my friends. Had to go elsewhere to try and salvage evening for my partners birthday. WHAT IS THE POINT OF ADDITIONAL DETAILS BOX ON YOUR FORM IF NO ONE IS GOING TO READ IT. Visited The Guard House on 2017-09-09
by on September 10th, 2017
1

The team at The Guardhouse pulled out all the stops to make our night a success! Special thanks to Shannon who's a little star! Well done all !!! Visited The Guard House on 2017-09-02
by on September 3rd, 2017
5

Felt sorry for the poor server who had to come back to our table 3 times to tell us things that were on the menu weren't available. Overall food and service were good apart from that. Visited The Guard House on 2017-08-29
by on August 30th, 2017
3

Superb staff, made the kids and adults fell very looked after. We arrived late for our booking however, the team accommodated and went over and beyond to make everything great for my nephew's 2nd celebration of his 7th birthday . Thanks again ! (4.30pm booking for 10 on Friday 25th August) Visited The Guard House on 2017-08-25
by on August 29th, 2017
5

Great food served by warm and friendly staff Visited The Guard House on 2017-08-26
by on August 27th, 2017
5

A great experience! All staff were amazing and the atmosphere was soo lovely! I will definitely be back soon! :) Visited The Guard House on 2017-08-12
by on August 14th, 2017
5

Decent service - love the outdoor set up. Would come back. Visited The Guard House on 2017-08-01
by on August 8th, 2017
3

We like the place and will be giving it another chance, but please train your staff on the basics of table waiting. Seat people with a smile when they have turned up having made a reservation, wipe tables before you are asked and then do it without a big sigh,, bring glasses with wine, don't bring food and walk away when there's no cutlery, etc. The table waiting provided some unexpected entertainment to a kind audience, but other customers may not come back after such an experience! Visited The Guard House on 2017-08-04
by on August 5th, 2017
2

Been once before so decided to go again. Food and venue were good. Only criticism our waitress told us about the specials which one of us chose but she was unable to provide prices for them and had to go away and come back. A better idea would have been if they had been written down or on a specials board. Visited The Guard House on 2017-08-02
by on August 4th, 2017
4

The side order of vegetables did not arrive with the main course. The vegetation option was bland and dry, but the others in my party enjoyed their meals. Not a great night but ok. Visited The Guard House on 2017-07-06
by on July 10th, 2017
3

Cocktails were good and food tasted amazing. Shame the service was inept, despite it being a Friday night and about a quarter full. We had to wave someone down and call them over to order (they had no pad to write anything down on and took 3 attempts to get the right bottle of wine) then waited 50 mins for our main. It was worth the wait but unfortunately I don't think I'll be coming back. Such a shame: a tweak to the management and more attentive supervision of the staff and this place could be a local hotspot. As it is, I don't think it will survive - especially not with the competition that the Crossrail will bring in. Visited The Guard House on 2017-07-07
by on July 8th, 2017
2

I went to the Guard House for my birthday meal with family. The food was so tasty and the staff were all very friendly. Thanks for a great night! :) Visited The Guard House on 2017-07-06
by on July 7th, 2017
5

Enjoyed my dinner here with my friend. The food and service was excellent. The only thing the need to improve on is how to make an Irish Coffee. Visited The Guard House on 2017-07-01
by on July 2nd, 2017
5

It was for my birthday and I'd invited over 60 adults and 6 kids. The staff, service, food, ambience and location were all excellent. Both family and friends felt the same and congratulated me on my choice of venue. Thank you to all at the Guard House for making my day extra special. Visited The Guard House on 2017-06-24
by on June 27th, 2017
5

Well.. their Chicken Roast Dinner was amazing.. myself and my daughter loved it... A nice portion size too.... Great staff, who made us feel welcome.. and even managed to speak to the chef... Lovely man .. plus the jazz entertainment was marvellous.. Visited The Guard House on 2017-06-25
by on June 26th, 2017
5

Arron was brilliant ... very accommodating considering you had run out of most of the menu by 7:45 we would have gone somewhere else but he went out of his way with all your customers to serve them. Great location great drinks , excellent service but sort out the food menu and the kitchen Visited The Guard House on 2017-06-18
by on June 19th, 2017
4

"Fish Pie" is NOT Fish pie - its bit of fried fish, a fried prawn with wilted spinach,with wafer thin roost on top. Sea Bass nicely cooked but barely a start sized portion of fish. Don't sit inside - the extractor is far from sufficient - you'll be sitting in a cloud of smoke. So disappointing Visited The Guard House on 2017-06-17
by on June 18th, 2017
2

The food is great here but I've been a few times now and the service is just so slow! Even when it's not a full restaurant. Last night we had to literally go up to the bar and pay our bill because we were sat there for so long waiting! No need for this when you're not actually busy. Trying to get someone's attention was a pointless task as well. Visited The Guard House on 2017-06-16
by on June 17th, 2017
3

It was a pleasant evening for our birthday meal so we sat on the outside decking area .. We pretty soon had to move as we were being 'kippered' by smokers and Vapers .. We placed our order and waited for our food watching the world go by .. It certainly is a nice location... .. The food arrived and looked quite nice... Sadly it was not the food I had ordered. My Fish pie had managed to morph into Cod & Chips .. The waiter offered to changed it but said it could take up to 20 minutes , which would have meant my wife would be finished before mine had even arrived ... I said I would accept the cod and chips and the waiter offered to make an adjustment to the bill in lieu of the inconvenience caused .. The food was fine .... nothing memorable but good enough ... We eventually asked for the bill and it arrived without any reduction ... When I queried this the waiter deducted the cost of one dessert ... All in all a below average experience .... Perhaps this is why the Dial arch was totally packed and you had half a dozen customers ..? I believe part of the problem lies with the way the staff work ..... One young lady took our orders ( without writing them down ) , a different person served the food and a different person again brought the bill. It might be a good idea if one member of staff looked after their customer from start to end ... This was not my first visit to the guard house, I have had below average experience previously but I read somewhere that the place was under new management and new chef , so decided to take a chance .... Visited The Guard House on 2017-06-16
by on June 17th, 2017
3

Such good customer service and we had a change of time for the tables & they catered to us! Amazing restaurant and definitely will be going back! Visited The Guard House on 2017-06-15
by on June 16th, 2017
5

Nice pub but a very limited choice on the menu. We booked on the basis of the menus shown on the website, but many items were not available on our visit as the menus had apparently been updated (but not on the website). We left and dined elsewhere. Visited The Guard House on 2017-06-04
by on June 7th, 2017
1

Nice venue, staff very attentive, nice selection of beers, but the food didn't seem as nice as on previous visits Visited The Guard House on 2017-06-02
by on June 4th, 2017
3

Hi. The food was good but the big problem was delays. It took ages for a waitress to take our order - we had been ready to order for 20 mins before we were able to order and couldn't find a waitress. Then we waited approximately 30 mins for our main course and had to ask twice. Furthermore we saw people that arrived after us receive their meals before us - I think we were forgotten. The deserts arrived in a timely fashion. We were presented with the bill but waited more than 20 mins to pay (possibly 30), we actually went looking for the waitress. In the end we gave up and took our bill to the bar to pay. The food was good though but the service needs to be much swifter and more attentive. There wasn't even that many people in the restaurant. Visited The Guard House on 2017-05-26
by on May 28th, 2017
3

We didn't get the visit we hoped turned up and was told by the barman that they could not serve us hot food as they had no gas but we could have a salad or cheese board and desserts, apparently the manager should have rang us to save us the wasted journey but didn't bother not good customer service, it was for our Anniversary not just Sunday lunch, not impressed no rating. From Mr and Mrs Jackson it wouldn't let me post the comment without a rating so put one star but it's no stars. Visited The Guard House on 2017-05-21
by on May 22nd, 2017
1

Three of our first choices from the menu were not available. This was pretty much the case the last time we tried to have dinner at The Guard House, albeit for different items. Visited The Guard House on 2017-05-14
by on May 15th, 2017
1

My wife and I had a late lunch at the Guard House. Excellent meal and service. Visited The Guard House on 2017-05-14
by on May 15th, 2017
5

Excellent food, cocktails & service perfect start to the weekend - many thanks Visited The Guard House on 2017-05-05
by on May 6th, 2017
5

really enjoyed the day there nice people nice place Visited The Guard House on 2017-04-29
by on May 1st, 2017
5

Another excellent meal at the Guard House. Very good food. One of our party was left waiting for his meal because of a mistake but we had a good time as usual. Some of the chairs in the restaurant are looking a bit scratched and need to be replaced. Please keep this place at its high standard - it is a pleasure to visit! Visited The Guard House on 2017-04-23
by on April 24th, 2017
5

My experience with the food and service was very good, however my guests had problems in getting their orders for steak cooked to the degree they requested. Twice their meals were served incorrectly cooked, which was disappointing, embarrassing and fragmented the shared experience of eating together. The positive thing was the waiter was excellent and appreciated and compensated for our disatisfaction. Visited The Guard House on 2017-04-22
by on April 23rd, 2017
3

Food was lovely, Understandably it was a busy day but service could have a been a lot better. Visited The Guard House on 2017-04-16
by on April 17th, 2017
3

Staff and food were great! Dial arch had the fire alarm go off and drove a large number of people to guard house so slightly chaotic but management did well to restore calm. Too bad as a sister pub, that the Dial management who stood outside with the staff did it send a few over to assist with the sudden flood of customers! They should be working in tandem to ensure smooth running of both establishments, although dial management has a history of grandeur. Visited The Guard House on 2017-04-07
by on April 8th, 2017
3

Reluctantly giving 1 star in order to submit this review. It was obviously a great effort for the male member of waiting staff to show us to our table, he left us with a menu and we then had to wait 16 minutes for someone to approach our table to ask if we at least wanted drinks, despite the fact that there were only 2 other tables occupied. The starters we ordered were OK, but not exceptional but the main courses were a huge disappointment. We ordered a roast beef meal, a roast chicken meal which each came with 2 thin wedges of carrot, 2 thin wedges of parsnip and 2 very small squares of roast potato. The Yorkshire pudding on the roast beef meal was blackened and hard. We overheard the next table (arriving after us) asking for additional potatoes and being told by waiting staff that they had run out! My Mum ordered the chicken, ham and leek pie which had to be sent back as it was cold in the middle. This was returned to the table some 5 minutes later after clearly being microwaved. The pie crust was a soft steaming mess and could not be eaten. I went to find the waiting staff to express my disappointment and was referred to the assistant manager with a name consisting of just initials. He seemed to be preoccupied but made a good impression of listening and in response to my comment about potatoes running out , he just said "well, that's news to me" and seemed keen to get on with whatever else was occupying his mind. I asked for our bill from the waiting staff and had to wait a further 10 minutes to receive an astonishing bill of £ 86.70!!! No deductions had been made as a gesture of goodwill, I would have at least expected the pie meal to be removed. We left without apology or acknowledgement from the staff. Absolutely disgusted!! No wonder the Dial Arch is so popular and will remain our choice from now on. We thought we would give the Guard House a second try (we went shortly after it opened) the first experience we put down to teething trouble but cannot say the same now!!! Visited The Guard House on 2017-03-26
by on March 29th, 2017
1

Nice food and lovely restaurant. Visited The Guard House on 2017-03-26
by on March 27th, 2017
5

Great food and excellent service as always! Visited The Guard House on 2017-03-23
by on March 24th, 2017
5

What a lovley evening we had. This Gaurd House is very family orientated. Quite pricey but lovley. Bar staff are great and friendly also give a good service..the children played connect 4 there was other games to choose too. Children are allowed in till close and so are dogs.. The burger and chips is amazing Thankyou to Mickeal for making my friends Birthday a special one. Will defenitly be returning Visited The Guard House on 2017-03-18
by on March 19th, 2017
5

Show all Show fewer


If you like The Guard House, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.