Sitting at the start of the Oxford and Cambridge University Boat Race, a grand Victorian grade II listed building with four venues under one roof - this is the best way to describe the Duke's Head on the river bank in Putney...
The Duke's Bar is a traditional British style pub with lots of comfy chairs and plenty of beers, spirits and wines to choose from. Dark wood exterior with it's original design from Victorian age creates a particularly inviting atmosphere and the exceptional pub food that is served through the day and night keeps you going till the last train home.
To see all upcoming events view the full event calendar.
Make a booking to claim these offers below
|Appy Monday||Every Monday - Pay by using the Young's app and get 20% off from your bill for up to 120 guests||
Monday 11:00 - 23:00
|Pint of Lager||£4.65|
|Pint of Real Ale||£4.35|
|Bottle of Lager (330ml)||£4.70|
|Bottle of Cider (568ml)||£5.70|
|Spirit and Mixer (50ml double shot and mixer)||£6.50|
|Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large )||£7.00|
|Bottle of House Wine||£19.50|
|Bottle of Champagne||£29.50|
|Finger Food Buffet Menu||Download|
|Seasonal private dining menu sample 1||Download|
|Seasonal private dining menu sample 2||Download|
A word from the chef:
Tasty, simple and local - our menus are dedicated to show off the best of British food by working together with our local suppliers. We always aim to use freshest ingredients possible to offer our guests.
|The Wolsey Room||Private Room||45||70||0||500||1200|
|The Rowing Club||Venue Hire||80||120||0||1500||3500|
|The Coxswain Riverside Restaurant||Venue Hire||80||120||0||2000||4000|
|The Duke's Bar||Private Room||40||80||0||0||0|
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you for your great review - it is brilliant to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you soon again :)
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyA million thanks to you for your great review and feedback :) We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas lunch here with us. Please do let us know next time if the cracker is not as expected and we are happy to get you another one! Have a wonderful rest of the year ^^
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyWe are so grateful for your review - thank you! It is so good to hear that our hard work has paid of and we were able to give you a lovely Christmas welcome :)
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you very much for your wonderful review and lovely compliments! We too look forward to having you back next year :) Have a happy New Year x
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us this year was not top-notch! The issue with the quality of the steaks have been raised with our chefs and we are working towards changing the cut on the menu. We have also spoken to the team and will be holding a training session for all the new staff as well as a refreshing session for the all old staff in the beginning of the new year to up our service. We are truly sorry that this happened to you and we hope that you can give us another chance in the future. If you wish to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to get in touch: email@example.com All the best, DH
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyGreat review - thank you! It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your trip to the Duke's Head :)
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyIt was absolutely our pleasure hosting your wedding here and we want to thank you for letting us be part of this joyful day - and for one more time, the whole team of the Duke's Head would also like to congratulate both of you and wish you many years of happiness ahead! ^^
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you, thank you, thank you - for such a wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you soon again!
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyAnd we love this review :) thank you ever so much! We hope to see you soon after the refurb - we are super excited about our make-over xx
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyA very nice review - thank you very much! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us :) Please do let us know upon your next visit if there is anything we can do to make your experience even better!
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyFantastic review - thank you very much! :)
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you won't be returning to the Duke's Head but as we explained last night, unfortunately the microphone was used by another party and as we only have one microphone we were not able to offer you one too. Have a merry Christmas! Warm regards, DH
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you do much for your briliant review - we are super happy to hear that you enjoyed the venue and we were able to warm you up on a cold Tuesday! Have a lovely festive period! DH
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you do much for your lovely review! We are so glad to hear that you had a great afternoon with us :) hopefully you will return to the Duke's soon for more... Have a wonderful festive season! Warm regards, DH
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThan you for your review and your feedback - we are glad to hear that we were able to offer you easy and quick party planning as well as a well decorated room - the Wolsey room indeed is quite beautiful with all the decorations and the river view! However we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the amount of the food. It is difficult for us to say exactly how much you will need to preorder for your party as all parties and guests have different requirements but the finger food platters are recommended for 1-2 people depending on how hungry people are. And in a case where food runs out due to high demand we are always happy to provide extra bar food when requested too. Have a wonderful Christmas time and we hope that you will visit us soon again! Warm regards, Sofia
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyHURRAH! We are super happy to hear this ^^ Thank you for your kind words - we can't wait to have you come back either! See you soon, DH
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you for you review and feedback -we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and had a lovely Christmas lunch with us previously! We do our best always to accommodate all requests from our guests but unfortunately we can not guarantee a window table as all our diners are just as eager as another to get a table by the window and we can only fit so many. We are sorry that we were not able to offer you a window table this time - please drop us an email next time when you book with your details and we will do our best to get you a widow seat: firstname.lastname@example.org Have a great day! DH
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you for your review and feedback - we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your early dinner with us! We had a very busy lunch time so it is true that we did run out of the pie momentarily on Saturday while the chefs were baking a new set for the evening and we are sorry that your party was not able to order it. We also do apologise for not letting you know that your table was next to the tree when you booked. Table nine is one of our most requested tables as it is right by the windows and, as you mentioned, next to the Christmas tree so it did not occur to us that this might cause issues. Your comments have been passed on to our team and we will make sure this will not happen again. Moving tables can also be difficult when the restaurant is fully booked like it was this Saturday. Unfortunately the table that was left vacant in the end was indeed booked but the party did not let us know that they could not make it to their reservation after all. Because we know that the traffic is most of the time quite terrible when coming to Putney, we offer all our bookings 30 minutes leniency before we release the table to the public. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We truly hope that you can give us another chance to better ourselves in the future and if there is anything other comments you would like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch! Have a wonderful festive season! All the best, DH
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneySo so so amazing!! Thank you very much for your wonderful review :) We hope to see you soon again!
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyWe are glad to hear that you chose to pop in to the Duke's while on your way to Half Moon and we are please to hear that we were able to offer you a good experience with us! Thank you very much for the great 4 star review and please do let us know if you have any comments on how we can improve and make your visit to be full 5 stars next time! All the best, DH
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyHey, thank you for your review - We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy our food! Would you be able to provide us with some more information please? Our food is our pride and joy and we are very upset to hear that you did not enjoy your supper with us and to make sure that this won't happen again upon your next visit we would much appreciate if you could provide us with some details that we can then take to our team. Please email us: email@example.com or give us a call 020 8788 2552 Thank you. Kind regards, DH
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyHi, that you very much for your feedback - it is true our current winter menu is quite meaty but more vegetarian dishes will be returning to the menu again in January! Hopefully you will visit us then again to try some of our warming winter wellness dishes :)
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyWe agree - our staff if a quote a lovely bunch ^^ Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is so nice to hear such wonderful feedback! Hopefully you will visit us soon again x
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you for your review. We are sad to hear that you found us to be too expensive and appreciate your feedback about the roast. The chicken roast is served as a whole half a chicken and does include bones but we do apologise if your half was lacking meat - please do let us know next time and we will be happy to change your chicken to more meaty one instead. Also, please do let us know is there anything else we can do upon your next visit to make it to be closer to 5 stars rather than 1 star - we are always looking to improve our service and products and your feedback will help us do so! Have a great day, DH
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyHi George, thank you for your amazing 5-star review! We are so glad to hear that we were able to offer you everything you were looking for and we were able to provide you a great experience all the way from planning till the end of your night. We have also passed on your kind word to Lina and she is too very glad to hear that you enjoyed your night ^^ Hopefully you will visit us soon again! All the best, DH
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you for the great review ^^ To answer your question; how about add some delicious seasonal food with a glass of wine paired to compliment your food or maybe few well shaken espresso martinis to keep you going all night?
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you for your review and feedback - we do apologise for the delay in service, we were slightly more busy than we expected this Sunday and we will be sure to add few extra bodies for the busy season to avoid this from happening again! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and if there is anything else we can do to change your 3 stars up to 5 please do let us know when you visit us next time!
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you for the lovely review! We are so happy to hear that we were able to give you a 5 star experience with us :) We work really hard to provide the best food and service possible and it is always nice to hear that we have succeeded -Hopefully you will visit us soon again!
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyWe are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and the view - thank you very much for the compliments - the pie venison indeed is worth 5 stars and is definitely one of our favourite dishes on the menu ^^
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyAmazing -thank you so so much for your dazzling 5 star review! You have made our day ^^ please pop in soon again x
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyExcellent review - thank you! We aim to make all of our guest feel welcome and do our best to create cozy and relaxed atmosphere where you can spend time without feeling rushed :) It is lovely to hear that you will be recommending us to your friends and hope to see you soon again!
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you very much for such a great review! We work really hard to offer the best customer service possible and keep the atmosphere cozy and welcoming at all times - and are truly happy to hear that the hard work has paid off and made your visit worth 5 stars :) See you soon again x
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you for the shining 5 star review - we are thrilled to hear that you had a brilliant night with us! Please pop in soon again :) x
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyWe are glad you enjoyed food - and yes you are right, it is quite echoey in the dining room due to the fact that we are an old Victorian age building with high ceilings - they are beautiful but sometimes not very practical! We hope that you visit us soon again and maybe try our cosy Duke's bar or crafty Rowing club area this time x
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyExcellent review, positive and no messing about - thanks.
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyGood to hear that you enjoyed the food - our chefs are a brilliant bunch and are always coming up with new delicious dishes - as for the service, we do apologise for the slowness and increase the daily coffee dosage for the front of house to perk them up and make sure this will not happen again! Thank you for mentioning the straws as well - this is a very good point! We are actually not getting rid off the straws as we would still like to offer them to our customers when requested but instead we are changing the current plastic ones to biodegradable in the beginning of the new year. If you want to know more, please do not hesitate to get in touch :)
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThe river view, the decor and the staff of the pub are definitely features that make our little pub quite special and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed them too! We do apologise for not communicating better how the risotto would be served - as a part of our winter comfort food dishes, it is served on the heavier side. We will make a note of that! We hope that you have a lovely winter and would be nice if you would visit us soon again :)
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyAnd you are one of our favourite customer :) We thank you for your kind words and stay humble - please visit us soon again!
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThe Coxswain indeed is quite unique and attractive room, especially when you count in the river view! We are fairly flexible with the group sizes and try our best to be prepared for anything at all times. Our food is our pride and joy and it makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed it too :) It was our pleasure having you some dine with us and we would love if you would visit us soon again x
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyBoth our front of house team and chefs thank you for your kind words - they are all an excellent group of professionals and they are always happy to hear good feedback. The river too is an excellent addition to our pub - and just the other day we even saw a dolphin swim past us too! Have a wonderful winter and hopefully see you soon :)
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyThank you for visit us here in Putney - and thank you for the lovely review! We always try our best to make the space to be great for having a relaxing night with your friends and family - because what would be better than that :)
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyWe're glad to hear that we were able to lighten up the dark day for you and make it at least a bit more special :) It was absolutely brilliant having you here, you could have not been move lovelier and we truly hope that you will come back and visit us soon again!
Reply from The Duke's Head PutneyLovely review, very much appreciated. Thank you!
Show all Show fewer