The Prince Alfred

Book & Enquire for free

The Prince Alfred photo The Prince Alfred photo The Prince Alfred photo The Prince Alfred photo The Prince Alfred photo The Prince Alfred photo The Prince Alfred photo

Top Events @ The Prince Alfred

(View More)
The Blend by Chivas Buy Your Ticket
Wednesday 21 February 2018

Description

The Prince Alfred, a locals favourite in Maida Vale since 1856. Located just minutes from the picturesque canals of Little Venice and steeped in history, the beautiful pub is unique with an eclectic twist with its beautiful Victorian interior, classic and yet contemporary food and stand out drinks. They have something for everybody whether you're looking for a bite to eat, or something more private.

There are snug areas that are ideal for drinks parties of minimum 10 max 20 or double up for 30+.

Their beautifully refurbished dining room seats up to 50 people and all dishes are lovingly served from the buzz of their open kitchen. This can also be booked for private drinks/canape events. 

If it's something a little more private you're looking for, they have a stunning secret room which was originally used for storing coal has now been transformed into a beautiful cellar area for private dining or a drinks reception of up to 25 people.

What's on

To see all upcoming events view the full event calendar.


Maker's Mark - Make Your Mark

Maker's Mark - Make Your Mark

Tuesday 23 January 2018

Whisky or whiskey, scotch or rye? Truth be told, they're not all the same. Let Maker's Mark take you on a journey to...

The Blend by Chivas

The Blend by Chivas

Wednesday 21 February 2018

A unique opportunity to delve into the fascinating world of scotch and learn about the highly skilled process of making...

Info

No Door Charge
Booking required
Happily Affordable ££
Maida Vale
18 and Over
Casual

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
12:00 23:00
12:00 23:00
12:00 23:00
12:00 23:00
12:00 00:00
12:00 00:00
12:00 23:00

Location

The Prince Alfred
5A Formosa Street, London, W9 1EE

Area:
West London

Nearest station:
Warwick Avenue (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £3.95
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £4.90
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £8.35
Bottle of House Wine £25.50

Menus

Snacks Menu Download
Private Dining Menu Download


This venue serves Pub Food, Roast Dinner and Bar Snacks food.

A word from the chef:
Great traditional British pub food and contemporary international food from steak and ale pies, to smoked salmon and sunday roasts.

Private Hire

Name Type Capacity
Seated
Capacity
Standing
Cost Min spend
Midweek*
Min spend
Weekend*
The Cellars Private Room 30 30 £500
* The minimum spends are a guideline only and vary according to the day and time of the year.

(24 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Fantastic lunch. Great food, good wine and beer. Friendly service. visited The Prince Alfred on 06 Jan 2018
08 Jan 2018 by
4

WE were made very welcome on Hogmanay by all the staff. The restaurant was full but there was plenty of space between the tables. The food was excellent. Altogether a most enjoyable evening. Thank you! visited The Prince Alfred on 31 Dec 2017
07 Jan 2018 by
5

Had a great time all the staff were excellent and very helpful. Must go there again! visited The Prince Alfred on 31 Dec 2017
02 Jan 2018 by
5

Staff worked so hard to make sure diners had a good experience at lunchtime but we all knew the staff then had the whole of New Year Eve work ahead of them - i don't know how they did it but we had a faultless experience - good food, good service, good ambience and, something quite new to the PA, really nice sociable other diners. SO, so different now to what it was a year or so ago - so much better. Thank you. visited The Prince Alfred on 31 Dec 2017
02 Jan 2018 by
5

I have known the Prince for 25 years and my visit just after Christmas was not good - I would be concerned as a shareholder. The 2 barmen were polite but scruffy. Their jackets were spread over bar chairs and they were drinking. Our mains took 35 minutes and few people eating. Some tables were badly chipped and the table bases needed a repaint. A disappointing experience. visited The Prince Alfred on 26 Dec 2017
29 Dec 2017 by
2

We had the most fabulous Christmas lunch at the Prince Alfred on Christmas Day. We were a party of five and gave it a unanimous big thumbs up. A nice glass of bubbles on arrival, table beautifully set and decorated, classy Christmas crackers (we even laughed at the jokes) and a warm, jolly atmosphere. We all enjoyed a top notch five course meal with friendly attentive service. Oh and a lovely Christmas card from the team! Couldn't have asked for more. We will definitely have our Christmas Day lunch here again next time we're in London for Christmas. Sharon visited The Prince Alfred on 25 Dec 2017
27 Dec 2017 by
5

Great food, great service. Friendly staff. visited The Prince Alfred on 24 Dec 2017
26 Dec 2017 by
5

Lovely service and a really beautiful dining room. Would like a slightly wider choice on the menu but wasn't a problem this time as we all enjoyed our dishes. visited The Prince Alfred on 14 Dec 2017
23 Dec 2017 by
5

Our event at The Prince Alfred was brilliant and went so smoothly. I was amazed at how easy it was to book everything such as the private area in the Cellars, food and pre-ordered drinks. Kara was an absolute pleasure to deal with and had arranged for everything to be ready and waiting for us. Thank you to all the team! visited The Prince Alfred on 16 Dec 2017
20 Dec 2017 by
5

As a group of 5 we came for Sunday lunch on 17th December. The food was fantastic but the service was very poor. We arrived 5 minutes after our booked time slot and we were told to wait at the bar as our table was not ready.Once sat down it took far too long to take our order, much attention was paid to the couple next to us instead. The waitress served them twice before coming to us yet they arrived after us. The food took 30 minutes to get to our table which is far too long. Once finished eating we waited 20 minutes for our plates to be cleared and even then I had to catch the ladies eye before she actually realised our plates were still in front of us. She cleared two of our plates and then stopped to serve the couple next to us a bottle of wine?! We were felt extremely unwelcome at a local pub of mine that I was sharing with friends. Once she had finished serving them she finally cleared our plates and we left instantly and had desert elsewhere. I work and live very local to The Prince Alfred, I’ll be sure to advise we go elsewhere for drinks on a Friday. visited The Prince Alfred on 17 Dec 2017
20 Dec 2017 by
2

Special family lunch. Service was very good, staff kind and thoughtful. Food was very good. Comfortable and happy afternoon. visited The Prince Alfred on 10 Dec 2017
18 Dec 2017 by
4

Food very good and nicely spaced out. Didn't feel rushed. Flipside of that was the staff were not very aware. Lots of waving arms for quite a long time to get their attention. Wanted to change my pudding order (from the choice I was asked to make two weeks previously) and this seemed to cause major problems even though it was only changing from cheese to ice cream! Understable if it was a large group but there was only four of us. Bit more flexibility in the kitchen would help. visited The Prince Alfred on 13 Dec 2017
16 Dec 2017 by
3

Service is very slow and food very average. We ordered the same yet they forgot some of the vegetables. The gravy is like water! We wouldn’t go back - very over priced fir what they serve. visited The Prince Alfred on 10 Dec 2017

Reply from The Prince Alfred

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I was disappointed to read your comments and can only apologise for your poor experience. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our service. We do have procedures in place to ensure we are operating in a timely fashion however on this occasion these procedures have failed us. We pride ourselves on the quality of food we serve, and our Sunday roasts continue to be very popular with our customers, so your comments have raised obvious concerns. I would like to assure you that we take our customer comments very seriously and use them as a guide for improvement. We thank you for your feedback, all feedback is important to us. If you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact me on princealfred@youngs.co.uk. Kind regards, Imogen, General Manager
12 Dec 2017 by
2

Thank you for your hospitality on Friday evening - everything worked really well and we all enjoyed the festive atmosphere. The food was of great quality, especially the starters and main courses. However, just a couple of qualms: One guest had to wait over half an hour for their main course and the desserts didn't all come out and a few people had to actually ask for their dessert after a bit of a wait (the cheeses.) Overall, though, we had a great night and left the restaurant very happy with the service. I didn't get hold of the two young waiting staff's names but both of them were attentive and friendly. Thank you visited The Prince Alfred on 08 Dec 2017

Reply from The Prince Alfred

Hi Graeme, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We very much enjoyed hosting your Christmas Feast in The Cellars. Your kind comments regarding the quality of the starters and mains are highly appreciated. Our staff, both kitchen and front of house, take their roles in our industry very seriously and strive to exceed customer service expectations every day. Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay on one of the main course dishes. Unfortunately this took place as one of the guests from your party had claimed two main meals, which we had only discovered after all the meals had been started. We cooked a complimentary additional meal for the person who had theirs missing to ensure they would not leave hungry! This did delay their main course as a result. I am truly sorry for the delay in serving you the desserts. We look forward to another opportunity to host you, and once again, thank you for your positive comments. Kind regards, Imogen, General Manager
12 Dec 2017 by
4

The burger was great, but the greatest thing was the waiter Alessandro which treated us so well, I would came back only for him! Valentina visited The Prince Alfred on 09 Dec 2017

Reply from The Prince Alfred

Many thanks for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our delicious Prince Alfred burger. Alessandro is a joy to work with and he will be ecstatic to hear his efforts have been recognised. We are very lucky to have him! Hope to see you again in the New Year. Imogen, General Manager
11 Dec 2017 by
3

Our dinner party enjoyed the evening. The 3 course Christmas meal was great. Kara and her team were attentive and helpful. visited The Prince Alfred on 07 Dec 2017

Reply from The Prince Alfred

Thank you for the lovely review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the Christmas Feast. We love giving our guests the best possible experience during their stay and I am pleased that we did not disappoint. Hopefully see you again soon. Kind regards, Kara
11 Dec 2017 by
5

The place is amazing, a great british atmosphere. Beer is very good, Food tasty and the service very friendly. Sono more people serving would have been a good idea considering the significant number of people. Highly recommended. Paolo visited The Prince Alfred on 08 Dec 2017

Reply from The Prince Alfred

Thank you for your very kind review Paolo, you were a delight to host! We are pleased that you enjoyed our beer selection, food and friendly service. Your comments are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon. Imogen, General Manager
11 Dec 2017 by
5

Great food, excellent service and a very friendly atmosphere visited The Prince Alfred on 08 Dec 2017

Reply from The Prince Alfred

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed our tasty food. We work hard to ensure all guests have a great time with us, the team will be pleased to hear you enjoyed the service. Hopefully see you again soon. Imogen, General Manager
10 Dec 2017 by
5

Great pub, great atmosphere in the bar & restaurant. The wooden partitioned bar takes you back in history! Our only comment was the food & menu was a little dull, we've been before and the menu was much more exciting and tasty. The Staff are very friendly & helpful. We hope to be back again soon. visited The Prince Alfred on 02 Dec 2017

Reply from The Prince Alfred

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you liked our fantastic bar and restaurant atmosphere. We aim to serve freshly prepared seasonal dishes from our small kitchen. Unfortunately we did experience some supply issues over the weekend which did limit the menu more than we would have liked, this isn't usual for us and we have addressed the issues to ensure it doesn't happen again. Glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay, many thanks! Imogen, General Manager
04 Dec 2017 by
4

Very cozy place Tasty food and drinks visited The Prince Alfred on 04 Nov 2017

Reply from The Prince Alfred

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the cosy atmosphere as well as our delicious food and standout drinks! We sure look forward to welcoming you again soon. Imogen, General Manager
06 Nov 2017 by
4

Everything was perfect! Thank you to the staff! visited The Prince Alfred on 03 Nov 2017

Reply from The Prince Alfred

Hi there, Thank you for the lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our services and hope that you will visit us the next time you are in Maida Vale. Thank you. Imogen, General Manager
05 Nov 2017 by
5

-wait staff appeared inexperienced and unprofessional -cheesecake was awful - tasted like gelatin visited The Prince Alfred on 24 Oct 2017

Reply from The Prince Alfred

We are so sorry to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations. We have a very new team and are undergoing training with individuals and the team as a whole. Based on your feedback, we will review the honeycomb cheesecake recipe. If you would like to discuss the matter further please email us on princealfred@youngs.co.uk so we can look into it further. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Imogen, General Manager
26 Oct 2017 by
2

Great pub for drinking. Stayed for dinner too, unfortunately the service was quite slow due to only a couple of wait staff. Friendly staff and good food though. visited The Prince Alfred on 18 Oct 2017

Reply from The Prince Alfred

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the food and we will certainly use your comments to further improve our guest experience. We do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Imogen, General Manager
20 Oct 2017 by
4

Good friendly atmosphere, great variety in terms of food and quick service
23 Jan 2014 by
4

Show all Show fewer


If you like The Prince Alfred, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.