The Somers Town Coffee House

{{currentVenue.offers.length}} Offers Available!

{{offer.title}}

{{offer.availabilityDays}} between {{offer.availabilityTimes}} , {{time}} {{offer.availabilityNumPeople}} ( Valid from {{offer.start_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} to {{offer.expiry_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} )

{{offer.description}}



Make a booking to select an offer

{{numPeopleNote}}

Ok

Sorry, there are no times available to book on this date.

Go back

Please note:
{{restrictionNotes}}
Back
{{venueName}} This venue has availability at these times:
We couldn't find any availability around the times you specified, but you can still make an enquiry.

Type of enquiry

Booking confirmed

Woohoo! Your booking at {{venueName}} is confirmed. You will receive confirmation via text and email shortly.

Thank you for booking with DesignMyNight.com

Enquiry received

{{venueName}} We have successfully received your booking enquiry and will get back to you as soon as possible. You will be contacted by the {{venueName}} team shortly.

We have received your booking enquiry and we will work with {{venueName}} to confirm your booking. You will receive confirmation of this enquiry via text and email shortly.

Name: {{booking.first_name}} {{booking.last_name}}
Date: {{booking.date | date:'EEEE d MMMM'}}
Time: {{booking.time}}
Guests: {{booking.num_people}}
Checking availability..

Oops!

The Somers Town Coffee House photo The Somers Town Coffee House photo The Somers Town Coffee House photo The Somers Town Coffee House photo The Somers Town Coffee House photo The Somers Town Coffee House photo The Somers Town Coffee House photo The Somers Town Coffee House photo The Somers Town Coffee House photo The Somers Town Coffee House photo The Somers Town Coffee House photo The Somers Town Coffee House photo

Top Events @ The Somers Town Coffee House

(View More)

Description

Unlike its name would suggest, The Somers Town Coffee House  is less of a coffee spot and more of an old British boozer with a twist...

You'll find this gem of a pub tucked away on Chalton Street, a stone's throw from Euston station; think rugged wooden tables, comfy armchairs and a plethora of pints to pick from. Have yourself a good ol' snoop around the bookcase in the back though and you might just unearth a little hidden secret. Yep, a uniquely-designed, themed dining space - known as Ssshh Supper Club - there are four different rooms, each with its own quirky interior (one has grass!).

But that's not all. Venture downstairs and you'll find Cosy Kettle, the speakeasy cocktail club where tasty expertly-mixed tipples are served into the the early hours of the morning...long after the main pub has closed! 

All of this would mean nothing if The Somers Town Coffee House didn't deliver on food and drink - fortunately, it does! The pub boasts a whopping 12 craft ales alongside a stunning selection of lagers, wines, spirits, soft drinks and hot drinks. The grub is equally impressive with an all-day menu of scrumptious British classics and yummy desserts. 

Finally, as if all of this wasn't enough (you're demanding, you!) this Central London watering hole also sports a sun-blushed hidden garden.

What was that? You've found Heaven? We thought so.

What's on

To see all upcoming events view the full event calendar.


Double Denim Wednesday's

Double Denim Wednesday's

Every Wednesday

We're paying homage to the importance of DOUBLE DENIM. Love it or hate it (come on, you know you love it...) - it's...

NYE Prohibition Party

NYE Prohibition Party

Sunday 31 December 2017

SCANDALS. SECRETS. MISCHIEF. PROHIBITION IS BACK IN STYLE.  EARLY BIRD TICKETS NOW ON SALE! NYE 2017; we're...

Info

Door Charge may apply
Happily Affordable ££
Kings Cross
18 (for alcohol)
Disabled Toilets
None

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
08:00 23:00
08:00 00:00
08:00 00:00
08:00 01:00
08:00 02:00
10:00 02:00
10:00 22:30

Location

The Somers Town Coffee House
60 Chalton Street, London, NW1 1HS

Area:
North London

Nearest station:
Euston (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Pint of Lager £4.10
Pint of Real Ale £3.90
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £4.00
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £4.90
Cocktail £8.00
Spirit and Mixer (50ml double shot and mixer) £4.10
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £5.75
Bottle of House Wine £16.50
Bottle of Champagne £44.00
Jaeger Bomb £4.50

Menus



This venue serves Pub Food, British, Grill and Bar Snacks food.

A word from the chef:
"Our food is made fresh, using a wealth of farms in the three counties of Kent, Sussex & Surrey, as well as using great British ingredients from across the country. Think honest, delicious mouth-watering pub grub with a twist."

Private Hire

Name Type Capacity
Seated
Capacity
Standing
Cost Min spend
Midweek*
Min spend
Weekend*
Cosy Kettle Speakeasy Basement Space 75 75 £500 £2500 £2500
* The minimum spends are a guideline only and vary according to the day and time of the year.

(181 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Great people, great service, very helpful visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 07 Mar 2017

Reply from The Somers Town Coffee House

Thank you! x
31 Mar 2017 by
4

Great food and very convenient for Euston visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 06 Mar 2017

Reply from The Somers Town Coffee House

<3
08 Mar 2017 by
5

Not as good as previous visits. Will probably explore other Sunday roast options when looking for one in this area. Staff were friendly but perhaps not enough of them? Ordered bread and olives to start - which we had to chase, then only bread arrived as they hadn't put olives on the order. Had waited quite a long time by the time the roasts came and the pub was not that busy as it was a lateish booking. Roasts were pretty good apart from one of the pork belly servings being fairly small and not having a lot of meat on it. Ice cream was nice and a generous serving but why serve it in a cardboard pot with a tiny and hard to use plastic spoon like at the cinema? visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 05 Mar 2017

Reply from The Somers Town Coffee House

Sorry to hear this visit wasn't up to scratch. I appreciate the extensive info and will forward it to management. Thanks again, Allie
07 Mar 2017 by
3

love this place. great beer selection and very friendly staff. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 24 Feb 2017

Reply from The Somers Town Coffee House

Sending you a virtual hug! x
07 Mar 2017 by
5

Excellent service as usual, many thanks. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 25 Feb 2017

Reply from The Somers Town Coffee House

Our thanks is to you for choosing us. See you soon again!
06 Mar 2017 by
5

I was very happy with everything last Friday, it all went really well. We enjoyed the food, and the barrrels of Youngs a special were excellent. It all went really well and I want to thank the staff for making it so, especially Ash who was great! Thanks for everything Dave.Caunter. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 03 Mar 2017
06 Mar 2017 by
5

Even though we had a few flakers and we didn't turn up with the numbers promised, we were treated fantastically. Lovely service, great selection of drinks and had the privacy we needed too. I would recommend over and over. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 04 Mar 2017
06 Mar 2017 by
5

It was a good room, although a little noisy (especially when the music came on accidentally). Food was lovely. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 02 Mar 2017
06 Mar 2017 by
4

Lovely place, great atmosphere, nice friendly staff, lovely rooms, (a couple of vegan options on the menu would be great though) A* visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 02 Mar 2017
06 Mar 2017 by
5

There was a cock up with my reserved table (table for four instead of 8-10). The staff half heartedly told us that our table was elsewhere and we found no other reserved places in my name (so wild goose chase and no staff help as it was very busy). Luckily some people are leaving and we bagged a decent table in the end. Good and drink ok but a stressful start to the evening. We'd have left if more people weren't arriving later. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 24 Feb 2017
26 Feb 2017 by
3

Sadly put downstairs which has pretensions of being a cocktail bar so had limited drinks on draft and was playing AWFUL music. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 17 Feb 2017
22 Feb 2017 by
3

Organised a surprise birthday party at the Cosy Kettle. Very friendly staff, gorgeous surroundings and even better drinks. Recommend. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 19 Feb 2017
21 Feb 2017 by
5

Very warm welcome, excellent service, very helpful staff. Will definitely use again. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 16 Feb 2017
21 Feb 2017 by
5

A hidden gem away from the hustle and bustle of London. Great service and fab food. Will definitely visit again. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 18 Feb 2017
20 Feb 2017 by
5

Considering we booked a table weeks ago we only just managed to get one and not a great one either Food was fine thought the burger was quite small for the price A little disappointed with the experience I was expecting due to the hype visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 18 Feb 2017
20 Feb 2017 by
3

Great pub, have been a few times and will definitely return! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 16 Feb 2017
20 Feb 2017 by
5

I have hightened hearing and hate loud places so I was VERY happy when they took my mum and 2 friends and cousin and my Godmother to a quite place in the building where we could hear each other. If you come here you will get tasty food in a unique setting. If you book you will get seated in a a nice quite area 2!xxx visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 17 Feb 2017
19 Feb 2017 by
5

Sadly we decided against staying to eat - despite the very helpful staff. It has changed so much since we last visited (when it was a rather cool but nice pub and restaurant). Now it is a very lively, loud pub to crowded for us to eat and the upstairs rooms were bleak and uninviting. We decided against staying. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 17 Feb 2017
19 Feb 2017 by
2

Excellent service once again, many thanks. Just one little problem, we were in the Board Room however on arrival the radiators were cold. I asked for some heat however there was a problem with the boiler. we suffered in silence!!. We have another meeting booked for Saturday the 25th of Feb, I hope the heating is fixed by that date. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 11 Feb 2017
17 Feb 2017 by
4

Great place, got a room all to ourselves, good food, friendly service, reasonable prices...loved it. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 15 Feb 2017
17 Feb 2017 by
5

Love the bar underneath the pub. Really cosy little area, perfect for my birthday drinks. Drinks were reasonable, £8 for a very large cosmo and it was great. Staff were very friendly. Good atmosphere, although strange mix of music. But we all enjoyed. Thanks. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 11 Feb 2017
16 Feb 2017 by
4

My 30th at the Cosy Kettle was just perfect. Allie was particularly great at planning with me over the phone and via email - give her a raise! It was really special to turn up and have loads of balloons as a nice surprise! The guys at the bar were really friendly and let me play my playlist and treated me to a fiery birthday shot. All my friends said how great the venue was and how good the cocktails were. Thanks so much for all the effort - I really appreciate it! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 28 Jan 2017
15 Feb 2017 by
5

We made an Event booking for the cellar meeting room. Excellent all round for us. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 13 Feb 2017
15 Feb 2017 by
5

Good meal and great to have the Board Room to ourselves for 3 hours and even longer! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 12 Feb 2017
14 Feb 2017 by
4

Excellent room. I was very pleased with the size of the room and the friendliness of the staff. The beer selection was also varied. Will be back! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 12 Feb 2017
14 Feb 2017 by
5

We had the most sensational party downstairs in the Cosy Kettle! The Somers Town Coffee House team were absolutely amazing - Allie supported us right from the word 'go' - a month before our event, and then Aash took over a week before and nothing was too big an ask for him. Arny was just brilliant on the night as well; and, as suspected, the cocktails were unreal. Overall - a fantastic night had by all, a bloody brilliant 30th Birthday for my sister, and I can't wait to come back! Many many stars deserved :) Sarah visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 10 Feb 2017
13 Feb 2017 by
5

Friendly bartenders and good drinks. The staff were really helpful and accommodating in moving our table away from a speaker to a quieter area. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 09 Feb 2017
13 Feb 2017 by
4

Fab service, great hot drinks and bacon butties even better ! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 09 Feb 2017
13 Feb 2017 by
5

Very pleasant night. Food and wine good. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 10 Feb 2017
12 Feb 2017 by
4

Staff were really friendly and helpful and made sure the space reserved for the large group I was in was cleared and ready for us on time. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 07 Feb 2017
10 Feb 2017 by
5

Excellent service, very friendly staff visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 07 Feb 2017
09 Feb 2017 by
5

Used the Euston pub several times now as office space for me and my team. Great atmosphere, food, wifi (which is needed most to work) and helpful staff who check on you through the day. Staff are helpful and polite. Food is Great! Will definitely return! Mahdi Adaptive Insights visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 06 Feb 2017
08 Feb 2017 by
5

Will be back soon!!! Defo!!! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 03 Feb 2017
07 Feb 2017 by
5

The food was nice but when we arrived, the waitress alerted us that she was struggling with a number of tables and a shortage of staff. As a result the service was very slow, our food was almost cold when it arrived, and we were left waiting for 45 minutes just to order dessert. The venue is lovely but the service could have been a lot better. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 18 Dec 2016
06 Feb 2017 by
3

We're repeat customers of the first floor rooms - great service, great rooms, great location - perfect for our meetings. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 03 Feb 2017
05 Feb 2017 by
5

Great as always - amazing drinks and good and some brilliant music choices too! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 02 Feb 2017
04 Feb 2017 by
5

As always, lovely food, service and atmosphere - thank you! :) visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 31 Jan 2017
02 Feb 2017 by
5

My daily office. Great staff, great coffee, great place! Allie visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 22 Dec 2016
31 Jan 2017 by
5

We were really disappointed by our recent lunch at the Somers Town Coffee House. The staff were very warm and welcoming and the atmosphere/interior were great. However, the food and drink were a real let down. Some of the group had the salad which was a handful of leaves and one under ripe tomato. The added cheese was mostly rind, it would have been underwhelming as a side dish but laughable as a main. The sandwiches consisted of shop-brought bread and only one small sausage which didnt fill the sandwich. The aubergine stack was really tiny. Even the fish and chips were a little over cooked. Unfortunately the drinks were no better, unclean pipes or cheap lemonade (?) left them smelling a bit like a public toilet! Really unappealing. Some of the food was returned and staff were really good about taking it off the bill. With such great gastro-pubs around and a move towards more artisan, quality ingredients this pub really misses the mark. Two stars only for the pub interior and lovely staff. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 28 Jan 2017
30 Jan 2017 by
2

Sunday 22nd of January lunch in the garden room Thank you, I have been to somers town coffee house before and thought it would be the best venue for a catch up with friends and it definitely was, my friends thoroughly enjoyed the lunch, service was great, and they have asked if we can have our catch up lunches here, so hopefully will be arranging another lunch in the garden room Many thanks visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 22 Jan 2017
30 Jan 2017 by
5

This time around everything was well prepared, drinks and food served on time and Daniela was very friendly, flexible and helpful. We will come back. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 25 Jan 2017
30 Jan 2017 by
5

Great place to celebrate your birthday. Had a group of about 30 friends. They even prepared balloons for us! After a few drinks we went downstairs and all had a blast visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 28 Jan 2017
30 Jan 2017 by
5

I was a bit like Goldilocks when I walked in with my friend - the pub was a bit too loud (it was Friday night), the upstairs dining room where I'd booked, a little too quiet (it was only 7pm). But the staff were really understanding, friendly and not huffy at all, and suggested the Cosy Kettle downstairs, which was just right. I'm really glad to know about this place. Only marked down cos the flush had fallen in the toilet and I'm not a fan of The Back Street Boys... visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 27 Jan 2017
30 Jan 2017 by
4

Great visit, staff were friendly and accommodating. Great place to meet up. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 23 Jan 2017
25 Jan 2017 by
5

Cosy Kettle speakeasy, downstairs at Somers Town Coffee House. We sauntered down here after our fab meal in the private dining room upstairs. Cocktails delicious and very good value. Not very busy and music a bit cheesy, but they changed this when we asked. We danced till 2am This is a fab place and would be even better with a decent DJ visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 21 Jan 2017
25 Jan 2017 by
5

Very pleasantly surprised to be put in a really lovely private dining room for my group booking for 14. I hadn't asked for this, but it really made our night extra special (at no extra cost or worries about minimum spend etc). The ambience, food, service and value for money was great. Thank you visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 21 Jan 2017
25 Jan 2017 by
5

Shame we couldn't get the Cosy Kettle as originally planned, but compromised and the service was excellent on the day. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 22 Jan 2017
24 Jan 2017 by
4

We arrived forty minutes late, and staff didn't make a big deal about it and led us to our table quickly. They politely asked the people keeping it warm for us to move. The staff were great, the atmosphere was fun and the staff really looked after us. Will certainly book again for future events. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 20 Jan 2017
24 Jan 2017 by
5

Such lovely service in a private dining room, good communication, laid back approach, no charge for the room, lots of space in the speakeasy afterwards where we were able to make music requests. We were well impressed!! Thank you very much!! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 21 Jan 2017
23 Jan 2017 by
5

Food was excellent and it was nice to have a private dining area. The service was a bit chaotic in sort of a nice way, but the lack of any real ale at all was a disappointment. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 21 Jan 2017
23 Jan 2017 by
4

Great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, music was a bit too loud to have a group conversation which was a shame. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 19 Jan 2017
23 Jan 2017 by
4

Perfect ambience, great drinks selection, accommodating staff. Will come again.. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 20 Jan 2017
23 Jan 2017 by
5

Thanks for a great evening in The Boardroom upstairs visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 20 Jan 2017
22 Jan 2017 by
5

Great, everyine was friendly and polite and all the guests enjoyed themselves. Thanks again! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 17 Jan 2017
20 Jan 2017 by
5

Absolutely great! Staff were really helpful, attentive and friendly. Did everything we needed and made the effort to make us feel welcome. Really excellent service. Will definitely keep coming back. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 14 Jan 2017
20 Jan 2017 by
4

Excellent, friendly event organisation for our work Xmas party for 50 people. We were put at ease about the organising, it went brilliantly, and we are sort of heroes at work now. Thank you so much, Allie, Aash and team! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 17 Jan 2017
19 Jan 2017 by
5

Was so happy, the staff last minute helped with a private booking. 100% a lovely environment and pub visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 15 Jan 2017
17 Jan 2017 by
5

Fab meetings room, looked after us well.. paulp visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 13 Jan 2017
15 Jan 2017 by
5

Great friendly service and excellent food. Also very reasonably priced visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 12 Jan 2017
14 Jan 2017 by
5

Excellent as usual. Many thanks to the delightful Grace who looked after us so well. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 07 Jan 2017
09 Jan 2017 by
5

Our event organiser, Allie, was a delight to communicate with. She was really prompt and very welcoming to all my questions. She had really done justice to our expectations. Most of all, she is very friendly and a very lovely person. The venue itself was very nice, although we would have liked to enjoy the dance floor downstairs but I can't complain as Allie had done a wonderful job living up to everything she had offered to me. Many thanks to Ash and rest of the staff for being so lovely and welcoming. I would definitely come back to other events at the Somers Town Coffee House. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 31 Dec 2016
04 Jan 2017 by
5

Our event organiser, Allie, was a delight to communicate with. She was really prompt and very welcoming to all my questions. She had really done justice to our expectations. Most of all, she is very friendly and a very lovely person. The venue itself was very nice, although we would have liked to enjoy the dance floor downstairs but I can't complain as Allie had done a wonderful job living up to everything she had offered to me. Many thanks to Ash and rest of the staff for being so lovely and welcoming. I would definitely come back to other events at the Somers Town Coffee House. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 31 Dec 2016
04 Jan 2017 by
5

Great venue! The 'board room' we'd booked still had some rubbish from the last occupants, and could have done with a vaccum (remnants of other people's meals under the table and in the cutlery baskets), but over all a great day, even despite running out of red wine!?! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 20 Dec 2016
04 Jan 2017 by
3

The food was a bit disappointing. For the main meal, the meat/fish came out and then the potatoes and veg only arrived about 30 mins later by which time the meat/fish was cold. The staff didn't apologise and didn't appear to think this was a problem. We were the only table there at the time so no reason why it this should have happened. Also I e-mailed (as advised by the pub) through some changes to the original menu choices and to advise that one person would no longer be attending, none of this was taken into account on the day. All in all not a very well run event. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 22 Dec 2016
03 Jan 2017 by
3

Ambience was good, food was fine, staff were friendly and helpful. Good selection of beers. We sat at the rear and at times there was a cold blast from the service door. Table next to us put their coats on! We met friends here and wanted to set up a tab for meals and drinks. Staff wouldn't do it unless I agreed to physically leave my credit card behind the bar, which for security reasons I wasn't prepared to do. It made us fell unwelcome, for this reason we wouldn't return. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 30 Dec 2016
01 Jan 2017 by
3

Food was overpriced and didn't fill me up. The 2 things I wanted from the menu were off. The service was extremely slow due to a party downstairs. The staff were very nice though. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 23 Dec 2016

Reply from The Somers Town Coffee House

Glad to hear the staff treated you well but sorry to hear that you didn't leave with a full belly, we're often told that our portions are generous and prices reasonable for the quality and location. I hope that if you return you're experience is more enjoyable.
29 Dec 2016 by
1

The room we booked was really nice with a cool atmosphere and the waitress was very kind. My two stars rate are because they did not have a menu for drinks and you have to go down stairs to check the options in the bar. It took about 10/15 min for all the guys order food and drinks and 5 min later the waitress came back and told us they were running out two different types of meat on the menu and we had to redo the orders. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 22 Dec 2016
24 Dec 2016 by
2

A great night with delicious food and good selection of drinks. Definitely will be going back again. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 19 Dec 2016

Reply from The Somers Town Coffee House

so glad to hear! We look forward to your return :-)
24 Dec 2016 by
4

Unfortunately there was a problem with our booking and we were made to wait for 40 mins to get a table. We had to try really hard to get a drink (busy pub) but staff seemed a little intractable as we were asked to wait in a specific area where they would not serve us. When we reached our table most of the items on the menu had been sold! What we did get was nice and when we finally reached our table the service was good as was the food. Perhaps the initial welcome was a blip. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 21 Dec 2016
23 Dec 2016 by
3

It was extremely disappointing to be told that we would have to wait three and a half hours to eat from the time our table was originally booked for. If it was not for an exceptionally kind member of your staff who made a huge effort to improve our evening, our celebratory Christmas lunch would have been a complete disaster. We also felt extremely sorry for the poor member of bar staff who appeared to be working behind the bar, on his own for an exceptionally long period, during his first shift. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 18 Dec 2016
22 Dec 2016 by
1

The venue was good so was the atmosphere. We were disappointed with the food and the service. Overall we had a good night but if we had some good tasty food it would have been a great night. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 15 Dec 2016
21 Dec 2016 by
3

Food came fairly quickly. We were in an upstairs room, Which might have explained why sometimes food arrived cold, often without cutlery so we had to wait until we saw staff to chase them down. There was no drinks menu so we were unsure what to get, and we were told there were no menus which was strange. When we asked for recommendations for wine, staff were often unsure and drinks took a while to arrive, often in sporadic order (even though we all ordered the same wine). Staff were friendly, food was okay, but sometimes flavour was lacking a little and presentation wasn't always the best. Had attended last year and Christmas menu was amazing. This year I had bought my French friend to show off some British food, but was disappointed she didn't get the same quality. Perhaps it was just a busy night. Overall night was okay, but don't think we would come back a third time. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 17 Dec 2016

Reply from The Somers Town Coffee House

Thanks for your feedback. There are some things I can bring back to the team as we are always striving to do better. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the food as much as last year. We had lots of compliments on the food but of course, not everyone has the same taste. I hope you were looked after when you mentioned your concerns on the night. Xx
21 Dec 2016 by
3

Our team had a lovely time, the food was great and the service was really friendly too! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 15 Dec 2016

Reply from The Somers Town Coffee House

So glad you all had a great time, hopefully we'll see you all on another occasion! After all, a pub isn't just for Christmas :-) Zaz x
21 Dec 2016 by
5

Terrible. The pub was completely overbooked for Sunday lunch the kitchen and staff couldn't cope. Huge queues at the bar with one barman working and over an hour wait for food. When our food finally did turn up it was the wrong order. AVOID. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 18 Dec 2016
20 Dec 2016 by
1

I've been frequenting your pub for many years now and I am developing a love / hate relationship. Your food is fantastic and staff really friendly, and the atmosphere always warm and welcoming. When I've beenjust for drinks or with a small group you've been a great pub. This was the second time I've brought a large group for lunch and it was a very mixed bag. Last time wasn't great either but we wanted to give you the benefit of the doubt, but I'm sorry to say it didn't pay off. The problem seems to be that yourenever adequately resourced for busy days like the weekend before Christmas. Our table had to wait over 90 minutes (in some cases nearly 2 and a half hours!) for our lunch. If we enquiries about food, somebody disappeared to the kitchen but never came back. Ordering a drink at the bar took half an hour because you didn't have enough hands on deck. Your staff are lovely but this instance was indicative of others I've had at Somerstown. Hope this is helpful feedback for a pub I really do love koynof the time. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 18 Dec 2016
20 Dec 2016 by
1

Not very good - this experience is one from a reservation for Christmas dinner made 3 weeks in advance. We we arrived, they didn't have the table ready and once we sat down, they said order when you're ready. We tried to flag them down several times and they never stopped (just waved hello back). Finally, I went to the bar to order and they told me that the kitchen has closed and cannot provide dinner (please note, this was at 8:02 and the kitchen closed at 8:00, which they didn't tell us in advance). They ended up having three roasts left, which we ate, and it all worked out, but certainly wasn't what I was expecting. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 18 Dec 2016
20 Dec 2016 by
1

negatives - system messed up and seemed to lose one set of menu choices - also room was set up for fourteen initially - despite there only being ten. Wine list didn't;t seem to exist - we had to rely on staff's memory. Some of the food was cold positives - good room, food was fine apart from the unexpectedly cold parts. Highlight though was the staff - really helpful and friendly. A real credit to you even on what seemed to have been a hideously busy night. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 17 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
4

Thank you so much! Lovely accommodating and helpful staff in a really cosy downstairs room. Also the most friendly encouragment-to-leave-because-it's-2-and-we-want-to-go-home I've ever experienced. Yummy food and amazing cocktails (especially the one which was on fire!) Would definitely recommend! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 17 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
5

The team were helpful and informative and made the booking process for a large group really easy. The online ordering system was also great. Unfortunately, the experience on the day wasn't so good, service was very slow and the food was underwhelming. It felt like they had taken too many bookings and were not prepared to deal with that volume of people visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 14 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
2

We had a really good night and liked our space in the Cosy Speakeasy. Drinks and nibbles - good. Staff - very helpful. Thank you. But your music is too loud and is damaging to everyone's hearing. And this was commented on by younger staff as well. No response when requested to turn it down. Difficult to have a conversation with more than 2 people. Also you are damaging your staff's hearing. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 16 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
4

Food was overcooked. Service staff seemed clueless. Not a very festive atmosphere. Shame as it's a great pub. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 13 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
2

The team on the day were awesome and very accommodating. They were certainly struggling with the number of pre-booked large parties, and the service was rushed and disjointed. eg. we had to ask 2 different people for cauliflower cheese (despite pre-ordering) and then it turned up when we'd finished our meal. There were some issues in the online booking process. It took a few weeks for Somers Town to get back to me and confirm the booking, at which point a deposit and pre-ordered meals were required, something that I had not been made aware of during the booking process. We also sent in a spreadsheet of all the pre-ordered meals, but someone manually edited the spreadsheet, adding in some dishes we didn't order (like changing the kids meals to adult ones) and wiping out a bunch of stuff that we did order and duplicating some guests! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 11 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
4

Service really, really poor. Very slow, taking three hours for a three course meal and further drinks very challenging to order. Food cold to luke warm. Felt completely ignored in a corner. Very embarrassing as the organiser. Would not recommend! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 15 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
1

very poor experience, not enough staff serving, gave up waiting to be served re food, so left to have an excellent meal at Albertinies, just up the road visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 13 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
1

Lovely Christmas dinner! Thank you! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 06 Dec 2016
18 Dec 2016 by
4

Don't assume you've got a table booked for your party even if you've received confirmation emails. Staff are rude and unhelpful. My party got cancelled because my booking got ignored by members of staff. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 15 Dec 2016
17 Dec 2016 by
1

Order took a long time and guy behind bar seemed not to know what he was doing! But food, when it arrived, was nice. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 15 Dec 2016
17 Dec 2016 by
3

Good atmosphere, food was good too. Music was a tad loud making conversation tough. A little cramped but to be expected. The only down side was the sprouts turned up near the end of our meal. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 14 Dec 2016
16 Dec 2016 by
4

excellent service, polite staff -I would visit again visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 14 Dec 2016
16 Dec 2016 by
5

Atmosphere, service and food great - would recommend visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 14 Dec 2016
16 Dec 2016 by
5

The food was very good - especially the melted camembert starter which went down very well and the vegetables were excellent. We enjoyed the Santa hats on the tables and the staff were very nice. We were rather cold where we were sitting and had to keep getting up to shut the front door which stuck open every time a customer came or went. Our only real complaint was that the service was incredibly slow. This is understandable to some extent as the place was busy with Christmas lunch parties. However, considering we were a small group of only 5, that all orders had been placed over a week in advance, and that we arrived promptly at our booking time, it would have been reasonable to expect two courses to be served within two and a half hours! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 13 Dec 2016
16 Dec 2016 by
3

Staff were sweet and it's a nice venue - BUT: I booked a table for 7.15, but it took me 20 minutes to fight my way through a crowded bar looking for my table, and then queue at the bar to ask which one it was (there was no sign on it). Turned out that another party's table was still being used by a previous booking, and they'd been told to sit at mine. Didn't exactly make us feel welcome... Then we tried to order food. Most of the items on the bar snacks menu that we wanted to order were out of stock, and when we did order, it took over an hour for our food to arrive. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 13 Dec 2016
15 Dec 2016 by
2

Having been to the Somers Town Coffee House for our annual Christmas meal for the last 5 years or so, we were disappointed by our experience this year. We have previously been seated in one of the private rooms upstairs, but found ourselves at a table in the bar, which was very noisy. When we arrived, we were originally directed to the wrong table, and left standing around. The staff were as attentive as they could be, but it was obvious they were very busy. The food was a disappointment compared to previous years - Brussels sprouts were cold and there was a lack of gravy. The chocolate brownie was delicious, but I doubt we will be returning next Christmas. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 13 Dec 2016
15 Dec 2016 by
2

We received terrible service here when we went for our christmas lunch on Tuesday. Despite having pre-ordered we waited 50 minutes for the starters to arrive at our table and a further 35 minutes between starters being cleared and mains arriving. We then waited so long for someone to come and clear our mains that, despite wanting to order desserts, we no longer had the time or inclination. On top of this we had to ask twice to order drinks which again took forever to arrive. Potatoes were cold and there were not enough of them for 8 people! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 13 Dec 2016
15 Dec 2016 by
2

Really excellent Christmas party - very well looked after, lovely food, great atmosphere and lovely little touches. The santa hats and mince pies were a really nice touch and really appreciated the private room. Thank you all! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 12 Dec 2016
14 Dec 2016 by
5

The food was really great and the portion sizes were not mean. Staff were friendly and helpful-we will definitely come again. Cheers Emma visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 12 Dec 2016
14 Dec 2016 by
4

You did well despite it being busy. we did have a long wait at the bar early on, though. Cheers Ed visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 12 Dec 2016
14 Dec 2016 by
5

Staff were really nice, helpful and tried their best. I think they were overwhelmed by how busy service was- and the food served wasn't great and arrived slowly and piecemeal. But this is understandable on a busy Sunday afternoon before Xmas. Room was nice- if a bit small for 14. Overall- a good effort. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 11 Dec 2016
14 Dec 2016 by
3

Pretty poor. Booked a table for 18 - was told we could have table service for drinks and then told by the waitress we had to get ourselves. Made it hard work with such a large group. All kids meals came 15 mins after the adults. Food quality was below average / poor. Bill took ages to sort out as they did not reconcile depositis we had paid. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 11 Dec 2016
13 Dec 2016 by
1

We had our office Christmas dinner here, everyone enjoyed themselves. Food was good and so was the service. Left with a full belly feeling very satisfied. Happy to return again, maybe for an office lunch. Thanks again visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 07 Dec 2016
13 Dec 2016 by
4

We have had a Christmas meal at the Somers Town for several years now. Although the food is still nice, this year the quality definitely felt lower than previous years. The pre-ordering system was good, although the system was explained to me as not needing money up front (which was not the case) and when the bill came it was not correct - we were told the whole bill was still outstanding. Overall, nice but not up to the usual standards. visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 10 Dec 2016
12 Dec 2016 by
3

Excellent evening hosted in the Boardroom at Somerstown Coffee House. Easy communication in the lead up, and overall a very smooth process. Thanks again for making Christmas that little more special! visited The Somers Town Coffee House on 08 Dec 2016
12 Dec 2016 by
5