The Bull & Gate

{{currentVenue.offers.length}} Offers Available!

{{offer.title}}

{{offer.availabilityDays}} between {{offer.availabilityTimes}} , {{time}} {{offer.availabilityNumPeople}} ( Valid from {{offer.start_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} to {{offer.expiry_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} )

{{offer.description}}



Make a booking to select an offer

{{numPeopleNote}}

Ok

Sorry, there are no times available to book on this date.

Go back

Please note:
{{restrictionNotes}}
Back
{{venueName}} This venue has availability at these times:
We couldn't find any availability around the times you specified, but you can still make an enquiry.

Type of enquiry

Booking confirmed

Woohoo! Your booking at {{venueName}} is confirmed. You will receive confirmation via text and email shortly.

Thank you for booking with DesignMyNight.com

Enquiry received

{{venueName}} We have successfully received your booking enquiry and will get back to you as soon as possible. You will be contacted by the {{venueName}} team shortly.

We have received your booking enquiry and we will work with {{venueName}} to confirm your booking. You will receive confirmation of this enquiry via text and email shortly.

Name: {{booking.first_name}} {{booking.last_name}}
Date: {{booking.date | date:'EEEE d MMMM'}}
Time: {{booking.time}}
Guests: {{booking.num_people}}
Checking availability..

Oops!

The Bull & Gate photo The Bull & Gate photo The Bull & Gate photo The Bull & Gate photo The Bull & Gate photo The Bull & Gate photo The Bull & Gate photo The Bull & Gate photo The Bull & Gate photo The Bull & Gate photo The Bull & Gate photo The Bull & Gate photo The Bull & Gate photo The Bull & Gate photo

Top Events @ The Bull & Gate

(View More)

Description

A unique and inviting pub, right in the heart of Kentish Town. A diverse trio of spaces, all exuding class and contemporary comfort combine to create this beautiful pub. Perfect for a romantic evening or a catch up with old friends.

This swish, historic gastropub conveys a charmingly majestic feel, with its ‘Boulogne Bar’ that is dressed sophisticated in deep blue and adorned with mahogany antiques, ornate gold frames and even a crystal chandelier overhead. The huge Dining Room is however left deliberately more rugged and, reminiscent of the Mad Hatter’s tea party, is peppered accordingly with a haphazard collection of tables and chairs. Finally, the front bar speaks style with its more modern approach balanced with a collage of vintage portraits and intricate ceiling relief.

Private hire is welcome at the Bull & Gate if you hope to experience the gastro more intimately and whilst all the food is lip-smacking, we’d suggest the flamed mackerel escabeche with pickled rhubarb and wasabi dressing. 

What's on

To see all upcoming events view the full event calendar.


Dirty Scrabble Dating - Kentish Town

Dirty Scrabble Dating - Kentish Town

Tuesday 8 August 2017

Regular, run-of-the-mill speed dating is so boring and monotonous and “singles” cocktail parties are…. Well… A...

A Havana Mojito Masterclass

A Havana Mojito Masterclass

Tuesday 15 August 2017

Join us for an incredible evening of Mojito making and mastery on Tuesday, August  15th- where a Havana club...

Info

None
No queues normally
Happily Affordable ££
Kentish Town
18 (Children allowed for food)
Wheelchair Access, Disabled Toilets
None

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 00:00
11:00 00:00
11:00 00:00
11:00 22:30

Location

The Bull & Gate
389 Kentish Town Road, London, NW5 2TJ

Area:
North London

Nearest station:
Kentish Town (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £4.75
Bottle of House Wine £17.35
Bottle of Champagne £40.10

Menus

The Bull & Gate Dining Room Menu Download
The Bull & Gate Lunch Bar Menu Download
The Bull & Gate Bar Menu Download


This venue serves British, Gastro, Roast Dinner, Brunch and Grill food.

A word from the chef:
A menu ever changing with the seasons, from gourmet pub classics to innovative gastronomic genius, the Bull & Gate prides itself on both variety and quality, starting with its smoked aubergine, labneh, kale & hazelnut pesto, pomegranate & fresh coconut.

Private Hire

Name Type Capacity
Seated
Capacity
Standing
Cost Min spend
Midweek*
Min spend
Weekend*
The Boulogne Bar Private Room 35 60
* The minimum spends are a guideline only and vary according to the day and time of the year.

(68 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Great night yet again, would recommend this place to friends. The staff are very attentive & the food is spot on! I'll be back again. visited The Bull & Gate on 01 Feb 2017
05 Feb 2017 by
5

My favourite pub in the area. Food and service have always been brilliant. The Sunday roasts are worth travelling for and if you're feeling indulgent, check out the cocktail bar upstairs. visited The Bull & Gate on 18 Jul 2016
04 Feb 2017 by
5

Fantastic pub, great atmosphere, the friendly and helpful staff couldn't have done any more to look after us and make us feel welcome. No complaints at all. We will definitely be back again. visited The Bull & Gate on 18 Jul 2016
04 Feb 2017 by
5

I booked in at the Boulonge Bar for 15 people, only to be told the morning of the booking that they didn't have availability as they already had a booking, but their system hadn't shown it. They reserved a space in the main pub for us and gave us two free bottles of prosecco, which was reasonable. The wine list is good, but as with all Young's pubs. A little later in the evening a member of staff removed our wine cooler, we bought a new bottle of wine and weren't given one. I called someone over who was walking past, only for him to say immediately before I had even spoken, "We don't do table service." I explained I wasn't placing an order, just wanted the wine cooler back. He brought it over without a smile. I've been in the Bull and Gate a few times and have always had a mediocre experience, usually because either a booking didn't work out or service has been average. Which is a shame as my local Young's pub, the Dial Arch in Woolwich, is lovely and the service is great. I was disappointed. visited The Bull & Gate on 01 Feb 2017
03 Feb 2017 by
2

Thanks for hosting my 60th birthday party with such enthusiastic support and warmth. My guests all remarked on the beauty and intimacy of the venue. The food and bar were excellent, and the grand piano enabled us to spend the evening making music as if in your drawing room. Many thanks! visited The Bull & Gate on 21 Jan 2017
29 Jan 2017 by
5

Beautiful, warm, welcoming interior, helpful waitstaff, very good food presently nicely. visited The Bull & Gate on 24 Jan 2017
26 Jan 2017 by
4

We used the Bull & Gate for our club meeting. Communication was great with the venue prior to the event. Bar staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the decor is lovely. Great pub! visited The Bull & Gate on 23 Jan 2017
26 Jan 2017 by
5

The food was outstanding, the drinks were reasonably priced. There was a little confusion with our roast dinners and the table next to us, but it was resolved quickly enough. The waitress was a little confused and tried to take my friends plate before she was finished - but it didn't hamper the experience - it was just a little odd. Definitely the best roast dinner I've had in London! visited The Bull & Gate on 22 Jan 2017
24 Jan 2017 by
4

Excellent food, excellent service. Lovely lovely pub with great atmosphere visited The Bull & Gate on 21 Jan 2017
23 Jan 2017 by
5

Beautiful dining room with great food! The cocktail bar upstairs is gorgeous and the couches by the fireplace are so cozy you'll end up staying for hours! visited The Bull & Gate on 15 Jan 2017
18 Jan 2017 by
5

Excellent. Staff were super friendly and helpful and the venue was perfect for what we needed. I highly recommend The Bull and Gate. visited The Bull & Gate on 16 Jan 2017
18 Jan 2017 by
5

The food was fantastic - one of the best roasts we've had in London. Will be back :) Jennifer visited The Bull & Gate on 15 Jan 2017
17 Jan 2017 by
5

Wonderful service and delicious food! We are very pleased. Would definitely recommend it visited The Bull & Gate on 15 Jan 2017
17 Jan 2017 by
5

Excellent as always. The bars well-stocked and always well-staffed. Our food was very good and came very quickly and we had reserved an excellent little area to ourselves by the window. visited The Bull & Gate on 15 Jan 2017
17 Jan 2017 by
5

I wish we could get a better table for 10 for a reservation I've made 2 and a half weeks in advance, but overall a very nice place! visited The Bull & Gate on 14 Jan 2017
16 Jan 2017 by
5

I love this pub, it's very special, the food, the beer, the service and the surroundings are all top class. We had a table booked and when we arrived there were some people already sitting in the area. The manager and staff were great, they calmly talked to the people at our table and when they were rude and refused to move immediately sprang into action and found us an even better spot. I'd recommend this pub to anyone whether for a quick pint or Sunday lunch, it's friendly, trendy and does quality grub and has a wide range of beers on tap and craft beers. Katie visited The Bull & Gate on 13 Jan 2017
15 Jan 2017 by
5

Great venue, lovely food, helpful staff Daniel visited The Bull & Gate on 01 Jan 2017
13 Jan 2017 by
5

Lovely food and a great looking pub! Going back for sure! visited The Bull & Gate on 08 Jan 2017

Reply from The Bull & Gate

Glad to hear you had fun and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
10 Jan 2017 by
5

Food was so delicious in a really warm and inviting surroundings. Will definitely be coming again visited The Bull & Gate on 08 Jan 2017

Reply from The Bull & Gate

Great stuff - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
10 Jan 2017 by
5

I held my 40th Birthday Party in the Boulogne Bar at the Bull&Gate and the whole process; from the planning to the actual event was excellent. The staff at the venue were extremely helpful in assisting me with the advance preparations; food orders and ensuring that the upstairs Boulogne Bar was adapted to meet my requirements. On the day, the staff were engaging, helpful, efficient and eager to please my guests. The venue was brilliant, the food was great and everything was extremely competitively priced. All my guests had an amazing time and I would not hesitate to recommend this for any sort of function. Thank you - the Bull&Gate team!! visited The Bull & Gate on 07 Jan 2017

Reply from The Bull & Gate

thank you so much - we're so pleased we were able to help you celebrate your 40th in style and look forward to seeing you again soon!
10 Jan 2017 by
5

Delicious food, very knowledgeable and friendly waitress, great ambience visited The Bull & Gate on 07 Jan 2017

Reply from The Bull & Gate

Thanks for your review - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
09 Jan 2017 by
5

What a hidden gem, great interesting menu, warm cosy setting , friendly waitress who couldn't have been more helpful with my dietary requirements
03 Jan 2017 by
5

We had a great NYE dinner visited The Bull & Gate on 31 Dec 2016
02 Jan 2017 by
5

Lovely setting, friendly staff, good food and excellent Bloody Mary's! visited The Bull & Gate on 31 Dec 2016
02 Jan 2017 by
5

Having had some trouble over my booking which was sorted out, I was upset and very annoyed to get an email from Head Office confirming my booking at a different time. This was not the fault of the pub, but an added annoyance. Once we arrived for our Christmas meal all was well. It's a lovely venue which I hadn't been to before. The food was good and the waitresses who looked after our party were particularly helpful and charming. I would definitely go there again. visited The Bull & Gate on 25 Dec 2016
31 Dec 2016 by
4

The private room was lovely and we eventually had a good eve but it was spoilt by the team not being ready for us - the staff were not clear about what we had pre- ordered and so our event got off to a very poor start. visited The Bull & Gate on 20 Dec 2016
27 Dec 2016 by
3

As usual, the atmosphere and sense of space is good in the restaurant. But having given favourable reviews in the past it's time to be picky. There is no need for air conditioning in such a high ceiling room in winter: I asked for it to be reduced. Service was a bit slow (but friendly) and I did notice a group at a nearby table getting impatient. The sea bass had an unacceptable number of bones. The pavé (sliced potato dish) was undercooked: the head chef said this was due to a new cook. Having acknowledged the faults, a bill reduction should have been offered; it was not. The Bull And Gate is still better than most in the area, although the drinks are way over-priced, but it must beware of slipping standards. visited The Bull & Gate on 23 Dec 2016
26 Dec 2016 by
3

Great venue, service ok but was a bit slow - and my chips were cold. But didn't really detract from a great evening at a great venue, and catering a few days before Christmas is very tough :) visited The Bull & Gate on 23 Dec 2016
25 Dec 2016 by
4

The highlights are the beautiful decor (the upstairs bar is stunning), the good selection of drinks and the lovely staff. However the food is unfortunately uninspiring. The roast came with cooked to death potatoes, overly done lamb and an inedible yorkshire. In saying that I guess that is half the charm of a Sunday lunch (as my dining companion pointed out) and so with this in mind it wasn't the worst meal ever. Will definitely visit for drinks again but will eat elsewhere! visited The Bull & Gate on 18 Dec 2016
20 Dec 2016 by
3

Among three guests the food was well cooked and presented (bream, duck, lamb pie). The wine list is reasonable though not extensive and the spirits available cater well enough for the malt whisky drinker. The deserts were good in that they did not rely too heavily on chocolate. The staff were pleasant and responsive and the restaurant is large enough not to be noisy. It's not cheap but a cut above what's available locally. visited The Bull & Gate on 17 Dec 2016
20 Dec 2016 by
4

Food ok, nothing special. Steak was very chewy, not a particularly good cut of meat However appaling level of staffing. A very busy saturday night and the place was heaving (there was a concert at the Forum) but only 2 people working and one of them was new.They were doing their best, but service was slow at best. With all the choices in the Kentish Town area, i will only be back here for a drink at the bar visited The Bull & Gate on 17 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
1

Thanks again for a lovely Christmas party. visited The Bull & Gate on 15 Dec 2016
17 Dec 2016 by
5

fine ok busy yes fine visited The Bull & Gate on 10 Dec 2016
12 Dec 2016 by
4

Fantastic, brunch was amazing and great service. visited The Bull & Gate on 10 Dec 2016
12 Dec 2016 by
5

The food was fine, although my dish was quite dry. The most memorable thing was the very poor quality of service that we received from the waitress on that Saturday night. She was generally very rude and treated everyone in our group with an unnecessarily moody attitude. She seemed to be the only person serving in the restaurant that night however it wasn't particularly busy and so her lack of politeness and competence cannot be put down to being over worked. visited The Bull & Gate on 10 Dec 2016
12 Dec 2016 by
2

Our poor hostess was stranded, off her feet, but was cheerful and friendly, helping us understand any delay - which wasn't much. visited The Bull & Gate on 10 Dec 2016
12 Dec 2016 by
5

We had parents class xmas drinks in the cocktail bar. Food was surprisingly very good and drinks great too. Fantastic venue for a private party. Staff were first class. Haven't stopped receiving thanks from all that came. visited The Bull & Gate on 09 Dec 2016
11 Dec 2016 by
5

The pub itself was very nice but I booked a table for 5 people on the Friday night and arrived a little early. I couldn't see a reserved table so waited at the bar to find out which was going to be Mine. The bar man pointed it out and said they would move the people who were sitting there along when it got to 7.30-they still hadn't put up a reserved sign. So I waiting with my friends till 7.40 and still nothing was done. It was so busy but I waited at the bar again and they assured me that they would go right over and move the people on but this didn't happen-in the mean time we managed to grab a small table while we could and just ended up having to stay there the whole night as nothing was done. Also, one of the guys collecting glasses was quite rude and on 2 occasions took away 2 of my friend's unfinished drinks? So they weren't too happy with that. I understand that Christmas is a busy time, but why offer a booking service when it clearly doesn't exist. It just felt like there weren't enough staff available to deal with the number of customers. I'm just glad it hadn't been a bigger party I'd booked for. visited The Bull & Gate on 09 Dec 2016

Reply from The Bull & Gate

Hi Stephanie, I'm really sorry we let you down on this occasion and I'll be looking into the points you've raised. As you probably noticed we were much busier than expected and a little short staffed, but our priority should be looking after guests who have made the effort to book with us in advance and we clearly failed this time. If you fancy giving us another shot I'd love to offer you and a friend a drink on us - just let me know when you'll be in next.
11 Dec 2016 by
2

We had a fantastic afternoon. The food was great the venue was perfect. The best thing about it was the staff, the two ladies who looked after us so well made the afternoon very enjoyable. Thanks very much. visited The Bull & Gate on 08 Dec 2016
10 Dec 2016 by
5

We held a drinks event at The Bull & Gate which went really well - it's a lovely venue, the staff are very helpful and the food is great. visited The Bull & Gate on 06 Dec 2016
08 Dec 2016 by
5

I LOVE the Bull & Gate. What an amazing venue with great staff, food and atmosphere. We hired out the dining room for a work Xmas party with approx 90 guests and it was perfect. Everyone loved the venue and we were all very well looked after. I'd highly recommend it. A huge thanks to Jesse, Rebecca and Bijou a and the team x visited The Bull & Gate on 02 Dec 2016
05 Dec 2016 by
5

Excellent food and great atmosphere! visited The Bull & Gate on 02 Dec 2016
04 Dec 2016 by
5

They were utterly professional, very easy to deal with. The food we ordered was yummy and everyone had a fantastic eve, loved the room visited The Bull & Gate on 01 Dec 2016
03 Dec 2016 by
5

Warm welcome and great as usual ! visited The Bull & Gate on 26 Nov 2016
29 Nov 2016 by
5

We´ve just moved into the neighborghood and have been looking for a replacement for our favorite in Hampstead, the Wells Tavern, and this place instantly took our hearts. Really good food, friendly staff and lovely interiors. Also a very good alternative if the other good gastropub Bull and Last hasn´t places. visited The Bull & Gate on 26 Nov 2016
28 Nov 2016 by
5

We had a great day! We hired the upstairs room for a baby shower. It was perfect for such an event. However, we did not receive a lot of what was supposed to be included on the afternoon tea menu and the staff were not entirely accommodating. Also, the manager didn't check in with us once everything got started. If they could make these slight improvements they would definitely receive 5 star ratings. visited The Bull & Gate on 26 Nov 2016
28 Nov 2016 by
4

So cosy & the most delicious sunday roast! visited The Bull & Gate on 20 Nov 2016
22 Nov 2016 by
5

Lovely food, good service, great choice of beer and wine. visited The Bull & Gate on 17 Nov 2016
19 Nov 2016 by
5

Stunning refit, lovely food and they are now serving Guiness! What's not to like? visited The Bull & Gate on 12 Nov 2016
17 Nov 2016 by
5

Lovely place. Great meal apart from the steak which was really tough to eat. We got an apology but that was it.... Would definitely go back but not have the steak! visited The Bull & Gate on 15 Nov 2016
17 Nov 2016 by
4

Great meal and service but could without music. We want to talk to each other! visited The Bull & Gate on 14 Nov 2016
16 Nov 2016 by
5

Was okay, not too fussed, but nothing to complain about either visited The Bull & Gate on 14 Nov 2016
16 Nov 2016 by
3

£17.60 for two drinks?!?!? I like the B&G, but was shocked by the prices, even by London standards. I ordered a pint of Camden Pale and a single gin and tonic. The bill came to £17.60, so I queried it - the barman had charged me for a double despite me asking for a single with the house gin. He didn't apologise and although he refunded me just under £5 for the extra shot of gin it still meant the two drinks were over twelve quid. Come on mate, it's Kentish Town, not blinking Mayfair. visited The Bull & Gate on 14 Nov 2016
16 Nov 2016 by
3

Fantastic decor and nice ambience. Crab burger was expensive for what was delivered on the plate (sesame bun not the brioche stated on the menu) and the Youngs bitter was off. visited The Bull & Gate on 14 Nov 2016
16 Nov 2016 by
3

brilliant food and service, thank you visited The Bull & Gate on 13 Nov 2016
15 Nov 2016 by
5

Great venue and helpful staff. Would recommend visited The Bull & Gate on 12 Nov 2016
14 Nov 2016 by
5

Loved the place - felt really nice and cosy with the fireplace lit. It honestly is one of the most beautiful pubs. The food was delicious. Went for a Sunday Roast and had the pork belly! Will definitely recommend it. The service was good too. leonsa visited The Bull & Gate on 06 Nov 2016
08 Nov 2016 by
5

Really good good and service visited The Bull & Gate on 05 Nov 2016
07 Nov 2016 by
5

We had a lovely chill out afternoon time at the Bull&Gate. Everybody is very nice and welcoming. The pub itself is awesome! Go back there very soon. AC visited The Bull & Gate on 22 Oct 2016
04 Nov 2016 by
5

nicest roast ever. loved it. visited The Bull & Gate on 30 Oct 2016
01 Nov 2016 by
5

Delicious well priced food; amazing service. Will definitely go back! visited The Bull & Gate on 28 Oct 2016
31 Oct 2016 by
5

Buttermilk fried chicken was delicious! jmax23 visited The Bull & Gate on 27 Oct 2016
29 Oct 2016 by
5

Had booked the bar upstairs for an event. Wonderful staff and fantastic cocktails. cmongrain visited The Bull & Gate on 25 Oct 2016
27 Oct 2016 by
5

The food was good but unfortunately the service was incredibly slow. We waited an hour before I had to remind the waitress we hadn't made our dessert order. Also, when I asked for coffee I was told the coffee machine had been cleaned and therefore I couldn't have one. However, as we were leaving I saw a large table of people receiving coffees. visited The Bull & Gate on 24 Oct 2016
26 Oct 2016 by
2

Unbelievably amazing experience!! Brilliant staff. Really good food! Ambiance was just perfect! Tarun visited The Bull & Gate on 22 Oct 2016
25 Oct 2016 by
5

Four of us had Sunday lunch - hearty and filling! The nicely refurbished interior decor keeps to the original character of the pub. A quiet table in the bar looking out onto the street met our requirements. The bar staff were friendly and helpful. visited The Bull & Gate on 16 Oct 2016
19 Oct 2016 by
5

Great, lovely pub and nice area reserved! Thanks visited The Bull & Gate on 15 Oct 2016
17 Oct 2016 by
5

I booked the Boulogne Bar for a day to film a fashion film and myself and the crew could not have been happier! Everything went as planned, the food was fantastic and Fraser and the bar staff couldn't have done a better job looking after us! It was an absolute pleasure filming at the Bull and Gate and I will definitely recommend it as a location, as well as a place to go for lunch/dinner/drinks, to others. Thanks for everything! Isabelle visited The Bull & Gate on 16 Sep 2016

Reply from The Bull & Gate

Thank you, Isabelle! We are glad that you had a good time with us! We hope to see you soon again!
18 Sep 2016 by
5

Show all Show fewer


If you like The Bull & Gate, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.