The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns

Book & Enquire for free

The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns photo The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns photo The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns photo

Top Events @ The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns

(View More)
Pub Quiz More
Every Sunday

Description

The Duke of Clarence is a swanky newly refurbished pub, situated in the heart of South Kensington.

With stunning interior and a focus on small and large plates, the DOC is a great one for a relaxed catch up with friends whatever the time of day. Also enjoy a top notch dinner with a selection of the finest steaks sourced from the award winning family butcher, Frank Godfrey.

Food is at the heart of what they do. You can enjoy casual brunch and small sharing plates, right through to lavish premium steaks. They recommend their Regency cuts, from bulls fed on grass for the very best flavour, perfect with a stunning glass of wine from their extensive wine list.

What's on

To see all upcoming events view the full event calendar.


Pub Quiz

Pub Quiz

Every Sunday

We challenge anyone not to love a good night quiz! Join us for our fantastic Quiz Night! Our delicious Sunday roast is...

Info

No Door Charge
No queues normally
Happily Affordable ££
Kensington
18 for alcohol, no limit for restaurant.
None

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
12:00 22:30

Location

The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns
148 Old Brompton Road, South Kensington, London, SW5 0BE

Area:
West London

Nearest station:
Gloucester Road (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £5.70
Bottle of House Wine £16.50
Bottle of Champagne £43.00

Menus

Wine list Download
Christmas feast menu Download
Christmas canapes Download
Menu Download


This venue serves Pub Food, British, Brunch and Roast Dinner food.

A word from the chef:
Food is at the heart of what we do. You can enjoy casual brunch and small sharing plates, right through to lavish premium steaks. We recommend our Regency cuts, from bulls fed on grass for the very best flavour, perfect with a stunning glass of wine from our extensive wine list.

(57 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Brilliant staff amid brilliant food! Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2018-05-13
by on May 15th, 2018
5

Always good and friendly staff Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2018-04-03
by on April 5th, 2018
5

Excellent food and service - can be quite loud, depending on the night of the w eek! Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2018-03-27
by on March 29th, 2018
4

The food was fantastic, five very happy lunch diners! Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2018-03-13
by on March 16th, 2018
5

excellent staff, good beer, nice food Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2018-03-07
by on March 9th, 2018
4

Food was terrible- dry chicken Kiev with no garlic butter, cold burger, cold, soggy, pale chips, 1 starter didn’t arrive out of an order for 4, side dish with the beef pie was cold, carpaccio was like a left over bit of a Sunday roast rather than thinly sliced and raw... so disappointing. Staff were nice and helpful and took the unsatisfactory dishes off the bill, but nevertheless the kitchen was obviously having a bit of a disaster of an evening. It was so comprehensively poor on the food front that I’m afraid I wouldn’t go back. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2018-03-01
by on March 3rd, 2018
2

Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2018-02-24
by on February 27th, 2018
4

After being told that the ox cheeks were still going to take 45minutes to cook at around 8pm I selected a (£30!) rib eye steak which was served over cooked (asked for medium rare) and cold. with nothing more than a few cold skinny chips. This together with a burger, bowl of olives and a couple of drinks made out to a £87 bill. I didn't complain, this being a first business colleague meet. It shouldn't matter that this is a pub in a affluent area. It isn't a license to deliver highly ordinary food at inflated prices. I think I'll avoid Geronimo Inns from now. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2018-02-19
by on February 22nd, 2018
2

Delicious Sunday roast and lovely service - a bit noisy as big groups in nearby tables but great atmosphere. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2018-01-21
by on January 23rd, 2018
5

Very disappointing. Had expected a more festive atmosphere on Christmas Day. Instead, it felt like any other day. The only difference was, we were charged a very hefty price for a Christmas Lunch; which was actually pretty ordinary. Wouldn't have minded had the staff made more effort to be Christmassy... with some special Christmas music etc. Maybe my expectations were too high... but I thought there would be more of an inclusive, party atmosphere - which could have easily been encouraged by the management/staff. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-12-25
by on January 11th, 2018
2

Lovely relaxed atmosphere. Good food and plenty of it. Would highly recommend. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-12-25
by on December 28th, 2017
5

A great Christmassy atmosphere, family friendly, great service, delicious and beautifully presented food. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-12-16
by on December 19th, 2017
5

What a delightful little gem this place is. I was lucky enough to visit recently for a celebratory lunch with friends in a large group. Despite our numbers and the pub being busy, we were treated to a fabulous time by all members of staff, including the management, who couldn't have been more attentive. The entrees were delicious; truly the best olives I've ever tasted, and the roast dinner was tasty, hot and filling, even though almost 30 plates came out at once. Staff were exceptionally helpful, bringing additional drinks and condiments without a pause. Thank you for making g this such a delightful dining experience. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-12-10
by on December 12th, 2017
5

The decor of the pub was very welcoming and the staff were friendly and efficient. Had a meal there with some friends and enjoyed the range of beers and the food was delicious. Top spot. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-12-10
by on December 12th, 2017
5

We were in a large group but nevertheless the staff and kitchen performed brilliantly. Large, tasty meals, quickly produced (but not too quickly) with efficiency and a smile. Great pub. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-12-10

Reply from The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns

Thank you very much for a lovely review. We enjoyed looking after all of you and hopefully we will see you soon.
by on December 12th, 2017
5

Delicious roast beef. It was busy so the service was a little slow but we weren’t in a rush Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-12-10

Reply from The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns

We are very proud of our food and we are really happy that you enjoyed our Sunday roast. Thank you for understanding that inbusy times our service might be a bit slower than usual.
by on December 12th, 2017
4

Fantastic service, fantastic food, great place . Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-11-24

Reply from The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns

Thank you Carol. I am very happy that you had a lovely time at the Duke. And thank you for writing such a great review!
by on November 27th, 2017
5

I love the Duke of Clarence. Best pub in South Kensigton! Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-11-25

Reply from The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns

Thank you so much for such a great review! WE feel the same way- The Best Pub in South Kensington!
by on November 27th, 2017
5

We booked a table for dinner but unfortunately the security guy on the door would not let us enter as we had our 2 year old daughter with us. My parents had ordered drinks already but had to leave them when we were not allowed in. It was incredibly embarrassing. Thankfully the wonderful Hereford Arms round the corner had a table and couldn’t have been more accommodating. We’ve been to the Duke of Clarence countless times as it’s our local (with and without our daughter) and we’ve never had any issues before. It’s always been a family friendly venue with lovely staff but that seems to have changed (or at least the security has a different approach). We will not return Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-11-18

Reply from The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns

We’ve just read your Trip Advisor review of your recent visit to the Duke of Clarence. First, as we did on the evening of your visit, we apologise for the big inconvenience that this situation caused. We always pride ourselves on being a welcoming pub and one that is family-friendly. However, as our Deputy Manager explained at the time, our license only allows entry to under 18s until 9pm. We are absolutely bound by these rules and unfortunately cannot make any exceptions. The information regarding the 9pm cut-off was contained within the booking terms when you made the reservation via Collins but we appreciate that this doesn’t change the inconvenience you experienced on the evening of your visit. I hope this explanation clears up any misapprehensions regarding the restrictions of our licence and we hope to see you again. Kind regards Ewa Blakew-Will
by on November 20th, 2017
1

Average service. Food rather disappointing. The fish lacked flavour. Good ambience. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-10-29
by on October 31st, 2017
3

My sausages were a bit dry, but otherwise excellent Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-10-28
by on October 30th, 2017
5

Great meal and good setting. A bit slow to be seated but understandable given the pub was very busy. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-10-26
by on October 28th, 2017
5

Service not too good. Twice an order - a glass of wine and then the deserts - were forgotten and we had to remind them.. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-10-22
by on October 24th, 2017
4

Expensive meat dishes for a pub Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-10-22
by on October 24th, 2017
3

Excellent food, great ambiance, attentive service Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-10-14
by on October 17th, 2017
5

I booked a table online specifying that it was for a "football/sports" booking. I went with my girlfriend to have dinner while watching the Chelsea v Man City football match (which we had done there before). We were informed that the venue no longer plays volume on sporting events, even big events with the local team (as was the case last Sat). We didn't want to just watch the TV without hearing the commentary, so we left and had dinner at a neighbouring pub that did have volume. I used to think of the Duke of Clarence as my "local". Sadly, I will be moving on. As an upscale venue for sporting events, it was perfect. As just a restaurant, it is not good enough to stand out relative to other restaurants in the neighbourhood. Please turn the volume back on! Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-09-30
by on October 2nd, 2017
1

Good fish and chips and friendly staff, but rather too noisy Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-09-06
by on September 8th, 2017
3

Exactly as expected.on a Saturday morning at 0800 for a rugby game. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-06-24
by on June 26th, 2017
4

Sunday Evening - Sunday roast was almost cold and roast vegetables quite dried out. People serving were lovely, but obviously under-staffed in kitchen - told we could not order pudding. Not a great experience. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-04-30
by on May 5th, 2017
2

Had a Sunday roast, meat was perfectly cooked but the potatoes were a bit hard and there could have been more gravy :) Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-04-23
by on April 25th, 2017
3

All great - thank you! Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-04-22
by on April 24th, 2017
5

Big thanks to expanding numbers from 4 to 9 at such short notice on a Thursday evening, followed up with attentive service and of course yummy service. Good job as ever. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-04-20
by on April 22nd, 2017
5

good value but hasn't beat some other London roasts - tough competition out there Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-04-16
by on April 18th, 2017
4

The food was really good - I had the salmon. Service was friendly and good. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-04-11
by on April 13th, 2017
4

Great location to have drinks with friends. Lovely decor Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-04-06
by on April 8th, 2017
5

It was very poor/ Poor management, inexperienced waiting staff. Poor food. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-03-26
by on March 28th, 2017
1

I booked 3 weeks in advance to celebrate 2 birthdays and watch the rugby. On arrival, we were told that there was a problem with the booking system and that we didn't have a table! There was no apology or attempt to rectify the situation. After 40 minutes, we complained again and after continuous discussions, a table was found and we were given a round of drinks. Disappointing as the atmosphere for the game was very good. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-03-18
by on March 20th, 2017
2

The service was very slow, which isn't usually the case when we go. Food and drinks were great but we had to wait about 20 minutes before someone came to take our order and another 15 minutes to get our drinks. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-03-12
by on March 14th, 2017
3

Great roast dinner! Good atmosphere for the rugby. lovely pub! Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-02-26
by on February 28th, 2017
5

Food was good but let down by the service, we had to flag someone down every time we wanted to order something or get the bill of physically go to the bar to order. There were enough people there but they were not paying enough attention to people dining. I saw other tables going up to the bar and trying to catch the eye of the waiting staff. Not good enough service. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-02-19
by on February 21st, 2017
2

Unfortunately our rost was cold even the second time around Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-02-12
by on February 14th, 2017
3

great hospitality, good atmosphere and excellent food Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-02-08
by on February 10th, 2017
5

Great food great atmosphere great location Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-02-03
by on February 5th, 2017
5

It was my 30th birthday, I had invited 10 of my closest of friends and was super excited for us all to be together, unfortunately my excitement soon faded: On arrival, one of my friends was left at the bar and told that we hadn't arrived yet. As we were sat in the back we couldn't see him. After calling to find out where he was, we realised he was there. Very annoying When ordering our meal, the waitress left mid order without saying anything to return 5 mins later to confirm they were out of stock of a meal request My friend requested broccoli as a side to go with her fish. As this was a side option with the cottage pie, it should have been no issue but we were told no, not possible They brought an extra burger which no one ordered and then after we sent it back , still added to our final bill The friend mentioned above, did not receive her meal when the rest arrived. The waitress said it would be out in 5 mins so we all waited. 10 mins later nothing has arrived. Everyone's food was now cold but we started eating. An additional 5 mins and no fish was served. When questioning the waitress she said it wasn't processed and was now in a queue behind a large table order of 12 people. Rediculous. She ended up having to cancel her food and not eat When we asked to speak to the manager we were told she was busy. Finally she came over and instead of apologising she was very defensive. We had to stop her and ask her to apologise. We were all severely fed up , and asked for the bill. Instead of clearing our plates, the waitress brought this along with the card machine and had us paying for the bill over dirty plates. I'm not normally one to complain but this whole experience really ruined my day. I had antipacted a long boozy afternoon with friends celebrating my bday and instead it turned into a miserable affair which ended abruptly. As we all live within walking distance to the duke ofclarence , it's a real shame that we all find ourselves hard pressed to return and will be sourcing a new local Very disappointing to say the least Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2017-01-29
by on January 31st, 2017
1

Good gastropub nice seating and will come again Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2016-12-31
by on January 2nd, 2017
4

Friendly staff - lovely food - will go again - you can put my name down on the review - loads of people know me and I don't mind advertising a good restaurant Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2016-12-31
by on January 2nd, 2017
5

Excellent food, service and ambience, as always. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2016-12-29
by on January 1st, 2017
5

Great service, amazing corner booth, Xmas decorations looked beautiful and we enjoyed the Xmas food Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2016-12-25
by on December 28th, 2016
4

Great service great beer great food Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2016-12-19
by on December 21st, 2016
5

Good service and plentiful food! Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2016-12-14
by on December 21st, 2016
5

Our experience was wonderful - the manager Ewa, made our small party of 8 so welcome even amongst the busiest Christmas party of the year. I thoroughly recommend the Duke for a bit of a 'do'. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2016-12-09
by on December 12th, 2016
5

Food was cold and took a long time to arrive. Menu descriptions were somewhat misleading Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2016-12-07
by on December 9th, 2016
2

The service was good although there was only one waitress working for most of the time and the Eastern European woman on the bar when we arrived was particularly aggressive. The food was fine although the mash for the sausages was cold. What really ruined the meal was that the men's loos were disgusting from 2pm. I asked the barman to have a look and maybe clean them up a bit and was ignored. By 4pm they were worse, with urine all over the floor and used loo roll scattered all over, I asked again and was ignored. By 4:30pm there was vomit in the urinals and again my request was ignored. We had intended to stay for dinner but by this point the loos were unusable, so we left. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2016-12-03
by on December 5th, 2016
2

Had reserved table which was occupied but cleared quickly for us on arrival. Food was good and so was the service, especially considering this was a Saturday night just after the Chelsea game finished which provided some extra pressure on the bar and kitchen. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2016-11-26
by on November 29th, 2016
4

I booked well in advance to have lunch with kids and our kids but when we got there were told that there were 2 other tables to serve so it woukd take 40 mins to be served and we had to leave. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2016-11-18
by on November 21st, 2016
1

cosy place, super friendly staff, wonderful wine selection (by the glass). Highly recommend this place. Visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 2016-11-06
by on November 8th, 2016
4

A lovely spacious pub in a great location. Me and my friends stopped off there for a quick lunch and the food was delicious - even better that it was decently priced!
by on June 3rd, 2014
4

Show all Show fewer


If you like The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.