The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns

Book & Enquire for free

The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns photo The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns photo The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns photo

Description

The Duke of Clarence is a swanky newly refurbished pub, situated in the heart of South Kensington.

With stunning interior and a focus on small and large plates, the DOC is a great one for a relaxed catch up with friends whatever the time of day. Also enjoy a top notch dinner with a selection of the finest steaks sourced from the award winning family butcher, Frank Godfrey.

Food is at the heart of what they do. You can enjoy casual brunch and small sharing plates, right through to lavish premium steaks. They recommend their Regency cuts, from bulls fed on grass for the very best flavour, perfect with a stunning glass of wine from their extensive wine list.

Info

No Door Charge
No queues normally
Happily Affordable ££
Kensington
18 for alcohol, no limit for restaurant.
None

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
12:00 22:30

Location

The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns
148 Old Brompton Road, South Kensington, London, SW5 0BE

Area:
West London

Nearest station:
Gloucester Road (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £5.70
Bottle of House Wine £16.50
Bottle of Champagne £43.00

Menus

Wine list Download
Christmas feast menu Download
Christmas canapes Download
Menu Download


This venue serves Pub Food, British, Brunch and Roast Dinner food.

A word from the chef:
Food is at the heart of what we do. You can enjoy casual brunch and small sharing plates, right through to lavish premium steaks. We recommend our Regency cuts, from bulls fed on grass for the very best flavour, perfect with a stunning glass of wine from our extensive wine list.

(39 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

We booked a table for dinner but unfortunately the security guy on the door would not let us enter as we had our 2 year old daughter with us. My parents had ordered drinks already but had to leave them when we were not allowed in. It was incredibly embarrassing. Thankfully the wonderful Hereford Arms round the corner had a table and couldn’t have been more accommodating. We’ve been to the Duke of Clarence countless times as it’s our local (with and without our daughter) and we’ve never had any issues before. It’s always been a family friendly venue with lovely staff but that seems to have changed (or at least the security has a different approach). We will not return visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 18 Nov 2017

Reply from The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns

We’ve just read your Trip Advisor review of your recent visit to the Duke of Clarence. First, as we did on the evening of your visit, we apologise for the big inconvenience that this situation caused. We always pride ourselves on being a welcoming pub and one that is family-friendly. However, as our Deputy Manager explained at the time, our license only allows entry to under 18s until 9pm. We are absolutely bound by these rules and unfortunately cannot make any exceptions. The information regarding the 9pm cut-off was contained within the booking terms when you made the reservation via Collins but we appreciate that this doesn’t change the inconvenience you experienced on the evening of your visit. I hope this explanation clears up any misapprehensions regarding the restrictions of our licence and we hope to see you again. Kind regards Ewa Blakew-Will
20 Nov 2017 by
1

Average service. Food rather disappointing. The fish lacked flavour. Good ambience. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 29 Oct 2017
31 Oct 2017 by
3

My sausages were a bit dry, but otherwise excellent visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 28 Oct 2017
30 Oct 2017 by
5

Great meal and good setting. A bit slow to be seated but understandable given the pub was very busy. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 26 Oct 2017
28 Oct 2017 by
5

Service not too good. Twice an order - a glass of wine and then the deserts - were forgotten and we had to remind them.. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 22 Oct 2017
24 Oct 2017 by
4

Expensive meat dishes for a pub visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 22 Oct 2017
24 Oct 2017 by
3

Excellent food, great ambiance, attentive service visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 14 Oct 2017
17 Oct 2017 by
5

I booked a table online specifying that it was for a "football/sports" booking. I went with my girlfriend to have dinner while watching the Chelsea v Man City football match (which we had done there before). We were informed that the venue no longer plays volume on sporting events, even big events with the local team (as was the case last Sat). We didn't want to just watch the TV without hearing the commentary, so we left and had dinner at a neighbouring pub that did have volume. I used to think of the Duke of Clarence as my "local". Sadly, I will be moving on. As an upscale venue for sporting events, it was perfect. As just a restaurant, it is not good enough to stand out relative to other restaurants in the neighbourhood. Please turn the volume back on! visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 30 Sep 2017
02 Oct 2017 by
1

Good fish and chips and friendly staff, but rather too noisy visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 06 Sep 2017
08 Sep 2017 by
3

Exactly as expected.on a Saturday morning at 0800 for a rugby game. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 24 Jun 2017
26 Jun 2017 by
4

Sunday Evening - Sunday roast was almost cold and roast vegetables quite dried out. People serving were lovely, but obviously under-staffed in kitchen - told we could not order pudding. Not a great experience. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 30 Apr 2017
05 May 2017 by
2

Had a Sunday roast, meat was perfectly cooked but the potatoes were a bit hard and there could have been more gravy :) visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 23 Apr 2017
25 Apr 2017 by
3

All great - thank you! visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 22 Apr 2017
24 Apr 2017 by
5

Big thanks to expanding numbers from 4 to 9 at such short notice on a Thursday evening, followed up with attentive service and of course yummy service. Good job as ever. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 20 Apr 2017
22 Apr 2017 by
5

good value but hasn't beat some other London roasts - tough competition out there visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 16 Apr 2017
18 Apr 2017 by
4

The food was really good - I had the salmon. Service was friendly and good. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 11 Apr 2017
13 Apr 2017 by
4

Great location to have drinks with friends. Lovely decor visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 06 Apr 2017
08 Apr 2017 by
5

It was very poor/ Poor management, inexperienced waiting staff. Poor food. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 26 Mar 2017
28 Mar 2017 by
1

I booked 3 weeks in advance to celebrate 2 birthdays and watch the rugby. On arrival, we were told that there was a problem with the booking system and that we didn't have a table! There was no apology or attempt to rectify the situation. After 40 minutes, we complained again and after continuous discussions, a table was found and we were given a round of drinks. Disappointing as the atmosphere for the game was very good. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 18 Mar 2017
20 Mar 2017 by
2

The service was very slow, which isn't usually the case when we go. Food and drinks were great but we had to wait about 20 minutes before someone came to take our order and another 15 minutes to get our drinks. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 12 Mar 2017
14 Mar 2017 by
3

Great roast dinner! Good atmosphere for the rugby. lovely pub! visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 26 Feb 2017
28 Feb 2017 by
5

Food was good but let down by the service, we had to flag someone down every time we wanted to order something or get the bill of physically go to the bar to order. There were enough people there but they were not paying enough attention to people dining. I saw other tables going up to the bar and trying to catch the eye of the waiting staff. Not good enough service. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 19 Feb 2017
21 Feb 2017 by
2

Unfortunately our rost was cold even the second time around visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 12 Feb 2017
14 Feb 2017 by
3

great hospitality, good atmosphere and excellent food visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 08 Feb 2017
10 Feb 2017 by
5

Great food great atmosphere great location visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 03 Feb 2017
05 Feb 2017 by
5

It was my 30th birthday, I had invited 10 of my closest of friends and was super excited for us all to be together, unfortunately my excitement soon faded: On arrival, one of my friends was left at the bar and told that we hadn't arrived yet. As we were sat in the back we couldn't see him. After calling to find out where he was, we realised he was there. Very annoying When ordering our meal, the waitress left mid order without saying anything to return 5 mins later to confirm they were out of stock of a meal request My friend requested broccoli as a side to go with her fish. As this was a side option with the cottage pie, it should have been no issue but we were told no, not possible They brought an extra burger which no one ordered and then after we sent it back , still added to our final bill The friend mentioned above, did not receive her meal when the rest arrived. The waitress said it would be out in 5 mins so we all waited. 10 mins later nothing has arrived. Everyone's food was now cold but we started eating. An additional 5 mins and no fish was served. When questioning the waitress she said it wasn't processed and was now in a queue behind a large table order of 12 people. Rediculous. She ended up having to cancel her food and not eat When we asked to speak to the manager we were told she was busy. Finally she came over and instead of apologising she was very defensive. We had to stop her and ask her to apologise. We were all severely fed up , and asked for the bill. Instead of clearing our plates, the waitress brought this along with the card machine and had us paying for the bill over dirty plates. I'm not normally one to complain but this whole experience really ruined my day. I had antipacted a long boozy afternoon with friends celebrating my bday and instead it turned into a miserable affair which ended abruptly. As we all live within walking distance to the duke ofclarence , it's a real shame that we all find ourselves hard pressed to return and will be sourcing a new local Very disappointing to say the least visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 29 Jan 2017
31 Jan 2017 by
1

Good gastropub nice seating and will come again Grace visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 31 Dec 2016
02 Jan 2017 by
4

Friendly staff - lovely food - will go again - you can put my name down on the review - loads of people know me and I don't mind advertising a good restaurant visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 31 Dec 2016
02 Jan 2017 by
5

Excellent food, service and ambience, as always. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 29 Dec 2016
01 Jan 2017 by
5

Great service, amazing corner booth, Xmas decorations looked beautiful and we enjoyed the Xmas food visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 25 Dec 2016
28 Dec 2016 by
4

Great service great beer great food visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 19 Dec 2016
21 Dec 2016 by
5

Good service and plentiful food! visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 14 Dec 2016
21 Dec 2016 by
5

Our experience was wonderful - the manager Ewa, made our small party of 8 so welcome even amongst the busiest Christmas party of the year. I thoroughly recommend the Duke for a bit of a 'do'. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 09 Dec 2016
12 Dec 2016 by
5

Food was cold and took a long time to arrive. Menu descriptions were somewhat misleading visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 07 Dec 2016
09 Dec 2016 by
2

The service was good although there was only one waitress working for most of the time and the Eastern European woman on the bar when we arrived was particularly aggressive. The food was fine although the mash for the sausages was cold. What really ruined the meal was that the men's loos were disgusting from 2pm. I asked the barman to have a look and maybe clean them up a bit and was ignored. By 4pm they were worse, with urine all over the floor and used loo roll scattered all over, I asked again and was ignored. By 4:30pm there was vomit in the urinals and again my request was ignored. We had intended to stay for dinner but by this point the loos were unusable, so we left. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 03 Dec 2016
05 Dec 2016 by
2

Had reserved table which was occupied but cleared quickly for us on arrival. Food was good and so was the service, especially considering this was a Saturday night just after the Chelsea game finished which provided some extra pressure on the bar and kitchen. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 26 Nov 2016
29 Nov 2016 by
4

I booked well in advance to have lunch with kids and our kids but when we got there were told that there were 2 other tables to serve so it woukd take 40 mins to be served and we had to leave. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 18 Nov 2016
21 Nov 2016 by
1

cosy place, super friendly staff, wonderful wine selection (by the glass). Highly recommend this place. visited The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns on 06 Nov 2016
08 Nov 2016 by
4

A lovely spacious pub in a great location. Me and my friends stopped off there for a quick lunch and the food was delicious - even better that it was decently priced!
03 Jun 2014 by
4

Show all Show fewer


If you like The Duke of Clarence - Geronimo Inns, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.