The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns

Book & Enquire for free

The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns photo The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns photo The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns photo The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns photo

Description

The Curtains Up near Hammersmith is a quaint and friendly pub, serving freshly prepared food and offering a great selection of wines, ales and spirits to match.

As you might have guessed from the pub's name, this venue's all about the arts and subsequently houses the cosy Barons Court Theatre beneath its foundations. Theatre-goers can grab a pre-show drink and a bit to eat at this iconic pub, before heading down to catch a performance from some top independent production companies. 

If you aren't won over by the theatre however, then there's also live sport shown in the bar, as well as a weekly pub quiz and plenty of space to catch up with friends over a glass of wine. On top of this, The Curtains Up also offers a full, freshly prepared food menu offering pub favourites like Beer Battered Cod, Burgers and Rib-Eye Steak. The daily specials keep things interest, while the interestingly named, 'Stinking Bishop Macaroni Cheese' draws in London's inquisitive crowds.

 

Info

Separate charge for Theatre only
No queues normally
Happily Affordable ££
Hammersmith
18 (If Drinking Alcohol)
None

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
12:00 22:30

Location

The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns
28a Comeragh Road, Barons Court, London, W14 9HR

Area:
West London

Nearest station:
Barons Court (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Bottle of House Wine £16.50

This venue serves Roast Dinner, British, Gastro and Brunch food.

A word from the chef:
We Serve some great British Classics and our Special are updated every day so there's always something new to tempt you

(23 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Really good food, good atmosphere and great service! Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2018-04-12

Reply from The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns

Thank you very much for your review! Hope to see you soon again! Regards Maca
by on April 14th, 2018
5

Overall a really good evening and the staff were very accommodating for a large group but I said numerous times over email that we would be ordering sharing platters as starters so it was disappointing to be told that they had none when we got there. Lovely venue though. Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2018-04-11

Reply from The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it. We are very sorry we couldn't offer you the the sharing platters, we have addressed the issue with our kitchen team and we will make sure it won't happen again. Hoping to seeing you soon again, Regards, Maca
by on April 13th, 2018
4

This is a nice and unusual place with a 50 seat theatre underground. In the main restaurant there is plenty of space and it looks a lot bigger inside than you would think. They have a very good selection of food on the menu. I opted for the cheeseburger and hand cut chips. It was all very nice. A good cocktail menu too. The Porn Star Martinis were delicious and at £9.50 each they were good value. At most other places they are about £12 or more. The service was rather slow at times as a big party of 40 people had booked in. But it was a lovely evening and with good food and cocktails too. Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2018-04-09

Reply from The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we really appreciate it. I am glad you had a good time with us and thank you for understanding the slow service on a busy night. Looking forward to seeing you soon again, Thanks Maca
by on April 13th, 2018
4

Absolutely glorious time and so well handled by the staff, and so brilliantly managed by the manager. Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2018-04-09

Reply from The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns

Big fat thank you to you! I am very pleased you had a great time with us, and we are looking forward having you around soon again. Regards, Maca
by on April 11th, 2018
5

Always enjoy our visits here, and excellent food, but our last visit was a little disappointing. I could not get the time I wanted as was fully booked, so settled for an hour earlier, 7.30-9.30. Arrived at 7 and left at 10.30! Probably because only one other table was booked that whole time, so slightly surprised that online every table was fully booked. Ordered food and took 30 minutes for our starter of ' bread' to be delivered and two minutes in, our main was ready? Our waiter said they would take back and cook another two fresh meals but five minutes later appeared with our mains. Definitely not a fresh meal and not hot so was obviously reheated. Still enjoyed our meal and time there, but a little disappointed with the service when the restaurant was obviously not very busy. Will still return as maybe our servers were having an off night. Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2018-03-31

Reply from The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it. I am so sorry you didn't enjoy you last visit. I am investigating the issue with the online booking as it is quite unusual, thanks for letting us know. The food issue is a different one, we take pride on the food we serve and the service we provide so it is completely unacceptable everything that happened. We would really appreciate if you could please give us another chance. Please give us a call next time you are around and we will make sure you have a great time. Thank you again, Regards, Maca
by on April 5th, 2018
3

My daughter and I shared yet another wonderful dinner together in the most convivial of atmospheres. The staff are welcoming, friendly and efficient and we will be coming back again very soon. Thank you! Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2018-03-11

Reply from The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns

Thank you very much! Looking forward to seeing you soon again. Maca
by on March 13th, 2018
5

We had a pre-theatre meal which as very pleasant: good ingredients well (and freshly) cooked. And no rip-off of being asked to pay extra for veg. The bitter's well kept, too. Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2018-02-13

Reply from The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns

Thank you very much for your review, I am glad you had a good time with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Maca
by on February 16th, 2018
4
1 person(s) found this helpful

I went to the Curtains Up for dinner with a few friends and we were all really disappointed with the food. One of my friends had a salad and asked for no beetroot, however it came with beetroot. Another one had the Ox Cheek starter, which was not a starter by any stretch. It was enormous and did not taste good. The mains were also very average. The fish didn't look or taste very fresh at all and the mash was really dry. Saying this, we had a lovely Australian girl as our waitress and she was attentive. Although we all live close to The Curtains Up, I don't think we will be back. Not for food at least. . Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2018-02-10

Reply from The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns

Hi Poppygaze, I am gutted you didn't enjoy your experience with us. I would be very pleased if you gave us another chance. Please get in contact with us and I will make sure you don't leave our pub with a disappointing experience next time. Looking forward to seeing you soon again. Thanks for your review. Maca
by on February 12th, 2018
2

While I cannot fault the staff for their warm welcome and attentive service the food was a big let down. My partner and I both had a "Barons Court Pie" which arrived looking rather lacklustre. Nothing more than a pie dish filled with a rather meagre filling and a under cooked crust which seemed to have been thrown on as an after thought. The 'smear' of dry and ultimately bland mashed potato didn't really help matters. On to pudding and as the Jam Roly Poly had sold out, at 6pm, we settled for the 'Apple and Pear Granola Crumble' to share. Looking forward to this we were again let down. It was nothing more than a shallow dish of apple and pear compote with nothing more than some breakfast granola chucked on topped and given a half hearted browning. A tiny jug of flavourless custard once only compounded the issue. Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2018-02-09

Reply from The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns

Hello and thank you for your review. I am really sorry you didn't enjoy your dinner with us. At the end of the month we are changing our menu and I would like to invite you to give us another chance with the new dishes. I would really appreciate your opinion and compensate you for your last dinner with us. Please get in contact with us to book a table. Looking forward to hearing from you soon. Thanks Maca
by on February 12th, 2018
2

We've been living in this area for 3 years. We go to this pub pretty much every weekend for a quick drink. However, it seems like they hired new staff who just don't have capacity to serve so many people. We waited way too llate by for food and for drinks. They serv d us food and brought us drinks and completely forgot about a pile of dirty glasses...also the quality of food got worse. My risotto was missing goats cheese and ox cheek was just a piece of fat that was absolutely unchewable. Chips with cheese and truffle oil were absolutely tasteless and without cheese...Very sad as this time were brought our friends who are visiting London for the first time.... this pub has a nice atmosphere, but it is on an expensive side but for this quality of food I'm not keen coming back. Used to be great but something changed Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2018-01-26

Reply from The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns

Hello and thank you for your review. I am really sorry you didn't enjoy your last visit. I know you are a bit disappointed with us but I would like to invite you again to our pub if you give us another chance? We are working to give the best service and our menu will be changing at the end of the month with new and better dishes. Would be lovely seeing you again. Please get in contact with us to book you a table and we will make sure you have the best experience. Thanks, Maca
by on January 28th, 2018
3

Friendly, efficient service and good food in a pub with a good atmosphere. Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2018-01-25

Reply from The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns

Thank you!
by on January 27th, 2018
4

All went well as planned. We will be back. Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2018-01-07

Reply from The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns

Thank you! Looking forward to seeing you soon again :)
by on January 9th, 2018
4

Roast was excellent. Service friendly but a bit forgetful. Cauliflower cheese was basically fried, dry veg with no sauce or cheese. Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2017-12-26
by on December 28th, 2017
3

Christmas dinner done properly! The staff were excellent and the food amazing, we weren’t rushed between courses and allowed to savour each as they were served and devoured, had a very enjoyable Christmas Day thanks to the all the team. Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2017-12-25
by on December 27th, 2017
5

Really good xmas lunch and service. Just a shame it closed so early Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2017-12-25
by on December 27th, 2017
5

Thank you SO much Curtains UP ! Christmas Day Lunch was utterly Perfect. lovely atmosphere, caring and kind service from the waiting staff AND the food was even better this year than last. A great success. We had visitors from Switzerland with us experiencing their first BRIT Xmas .... and they loved the venue. special thanks to the duty manager over the 24th to 26th - Mark or Matt - we had asked for supper evening 24th - the chef had left - and He Himself cooked the most delicious hamburgers ever for us. i.e. b eyond the call of Duty ! thank you again. :) Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2017-12-25
by on December 27th, 2017
5

Fantastic pub and delicious food severed by lovely staff. They definitley made our Christmas lunch special. Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2017-12-13
by on December 15th, 2017
5

Lovely decor and surroundings, decent toilets (such a rare treat), helpful service. Only two sausages with the sausage and mash for the price was disappointing as was the large wine when I asked for medium (meaning the smallest as this is shown as ‘medium’ in the menu). Nonetheless, would still see it as reasonable value for money as the food was good and the atmosphere very relaxing. Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2017-11-21
by on November 24th, 2017
4

Ny email wasn't actioned to increase party from 6 to 7. Also the fact it was my daughter's birthday. Service was slow as obviously not enough staff on duty. Food was fairly good although veg roast had no sauce and was quite dry. Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2017-11-12
by on November 15th, 2017
3

My daughter and I had a really lovely lunch on the 5th November - really lovely, friendly staff and great food. Thank you! Visited The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns on 2017-11-05
by on November 7th, 2017
5

Our local pub. Really hearty food on the menu however we have noticed that the way food is plated/served varies - this also goes with the drinks (our favourite being Bloody Mary's). Depending on which chef/bartender you get, will evaluate your experience. The venue itself is fabulous with fun wallpaper and quirky but simple decor.
by on June 17th, 2017
4

Really solid Sunday chill pub. Nice and chilled and never too busy or loud, I've been here a few times specifically for their roast dinners and they've always been fab. If you go later on they may run out!
by on February 9th, 2016
4

Saw a great little production called The Rules of the Game in the little theatre here a little while back and thought the pub was a great place to grab a drink and a bite to eat before the show started.
by on June 3rd, 2014
4

Show all Show fewer


If you like The Curtains Up - Geronimo Inns, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.