Fox & Anchor

Book & Enquire for free

Fox & Anchor photo Fox & Anchor photo Fox & Anchor photo Fox & Anchor photo Fox & Anchor photo Fox & Anchor photo Fox & Anchor photo Fox & Anchor photo

Top Events @ Fox & Anchor

(View More)
Fox's Burns Night Buy Your Ticket
Thursday 25 January 2018
Australia Day More
Friday 26 January 2018

Description

Fox & Anchor is a charismatic traditional British pub, located within strolling distance of Barbican and Farringdon. Step through the door and you'll immediately notice the homely and embracing atmosphere. With a grand decor and a delightfully cosy private 'Fox's Den', everything about the venue seems steeped in tradition; nothing flash, just a slick and comfortable place to grab a drink and let the good times roll. Peckish? Well you're in the right place, as the Fox & Anchor serves up hearty portions of pub classics comprising of the finest reared local produce.

 The Fox & Anchor concept is one that strikes a chord with a truly eclectic mix of Londoners - it is, after all, the venue's aim to see "city traders rubbing shoulders with Bob the Butcher." An all-rounder perfect to swing by no matter what time of day.

What's on

To see all upcoming events view the full event calendar.


Fox's Burns Night

Fox's Burns Night

Thursday 25 January 2018

Enjoy our Burns Night menu along with arrival drink to celebrate Scotland’s greatest poet, Robert Burns, who was...

Australia Day

Australia Day

Friday 26 January 2018

In the name of Australia Day and to celebrate with all our Australian friends here in London we'll have a beach burger...

Hot Toddy Day

Hot Toddy Day

Friday 26 January 2018

Hot Toddy's on us from 5pm, while stock

Pancake Day

Pancake Day

Tuesday 13 February 2018

Come down and enjoy our homemade pancakes with an array of toppings to choose from all day

Offers / Promos 1

Make a booking to claim these offers below

Offer Details Availability
Winter Retreat Menu - 2 mains for £24 Pick two from a small selection of special wintery mains, some healthy, some more indulgent for £24 for up to 16 guests

Info

No Door Charge
No queues normally
Happily Affordable ££
City of London
18
Wheelchair Access, Disabled Toilets
Casual
Winter Retreat Menu - 2 mains for £24

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
07:00 22:00
07:00 23:00
07:00 23:00
07:00 23:00
07:00 23:00
08:30 23:00
11:00 22:00

Location

Fox & Anchor
115 Charterhouse Street, London, EC1M 6AA

Area:
East London

Nearest station:
Barbican (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Pint of Lager £4.10
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £4.25
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £5.10
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £7.15
Bottle of Champagne £34.50

Menus

Pub Menu Download
Wine List Download
Ale List Download


This venue serves Breakfast, Brunch, Roast Dinner, Gastro and British food.

A word from the chef:
Simple, yet expertly made British fare is the order of the day at the Fox & Anchor. They're ready to whip up all manner of delightful classics without over-complicating things.

(88 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Fantastic venue for a business breakfast, lots of character Visited Fox & Anchor on 2018-01-11

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Fox & Anchor. I am glad that you rated us 5 stars and do hope that we will see you again for another business breakfast or perhaps for some after work drinks. Kind regards, Thomas Winfield General Manager
by on January 13th, 2018
5

I've been before and will visit again, but I think the service has dropped since my last visit. I booked a booth online but when I arrived both booths were already being used. One of the starters were not put through to the kitchen so we had to wait for it to arrive (after the first had already arrived) which is not great when two of you are eating and one is a client. There was then a bit of a delay for the mains to arrive because of the confusion with the starters. Food was very nice as usual (a bit stingy with the pigs in blankets) but the overall service wasn't great. Sorry.... Visited Fox & Anchor on 2018-01-10

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hi there, I do apologise that you found your recent service experience not to be up to standard. As I'm sure you can see from other reviews service is one of our strong suits and something that we pride ourselves on. I do hope that you will return again so that you will see that your visit on this occasion was merely a one off and that we can match your previous expectations of service at the Fox and Anchor. Kind regards, Thomas Winfield General Manager
by on January 12th, 2018
3

Excellent quality and very attentive staff in a wonderful and unique building Visited Fox & Anchor on 2018-01-05

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Fox and Anchor. I am very glad that you rated us 5 stars and that you enjoyed the service and ambiance of our beautiful pub. Kind regards, Thomas Winfield General Manager
by on January 7th, 2018
5

Would give 5 stars for the service and 4 stars for the overall experience were it not for my unfortunate souvenir of the visit. I requested one of the snugs at the back--wonderful, wood-panelled private dining spaces--and we had a marvellous time BUT there's a small step between the snug and rest of the bar area which is just high enough to catch your foot and isn't clearly enough marked. I fell badly at the end of the evening (and yes, I was sober), tearing my clothing beyond repair and ending up with some bad bruises. You really should fix that step. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2018-01-01

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hi there, I do apologise that you had issues with the small step into one of our booths. The step is marked with hazard tape, however I will endeavor to see if there is a more permanent solution. If you would like to discuss further please do drop me a line on foxandanchor@youngs.co.uk Kind regards, Thomas Winfield General Manager
by on January 3rd, 2018
3

Great service and top quality breakfast. Thanks Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-21

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review, we hope to see you again soon.
by on January 3rd, 2018
5

We were six of us and went there for a sumptious, delicious breakfast after a trip to Smithfield market. The food was excellent and so was the service with a smile and it was a very busy morning too! Thank you to all! without forgetting the chef. Anny Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-18

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hi Anny, thanks for enjoying your breakfast with us and taking the time to leave us a nice review. We hope to see you again soon!
by on January 3rd, 2018
4

Beautiful pub with excellent food! Does not disappoint! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-31

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for the 5-star review, we hope to see you again soon!
by on January 2nd, 2018
5

Excellent food very good atmosphere Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-27

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for the 5-star review, we hope to see you again soon!
by on December 30th, 2017
5

On the whole the meals were delicious and the steak and Christmas dinner were fabulous. The pheasant croquettes and salmon main were ok but not exceptional. overall a very pleasant experience and wonderful service Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-21

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're happy to hear you enjoyed the food but we're sorry to hear some of the dishes weren't as good as others during your time with us. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!
by on December 27th, 2017
4

excellent breakfast, served with a smile Lovely atmosphere. Will be back next year on Christmas Eve Well done Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-23

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for the 5-stars, we do love serving our breakfasts!
by on December 26th, 2017
5

I was disappointed by the Christmas menu orders I had. Smoked salmon starter (lovely). The turkey dinner only came with two wafer thin, dry slices of turkey. The fruit tart was only a disk of puff pastry with a few slices of fruit on it. The atmosphere in the pub was lovely but this meal was poor value for £34.95. I wouldn’t come here again for a Christmas meal based on my experience. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-20

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're sorry you weren't happy with the value of the Christmas meal, we haven't received a lot of other criticism so we're surprised to hear this. Did you speak to a member of staff at the time? If we hear people are not happy when they're with us we work hard to improve their experience. We hope you come back another time to enjoy the atmosphere and test out our food again.
by on December 22nd, 2017
2

10/10 - great food and fun booth Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-19

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for such a positive review! We hope to see you again soon.
by on December 21st, 2017
5

Considering it was such a busy night, the staff were excellent. The food was fantastic and we all enjoyed our visit immensely. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-14

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for your positive review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
by on December 21st, 2017
5

Food was excellent but was painfully slow. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-18

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We apologise that you weren't happy with the service. I assure you this is not the norm and we hope as you enjoyed the food so much that we'll see you again and get a chance to rectify this impression.
by on December 20th, 2017
3

Great drink, great food, great service Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-18

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for the positive review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
by on December 20th, 2017
5

The staff were working really hard, but seemed slightly disorganised. Should there have been one more on that night? Bit busier than normal? That said, we had a great night and the food was excellent. We will come back. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-17

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We apologise your service wasn't as expected during your visit we work to provide the best service possible no matter how busy we get during the festive period. However, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
by on December 19th, 2017
4

Lovely pub, good grub and one of few open in the area on a Sunday night, BUT: bizarre auto-air conditioning, that was unable to be switched off manually, so our snug kept turning into an ice-box. Please can you sort this out? It's winter, so there's really no need for air-con! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-17

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're happy you like the pub and enjoyed the food. We apologise for the air conditioner being broken it has been reported and will be fixed as soon as possible. We have been providing portable heaters in the room to make up for this inconvenience.
by on December 19th, 2017
4

Hello Firstly the prebooking was very efficient and organised. The atmosphere and the server was extremely helpful and friendly. Unfortunately myself and another guest having the turkey order developed stomach upsets prior to the meal in the evening and as we had the same lunch order assume it might have been the turkey? The order for dessert was to be apple and cranberry but we think it might have been rhubarb, which was nice but would have caused a problem if anyone had been allergic. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-14

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hello, I'm sorry to hear you and your colleague felt unwell later as we have not had any other reports of people eating our Turkey feeling unwell. We take the chance of food poisoning very seriously so if you could give us a call so that we can follow-up on this we'd look forward to receiving the call. Our crumble is apple and cranberry, it doesn't contain any rhubarb at all, this comment could've been cleared up if you'd spoken to a member of staff at the time and we always ask our customers to alert us to any allergies that they have. However, I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the other aspects about your experience. Kind regards, Sarah
by on December 19th, 2017
2

Long wait for a table but friendly staff and delicious food Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-17

Reply from Fox & Anchor

I apologise you had to wait for a table. I'm sure you can understand that we get very busy during the festive period, we would recommend booking in advance. However, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience otherwise.
by on December 19th, 2017
4

Looked after well Great breakfast!! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-15

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us. We hope to see you again soon.
by on December 19th, 2017
5

The table reserved for us was very crowded for 9 people. Apple crumble dessert was not up to our expectation. Rating 5 Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-15

Reply from Fox & Anchor

I apologise that you were not happy with the table or the dessert. We work to accommodate diners as best as we can and I assure that this has not changed so we hope to see you for another visit soon to show you this!
by on December 18th, 2017
2

The food was good. More vegetarian options would be even better. The service was also good and even though the previous sitting over-ran, we were treated well by the person in charge, who hosted drinks for us next door. The pub was way too busy to eat in though, the venue was absolutely rammed! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-14

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hello, I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and we work hard to cater for everyone. In January we shall have our winter retreat menu including more veggie and vegan options for our diners. We apologise the previous booking overran, we work hard to prevent this but sometimes it can be unavoidable but as you said we work hard to accommodate everybody and provide alternatives to ensure you have the best experience possible. I'm sorry you found the pub too busy to eat in I'm sure you can appreciate everywhere is very busy over the Christmas period. If you'd like a quieter dining experience for a large group next year please enquire into dining in The Vestry, our wine and cocktail bar next door, where you enjoyed your pre-dinner drinks. Kind regards, Sarah
by on December 18th, 2017
3

Great food, sadly, constantly getting our chairs barged into owing to having a table of 10 for dinner, and 5 of them on the bar side, the and bar was very very busy - the bill got completely muddled up too and taken 3 times off the card! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-14

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hello, I apologise for the bill mix up but I'm sure this has been evened out and amended. I'm sorry your guests felt they were barged into, we are a small, victorian venue and we work hard to move between tables on busy nights in a polite manner. I'm sure you can appreciate the venue is going to be busy during the festive period. However, I'm glad you enjoyed the food. Kind regards, Sarah
by on December 18th, 2017
3

Absolutely superb! Fabulous food, great ambience and service. Perfect choice for our department Christmas lunch. Thank you! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-15

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves for your Christmas lunch and hope to see you again next year.
by on December 18th, 2017
5

Good was good but service was poor. Forgot our order several times as well as requests for condiments etc. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-13

Reply from Fox & Anchor

I'm glad you enjoyed slightly and I apologise that the level of service was not up to scratch.
by on December 15th, 2017
3

I loved this pub! They gave us a cozy nook and the food was great. One of the meals arrived cold but as soon as we told them they gave us loads of free sides (all piping hot) to make up for it, which I think is great service. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-10

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for the positive review and I'm happy to hear we could improve the experience of your meal with us and we hope to see you again soon.
by on December 14th, 2017
5

we really enjoyed the venue, atmosphere and food. We'll be back soon. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-07

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for the positive review and we hope to see you again soon.
by on December 14th, 2017
5

Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff and good food too. If you are looking for a traditional pub in London, then you can’t beat this. Request a booth at time of booking Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-10

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for the positive review, I'll pass on the compliments. We look forward to having you again soon.
by on December 12th, 2017
4

Great atmosphere, food and service 👍 Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-08

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for the positive review and we hope to see you again soon.
by on December 12th, 2017
5

Our party of 10 arrived in the nick of time due to a late flight. The staff at the Fox and Anchor could not have been more accommodating, drinks were delivered to the table and one or two requests for different breakfast items were dealt with immediately. The quality of the breakfast was very good and was commented on very well by our multinational group.. All in all an excellent morning. We shall book again for next year. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-08

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for such a positive review we're happy to have made your breakfast so enjoyable. One recommendation for breakfast in December next year, book early! We look forward to seeing you again.
by on December 11th, 2017
5

Thank you for a wonderful night. A beautiful original pub. Great service, great food and great beers! You made our reunion with our Italian friends very special. Curtis. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-08

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hi Curtis, thank you for the wonderful review and we're glad to have helped make your evening special.
by on December 10th, 2017
5

The Fox and Anchor was very busy at lunch time and yet they were able to serve an excellent lunch which was much enjoyed Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-07

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for the 5-stars and the compliments! We hope to see you again soon.
by on December 9th, 2017
5

What a lovely pub hidden away! great food and service, will definitely recommend it and be visiting again! Thanks Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-05

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for the 4-stars! We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we'll see you again soon.
by on December 8th, 2017
4

Very nice staff and very accommodating. Perfect place to spend Sunday lunch with friends Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-03

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you the 5-stars and we look forward to seeing you on another Sunday! Best, Sarah Sales & Marketing Coordinator
by on December 5th, 2017
5

I love this place! I don't visit often (once a year, in name of transparency. For my work team's boozy Christmas brekkie!) but when I do, the experience is top notch. The maître d' (landlord?) is the perfect mix of professional and friendly, properly helpful and switched on. Food (the fat boy brekkie, or whatevs I had, the biggest!) is ridiculously good. Pint of the dark one didn't disappoint. The atmosphere (at 8am in the morning, mind. Have no experience of more regular pub timings!) was good, plenty of raucous laughter from tables of meat market workers and city lads. Will be bringing my mother here when she next visits from Finland, as this is a uniquely London experience. Thumbs up, 10 out of 10. Disclaimer: I have not been paid for this review. Honest guv. However if the marvellous landlord offered me a free pint next time I would not say no! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-11-30

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hello, we're so glad you've enjoyed your yearly Christmas brekkies with us, we love hosting them! Thank you for such a positive and grin worthy review! We're looking forward to seeing you next year. Best, Sarah Sales & Marketing Coordinator
by on December 4th, 2017
5

Not sure why we needed to pre-book as one of the waiters asked us what we wanted to order when we were at the table! Even then one order came up wrong! Also butter is straight out of the fridge and cold and solid, and the toast comes cold, not a great combination. The cooking appears to have gone downhill for the last two years and is average at best, although the price for breakfast is well above average. It was very busy and perhaps the kitchen is unable to handle the numbers while maintaining the quality. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-12-01

Reply from Fox & Anchor

I apologise that the pre-orders you had could not be found immediately upon your arrival and I spoke to my colleague who came to take your order to speed things along for you and said you could pick whatever you wanted not just what you pre-ordered to go out of his way to try and make things better for you. I also apologise that you were not pleased with the breakfast and I assure you that if you had spoken to my colleague at the time of dining with us that he would've worked to have improved your experience with us and I'm sure the same will be done on your next visit with us. Kind regards, Sarah Sales & Marketing Coordinator
by on December 3rd, 2017
3

Nice pub but gets really busy, but most places in Farringdon do on a Thursday. Food was very good but service was a little slow. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-11-30

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for the four star review! I apologise the food service wasn't as fast as it could've been it would've most likely been because of business as you said it was. Best, Sarah Sales & Marketing Coordinator
by on December 3rd, 2017
4

rubbish - never coming back Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-11-30

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us but we would always encourage constructive criticism. Best, Sarah Sales & Marketing Coordinator
by on December 2nd, 2017
1

Absolutely love this pub. The staff are friendly, it’s warm and cosy and the mulled cider is amazing. This is the first time I’ve eaten here and on the whole it was a pleasent experiences however my one gripe was that I ordered the roast pheasant which apparently comes with ‘game chips’ it turned up with what I can only describe as a ramekin of beef flavoured walkers crisps. Highly disappointing... the staff swiftly rustled up some chips for us. So just beware the misleading menu on this item! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-11-29

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're glad you enjoyed your first meal with us that the mulled cider was up to scratch. We apologise for this menu item not being clear to you but I'm happy to hear it was quickly sorted. Best, Sarah Sales & Marketing Coordinator
by on December 1st, 2017
4

The pork and lamb roast were delicious!!! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-11-26

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hello, Thank you for your positive review of our roasts! We hope to see you come and enjoy them again.
by on November 28th, 2017
5

Fantastic service, food and drink. Very much enjoyed by all! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-11-23

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you so much for such a good review! We hope to see you all again soon! Kind regards, Sarah
by on November 27th, 2017
5

Overall, it was excellent. However, I was oddly served a pint of ale in a lager glass, and one of my pints (in a proper straight glass) was outrageously short. Young's places are usually fantastic and faultless and this wasn't quite up there for those reasons. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-11-15

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hello, I apologise for any incorrect glassware you were provided on that visit. I assure that if you were to come again this experience would not be repeated. Kind regards, Sarah
by on November 17th, 2017
3

It was ok. We were in the front and it was very quiet. Food took a long time to arrive (more than 30 minutes I think) - yes we were 9 people but we only ordered sandwiches or a starter (it was lunchtime). When it did arrive it was good food and overall I did like it, but because of the delay we were then late going back to work. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-11-15

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hello, I'm sorry to hear you had to wait such a long time for your food. Please do be aware that this is not the usual. This day we were understaffed in the kitchen so I deeply apologise that this affected your experience with us. I assure you that if you were to come again your experience would be much better. Kind regards, Sarah
by on November 17th, 2017
3

Brought my Asian overseas visitors for a proper Sunday lunch. It didn't disappoint! You must definitely try the crackling, it is amazing. Great service, vibrant atmosphere, and (fairly) reasonably priced! We will be back. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-11-05

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're so glad we could impress yourself and your guests with a classic, British Sunday lunch. We hope to see you again soon!
by on November 10th, 2017
5

Great traditional pub with good ld fashioned and unusual menu. Good veggie options. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-11-04

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for the 4-stars! Glad you appreciate the history of our venue. Hope to see you again soon!
by on November 6th, 2017
4

Great food and setting, friendly staff Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-10-29

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for the 5 star review! We're happy you enjoyed the food and that our staff could look after you so well. We hope to see you again soon!
by on November 3rd, 2017
5

Lovely food and served by a very nice lady who was funny kind and very attentative Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-10-26

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for your positive review. We're glad the member of our team looked after you so well and we hope to see you again soon.
by on October 28th, 2017
5

We were lucky and got one of the booths in this small, beautiful Edwardian pub near Smithfield. I like this area of London: it's interesting, with layers of history all around. I've wanted to go to this pub for ages and really pleased that we did. Good service, good food - not cheap, mind - and good beer (I had the Camden Pale Ale). Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-10-22

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for your 5 stars! We're glad you enjoyed the history of our pub and that you finally got around to popping in. We'll happily get you in one of our booths again.
by on October 26th, 2017
5

As on previous occasion, a really nice lunch (duck breast & hake and beans); the service is very friendly and welcoming. Many thanks, Angela & John Thompson Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-10-20

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for your positive review. We're glad you enjoyed the food and that we could make your time with us pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again.
by on October 22nd, 2017
4

Fabulous food and friendly service. Will definitely return! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-10-18

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you for your five star review. We're glad we could make your time with us so enjoyable and hope to see you again soon.
by on October 20th, 2017
5

Always impressed with the service, food, and overall atmosphere at this place. Thanks for another wonderful Sunday brunch. A Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-10-15

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and I'll pass the compliments onto the bar team. Kind regards, Sarah
by on October 17th, 2017
5

For the price of the main dishes I was expecting more quality and more quantity. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-10-15

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Sorry, you weren't happy with the food. I'll pass on the feedback to the kitchen so we can ensure it doesn't happen again. Please come back again, I'm sure you'll be impressed. Kind regards, Sarah
by on October 17th, 2017
3

Excellent value for very good food. Staff welcoming. Pub very atmospheric - an old gin tavern. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-10-11

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and I'll pass the compliments onto the team. Kind regards, Sarah
by on October 13th, 2017
5

Excellent service and mostly good food. Sandwiches rather thick for my preference..Good place to bring a group. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-10-06

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see your group again soon. Kind regards, Sarah
by on October 8th, 2017
4

We had booked the vestry room for our group but became unavailable so we were accommodated in the main part of the seating area of the pub.everything was great,service food staff. Thankyou Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-10-04

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Once again, we apologise The Gallery was out of action due to electrical maintenance but we're happy to hear you still enjoyed yourselves. Kind regards, Sarah
by on October 6th, 2017
5

Blond barmaid was amazingly professional chatty and great service forgot her name after a boozy breakfast but we will be back Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-10-03

Reply from Fox & Anchor

It makes us happy to hear that you'll come and indulge in a boozy breakfast again and I'll pass the compliments onto the staff. Kind regards, Sarah
by on October 5th, 2017
5

Best breakfast ever and great service Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-09-29

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're happy to hear we could set you up for the day with one of our breakfasts! Kind regards, Sarah
by on October 1st, 2017
5

Excellent full monty breakfast and superb coffee in a unique setting made for an excellent start to the business day Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-09-26

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're glad you enjoyed our classic full monty breakfast and that it set you up for a good day! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Sarah
by on September 28th, 2017
5

A very good Sunday lunch (Roast belly of pork; pork pies, sausage rolls etc.) - well cooked and efficiently served by helpful staff. Just a pity that we didn't have room for the crumble! Another time. Thanks, John & Angela Thompson Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-09-24

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hi John and Angela, We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the food and we hope you have room for the crumble next time! Kind regards, Sarah
by on September 26th, 2017
4

Very satisfactory, thank you and a good new menu. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-09-16

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're glad you seemed to enjoy your food and the new menu but we always appreciate constructive criticism along with lower reviews. Kind regards, Sarah Sales & Marketing Coordinator
by on September 18th, 2017
3

staff were so lovely, Dinner good and massive lovely breakfast. Room was great - little bit noisy from the air con (we guessed) at night. Quite expensive but it was the best room and is London! Thank you. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-09-09

Reply from Fox & Anchor

It makes us happy that you were happy! I shall pass on the compliments to the staff and of course the chefs. Best, Sarah Sales and Marketing Coordinator
by on September 11th, 2017
5

The main bar area can be noisy (especially in the early evening), but the alcoves are excellent for a quiet meal/drink/chat. The food is always good quality, and the service attentive without being overwhelming. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-09-05

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Thank you very much for you review. We're glad you enjoy your quiet meals with us and I'll pass the compliments onto the team. Kind regards, Sarah Sales and Marketing Coordinator
by on September 7th, 2017
4

Really good, friendly stff and great food. Highly recommended! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-09-02

Reply from Fox & Anchor

We're glad you enjoyed yourself and I'll pass the compliments onto the team. Best, Sarah Sales and Marketing Coordinator
by on September 6th, 2017
5

Food portions were a little dissappointing but nicet Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-08-15
by on August 17th, 2017
3

This is a beautiful, traditional pub with a great old-fashioned vibe - the staff are unfailingly helpful, bright and friendly and the service is attentive. Our only criticism is that the roast lunch is not really up to scratch for the price being charged. The logistics are not easy when it comes to serving fresh, hot roast potatoes and Yorkshire Pudding, but nonetheless, both items need some improvement. Minor criticisms, but otherwise a great experience. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-08-13
by on August 15th, 2017
4

Highly recommended! Delicious food (particularly pies!) and beautiful snug tables. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-08-03
by on August 14th, 2017
5

They managed to accomodate a larger group than originally planned. Food arrived quickly, and was good! Good beer selection. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-08-10
by on August 14th, 2017
5

Very good, lovely waiter and waitress, thanks ! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-08-09
by on August 11th, 2017
5

Very good beer, good customer service, varied menu. A pleasant place to go for a relaxing chat in the centre of London Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-08-07
by on August 9th, 2017
5

A lovely pub with a great atmosphere and incredibly helpful and lovely staff! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-08-05
by on August 7th, 2017
5

Good ambiance and service, but the food was mediocre Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-07-29
by on July 31st, 2017
3

I visited with a friend last saturday evening 22-7-17 (we had been twice before in the past two years and been satisfied with our experience). We where shown to our table, given menus and asked if we would like to order a drink, which we ordered. We later ordered food; I had hoped for a steak (their where several choices on the menu) and ordered the rump. I was told there was no steak available. I communicated my shock and disappointment to the waiter, and he responded: "its difficult to order in steak at the weekend".... I will say no more about that. I decided to go for the sausage and mash. On arrival I could see that the sausage where totally pale apart from one thin strip of browning along their length (approx 1cm wide). I foolishly proceeded to eat the first sausage (I didn't want anymore fuss) but caution and dissatisfaction soon got the better of me. I sent the meal back and asked for the sausage to be cooked (and browned) properly. The plate was returned, it was at best- acceptable. I suffered vomiting and diarrhea in the early hours of sunday and it took two days to fully recover. I am writing this because I am so angry about my experience... how much effort and experitse does it take to cook a sausage that is safe to eat and presentable?. I so wish we had been told there was no steak before we where seated because I would almost certainly would have turned round and walked out. I have never felt strongly enough to write a negative revue before and have kept this as polite as possible, but needless to say, and for more reasons than I've mentioned: I will never cross your threshold again, and I will advise everyone I know keep well away from your establishment. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-07-22

Reply from Fox & Anchor

Hi there, I am dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience recently at the Fox & Anchor. As we work with fresh food, our ordering is placed little and often to ensure that no food is wasted. Our steaks come from a local North London butcher that unfortunately do not deliver on the weekends, I am sorry that on this occasion you were unable to order your desired food choice, unfortunately we can run out of items depending on how busy we are. I am sure you can agree that on occasion running out of some dishes is preferable to our business wasting and throwing away food that is no longer fresh. I did indeed serve you myself and noted your complaint about the browning on the sausages for your meal. You asked that your sausages be browned more to your liking and the dish was remade from scratch and after checking with you subsequently you did not raise any further concerns that the dish was only 'acceptable'. It was a shame that you did not mention to me at time the anger you describe about your experience, as I would have very much appreciated the chance to resolve the matter at the time. Our sausages prior to service are pre cooked and subsequently finished to order, significantly reducing the chance that our sausages are ever sent out in any part raw. That being said, we take any allegation of food poisoning very seriously and would appreciate if you could contact us on foxandanchor@youngs.co.uk so we can further investigate. Kind regards, Thomas Winfield General Manager
by on July 28th, 2017
1

Good food, pleasant ambience, great service - we'll certainly be back! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-07-23
by on July 28th, 2017
5

Cool old pub. Good service. Food was nothing special. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-07-17
by on July 19th, 2017
4

Lovely food and staff (especially the Australian guy who looked after our family). Unfortunately the air conditioning wasn't working so the back room was really stuffy but we were quickly moved to the front. Will be back! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-07-16
by on July 18th, 2017
4

Fantastic traditional pub. Great place for breakfast & a few beers to start the day. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-07-14
by on July 16th, 2017
5

Excellent food and drink in superb surroundings. A great lunchtime venue. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-07-13
by on July 16th, 2017
5

I have tried various breakfast haunts , but Fox and Anchor comes up trumps . Good quality food good Guiness and friendly staff Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-07-07
by on July 9th, 2017
5

Really friendly, efficent and faultless service from the young lady serving at 7am on Thursday morning. Not a easy time to do a good job -so full credit! Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-07-06
by on July 8th, 2017
4

Very friendly staff. Food is only ok Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-06-30
by on July 2nd, 2017
3

Great pub, friendly service and excellent atmosphere. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-06-24
by on June 26th, 2017
4

Good beer, good food an decent service. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-06-23
by on June 25th, 2017
4

Nice traditional pub with excelant menus and food. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-06-20
by on June 22nd, 2017
4

Lovely quiet venue with polite and helpful staff. Would definitely attend again. Thank You Miss Natasha Henry Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-06-16
by on June 19th, 2017
5

Simply the best British breakfast experience ever. Everyone should try at least once in their lifetime. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-06-02
by on June 4th, 2017
5

Lovely breakfast and really friendly service. Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-06-01
by on June 3rd, 2017
5

Really good service and lovely food - compliments to our server who learnt how to make an Irish coffee Visited Fox & Anchor on 2017-05-31
by on June 2nd, 2017
5

Love this place, my cool, old-fashioned local thats always happy to see you walk through the door
by on January 24th, 2014
5

Show all Show fewer


If you like Fox & Anchor, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.