Brixton’s Market House is an endearing retreat, with great music, tasty cocktails and plenty of lovely grub. Decked out with comfy sofas and lots of vintage furnishings, the venue takes inspiration from traditional British quirks that feature a modern twist.
Situated over two floors, enjoy a cosy and laidback vibe if you’re visiting during the day, or return at the weekend when this becomes one of Brixton’s most vibrant nightspots with DJs playing until 4am.
Daily happy hours offer discounts on drinks from 5 until 8pm, and there’s a function room upstairs ideal for private parties of all shapes and sizes.
Market House has just launched an American diner themed kitchen, specialising in an array of different hot dogs and devilish sides.
|Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large )||£5.00|
|Bottle of House Wine||£19.95|
|Bottle of Champagne||£37.50|
A word from the chef:
Market House has an American diner themed kitchen, specialising in an array of different hot dogs and devilish sides to compliment. The dogtastic £10 Diner Deal runs every day and gets you any hot dog, fries, plus a beer or wine for just £10.
Brixton is an exciting area; with a market full of independent stalls and the whole area delivering a cultural mish-mash of Afro-Caribbean inspired foods, drinks and music. I headed to Brixton on a Saturday night to see whether party bar, Brixton...
Reply from Market HouseWe're sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Market House. As your booking was at quite a late time, the lights were turned down because the bar turns into more of a nightclub atmosphere. The bar is lighter earlier in the evening. Our security staff are highly trained, professional and do not ask people to leave for no reason. All ejections are recorded in an incident book that we can check if requested.
Reply from Market HouseHi James. We're really sorry about this. You should have got in for free on the guest list because our guest list is open until midnight. Please drop us an email on email@example.com to arrange a refund and a complimentary round of drinks by way of apology.
Reply from Market HouseHi there. We're sorry that you didn't like being asked to take your coat to the cloakroom. The reason we ask customers to do this on arrival is because we have in recent weeks been targeted by pick pockets that have taken items from coats, bags and pockets. We just want to ensure that your belongings are kept safe.
Reply from Market HouseHi Andrew. Thanks for your review. We're glad that overall you had a good night. We're sorry to hear that some of your friends were victims of pick pockets. It is a very recent problem that we are working hard to eliminate.
Reply from Market HouseHi it's the Market House manager here. Our security did try to explain to you that whilst the stamp will get you back into the venue, you do still have to queue up. Reason being is that we can only have one way in and one way out. Otherwise we are not able to control the flow of people into and out of the venue in a safe and orderly fashion. Our door staff are highly trained and do not swear at our customers. I came over to try to politely explain to you the reasons behind our door policy but you swore at me and used offensive language when referring to our door staff. Therefore I'm afraid that I was unwilling to assist you.
Reply from Market HouseWe're so sorry about this. We had allocated you enough seating for 10 people but it appears that other bookings had taken and moved your chairs. This is not a common problem but please accept our apologies. We would like to offer you the opportunity to come down again for some complimentary food and drinks by way of apology. Please drop us an email on firstname.lastname@example.org to arrange this if you wish to.
Reply from Market HouseHi Shannon. We're so sorry that the table you booked was not available for you on the night. Our online bookings system went down, which meant we weren't able to access or see what bookings we had on Wednesday. We just had to try our best to accommodate people as and when they arrived. We're glad that you managed to base yourself somewhere and that your enjoyed the food and service on the night. However we understand that the experience of some of you having to stand was far from ideal. To make it up to you we would like to invite you and a friend back to the bar for some complimentary food and drinks at a time of your choosing. Please email us on email@example.com to arrange this. Kind Regards, Market House Bookings Team
Initially everything was great, the staff were very helpful and very patient when I changed the time of the booking twice. However one member of the security team ruined our entire night. A member of our party was trying to take a photo of the whole group (about 30 people). She stood up on one of the sofas to take the photo. "Comment moderated" Nothing was said before or after this incident by the member of staff. My friend said to her, "excuse me you could have asked me to get down" to which the member of staff responded "Comment Moderated". This was very embarrassing for my friend and all of us. When we reported the incident to the manager he simply said "Comment moderated". We were very disappointed.
**this comment is currently being moderated**
Show all Show fewer