MIDNIGHT APOTHECARY


Recommended
Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo

Description

Friday 26 May 2017 and 37 other dates
17:30 - 22:30
Tickets from £5
Date Night, Food & Drink, Something A Little Different, Pop-Up
South London
Over 18

Campfire Cocktails in the city are back!  Join us for our sixth season of rooftop cocktails at the Brunel Museum.  We specialise in lovingly prepared seasonal botanical cocktails served around a firepit using ingredients grown in our rooftop garden or foraged close by. We source all our alcohol carefully using local brews and spirits where possible eg Bermondsey's Hiver Honey Beer and Jensen's gin.  We built the garden in 2012 as an oasis by the river where we invite you to cuddle up, toast marshmallows and watch the sun set surrounded by your friends, lovers and local wildlife.  The menu will change frequently based on what's growing in the garden.

Doors open 5.30pm, last orders are at 10pm and the event finishes at 10.30pm. Entry includes entry to the roof garden and Engine House, optional guided descent into Brunel's cavernous underground Grand Entrance Hall beneath the garden, and complimentary toasted marshmallows.

Delicious sizzling hot food is always available down on the terrace.


ticket info & dates/times

Finding event dates...

{{date.nice_date}} Cancelled

Ticket Event time Cost
{{ticket.ticket_type}}
{{ticket.description}}
{{ticket.start_time}} - {{ticket.end_time}} {{ticket.price | currency:'£'}}

Location

Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden
Railway Avenue, London, SE16 4LF

Area:
London

Nearest station:
Rotherhithe (Rail)

Terms

1. The ticket holder voluntarily assumes all risks and danger incidental to the event for which the ticket is issued, whether occurring prior, during or after the event. The ticket holder voluntarily agrees that the management, venue, event participants, DesignMyNight (WFL Media Ltd) and all of their respective agents, officers, directors, owners and employers are expressly released by the ticket holder from any claims arising from such causes.
2. Tickets are issued subject to the rules and regulations of the venue.
3. Please check your tickets, as mistakes cannot always be rectified.
4. Occasionally, events are cancelled or postponed by the promoter, team, performer or venue for a variety of reasons. If the event is cancelled, please contact us for information on receiving a refund from the responsible party. If the event was moved or rescheduled, the venue or promoter may set refund limitations. It is your responsibility to ascertain the date and time of any rearranged event.
5. The venue reserves the right to refuse admission and may on occasion have to conduct security searches to ensure the safety of the patrons.
6. Every effort to admit latecomers will be made at a suitable break in the event, but admission cannot always be guaranteed.
7. We regret that tickets cannot be exchanged or refunded after purchase.
8. Tickets are sold subject to the venue or promoter's right to alter or vary the programme due to events or circumstances beyond its control without being obliged to refund monies or exchange tickets.
9. If this ticket is re-sold or transferred for profit or commercial gain by anyone other than the promoter, venue management, DesignMyNight or one of their authorised sub-agents, it will become voidable and the holder may be
refused entry to or ejected from the venue.
10. The venue may operate a No Smoking Policy.
11. The promoter, venue management and DesignMyNight accept no responsibility for any personal property.
12. The event listed on the purchased ticket is strictly for ticket holders who are over 18 years of age. Identification may be required.

Venue

Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden

A cutesy spacy atop the heralded Brunel Museum, this rooftop garden is an intimate and charming space to take in the...

Organiser

Lottie Muir

Lottie Muir is the founder of Midnight Apothecary. She is the gardener and mixologist who built the roof garden at the Brunel Museum in 2012. Her book 'Wild Cocktails from the Midnight Apothecary' won the Fortnum & Mason Food and Drink Awards 2026 Debut Drink Book of the Year

http://www.thecocktailgardener.co.uk

Our Review

Midnight Apothecary - London Event Review

Midnight Apothecary - London Event Review

Set on top of an eerie historical structure that once boasted to be the eighth wonder of the world, Midnight Apothecary’s mythical garden has helped regenerate a neglected space and revived a story previously lost to the past. The annual...

Read our full Midnight Apothecary - London Event Review review

(14 reviews) Show Hide all



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

An interesting night at an interesting venue, definitely worth a try. A few minor negatives though; the cocktails are quite expensive at £8 each, they were mainly ice and when I requested less ice this seemed not to be possible. There is limited access to the firepit for toasting the marshmallows and some groups were hogging it. Glad we went but won't go again. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 20 May 2017
22 May 2017 by
4

Staff member were very kind and helpful Lina visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 20 May 2017
22 May 2017 by
5

Great venue. And nice atmosphere easy to talk to staff. The bonfire is a great focus. And people chat to each other. The tour to the shaft of the tunnel is entertaining. It's not a cheap evening out with £5 a head tickets and cocktails of £8 and food a similar amount and was nice but some of our group went off to get more food after as they were still hungry. Warning , the happy hour only works on Fridays not Saturdays. But it's a nice evening out and quirky for those that like something different but it's definitely a dry evening activity. Rain would really be a problem. Tamara visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 20 May 2017
22 May 2017 by
4

I really enjoyed it. The cocktails were delicious and we were served really quickly. The staff were super friendly too. It would be nice if there was a second open fire for roasting marshmallows. A good event, well organised. Would go again. Victoria visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 20 May 2017
22 May 2017 by
4

Not really what we have expected, but still a very nice and original place in london worth seeing. The cocktails and the museums tour were particularly good. And what´s a night outside in a garden without marshmallows? Roasting these was probably my facourite part of the night. Thank you. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 19 May 2017
21 May 2017 by
5

Excellent place and athmosphere! The cocktails were beautiful! Julieta visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 06 May 2017
19 May 2017 by
5

It looks better on the pics than in reality! Plus forget about sunset..you can't see the river from the (very short) top. but the cocktails were decent visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 13 May 2017

Reply from MIDNIGHT APOTHECARY

Hi Costa, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you think the cocktails are decent but sorry you think the pictures are better than the reality. We seem to be flooded with pics on Instagram and Twitter of people posting their experiences which can't all be fake! Yes we are only 15ft above the ground - we're a rooftop but it's more about the garden itself and the atmosphere within it - and of course the incredible underground chamber beneath. And I'm afraid factually you are wrong about the view of the river - maybe you didn't look from the back of the roof near the tree - you get gorgeous glimpses of the river traffic from there. Maybe next time?!
15 May 2017 by
2

any others days coming ahead??

Reply from MIDNIGHT APOTHECARY

Hi Diana, many thanks for your review. Yes we are open every Friday and Saturday till the end of September.
14 May 2017 by
5

Amazing but I'm worried the plants will get squished. Could they build/put in a few more benches or seating areas so people don't end up perching on the herbs? Also, a medium amount of alchol in one drink option as the drinks were potent! Katharine visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 06 May 2017
09 May 2017 by
5

Great night, super cute venue! Gitanjali visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 06 May 2017
08 May 2017 by
5

really good, the tour guide was fantastic! visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 06 May 2017
08 May 2017 by
5

I'm sorry to say we did not enjoy our time at the Midnight Apothecary very much. When I read 'roof garden' I thought it would be high up with views - this is not the case, it is about 1.5 metres off the ground. It was also quite a small space with not enough room for everyone to sit and the 'bonfire' was tiny. The cocktails were pricey which wouldn't have been a problem if they weren't so weak and bland! The bar was v small so the poor bar staff had to pick their way through the crowds calling out the name of whoever had ordered the drinks... it was quite chaotic. They were using disposable glasses and just threw everything into a big recycling bin... so wasteful. The museum was underwhelming, literally just a few plaques, books and knick-knacks. In fairness we didn't go down the shaft (that's what they really call it!) so maybe the tour would have made the experience better. The garden itself was pretty but just not suited for this kind of event in my opinion. Kate visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 06 May 2017

Reply from MIDNIGHT APOTHECARY

Hi Kate, thanks so much for your feedback. I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your evening with us. There seem to be a few things you didn't like so I'll go through them in turn. We've never advertised our garden as high up. It is indeed a roof garden as it sits about 15ft above the ground on top of Brunel's world famous underground Grand Entrance Hall to the Thames Tunnel - which I understand you didn't visit during the evening. We are more of a secret garden which is indeed small and enclosed with wonderful peeks of the river from the garden. Your most surprising comment was that the cocktails are so 'weak and bland'. I will leave it to other reviewers to offer their objective feedback but if anything the feedback we get from our guests is that the cocktails are too strong! As for our disposable glasses, we recycle these - we are not allowed to have glass up on the roof for obvious reasons but we take great efforts with our recycling as you may have noticed with our brand new installed recycling bay. There are plenty of other 'high up with views' cocktail bars that might be more up your street. As for our prices, I think if you compare them with any other cocktail bar, let alone a botanical cocktail bar that uses premium (and where possible, local distilleries and breweries), and makes or grows all its own infusions and garnishes, you'll see you had a pretty good deal on Saturday!
07 May 2017 by
2

Great experience, cocktails a bit pricey. Very interesting talk about the history of the tunnel. Ron visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 05 May 2017
07 May 2017 by
4

It visited Midnight Apothecary and went down the shaft last summer and it was great. Really interesting to see the tunnel and the cocktails were great. I would recommend it for a relaxing and slightly different spring or summer evening out.
23 Mar 2017 by
4

Show Hide all


Buy Tickets