MIDNIGHT APOTHECARY


Recommended
Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden photo

Description

Friday 28 July 2017 and 19 other dates
17:30 - 22:30
Tickets from £5
Date Night, Food & Drink, Something A Little Different, Pop-Up
South London
Over 18

Campfire Cocktails in the city are back!  Join us for our sixth season of rooftop cocktails at the Brunel Museum.  We specialise in lovingly prepared seasonal botanical cocktails served around a firepit using ingredients grown in our rooftop garden or foraged close by. We source all our alcohol carefully using local brews and spirits where possible eg Bermondsey's Hiver Honey Beer and Jensen's gin.  We built the garden in 2012 as an oasis by the river where we invite you to cuddle up, toast marshmallows and watch the sun set surrounded by your friends, lovers and local wildlife.  The menu will change frequently based on what's growing in the garden.

Doors open 5.30pm, last orders are at 10pm and the event finishes at 10.30pm. Entry includes entry to the roof garden and Engine House, optional guided descent into Brunel's cavernous underground Grand Entrance Hall beneath the garden, and complimentary toasted marshmallows.

Delicious sizzling hot food is always available down on the terrace.


ticket info & dates/times

Finding event dates...

{{ ::date.nice_date }} Cancelled

Ticket Event time Cost
{{ ::ticket.ticket_type }}
{{ ::ticket.description }}
{{ ::ticket.start_time }} - {{ ::ticket.end_time }} {{ ::ticket.price | currency:'£' }}

Location

Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden
Railway Avenue, London, SE16 4LF

Area:
London

Nearest station:
Rotherhithe (Rail)

Terms

1. The ticket holder voluntarily assumes all risks and danger incidental to the event for which the ticket is issued, whether occurring prior, during or after the event. The ticket holder voluntarily agrees that the management, venue, event participants, DesignMyNight (WFL Media Ltd) and all of their respective agents, officers, directors, owners and employers are expressly released by the ticket holder from any claims arising from such causes.
2. Tickets are issued subject to the rules and regulations of the venue.
3. Please check your tickets, as mistakes cannot always be rectified.
4. Occasionally, events are cancelled or postponed by the promoter, team, performer or venue for a variety of reasons. If the event is cancelled, please contact us for information on receiving a refund from the responsible party. If the event was moved or rescheduled, the venue or promoter may set refund limitations. It is your responsibility to ascertain the date and time of any rearranged event.
5. The venue reserves the right to refuse admission and may on occasion have to conduct security searches to ensure the safety of the patrons.
6. Every effort to admit latecomers will be made at a suitable break in the event, but admission cannot always be guaranteed.
7. We regret that tickets cannot be exchanged or refunded after purchase.
8. Tickets are sold subject to the venue or promoter's right to alter or vary the programme due to events or circumstances beyond its control without being obliged to refund monies or exchange tickets.
9. If this ticket is re-sold or transferred for profit or commercial gain by anyone other than the promoter, venue management, DesignMyNight or one of their authorised sub-agents, it will become voidable and the holder may be
refused entry to or ejected from the venue.
10. The venue may operate a No Smoking Policy.
11. The promoter, venue management and DesignMyNight accept no responsibility for any personal property.
12. The event listed on the purchased ticket is strictly for ticket holders who are over 18 years of age. Identification may be required.

Venue

Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden

A cutesy spacy atop the heralded Brunel Museum, this rooftop garden is an intimate and charming space to take in the...

Organiser

Lottie Muir

Lottie Muir is the founder of Midnight Apothecary. She is the gardener and mixologist who built the roof garden at the Brunel Museum in 2012. Her book 'Wild Cocktails from the Midnight Apothecary' won the Fortnum & Mason Food and Drink Awards 2026 Debut Drink Book of the Year

http://www.thecocktailgardener.co.uk

Our Review

Midnight Apothecary - London Event Review

Midnight Apothecary - London Event Review

Set on top of an eerie historical structure that once boasted to be the eighth wonder of the world, Midnight Apothecary’s mythical garden has helped regenerate a neglected space and revived a story previously lost to the past. The annual...

Read our full Midnight Apothecary - London Event Review review

(82 reviews) Show Hide all



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Delicious cocktails, fabulous setting and a tour of Brunel's tunnel shaft. What more could you ask for?! Diana visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 21 Jul 2017
24 Jul 2017 by
5

Fun night! Tour was quite fun, put on by a local actor. As other reviewers said, it got quite crowded in the small garden but it was a great setting and if you time it right, you can score a seat near the fire once a group gets up to go do the tour. Cocktails were fun. Roasting marshmallows was novel, cute date night idea. Catherine visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 21 Jul 2017
24 Jul 2017 by
4

Lovely relaxed evening in the garden: unusual cocktails complimented by marshmallow toasting around an open fire. Hazel visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 21 Jul 2017
23 Jul 2017 by
4

Fun night for something a bit different. More seating needed in the garden for the amount of people there Camilla visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 21 Jul 2017
23 Jul 2017 by
4

Wonderful! The weather was against us but the atmosphere on the garden was brilliant. We loved toasting our marshmallows on the fire pit, surrounded by the wild flowers. The botanical cocktails were divine! Amanda visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 21 Jul 2017
23 Jul 2017 by
5

As previous reviewers have pointed out, it's not exactly a rooftop garden but it is a small garden with a fire for marshmallows. Our ticket included one drink and one food voucher. Remember if you want another drink - happy hour is only until 7pm. The cocktails were very good but quite expensive @8 each. Food was also very expensive if you aren't using your token - £7 for a veggie wrap AND you have to pay £2.50 EXTRA if you want the meat option. The storytelling was very interesting and we learned something new that evening. Overall it's interesting but don't think it's worth £15 visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 21 Jul 2017
23 Jul 2017 by
3

Very atmospheric, good cocktails and includes tour of museum. The outdoor space is small so would have preferred it to be a bit less crowded therefore 4 stars. anon1 visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 21 Jul 2017
23 Jul 2017 by
4

A wonderful, atmospheric evening right in the centre of London. A little hidden gem that everyone should experience in a lovely summer's night. Everyone was so polite and friendly and the cocktails were delicious! bexby28 visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 15 Jul 2017
18 Jul 2017 by
5

The garden was beautiful, the cocktails and food were delicious, roasting marshmallows was fun, and the discussion of the Brunel tunnel was both informative and highly entertaining. There was a diverse group of people in attendance, and all felt welcome. It was a bit confusing that there seemed to be a separate private party going on at the same time, but overall it was an lovely night. Additionally the location, just a few yards from a Thames overlook, was perfect. I hope that folks will continue to visit and support the Brunel Museum. It's an interesting historic site with a fascinating story. I hope their resources continue to grow. Laura visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 15 Jul 2017
17 Jul 2017 by
5

Great atmosphere, very interesting tour, delicious cocktails visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 15 Jul 2017
17 Jul 2017 by
5

Overhyped and overpriced, we felt. First of all, don't call it a rooftop bar when you're only 1 storey up (even if you are technically on the roof). Too small for the number of tickets sold. The cocktails were nice enough but expensive for the size. The Greek BBQ (i.e. small market stall) was the biggest rip-off - £7.50 for a small souvlaki and extortionate uplift if you're with the package deal where you get "free" food. The best part of the evening was the talk about tunnels in the museum entrance - make of that what you will. Lee visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 14 Jul 2017
17 Jul 2017 by
2

Really good night. Lovely atmosphere and environment just a shame there isn't enough seats for all to toast the marshmallows. Cocktails are perfect and will knock you for 6. Keep up the good work guys and gals. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 15 Jul 2017
17 Jul 2017 by
4

Delightful night! Surrounded by all these plants and herbs you have a sence of freedom! Strongly recommended to those who love history and arts! visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 15 Jul 2017
17 Jul 2017 by
4

Too small for the number of tickets you sell for a night. Was cramped and not enough seating area visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 07 Jul 2017
16 Jul 2017 by
4

Cocktails were a bit on the small side and quite expensive. Couldn't always taste the herb in the drinks . The setting was perfect and loved the atmosphere and the idea of the camp fire, flares and beautiful garden with cocktails. Tour and talk of tunnel entrance was well done and informative. A very entertaining evening. Allison visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 14 Jul 2017
16 Jul 2017 by
4

A really lovely chilled out evening. Delicious cocktails, great food and an interesting tour of the starting point to Brunel's tunnel. It was nice that it ended at a time you would still realistically be able to get public transport home and if you fancy staying out a little longer The Mayflower across the road has a great atmosphere. Laura visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 14 Jul 2017
16 Jul 2017 by
5

A pleasant Summer's evening. Please accept this as constructive criticism for somewhere pretty. The garden was beautiful but not exactly my idea of rooftop as we were not very high up at all. There seemed to be many rooftops around that were far higher. Unfortunately everyone seemed to think an early evening visit was the perfect time to be there which meant it was very challenging moving round and getting a seat was almost impossible (sadly not helped by a birthday girl being precious about her space but you can't help that) The tour of the tunnel was actually a talk which was interesting and delivered beautifully. The description of the venue was a little generous to be honest. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 08 Jul 2017
15 Jul 2017 by
3

A hidden treasure located in the heart of history, surrounded by flowers, fairy lights and herbal cocktails. Casual atmosphere with a local feel. A little oasis. Must see for all Londoners! Charlotte visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 14 Jul 2017
14 Jul 2017 by
5

Great hideaway in London. Delicious cocktails made using the herbs in the garden and friendly staff. Lene visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 07 Jul 2017
12 Jul 2017 by
4

Lovely evening, beautiful garden, great cocktails, the campfire and marshmallows were a fun addition. If you can go on the evening when they do the talks, really interesting! visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
4

What a fabulous idea - botanical cocktails and toasted marshmallows on roof garden. Very fun evening, chatting with happy people of all ages. It's a proper event, what with the addition of short museum visit and also delicious Greek food. We'll definitely go back. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
5

beautiful, unusual setting - and the engine room tour was fascination. Venue became a little too busy - and additional charge for meat BBQ was not fair Diana visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 07 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
4

It didn't feel like a reservation was needed, we arrived at 6 but could only find seating next to the garden tools. Beautiful garden just wished that I could have sat in it more. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
3

First visit, arrived at 6 45- already full. Very pleasant staff. Stood for 10 minutes in some bushes at the edge, No seats available. Needed to let waiting staff through, so ended up in the herbs each time Couldn't see fire / marshmallows, or reach them Had one drink then left visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 07 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
1

It was very sweat, the tour was interesting. Marshmallow sticks were shared which wasn't too hygienic. Avinoam visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
4

Lovely venue and the talk about the Brunel tunnel was great. Food and drink were also good, only downside was that it was a bit too crowded to enjoy the atmosphere and there wasn't enough places for everyone to sit. charleyjh visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 07 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
4

Love the book. Love the idea. Disappointed that all the cocktails are pre-mixed; far too many people are allowed in at one time and have no clue what we got for the £5 entry fee. The whole experience felt like a rip-off. Sharon visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
2

Cute and unusual. Really nice vibe and fun to toast marshmallows around the fire. I enjoyed the tour of the Brunel Museum. Would recommend if you're looking to do something different. Would be nice if it was a little less crowded. Would have liked a more secretive vibe Eleanor visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 08 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
4

The prettiest spot for cocktails in South London - amazing in the Summer. Clio visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 07 Jul 2017
10 Jul 2017 by
5

Great evening. Good value for money too. Cocktails were delicious and the service was great. Greek food was excellent and very tasty. Just one comment - in Timeout the reader stated: The bar that's received four stars from our readers sits on the roof of the Brunel Museum where you’ll have unparalleled views of the city." This is incorrect as from the rooftop there are NO views of the city. The views are of surrounding buildings only. Bit disappointed about that. Otherwise great place. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 07 Jul 2017
09 Jul 2017 by
4

Sweet venue, but seating was an issue for us which meant we couldn't stay . Cocktail/ mocktails were nice but expensive. After hearing about this on radio 4 we were excited to try different herbs etc but nothing but a little mint and lavender appeared. The best things were the Greek food delicious and a fab tour by a brilliant man in a red hat . visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 01 Jul 2017
03 Jul 2017 by
2

Heard about this event on Radio 4. A lovely space. Very relaxed and friendly. Fantastic cocktails and good food. Also a chance to visit the Brunel Museum. I was staying at Bankside on a weekend visit from Ilkley, Yorkshire. Josephine visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 01 Jul 2017
03 Jul 2017 by
5

Interesting tour, flamboyant guide, glorious setting and delicious cocktails. Lost a star for putting egg white in too many of the drinks and therefore limiting the choice for us vegans. Otherwise fab. Naomi visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 01 Jul 2017
03 Jul 2017 by
4

The roof garden was beautiful but seating was limited for a busy summer Saturday evening. We enjoyed Tim's talk down in the tunnel shaft, but most of the second part was a recap of the first so we didn't get to hear much new information. Can highly recommend the restaurant across the street, Simplicity, for a great meal as the snacks on offer at the garden were not so impressive. But for £15 we felt it was a good experience overall. Emma visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 01 Jul 2017
03 Jul 2017 by
3

A really lovely and intimate outdoor space. Super lovely and quite strong cocktails. The added bonus talk in the Brunel Museum well worth doing. A very good value Night and want to go back! Beckyoc visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 30 Jun 2017
02 Jul 2017 by
5

Love it, the staff are so friendly, so busy but drinks served immediately. Brilliant atmosphere, the optional tour into the Brunel Tunnel was really interesting. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 30 Jun 2017
02 Jul 2017 by
5

A unique venue with a great ambiance. Perfect for doing something a little different with friends. Olivia visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 23 Jun 2017
28 Jun 2017 by
5

Overcrowded. For a ticketed event I would expect it to be restricted, when We finally found somewhere to perch we just had ass in our faces. Also roasting hot day and they lit a bonfire without asking if anyone minded!! Kate visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 17 Jun 2017
28 Jun 2017 by
1

Great tour and talk by fabulous tour guide! Great cocktails too and lovely garden! Will be back! Lorraine visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 24 Jun 2017
26 Jun 2017 by
5

The place was really nice and the gentleman doing the story telling was really cool. The drinks were good but a bit overpriced for their size. Food looked better than it was. Overall a very good time. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 24 Jun 2017
26 Jun 2017 by
4

Delicious cocktails in a pretty garden with an interesting talk. Great date night! Vanessa visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 24 Jun 2017
26 Jun 2017 by
4

Beautiful and unexpected garden, great crowd ... great showman doing the shaft talk. This is thoroughly enjoyable and recommended but visitors should be aware that though the roof top description is technically true but it's only really 10 steps of street level as the museum us largely underground. One tip .. happy hour ends at 7pm ... Two cocktails for £12 instead of usual £16 visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 23 Jun 2017
25 Jun 2017 by
4

Talk about Brunel was absolutely excellent, thank you. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 23 Jun 2017
25 Jun 2017 by
4

The staff was friendly ans the cocktails decents (even if seeved in plastic glasses) However charging 5£ to cram people in a small garden felt like a rip off to us, you will only get a space to sit if you arrive super early. The place is not amazing at all, we ended up leaving for hawker house. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 23 Jun 2017
25 Jun 2017 by
2

Awesome, cosy venue. Great atmosphere. Potent cocktails. Entertaining tour of the tunnel shaft. Unlimited marshmallows to toast over the open fire. Streetfood available just outside. Great night. Recommended. John visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 16 Jun 2017
24 Jun 2017 by
4

Beautiful garden, great cocktails (very strong!). Animated and informative tour of the museum, loved the guide. I'm not sure it's for regular visits but great now again with a small group. Get there early for seats around the fire. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 16 Jun 2017
20 Jun 2017 by
4

amazing night of drinks, london history, greek food and great venue feels like youre in someones backyard ! angela visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 16 Jun 2017
19 Jun 2017 by
5

Had an amazing time at the magical Midnight Apothecary. One of my very favourite places in London. Helen visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 16 Jun 2017
19 Jun 2017 by
5

The guy at the door never gave me my marshmallows to roast! Actually, no one in my group of 12 got any! The drinks were so overpriced and tasteless. They were rather watery. Also, they were served in the smallest glasses, so after a couple of mouthfuls, it was gone!. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 17 Jun 2017
19 Jun 2017 by
1

Perfect way to spend a summer evening. Jane visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 17 Jun 2017
19 Jun 2017 by
5

It was a lovely hot evening and we met with couple of friends. We managed to all have conversations with a nice cocktail in hands. The ambience was lovely. I am definitely coming back as I still need to do the tour (too much talking). The only comment is about the long candles in the garden, there was a tiny wind and the if you stand close to it your hair were in danger. See you all soon visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 17 Jun 2017
19 Jun 2017 by
5

Pretty location, with flowers in bloom. The seating is limited, in as benches around wall or tree stumps ; get there early if there are a few of you or you'll struggle for seat .attended with 8 so bit of furtive seat hunting.Cocktails are fine, vary greatly in strength and volume, brandy based ones come in quite a small glass. Waiter service is good, so you don't wait long for your drink. Tunnel talk is fun via some old thesp , and as you've paid may as well pop down. Marshmallow on stick via fire is nice touch. If weather is poor there's always The Mayflower around the corner.. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 16 Jun 2017
18 Jun 2017 by
3

Lovely setting and good service. Fantastic talk about the history of the tunnel. Great idea to use garden herbs in the cocktails. It's a shame the cocktails aren't really cocktails - nothing more than spirits with mixers, served out of plastic cups! visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 16 Jun 2017
18 Jun 2017 by
3

Lovely evening very interesting and different. Enjoyed working our way through the cocktails suzanne visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 16 Jun 2017
18 Jun 2017 by
5

Quite a small place with not much room to sit down- cocktails were nice but limited selection and plastic glasses. Unlimited marshmallows to roast was nice touch and any herbs used weee picked straight from garden visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 16 Jun 2017
18 Jun 2017 by
4

It was a very nice way to spend a Friday night with friends. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 16 Jun 2017
18 Jun 2017 by
4

An amazing and unforgettable experience, Eclectic combination of cocktails, 19th century engineering, herbs, bonfires, greek wraps and marshmallows. Sabita visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 09 Jun 2017
11 Jun 2017 by
5

The tour was great, really enthusiastic. Joshua visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 09 Jun 2017
11 Jun 2017 by
5

Nice quirky location and a chance to see down the tunnel shaft and hear about the history - something different and worth checking out especially on a summer evening
07 Jun 2017 by
4

It was a great venue. I enjoyed the cocktails and toasted marshmallows and the talk about the Brunel tunnel was an added bonus. I heard about the venue on radio 4 and so glad that I booked tickets to go. Thank you. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 03 Jun 2017
05 Jun 2017 by
5

The atmosphere was incredible, great service visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 03 Jun 2017
05 Jun 2017 by
5

A gorgeous little oasis, a hop and a skip from Rotherhithe Overground station. There's a fire pit for roasting the free marshmallows which are in regular supply, and a lovely selection of cocktails and mocktails. We'll definitely be back for more - and for the guided tour of the Brunel Museum which we missed. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 03 Jun 2017
05 Jun 2017 by
5

Beautiful and unique. And great cocktails! Deborah visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 27 May 2017
30 May 2017 by
5

Nice and cosy. Different offering than the usual London cocktail joint. Recommend if you are after something bit cute pdrobertson87 visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 27 May 2017
29 May 2017 by
4

Beautiful garden and lovely cocktails. The Garden felt like a small corner of paradise in the midst of London. Food was incredibly good too. Absolutely worth it. Astalli visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 26 May 2017
29 May 2017 by
5

Super fun. Good cocktails, great Greek food outside and a quirky tour of the museum. An entertaining evening but get there early to get a seat by the fire. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 27 May 2017
29 May 2017 by
5

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Midnight Apothecary - it was a unique experience. We loved the tour/performance and delivery below the garden and the garden itself is beautiful. What a great concept - using the plants in the cocktails. Wish we could have a got a bit closer to the fire pit and sampled the marshmallows - what a great idea! nicki visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 27 May 2017
29 May 2017 by
5

Amazing space! Friendly low key atmosphere and very personnel. Fab staff. Bit like going to someones party or a micro festival. I did expect more from the museum tour but the guy was very enthusiastic and told the story well. A good night out for those looking fir something a bit different. Heidi visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 26 May 2017
28 May 2017 by
5

An interesting night at an interesting venue, definitely worth a try. A few minor negatives though; the cocktails are quite expensive at £8 each, they were mainly ice and when I requested less ice this seemed not to be possible. There is limited access to the firepit for toasting the marshmallows and some groups were hogging it. Glad we went but won't go again. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 20 May 2017
22 May 2017 by
4

Staff member were very kind and helpful Lina visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 20 May 2017
22 May 2017 by
5

Great venue. And nice atmosphere easy to talk to staff. The bonfire is a great focus. And people chat to each other. The tour to the shaft of the tunnel is entertaining. It's not a cheap evening out with £5 a head tickets and cocktails of £8 and food a similar amount and was nice but some of our group went off to get more food after as they were still hungry. Warning , the happy hour only works on Fridays not Saturdays. But it's a nice evening out and quirky for those that like something different but it's definitely a dry evening activity. Rain would really be a problem. Tamara visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 20 May 2017
22 May 2017 by
4

I really enjoyed it. The cocktails were delicious and we were served really quickly. The staff were super friendly too. It would be nice if there was a second open fire for roasting marshmallows. A good event, well organised. Would go again. Victoria visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 20 May 2017
22 May 2017 by
4

Not really what we have expected, but still a very nice and original place in london worth seeing. The cocktails and the museums tour were particularly good. And what´s a night outside in a garden without marshmallows? Roasting these was probably my facourite part of the night. Thank you. visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 19 May 2017
21 May 2017 by
5

Excellent place and athmosphere! The cocktails were beautiful! Julieta visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 06 May 2017
19 May 2017 by
5

It looks better on the pics than in reality! Plus forget about sunset..you can't see the river from the (very short) top. but the cocktails were decent visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 13 May 2017

Reply from MIDNIGHT APOTHECARY

Hi Costa, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you think the cocktails are decent but sorry you think the pictures are better than the reality. We seem to be flooded with pics on Instagram and Twitter of people posting their experiences which can't all be fake! Yes we are only 15ft above the ground - we're a rooftop but it's more about the garden itself and the atmosphere within it - and of course the incredible underground chamber beneath. And I'm afraid factually you are wrong about the view of the river - maybe you didn't look from the back of the roof near the tree - you get gorgeous glimpses of the river traffic from there. Maybe next time?!
15 May 2017 by
2

any others days coming ahead??

Reply from MIDNIGHT APOTHECARY

Hi Diana, many thanks for your review. Yes we are open every Friday and Saturday till the end of September.
14 May 2017 by
5

Amazing but I'm worried the plants will get squished. Could they build/put in a few more benches or seating areas so people don't end up perching on the herbs? Also, a medium amount of alchol in one drink option as the drinks were potent! Katharine visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 06 May 2017
09 May 2017 by
5

Great night, super cute venue! Gitanjali visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 06 May 2017
08 May 2017 by
5

really good, the tour guide was fantastic! visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 06 May 2017
08 May 2017 by
5

I'm sorry to say we did not enjoy our time at the Midnight Apothecary very much. When I read 'roof garden' I thought it would be high up with views - this is not the case, it is about 1.5 metres off the ground. It was also quite a small space with not enough room for everyone to sit and the 'bonfire' was tiny. The cocktails were pricey which wouldn't have been a problem if they weren't so weak and bland! The bar was v small so the poor bar staff had to pick their way through the crowds calling out the name of whoever had ordered the drinks... it was quite chaotic. They were using disposable glasses and just threw everything into a big recycling bin... so wasteful. The museum was underwhelming, literally just a few plaques, books and knick-knacks. In fairness we didn't go down the shaft (that's what they really call it!) so maybe the tour would have made the experience better. The garden itself was pretty but just not suited for this kind of event in my opinion. Kate visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 06 May 2017

Reply from MIDNIGHT APOTHECARY

Hi Kate, thanks so much for your feedback. I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your evening with us. There seem to be a few things you didn't like so I'll go through them in turn. We've never advertised our garden as high up. It is indeed a roof garden as it sits about 15ft above the ground on top of Brunel's world famous underground Grand Entrance Hall to the Thames Tunnel - which I understand you didn't visit during the evening. We are more of a secret garden which is indeed small and enclosed with wonderful peeks of the river from the garden. Your most surprising comment was that the cocktails are so 'weak and bland'. I will leave it to other reviewers to offer their objective feedback but if anything the feedback we get from our guests is that the cocktails are too strong! As for our disposable glasses, we recycle these - we are not allowed to have glass up on the roof for obvious reasons but we take great efforts with our recycling as you may have noticed with our brand new installed recycling bay. There are plenty of other 'high up with views' cocktail bars that might be more up your street. As for our prices, I think if you compare them with any other cocktail bar, let alone a botanical cocktail bar that uses premium (and where possible, local distilleries and breweries), and makes or grows all its own infusions and garnishes, you'll see you had a pretty good deal on Saturday!
07 May 2017 by
2

Great experience, cocktails a bit pricey. Very interesting talk about the history of the tunnel. Ron visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 05 May 2017
07 May 2017 by
4

It visited Midnight Apothecary and went down the shaft last summer and it was great. Really interesting to see the tunnel and the cocktails were great. I would recommend it for a relaxing and slightly different spring or summer evening out.
23 Mar 2017 by
4

Show Hide all


Buy Tickets