MIDNIGHT APOTHECARY


Recommended

Sorry, this event has taken place.

Sorry, this event has taken place.

Description

This event has taken place
17:30 - 22:30
Tickets from £5
Date Night, Food & Drink, Something A Little Different, Pop-Up
South London
Over 18

Campfire Cocktails in the city are back!  Join us for our sixth season of rooftop cocktails at the Brunel Museum.  We specialise in lovingly prepared seasonal botanical cocktails served around a firepit using ingredients grown in our rooftop garden or foraged close by. We source all our alcohol carefully using local brews and spirits where possible eg Bermondsey's Hiver Honey Beer and Jensen's gin.  We built the garden in 2012 as an oasis by the river where we invite you to cuddle up, toast marshmallows and watch the sun set surrounded by your friends, lovers and local wildlife.  The menu will change frequently based on what's growing in the garden.

Doors open 5.30pm, last orders are at 10pm and the event finishes at 10.30pm. Entry includes entry to the roof garden and Engine House, optional guided descent into Brunel's cavernous underground Grand Entrance Hall beneath the garden, and complimentary toasted marshmallows.

Delicious sizzling hot food is always available down on the terrace.


ticket info & dates/times

Finding event dates...

{{ ::date.nice_date }} Cancelled

Ticket Event time Cost
{{ ::ticket.ticket_type }}
{{ ::ticket.description }}
{{ ::ticket.start_time }} - {{ ::ticket.end_time }} {{ ::ticket.price | currency:'£' }}

Location

Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden
Railway Avenue, London, SE16 4LF

Area:
London

Nearest station:
Rotherhithe (Rail)

Terms

1. The ticket holder voluntarily assumes all risks and danger incidental to the event for which the ticket is issued, whether occurring prior, during or after the event. The ticket holder voluntarily agrees that the management, venue, event participants, DesignMyNight (WFL Media Ltd) and all of their respective agents, officers, directors, owners and employers are expressly released by the ticket holder from any claims arising from such causes.
2. Tickets are issued subject to the rules and regulations of the venue.
3. Please check your tickets, as mistakes cannot always be rectified.
4. Occasionally, events are cancelled or postponed by the promoter, team, performer or venue for a variety of reasons. If the event is cancelled, please contact us for information on receiving a refund from the responsible party. If the event was moved or rescheduled, the venue or promoter may set refund limitations. It is your responsibility to ascertain the date and time of any rearranged event.
5. The venue reserves the right to refuse admission and may on occasion have to conduct security searches to ensure the safety of the patrons.
6. Every effort to admit latecomers will be made at a suitable break in the event, but admission cannot always be guaranteed.
7. We regret that tickets cannot be exchanged or refunded after purchase.
8. Tickets are sold subject to the venue or promoter's right to alter or vary the programme due to events or circumstances beyond its control without being obliged to refund monies or exchange tickets.
9. If this ticket is re-sold or transferred for profit or commercial gain by anyone other than the promoter, venue management, DesignMyNight or one of their authorised sub-agents, it will become voidable and the holder may be
refused entry to or ejected from the venue.
10. The venue may operate a No Smoking Policy.
11. The promoter, venue management and DesignMyNight accept no responsibility for any personal property.
12. The event listed on the purchased ticket is strictly for ticket holders who are over 18 years of age. Identification may be required.

Venue

Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden

A cutesy space atop the heralded Brunel Museum, this rooftop garden is an intimate and charming space to take in the...

Organiser

Lottie Muir

Lottie Muir is the founder of Midnight Apothecary. She is the gardener and mixologist who built the roof garden at the Brunel Museum in 2012. Her book 'Wild Cocktails from the Midnight Apothecary' won the Fortnum & Mason Food and Drink Awards 2026 Debut Drink Book of the Year

http://www.thecocktailgardener.co.uk

Our Review

Midnight Apothecary - London Event Review

Midnight Apothecary - London Event Review

Set on top of an eerie historical structure that once boasted to be the eighth wonder of the world, Midnight Apothecary’s mythical garden has helped regenerate a neglected space and revived a story previously lost to the past. The annual...

Read our full Midnight Apothecary - London Event Review review

(126 reviews) Show Hide all



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Lovely evening however to many people allowed in considering size of venue. Drinks were a bit expensive considering how small they were. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-09
by on September 12th, 2017
3
1 person(s) found this helpful

Lovely atmosphere. Everyone was very friendly. Marshmallows was a big hit. Smores could be a great extra to the camp fire. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-09
by on September 11th, 2017
4

Great fun, great cocktails and totally entertaining. Would definitely recommend to anyone. A different night out under the stars. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-08
by on September 10th, 2017
5

Nice atmosphere, very good food and drinks. Particularly enjoyed the Gin thyme and the Raspberry and scented geranium Sour. Not quite enough seating when it started to get busy though Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-02
by on September 10th, 2017
4

While the marshmallows experience was great and the cocktail simply amazing, I am still wondering about the Brunel Museum and would have loved to hear more about it. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-08
by on September 10th, 2017
3

Delightful venue, nice staff and lovely idea, but there were just too many people. Don't sell so many tickets! We spent the whole night stopping people from stealing our seats or being elbowed off benches by other people, avoiding getting more drinks (even though they were lovely) because you knew your seat would be gone when you got back. Really not relaxing! I'm sure people would pay more to have a more pleasant experience. Great idea though. Would go again if these issues were sorted! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-02
by on September 4th, 2017
3

Most enjoyable, a pleasant evening and a chance to chat to new people Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-01
by on September 4th, 2017
4

Interesting idea. Not enough space to sit or move around on the roof and the cocktails were nothing to write home amount. A bit expensive and not much flavour. Enjoyed the marshmallows but difficult to cook when there is only one spot to do it. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-02
by on September 4th, 2017
2

really great evening - it was a lovely atmosphere at the rooftop cocktails, the rooftop was full of herbs and flowers with a firepit in the middle where we could roast marshmallows. And then the tour of the Brunel underground construction was really interesting with a very fun guide. Would definitely recommend it. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-02
by on September 4th, 2017
5

Very chilled. Everyone friendly. Cocktails WONDERFULL! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-01
by on September 4th, 2017
5

The venue was very small, overly crowded, the drinks took a long time to be served and there was only one fire pit to roast marshmallows in which most of us were not able to. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-02
by on September 4th, 2017
1

Had a really good time here with a group of friends (six of us). Great drinks, food, and atmosphere, especially once the fires were lit and the sun had gone down. Spoiler alert: the tour down in to the depths of the museum/shaft was unexpected (to us), and a really nice surprise. Certainly the most interesting and wonderfully delivered history lesson I've had in a while! High-fives all around to the organisers. Tip: get there early to grab some comfortable seating. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-02
by on September 4th, 2017
5

The place was so packed we did not get to sit by the fire, toast any marshmallows or even get near to the middle of the garden all night. Perhaps some limitations on numbers would be good. Cocktails were good but quite a small for the price! The highlight was the tunnel tour. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-02
by on September 4th, 2017
3

Thoroughly enjoyed our night there. The setting is great and the tour is excellent. We loved the concept of it and how the cocktails are based around what is grown. Our one issue was that the cocktails themselves were clearly made in bulk prior to the start of the night rather than individually made from the component ingredients and therefore lost a bit in their final polish and taste. However would still come back for another evening. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-02
by on September 4th, 2017
4

Very good and interesting. Nice cocktails too. Not too many seats though. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-01
by on September 4th, 2017
5

Really lovely garden and delicious cocktails ( special offer before 7pm) Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-01
by on September 3rd, 2017
5

Nice place! However, it didn't really feel like a 'rooftop' and was a little crowded. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-09-01
by on September 3rd, 2017
4

Really quirky little rooftop garden and lovely cocktails we had the perfect weather and the tour guide of the museum was brilliant Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-26
by on September 2nd, 2017
5

Fabulous little venue and night, although fairly rammed and busy Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-25
by on August 29th, 2017
5

Interesting.. !! We understood it to be ticket only. But people were turning up on door and getting in before us. Small venue around a fire pit. Couldnt get near the marshmallow toasting. Plastic glasses for overpriced cocktails.best bit was going "down the stairs for an informative and entertaining description of how the rotherhithe tunnel was made.an interesting experience. It's a shame a couple of young guys worse for drink had no respect. Overall.. for £5 booking fee and price of cocktail it was fun. Mayflower pub just opposite was a gem. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-26
by on August 28th, 2017
4
1 person(s) found this helpful

Wasn't what I expected, wouldn't call it a rooftop garden but still a pleasant place to sit for a few cocktails. The tour was interesting and informative and we had a great tour guide. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-25
by on August 28th, 2017
4

nice atmosphere, great drinks and delicious food Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-26
by on August 28th, 2017
4

It was absolutely amazing! great cocktails, amazing food, good show Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-25
by on August 27th, 2017
5

It was a great evening having some great cocktails and catching up with friends. We went on the tour of the Brunel Museum and enjoyed the "actor" who led the tour! Highly recommended the Midnight Apothocary! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-18
by on August 21st, 2017
5

Lovely night. Good company, great drinks and an entertaining talk about the Brunel. Definitely going to go again. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-18
by on August 20th, 2017
5

The information given on the optional descent into the shaft was great. The cocktail and garden very average. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-18
by on August 20th, 2017
3

Such a fun and quirky venue. grest place to catch up with friends over some delicious cocktails! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-18
by on August 20th, 2017
5

It's a great idea - & the tour into the museum is a good touch. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-18
by on August 20th, 2017
4

Absolutely fab, travelled all the way down and back from Chester. Loved the vibe, the cocktails, the food, the people, the tunnel tour and Mr Rainbow. Need to bring more family and friends xxx Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-18
by on August 20th, 2017
5

Not many places to sit and seating uncomfortable. Quick service with drinks and food though Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-18
by on August 20th, 2017
2

Great atmospheric venue . Good cocktails Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-11
by on August 19th, 2017
5

Interesting venue with amazing historical surroundings. The area was like a wild garden with marshmallows and cocktails. Really different atmosphere with organic Greek food to order also. For the price of the ticket it was very good value. If I had any issues, the area was very small and not nearly enough seating area for people, it might be helpful to extend it down the stairs and use the large table beside it. The drinks were extremely expensive for the amount you got. But it was great to do something a little different with a lovely talk about the museum. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-12
by on August 15th, 2017
3

I dont get the concept. You pay 5 pounds to go in. Its a super small space, too many people, nowhere to stand or sit. And cocktails are expensive (although they are ok in taste). We stayed for one cocktail and left, as its too crowded. For a place where you have to reserve a ticket, one would expect that they would limit number of people there. (Short tour about the tunnel was ok i guess) Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-12
by on August 14th, 2017
2

Have been before and had a great night. However, this time the event was totally over subscribed and painfully over crowded with nowhere to sit and eventually no where stand either. Any idea of getting near the camp fire and having marshmallows should be put firmly to the back of you're mind unless you're in the first 20 people who arrive or you have the confidence to ask someone to move so you can get anywhere near it! The tour guide was unexplainably absent and a young lady took his place, who had never done a tour before in her life. Bless her she tried but having been on this tour before and having heard the tour guide who normally does it - she was useless in comparison and missed out so much of the exciting information and history. When she'd finished she just walked out without offering any questions from the packed audience, which she had said she would do when she started. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-12
by on August 14th, 2017
1
1 person(s) found this helpful

Lovely idea & setting however it was clear that too many tickets had been sold for the size of the space. We ended up jammed in a corner sat on some plants and I had a woman's elbow in my face until we promptly left an hour after arriving. On a positive note the Greek food was absolutely delicious. Maybe putting time slots on the tickets would allow some crowd control. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-12
by on August 14th, 2017
2

We decided to go again during the 2017 season because we enjoyed our visit in 2016 so much. The cocktails were again a great selection. and the Greek wraps were delicious! It's a relaxing way to spend an evening and I would highly recommend it - the only thing we missed were the chocolate brownies that were on offer last year. And you can never have too many toasted marshmallows. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-12
by on August 14th, 2017
4

It was a wonderful, relaxed and diverse atmosphere. The staff was friendly and attentive and the drinks were refreshing, distinct and well complemented by campfire-cooked marshmallows. It was charming to be in a garden surrounded by the growing ingredients used in the drinks. Would go again. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-11
by on August 13th, 2017
5

Expensive drinks but the tour of the Museum was really cool and totally worth it! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-05
by on August 7th, 2017
3

Lovely garden, great food, enjoyed the tour! Could do with adding wine to the menu, ended up moving on to pub as was beginning to get expensive just having cocktails. Beer was available but wine would be a bonus! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-05
by on August 7th, 2017
4

We really enjoyed Tim's tour. Leant so many interesting facts about London history, whilst relaxingly sipping gorgeous cocktails. What a fab combination and brilliant experience. Best cocktails in London! Very special place Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-04
by on August 6th, 2017
5

Yummy cocktails and marshmallows to toast on a fire in a sweet little garden space. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-08-04
by on August 6th, 2017
4

great place! really loved the cocktails and the garden is fun. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-29
by on August 1st, 2017
5

If you've ever been to a decent cocktail bar - don't bother. The recipes are unimaginative and the service is just plain bad, most of the bartenders were drinking while on the job which should tell you enough. Pretty exterior, terrible inner workings. Also - they don't actually charge an entry fee so don't even think of paying for that. What a scam. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-28
by on July 31st, 2017
1
1 person(s) found this helpful

The cocktails are delicious and reasonably priced (£8). The venue is really cute and even though it was raining the whole evening, the grand hall area is pretty cool and has a nice vibe. We managed to roast some marshmallows later in the night when the rain stopped. All in all a good evening out and a nice date idea. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-29
by on July 31st, 2017
5

Delicious cocktails, fabulous setting and a tour of Brunel's tunnel shaft. What more could you ask for?! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-21
by on July 24th, 2017
5

Fun night! Tour was quite fun, put on by a local actor. As other reviewers said, it got quite crowded in the small garden but it was a great setting and if you time it right, you can score a seat near the fire once a group gets up to go do the tour. Cocktails were fun. Roasting marshmallows was novel, cute date night idea. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-21
by on July 24th, 2017
4

Lovely relaxed evening in the garden: unusual cocktails complimented by marshmallow toasting around an open fire. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-21
by on July 23rd, 2017
4

Fun night for something a bit different. More seating needed in the garden for the amount of people there Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-21
by on July 23rd, 2017
4

Wonderful! The weather was against us but the atmosphere on the garden was brilliant. We loved toasting our marshmallows on the fire pit, surrounded by the wild flowers. The botanical cocktails were divine! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-21
by on July 23rd, 2017
5

As previous reviewers have pointed out, it's not exactly a rooftop garden but it is a small garden with a fire for marshmallows. Our ticket included one drink and one food voucher. Remember if you want another drink - happy hour is only until 7pm. The cocktails were very good but quite expensive @8 each. Food was also very expensive if you aren't using your token - £7 for a veggie wrap AND you have to pay £2.50 EXTRA if you want the meat option. The storytelling was very interesting and we learned something new that evening. Overall it's interesting but don't think it's worth £15 Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-21
by on July 23rd, 2017
3

Very atmospheric, good cocktails and includes tour of museum. The outdoor space is small so would have preferred it to be a bit less crowded therefore 4 stars. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-21
by on July 23rd, 2017
4

A wonderful, atmospheric evening right in the centre of London. A little hidden gem that everyone should experience in a lovely summer's night. Everyone was so polite and friendly and the cocktails were delicious! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-15
by on July 18th, 2017
5

The garden was beautiful, the cocktails and food were delicious, roasting marshmallows was fun, and the discussion of the Brunel tunnel was both informative and highly entertaining. There was a diverse group of people in attendance, and all felt welcome. It was a bit confusing that there seemed to be a separate private party going on at the same time, but overall it was an lovely night. Additionally the location, just a few yards from a Thames overlook, was perfect. I hope that folks will continue to visit and support the Brunel Museum. It's an interesting historic site with a fascinating story. I hope their resources continue to grow. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-15
by on July 17th, 2017
5

Great atmosphere, very interesting tour, delicious cocktails Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-15
by on July 17th, 2017
5

Overhyped and overpriced, we felt. First of all, don't call it a rooftop bar when you're only 1 storey up (even if you are technically on the roof). Too small for the number of tickets sold. The cocktails were nice enough but expensive for the size. The Greek BBQ (i.e. small market stall) was the biggest rip-off - £7.50 for a small souvlaki and extortionate uplift if you're with the package deal where you get "free" food. The best part of the evening was the talk about tunnels in the museum entrance - make of that what you will. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-14
by on July 17th, 2017
2

Really good night. Lovely atmosphere and environment just a shame there isn't enough seats for all to toast the marshmallows. Cocktails are perfect and will knock you for 6. Keep up the good work guys and gals. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-15
by on July 17th, 2017
4

Delightful night! Surrounded by all these plants and herbs you have a sence of freedom! Strongly recommended to those who love history and arts! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-15
by on July 17th, 2017
4

Too small for the number of tickets you sell for a night. Was cramped and not enough seating area Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-07
by on July 16th, 2017
4

Cocktails were a bit on the small side and quite expensive. Couldn't always taste the herb in the drinks . The setting was perfect and loved the atmosphere and the idea of the camp fire, flares and beautiful garden with cocktails. Tour and talk of tunnel entrance was well done and informative. A very entertaining evening. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-14
by on July 16th, 2017
4

A really lovely chilled out evening. Delicious cocktails, great food and an interesting tour of the starting point to Brunel's tunnel. It was nice that it ended at a time you would still realistically be able to get public transport home and if you fancy staying out a little longer The Mayflower across the road has a great atmosphere. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-14
by on July 16th, 2017
5

A pleasant Summer's evening. Please accept this as constructive criticism for somewhere pretty. The garden was beautiful but not exactly my idea of rooftop as we were not very high up at all. There seemed to be many rooftops around that were far higher. Unfortunately everyone seemed to think an early evening visit was the perfect time to be there which meant it was very challenging moving round and getting a seat was almost impossible (sadly not helped by a birthday girl being precious about her space but you can't help that) The tour of the tunnel was actually a talk which was interesting and delivered beautifully. The description of the venue was a little generous to be honest. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-08
by on July 15th, 2017
3

A hidden treasure located in the heart of history, surrounded by flowers, fairy lights and herbal cocktails. Casual atmosphere with a local feel. A little oasis. Must see for all Londoners! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-14
by on July 14th, 2017
5

Great hideaway in London. Delicious cocktails made using the herbs in the garden and friendly staff. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-07
by on July 12th, 2017
4

Lovely evening, beautiful garden, great cocktails, the campfire and marshmallows were a fun addition. If you can go on the evening when they do the talks, really interesting! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-08
by on July 10th, 2017
4

What a fabulous idea - botanical cocktails and toasted marshmallows on roof garden. Very fun evening, chatting with happy people of all ages. It's a proper event, what with the addition of short museum visit and also delicious Greek food. We'll definitely go back. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-08
by on July 10th, 2017
5

beautiful, unusual setting - and the engine room tour was fascination. Venue became a little too busy - and additional charge for meat BBQ was not fair Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-07
by on July 10th, 2017
4

It didn't feel like a reservation was needed, we arrived at 6 but could only find seating next to the garden tools. Beautiful garden just wished that I could have sat in it more. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-08
by on July 10th, 2017
3

First visit, arrived at 6 45- already full. Very pleasant staff. Stood for 10 minutes in some bushes at the edge, No seats available. Needed to let waiting staff through, so ended up in the herbs each time Couldn't see fire / marshmallows, or reach them Had one drink then left Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-07
by on July 10th, 2017
1

It was very sweat, the tour was interesting. Marshmallow sticks were shared which wasn't too hygienic. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-08
by on July 10th, 2017
4

Lovely venue and the talk about the Brunel tunnel was great. Food and drink were also good, only downside was that it was a bit too crowded to enjoy the atmosphere and there wasn't enough places for everyone to sit. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-07
by on July 10th, 2017
4

Love the book. Love the idea. Disappointed that all the cocktails are pre-mixed; far too many people are allowed in at one time and have no clue what we got for the £5 entry fee. The whole experience felt like a rip-off. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-08
by on July 10th, 2017
2

Cute and unusual. Really nice vibe and fun to toast marshmallows around the fire. I enjoyed the tour of the Brunel Museum. Would recommend if you're looking to do something different. Would be nice if it was a little less crowded. Would have liked a more secretive vibe Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-08
by on July 10th, 2017
4

The prettiest spot for cocktails in South London - amazing in the Summer. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-07
by on July 10th, 2017
5

Great evening. Good value for money too. Cocktails were delicious and the service was great. Greek food was excellent and very tasty. Just one comment - in Timeout the reader stated: The bar that's received four stars from our readers sits on the roof of the Brunel Museum where you’ll have unparalleled views of the city." This is incorrect as from the rooftop there are NO views of the city. The views are of surrounding buildings only. Bit disappointed about that. Otherwise great place. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-07
by on July 9th, 2017
4

Sweet venue, but seating was an issue for us which meant we couldn't stay . Cocktail/ mocktails were nice but expensive. After hearing about this on radio 4 we were excited to try different herbs etc but nothing but a little mint and lavender appeared. The best things were the Greek food delicious and a fab tour by a brilliant man in a red hat . Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-01
by on July 3rd, 2017
2

Heard about this event on Radio 4. A lovely space. Very relaxed and friendly. Fantastic cocktails and good food. Also a chance to visit the Brunel Museum. I was staying at Bankside on a weekend visit from Ilkley, Yorkshire. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-01
by on July 3rd, 2017
5

Interesting tour, flamboyant guide, glorious setting and delicious cocktails. Lost a star for putting egg white in too many of the drinks and therefore limiting the choice for us vegans. Otherwise fab. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-01
by on July 3rd, 2017
4

The roof garden was beautiful but seating was limited for a busy summer Saturday evening. We enjoyed Tim's talk down in the tunnel shaft, but most of the second part was a recap of the first so we didn't get to hear much new information. Can highly recommend the restaurant across the street, Simplicity, for a great meal as the snacks on offer at the garden were not so impressive. But for £15 we felt it was a good experience overall. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-07-01
by on July 3rd, 2017
3

A really lovely and intimate outdoor space. Super lovely and quite strong cocktails. The added bonus talk in the Brunel Museum well worth doing. A very good value Night and want to go back! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-30
by on July 2nd, 2017
5

Love it, the staff are so friendly, so busy but drinks served immediately. Brilliant atmosphere, the optional tour into the Brunel Tunnel was really interesting. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-30
by on July 2nd, 2017
5

A unique venue with a great ambiance. Perfect for doing something a little different with friends. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-23
by on June 28th, 2017
5

Overcrowded. For a ticketed event I would expect it to be restricted, when We finally found somewhere to perch we just had ass in our faces. Also roasting hot day and they lit a bonfire without asking if anyone minded!! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-17
by on June 28th, 2017
1

Great tour and talk by fabulous tour guide! Great cocktails too and lovely garden! Will be back! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-24
by on June 26th, 2017
5

The place was really nice and the gentleman doing the story telling was really cool. The drinks were good but a bit overpriced for their size. Food looked better than it was. Overall a very good time. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-24
by on June 26th, 2017
4

Delicious cocktails in a pretty garden with an interesting talk. Great date night! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-24
by on June 26th, 2017
4

Beautiful and unexpected garden, great crowd ... great showman doing the shaft talk. This is thoroughly enjoyable and recommended but visitors should be aware that though the roof top description is technically true but it's only really 10 steps of street level as the museum us largely underground. One tip .. happy hour ends at 7pm ... Two cocktails for £12 instead of usual £16 Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-23
by on June 25th, 2017
4

Talk about Brunel was absolutely excellent, thank you. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-23
by on June 25th, 2017
4

The staff was friendly ans the cocktails decents (even if seeved in plastic glasses) However charging 5£ to cram people in a small garden felt like a rip off to us, you will only get a space to sit if you arrive super early. The place is not amazing at all, we ended up leaving for hawker house. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-23
by on June 25th, 2017
2

Awesome, cosy venue. Great atmosphere. Potent cocktails. Entertaining tour of the tunnel shaft. Unlimited marshmallows to toast over the open fire. Streetfood available just outside. Great night. Recommended. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-16
by on June 24th, 2017
4
1 person(s) found this helpful

Beautiful garden, great cocktails (very strong!). Animated and informative tour of the museum, loved the guide. I'm not sure it's for regular visits but great now again with a small group. Get there early for seats around the fire. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-16
by on June 20th, 2017
4

amazing night of drinks, london history, greek food and great venue feels like youre in someones backyard ! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-16
by on June 19th, 2017
5

Had an amazing time at the magical Midnight Apothecary. One of my very favourite places in London. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-16
by on June 19th, 2017
5

The guy at the door never gave me my marshmallows to roast! Actually, no one in my group of 12 got any! The drinks were so overpriced and tasteless. They were rather watery. Also, they were served in the smallest glasses, so after a couple of mouthfuls, it was gone!. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-17
by on June 19th, 2017
1

Perfect way to spend a summer evening. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-17
by on June 19th, 2017
5

It was a lovely hot evening and we met with couple of friends. We managed to all have conversations with a nice cocktail in hands. The ambience was lovely. I am definitely coming back as I still need to do the tour (too much talking). The only comment is about the long candles in the garden, there was a tiny wind and the if you stand close to it your hair were in danger. See you all soon Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-17
by on June 19th, 2017
5

Pretty location, with flowers in bloom. The seating is limited, in as benches around wall or tree stumps ; get there early if there are a few of you or you'll struggle for seat .attended with 8 so bit of furtive seat hunting.Cocktails are fine, vary greatly in strength and volume, brandy based ones come in quite a small glass. Waiter service is good, so you don't wait long for your drink. Tunnel talk is fun via some old thesp , and as you've paid may as well pop down. Marshmallow on stick via fire is nice touch. If weather is poor there's always The Mayflower around the corner.. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-16
by on June 18th, 2017
3

Lovely setting and good service. Fantastic talk about the history of the tunnel. Great idea to use garden herbs in the cocktails. It's a shame the cocktails aren't really cocktails - nothing more than spirits with mixers, served out of plastic cups! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-16
by on June 18th, 2017
3

Lovely evening very interesting and different. Enjoyed working our way through the cocktails Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-16
by on June 18th, 2017
5

Quite a small place with not much room to sit down- cocktails were nice but limited selection and plastic glasses. Unlimited marshmallows to roast was nice touch and any herbs used weee picked straight from garden Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-16
by on June 18th, 2017
4

It was a very nice way to spend a Friday night with friends. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-16
by on June 18th, 2017
4

An amazing and unforgettable experience, Eclectic combination of cocktails, 19th century engineering, herbs, bonfires, greek wraps and marshmallows. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-09
by on June 11th, 2017
5

The tour was great, really enthusiastic. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-09
by on June 11th, 2017
5

Nice quirky location and a chance to see down the tunnel shaft and hear about the history - something different and worth checking out especially on a summer evening
by on June 7th, 2017
4

It was a great venue. I enjoyed the cocktails and toasted marshmallows and the talk about the Brunel tunnel was an added bonus. I heard about the venue on radio 4 and so glad that I booked tickets to go. Thank you. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-03
by on June 5th, 2017
5

The atmosphere was incredible, great service Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-03
by on June 5th, 2017
5

A gorgeous little oasis, a hop and a skip from Rotherhithe Overground station. There's a fire pit for roasting the free marshmallows which are in regular supply, and a lovely selection of cocktails and mocktails. We'll definitely be back for more - and for the guided tour of the Brunel Museum which we missed. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-06-03
by on June 5th, 2017
5

Beautiful and unique. And great cocktails! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-27
by on May 30th, 2017
5

Nice and cosy. Different offering than the usual London cocktail joint. Recommend if you are after something bit cute Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-27
by on May 29th, 2017
4

Beautiful garden and lovely cocktails. The Garden felt like a small corner of paradise in the midst of London. Food was incredibly good too. Absolutely worth it. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-26
by on May 29th, 2017
5

Super fun. Good cocktails, great Greek food outside and a quirky tour of the museum. An entertaining evening but get there early to get a seat by the fire. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-27
by on May 29th, 2017
5

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Midnight Apothecary - it was a unique experience. We loved the tour/performance and delivery below the garden and the garden itself is beautiful. What a great concept - using the plants in the cocktails. Wish we could have a got a bit closer to the fire pit and sampled the marshmallows - what a great idea! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-27
by on May 29th, 2017
5

Amazing space! Friendly low key atmosphere and very personnel. Fab staff. Bit like going to someones party or a micro festival. I did expect more from the museum tour but the guy was very enthusiastic and told the story well. A good night out for those looking fir something a bit different. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-26
by on May 28th, 2017
5

An interesting night at an interesting venue, definitely worth a try. A few minor negatives though; the cocktails are quite expensive at £8 each, they were mainly ice and when I requested less ice this seemed not to be possible. There is limited access to the firepit for toasting the marshmallows and some groups were hogging it. Glad we went but won't go again. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-20
by on May 22nd, 2017
4

Staff member were very kind and helpful Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-20
by on May 22nd, 2017
5

Great venue. And nice atmosphere easy to talk to staff. The bonfire is a great focus. And people chat to each other. The tour to the shaft of the tunnel is entertaining. It's not a cheap evening out with £5 a head tickets and cocktails of £8 and food a similar amount and was nice but some of our group went off to get more food after as they were still hungry. Warning , the happy hour only works on Fridays not Saturdays. But it's a nice evening out and quirky for those that like something different but it's definitely a dry evening activity. Rain would really be a problem. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-20
by on May 22nd, 2017
4

I really enjoyed it. The cocktails were delicious and we were served really quickly. The staff were super friendly too. It would be nice if there was a second open fire for roasting marshmallows. A good event, well organised. Would go again. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-20
by on May 22nd, 2017
4

Not really what we have expected, but still a very nice and original place in london worth seeing. The cocktails and the museums tour were particularly good. And what´s a night outside in a garden without marshmallows? Roasting these was probably my facourite part of the night. Thank you. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-19
by on May 21st, 2017
5

Excellent place and athmosphere! The cocktails were beautiful! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-06
by on May 19th, 2017
5

It looks better on the pics than in reality! Plus forget about sunset..you can't see the river from the (very short) top. but the cocktails were decent Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-13

Reply from MIDNIGHT APOTHECARY

Hi Costa, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you think the cocktails are decent but sorry you think the pictures are better than the reality. We seem to be flooded with pics on Instagram and Twitter of people posting their experiences which can't all be fake! Yes we are only 15ft above the ground - we're a rooftop but it's more about the garden itself and the atmosphere within it - and of course the incredible underground chamber beneath. And I'm afraid factually you are wrong about the view of the river - maybe you didn't look from the back of the roof near the tree - you get gorgeous glimpses of the river traffic from there. Maybe next time?!
by on May 15th, 2017
2

any others days coming ahead??

Reply from MIDNIGHT APOTHECARY

Hi Diana, many thanks for your review. Yes we are open every Friday and Saturday till the end of September.
by on May 14th, 2017
5

Amazing but I'm worried the plants will get squished. Could they build/put in a few more benches or seating areas so people don't end up perching on the herbs? Also, a medium amount of alchol in one drink option as the drinks were potent! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-06
by on May 9th, 2017
5

Great night, super cute venue! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-06
by on May 8th, 2017
5

really good, the tour guide was fantastic! Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-06
by on May 8th, 2017
5

I'm sorry to say we did not enjoy our time at the Midnight Apothecary very much. When I read 'roof garden' I thought it would be high up with views - this is not the case, it is about 1.5 metres off the ground. It was also quite a small space with not enough room for everyone to sit and the 'bonfire' was tiny. The cocktails were pricey which wouldn't have been a problem if they weren't so weak and bland! The bar was v small so the poor bar staff had to pick their way through the crowds calling out the name of whoever had ordered the drinks... it was quite chaotic. They were using disposable glasses and just threw everything into a big recycling bin... so wasteful. The museum was underwhelming, literally just a few plaques, books and knick-knacks. In fairness we didn't go down the shaft (that's what they really call it!) so maybe the tour would have made the experience better. The garden itself was pretty but just not suited for this kind of event in my opinion. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-06

Reply from MIDNIGHT APOTHECARY

Hi Kate, thanks so much for your feedback. I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your evening with us. There seem to be a few things you didn't like so I'll go through them in turn. We've never advertised our garden as high up. It is indeed a roof garden as it sits about 15ft above the ground on top of Brunel's world famous underground Grand Entrance Hall to the Thames Tunnel - which I understand you didn't visit during the evening. We are more of a secret garden which is indeed small and enclosed with wonderful peeks of the river from the garden. Your most surprising comment was that the cocktails are so 'weak and bland'. I will leave it to other reviewers to offer their objective feedback but if anything the feedback we get from our guests is that the cocktails are too strong! As for our disposable glasses, we recycle these - we are not allowed to have glass up on the roof for obvious reasons but we take great efforts with our recycling as you may have noticed with our brand new installed recycling bay. There are plenty of other 'high up with views' cocktail bars that might be more up your street. As for our prices, I think if you compare them with any other cocktail bar, let alone a botanical cocktail bar that uses premium (and where possible, local distilleries and breweries), and makes or grows all its own infusions and garnishes, you'll see you had a pretty good deal on Saturday!
by on May 7th, 2017
2
1 person(s) found this helpful

Great experience, cocktails a bit pricey. Very interesting talk about the history of the tunnel. Visited Brunel Museum Rooftop Garden on 2017-05-05
by on May 7th, 2017
4

It visited Midnight Apothecary and went down the shaft last summer and it was great. Really interesting to see the tunnel and the cocktails were great. I would recommend it for a relaxing and slightly different spring or summer evening out.
by on January 1st, 1970
4

Show Hide all