The Fire Stables

Book & Enquire for free

The Fire Stables photo The Fire Stables photo

Description

Tucked away just off from the High street of Wimbledon Village, the Fire Stables is the perfect restaurant. Open all day, every day offering everything from a light lunch to a half dozen oysters through to a delicious three-course dinner and of course Sunday roasts on Sunday's.

With its stone floors, exposed brick walls and leather banquette seating, the Fires Stables is the perfect restaurant regardless of the occasion.

Info

None
No queues normally
Happily Affordable ££
Wimbledon
18
None

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
12:00 22:30
12:00 22:30
12:00 22:30
12:00 23:00
12:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:30 22:30

Location

The Fire Stables
27-29 Church Road, London, SW19 5DQ

Area:
South London

Nearest station:
Wimbledon (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Pint of Lager £4.45
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £5.40
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £4.95
Bottle of House Wine £22.50
Bottle of Champagne £32.50

Menus



This venue serves British food.

(104 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Great food, great service. Love the new look. Visited The Fire Stables on 2018-01-01
by on January 9th, 2018
5

Absolutely brilliant night! The food was great and staff were friendly and attentive! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-12-31
by on January 1st, 2018
5

Generally very good but service was very slow considering the place was empty. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-12-21

Reply from The Fire Stables

Hello, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear your overall experience was very good. I am very disappointed to hear the service was slow. I can assure you this is not a regular occurrence. We hope to see you back at The Fire Stables and show you the excellent service we can provide. Kind Regards Charlene Fire Stables team
by on December 28th, 2017
4

Well the food was great and we were well fed. However the service was unenthusiastic and drippy. We were there for our small local business Christmas meal. We were the only table in the back so it was not busy and, the atmosphere was therefore dull. Not Christmassy at all, apart from the cheap crackers. We were sat for a good 5 minutes before I asked for our drinks order to be taken. Food was served hot but then we were pretty much forgotten about after all our courses, thus leaving me to find the waitress for the bill. Shame. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-12-19

Reply from The Fire Stables

Hello, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear the food was great. I am very disappointed to hear you found the service unenthusiastic. We pride ourselves on providing an excellent service so I am sorry you felt this was not provided. It would be great if you could please send an email to firestablesevents@youngs.co.uk so I can find out a bit more information on your booking. I will be having a meeting with the team to find out what went wrong on the 19th December. We hope to see you again at The Fire Stables and have you leaving with a positive experience. Kind Regards Charlene Fire Stables team
by on December 20th, 2017
3

Received confirmation of my booking for 3.45pm at 9.15pm on the same day so suffice to say we did not go! Who offers the capability to enquire for a table and then sends confirmation after the time you wanted to dine? Amateur hour! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-12-17

Reply from The Fire Stables

Hello, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear you received your confirmation email late. I can assure you this is not a regular occurrence. I will have a meeting with staff to ensure confirmation emails are sent promptly. We would love to host you at The Fire Stables and have you leaving with a positive experience. Kind Regards Charlene Fire Stables team
by on December 18th, 2017
1

It was our 1st trip to the fire stables and had the xmas meal food was 1st class and so was service thank you very much Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-12-08

Reply from The Fire Stables

Hello, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you had a lovely Christmas meal and the service was 1st class. We hope to see you again at The Fire Stables soon. Kind Regards Charlene Fire Stables team
by on December 10th, 2017
5

Fantastic evening, Service was amazing, food was good, food portion very generous. The room was cold, but then I am sure had we raised the issue, there would have been a solution. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-12-07

Reply from The Fire Stables

Hello, Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to hear you had a lovely evening at The Fire Stables. We pride ourselves on providing an excellent service so I am delighted you received an amazing service. I am sorry to hear the Restaurant was cold. I can assure you if this issue was raised, a member of staff would have found a solution. We hope to see you again at The Fire Stables soon. Kind Regards Charlene Fire Stables team
by on December 9th, 2017
5

Food was good but not outstanding for the price. Staff were very pleasant but there was not enough of them which made customer service poor. In over two hours we were never asked once if we wanted more drinks, dessert or coffee. The staff were very pleasant when called but should customers have to do this? The leather benches to the rear were very uncomfortable after an hour. For those of us slightly older it made the experience worse than it should have been. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-11-26

Reply from The Fire Stables

Sorry to hear you experience was a poor one here, if you could give me a call on 0208 946 3197 so I can pin point when you were here so I can discuss this further with my team. Thanks Rachael Deputy Manager
by on November 27th, 2017
3

Delicious food and wine, shame it wasn't a bit busier Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-11-23

Reply from The Fire Stables

Hi, Thank you for a positive review, With the Christmas period getting closer we will be filling out a lot more, Especially with our live lounge kicking off every Friday evening from 9pm. Thanks Rachael
by on November 24th, 2017
4

Excellent venue, lovely atmosphere and superbly managed. A great place for small groups. Very good food and reasonably priced wine list. Thank you! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-11-14

Reply from The Fire Stables

Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you here again soon. Thanks Rachael
by on November 16th, 2017
4

The restaurant is really nice. The personal really friendly . The food was nice the only thing I can say muy burger was over cocked . We had a nice experience . I have been there before and we al always happy. No doubts nice place to Go. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-11-11
by on November 12th, 2017
4

Good to see the place back to a gastro pub all be it slightly smarter than before. Still got that cosy comfortable feel with pleasant staff with simple well cooked food. However it is disappointing that they have scrapped the fresh fish bar which I thought was a great idea and made it different, shame. We will be back soon although the limited menu means not as often as we could be. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-10-27
by on November 7th, 2017
4

We are so pleased to see the place back as a gastro pub, we live locally and have been going to the Fire Stable for years. The new look is more sophisticated but thankfully it has nt lost any of its welcoming charm. However although the food was good the menu is limited which would make it difficult to eat there regularly as we used to. Also we really liked the fresh fish bar which we understand has been scrapped now - shame. JH Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-10-27

Reply from The Fire Stables

Hi There, Thank you for taking your time to write us your thoughts, we love to hear all feedback and glad we have almost succeeded with you. Sorry to hear you thought our menu was slightly limited, but with the festive season fast approaching we will have a wide selection of menus available. We look forward to your visit soon. Rachael Deputy Manager
by on October 30th, 2017
4

Amazing food, friendly service and good atmosphere. Would be nice to see range of lagers increased from two. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-10-28

Reply from The Fire Stables

Hi There, Thank you for taking your time to write us your thoughts, glad to hear we are heading in the right direction. As for the lagers? this is something we are aware of and due to limited space on the bar its difficult to increase, that's why we have a wider range of bottle lagers. We look forward to seeing you soon. Rachael Deputy Manager
by on October 29th, 2017
4

Great place, nice atmosphere and lovely service. Oysters to start were fresh & delicious. However, the fish & chips were not great. The batter was very thick, covering a half decent piece of fish. I’ve had much better from a simple fish & chip shop. Also the chips are too thick so are dry in the middle. It’s a shame as the place has potential but if a fish restaurant can’t get simple fish & chips right then you can forget about it. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-10-21
by on October 23rd, 2017
3

Staff were great food (for my birthday treat) was very very average. Repeat visit? Doubt it. 😪. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-10-17
by on October 18th, 2017
2

Service was very pleasant but quite slow: there just weren’t enough staff on for a busy Sunday Lunch service. Food was tasty but textures were all wrong: chicken over cooked, gravy thin, vegetables under seasoned. Overall a bit disappointing Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-10-15
by on October 16th, 2017
3

Good choice of mains and we both went for fish - my partner enjoyed his good sized portion of fish and chips and I had Cornish hake which was cooked perfectly. There was a good choice of wine by the glass and the wine list in general was quite extensive. I finished my dinner with a very decent sticky toffee pudding. The service was pleasant and unobtrusive. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-09-23
by on September 24th, 2017
4

As much I love this pub,,, lunch today was disappointing especially as we invited friends to eat... Having raved about the amazing Sunday roast. Today it was cold, .. the beef very chewy (normally melts in mouth) cold potatoes and gravy Not up to your usual high standard! Hasn't put us off coming back, but not great today Sorry ! E jervis Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-09-23
by on September 24th, 2017
2

I went with 2 friends to have the Sunday roast, specifically for the roast potatoes. To say these were a disappointment is an understatement since they were BOILED and just 'shown' some oil with some light colouring. They were far from being crisp let alone crunchy. (I did tell the waitress when she enquired if everything was OK). The beef and veg were good but the whole dish was so heavily salted as to render it almost inedible. One friend said the chicken was dry, came with no stuffing and the carrots rock hard (I didn't have the carrots since I wanted more of the potatoes). The other friend had the lamb shank and was put off by the gritty coating on it which she could not identify. This establishment should lose the word 'best' on their website until this is sorted. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-09-17
by on September 19th, 2017
1

Disappointing food - Hake was a very small portion and came with cold peas and beans . We were told this was intentional for them to be cold but not described as such on the menu. We arrived at 7.30 pm for dinner and we're told there were no oysters or whitebait available. Service and ambience were good. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-09-09
by on September 10th, 2017
3

3rd visit in last month food was excellent Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-09-06
by on September 7th, 2017
5

Staff and atmosphere were good but running out of two of the Sunday roast lunch options by 3pm was very poor. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-09-03
by on September 4th, 2017
4

Excellent quality food. Service was impeccable. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-08-12
by on August 13th, 2017
5

Very nice meal and friendly staff Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-07-16
by on July 19th, 2017
4

There were two lunch menus on the table. One was for 1 course, 2 course, 3 course. The other was the normal menu. About half hour we arrived they took the normal menu away and advised that we had to order off the course menu. When I questioned as to why we cant eat of the main menu they then confirmed that I am correct and we can order off that menu. We all ordered fish and chips and a drink. When we got the bill we were all charged £23.50 each for our meal which is the 1 course price. When I questioned this they corrected the bill but it felt like Fire & Stable was really trying to just get a minimum £23.50 spend per person.......even for just fish and chips! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-07-16
by on July 17th, 2017
3

Unfortunately we didn't have not the food, not the service expected for the level of bill that we paid. To start with, we ordered a basket of bread and olives and the olives were like the sainsburys basics, no marinated in anything, no different types, just basic green olives! Considering yu have the gorgeous Bailey&Sage round the corner how come they don't serve the best produce?? The bread with the anchovies tapenade was a misleading share-platter as there were only 1 anchovie! Then we were disappointed to hear that a few of the seafood starters weren't available (Saturday 7pm dinner!) so only a couple of us ordered something the broccoli soup (really watery) and the prawn cocktail (only 3 prawns on it) which for the price of it you would have expected something else. The mains were again a depressing experience, the burger came with no relish or sauce on it just the brioche bun, a big lettuce leaf and the meat and as a side... french fries, LOTS of them, as if somebody has pour a big handful of them, no nice presentation, no little basket with them, there were all over the burger!! We did complaint to the waitress that there was no question asked on what type of chips or side coming with the mains and her excuse was "everybody likes french fries so we don't give options" :-0 we are astonished by the attitude and the lack of service all together. All of this happened 3 weeks from opening so I do hope the overall experience has improved, otherwise another place that will close their doors in the coming months which is a shame, as Village neighbours we would like for all of them to thrive. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-22
by on July 12th, 2017
1

We had a great meal about 10 days ago and decided to book for my daughters birthday last night. We were so disappointed to find a set Wimbledon menu with a minimum price of £32.50 for 2 courses. An increase in the prices we had paid only 10 days ago. We felt that the price was inflated because of the tennis and was too expensive for the food we had. My starter of Chicken terrine was bland and my steak was good but nothing above average. Service was acceptable. We had thought that the newly revamped Fire Stables would become a regular for us as we live locally but feel we were ripped off just because Wimbledon is on. Clearly profiteering- Not impressed!! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-07-11
by on July 12th, 2017
1

Would highly recommend this restaurant. We received a warm welcome, the service was attentive and excellent and the food was delicious. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-07-07
by on July 8th, 2017
5

Excellent service. Staff could not have been more accommodating of our large family table with young children. We had been to Fire Stables several times before it became a burger place, when it was a burger restaurant and now as a fish restaurant,this is the best the food and service has been Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-07-02
by on July 3rd, 2017
4

The service was fantastic however two dishes were unbelievably not good. The special fish (plaice) was overcooked and tasted like flour. And the Tiramisu was all cream and nothing else. So very disappointing. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-06-16
by on June 21st, 2017
3

I was able to make a booking for Father's day on the Friday just before and we were seated at a great table by the fold-aside doors on a fantastic sunny day. The service was attentive and our meals were great. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-06-18
by on June 19th, 2017
4

Would have been 5 stars - all round excellence including service, food and redesign except that we feel option of fillets should be offered alongside whole fish (plaice and sea bass). Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-06-16
by on June 17th, 2017
4

Although the food was very good, the service was mediocre. For a gastro pub the food was over priced. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-06-09
by on June 10th, 2017
3

Lovely staff and venue. My chicken was very salty and the sea bream was slightly raw. Starter of scallops was delicious. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-06-03
by on June 4th, 2017
4

New interior very nice and comfortable food was good but very limited menu and unfortunately the blackboard with the fish available was in a very uncustomer friendly place, we could not see it and we had to ask our waitress who answered in a manner of fact way, not rude but just well it is on the board and did not explain very well, one other couple in the restaurant asked the same and got the same reply and he had to get up and take a photo of the board on his mobile, not really acceptable. Such a shame because we frequented the old Fire Stables frequently as we work locally. Not sure we will be back for a while.... Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-06-02
by on June 3rd, 2017
3

Excellent food and service and good atmosphere. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-06-01
by on June 2nd, 2017
5

Great food, great service, look forward to coming again! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-28
by on May 29th, 2017
5

The food was great, we all had fish. My whole seabass was very fresh and delicious and the sides were tasty and seasonal. I am giving 3* because the service was not great. The waitress was very pleasant but we were neglected for most of the evening, shame really. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-25
by on May 26th, 2017
3

Interesting and varied menu. Fresh fish was a welcome change from the usual Village fare. We will certainly go again Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-24
by on May 25th, 2017
4

The restaurant has been refurbished nicely. Food: The fish and chips meal was very good. The burger and chips meal was average. The thin chips were not well cooked. This client needs to be offered the option of thick cut chips. I asked for a ginger ale and was given a ginger beer. As it had been opened I accepted it, but not a lot of people like ginger beer as it has a very strong flavour. thanks. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-21
by on May 22nd, 2017
3

Very very good food, lovely atmosphere , delicious pork belly, scallop starter. Surprised that the dressed crab was brown crab, not what I was expect but should have asked in advance , otherwise wonderful evening, we'll be back ! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-20
by on May 21st, 2017
5

All in all, we had a good night and i enjoyed my grilled sea bass but The Fire Stables could improve a few things: - menu: my vegetarian friend didn't have a vast choice, I would have liked to find a nice healthy salad (the lamb Ceasar didn't appeal to us at all), - drinks: one of my friends ordered a Bellini that barely tasted of peach purée. The cosmos were okish. - the process of entering the orders in the iPad makes it all quite lengthy and the waiter seemed a bit puzzled. - the fish dishes were good but my husband's meat was over cooked. - my friend (who had the disappointing Bellini) and I had the brownie and she had asked to replace the peanut ice-cream for rhum raisin which the waiter wrote down and we both ended up with a scoop of vanilla ice cream in the end. i asked her to not complain because we were having a fun night together. Thank you for taking the comments into consideration and good luck in making the little adjustments to make the Fire Stqbles a great place. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-17
by on May 18th, 2017
3

It was great experience and I have been before for drinks and snacks, as I came for lunch with two friends Saturday 13th May, we enjoyed it but the menu could have more choice of vegetarian, that's only thing that could change but so far so good and I would recommend Fire Stables to family and friends Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-13
by on May 14th, 2017
4

Really like that the Fire Stables is back to how it used to be, a proper gastro place! Wimbledon Village is the perfect place for it. Nice wine and food and good service! Will be going back!!! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-12
by on May 14th, 2017
5

Lovely tasty food, well presented & a great atmosphere! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-11
by on May 12th, 2017
4

Once again I found the service to be very good but the quality of the food a little disappointing. The sea bass I had was too dry and the accompaniments rather sparse. Lovely decor and friendly atmosphere but I think the Fire Stables as it was before provided a better quality of food. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-06
by on May 8th, 2017
3

After its recent make over, the Fire Stables has a good buzz about it. Nice menu, with emphasis on fish, although the rather limited and disappointing display cabinet in the entrance did not inspire confidence. The food was fine, but nothing to rave about, so we left feeling a bit disappointed. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-06
by on May 7th, 2017
3

Service slow, -fish and chips extremely soggy, fresh fish definitely better option to go for Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-06
by on May 7th, 2017
3

The service was excellent. My companion and I only had a main course. I chose a burger which was fine but not anything special. Returning tonight so will try something different. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-05
by on May 6th, 2017
3

Staff were friendly and hopeful and food was good. Just not a return to the former Fire Stables that we loved. The menu is quite small and no longer child friendly. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-05-01
by on May 2nd, 2017
3

Overpriced and unsure what it is. The menu is part pub, part restaurant. Cooking quality is sadly not good enough to warrant the 100% restaurant prices. My scallops starter was let down by poor cooking and lack of seasoning. The scallop was cooked through but not browned in the pan. The pea puree wasn't as smooth as you'd like and also needed a good twist of salt. The best thing about the starter were the scraps of batter. Unfortunately there were too few of them! My main was turbot from the catch of the day board. Nicely cooked and seasoned ok. Sides of jersey royals were ok but the asparagus with anchovy hollandaise should be avoided at all costs. The asparagus itself was cooked nicely but the sauce was a car crash. A pot was part filled with chopped anchovy, sauce poured on and topped with more anchovy. It just didn't work. Pudding of Lemon thyme crème brulee with shortbread was best described as "meh". Needed more thyme I think to live up to the name. My wife fared no better with her choices. Neither of us felt it justified the £140 bill for pub food. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-22
by on May 2nd, 2017
3

We came to the recently reopened Fire Stables on Good Friday and had a lovely meal with really excellent service. So much so, when we were asked for a venue suggestion for last night we had no heatitation in suggesting we go back. Sadly, we could have been in a completely different restaurant. From the moment we walked in, the staff seemed disorganised and slightly confused. The meal did not start well when two of the six members of our group ordered the whole Bream for their main course only to be told about 10 minutes later that they had run out. Why did they not check and inform us earlier? The food that arrived was quite simply one of the worst meals I have had in recent years. Various elements of my meal were missing (no roasted artichokes) the roast potatoes were cold and over cooked. The Yorkshire pudding was tasteless and had clearly been made some while earlier and left to go cold. The fish & chips ordered by one of my group were described as the worst he had ever tasted with soggy batter and over-cooked fish. There genuinely wasn't a single positive comment from around the table. To make matters worse, the service was non-existent and we actually had to get up from our table to find someone to order more wine and water. I really hope this is a serious blip and that normal service will be resumed as soon as possible. There are so many things that favour the Fire Stables; a great location and tasteful decoration and ambience. If the food could match then I could see this as a great addition to Wimbledon Village. If not, the Fire Stables deserves to close. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-30
by on May 1st, 2017
1

Lovely food and atmosphere but slightly dispointing serivce as it was very slow between courses Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-28
by on April 29th, 2017
4

Staff were really friendly and the new décor is great. We visited for a meal with friends on Sunday evening (having reserved the table the week prior). Unfortunately there was hardly any of the main courses left on the menu. More were no longer available than were. Felt like poor planning - the kitchen knew that 4 people were coming for a meal and there were others in the restaurant after us as well so clearly a demand. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-23
by on April 24th, 2017
3

The surroundings and atmosphere were excellent, the food was excellent, but unfortunately the service was very slow. Apologies were made and there was an awareness of slow service by the management but there was obviously something wrong in house with staff numbers. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-21
by on April 24th, 2017
3

Good service and venue. Main course portions seem small for the price, particularly the Pork Belly - very disappointed, considering of all the parts to a pig, this is in the cheaper range of cuts. Tasty food but based on value for money, we won't be going back. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-15
by on April 23rd, 2017
3

lovely evening - good food friendly and efficient staff and lovely ambience very much improved from before. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-21
by on April 22nd, 2017
4

The waiter was professional and brilliant. The food although good could have been better. My sea bass was undercook and even tough they replace it it did put me off a bit. Not sure I'll be back for food but definitely will go back for drinks. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-21
by on April 22nd, 2017
3

It's great to have the Fire Stables back in Wimbledon Village and the Sipsmith gin and seafood tasting night was a lovely event - informative and tasty! We look forward to coming back and sampling the Fire Stables' main food menu. Thank you for looking after us. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-19
by on April 20th, 2017
4

We really enjoyed our seafood and gin tasting evening. Sipsmith rep was very knowledgable. Food was delicious. Our first visit to the Fire Stables, will not be our last! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-19
by on April 20th, 2017
5

Lovely unique decoration and cosy. Great to see the menu back up to a high standard. Can't wait to return. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-19
by on April 20th, 2017
5

We are delighted with the return of the Fire Stables, sorely missed. The refurbishment and new look decor has been tastefully thought through. Sadly the service was not what it should have been, having to wait one hour for our main course. I hope this was just teething trouble and service will improve quickly. Also it needs to decide if it is a pub or a restaurant first - the 'nouvelle cuisine' portion sizes left us all very hungry, particularly after such a long wait. All in all disappointed but if this is all addressed, have no doubt will be a huge success. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-17
by on April 18th, 2017
2

Service was very good. Undercooked beans in hake cassoulet were not pleasant. We were given discount on the food as a result. Otherwise food was very good. Ladies loos needed attention Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-16
by on April 17th, 2017
3

The curse of culinary mediocrity has taken yet another wimbledon village restaurant venture down. This coveted little piece of real estate... wimbledon village, just doesn't seem to allow anything other than a brewery owned or multi franchise restaurant chain to afford its location and the reality is that the the village does not have one proper restaurant worthy of making an occasion to dine in. The newly refurbishes Firestables gave a hint that this had changed. It is beautifully refurbished with a good mix of current design trends -muted subway tiles, chesterfield sofas and dimly lit bookcases with relevant local memorabilia. I really thought, ok these guys may have raised the bar, but sadly this is not the case. The seafood focused menu at first sight appears to have potential but nearly every dish fails to deliver anything near what is expected in this day of culinary excellence. A real shame Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-15
by on April 16th, 2017
2

Great food, in a well-designed space. Enjoyed a drink by the fire after dinner; nice addition to Wimbledon Village Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-13
by on April 14th, 2017
4

Had a fantastic evening great food and champagne Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-12
by on April 13th, 2017
5

We had a lovely lunch on Friday and I took the family back on Saturday for dinner. Its great to have a predominantly fish restaurant back in the Village after many years. Good food and service especially Becky and Jack It would be nice to have the option of gluten free bread as I am a Coeliac and a glass of Pimm's would have been very welcome considering the glorious weather. We will definitely be returning in the near future Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-08
by on April 10th, 2017
4

1. DO NOT PLAY MUSIC. IT WAS SO LOUD THAT WE COULD NOT HEAR EACH OTHER TAKE! 2. SERVICE WAS VERY FRIENDLY. 3. FOOD: A. THE SCALLOPS WERE EXCELLENT. B. THE SQUD WAS TOO SALTY. C THE MAIN COURSES WERE SATISFACTORY BUT LACKED THAT FACTOR WHICH WOULD MAKE THEN OUTSTANDING 3. THE FISH DISPLAY WAS SPARCE AND LACKED ANY PRESENTATION. 4. EXPENSIVE FOR THE GENERALQUALITY OF THE FOOD AND PRESENTATION Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-07
by on April 10th, 2017
3

So.... very average. Nice environment after the recent refurbishment. I had roast beef, the boss had fish and chips. Both were OK, but no more than that. Wine OK, reasonable price. Service pretty slow (waitress efficient enough, but food took a long time coming), considering the place was pretty empty. Overall, I won't hurry back. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-09
by on April 10th, 2017
3

Really good, lovely food and good service Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-08
by on April 10th, 2017
4

Fantastic food, attentive service, lovely evening. We will be returning soon Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-08
by on April 9th, 2017
5

Very impressed, great food and service Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-08
by on April 9th, 2017
5

Great place , service slow but waiter very helpful and menu could with a few more choices. Will definitely go back glad they are back in Wimbledon. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-08
by on April 9th, 2017
4

Excellent food and wine, fabulous service and we're loving the new cosy decor! We will definitely recommend to friends and will re-visit soon! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-07
by on April 8th, 2017
5

Quality of daily special fish was abysmal Starter scallops only cooked on one side and had to be sent back Table service staff were good but food service was very slow. Wine list was an improvement on the usual Young's standard. Room was pleasant. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-07
by on April 8th, 2017
2

Lovely friendly staff and delicious food. Definitely worth a visit. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-04-05
by on April 6th, 2017
4

Great location, good food and good service - so overall an enjoying evening Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-03-11
by on March 13th, 2017
4

If you're seeking good food, this place exceeds expectations. Must try's include the dirty fries and bloody mary's! Portions are great for sharing but there is also an incredible sharing menu option.
by on March 8th, 2017
5

awesome customer service especially with kids and food was super yummy thanks guys!! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-02-26
by on February 28th, 2017
5

Good venue to bring the kids to. Kids like it, we like it. Money well spent! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-02-18
by on February 20th, 2017
5

My daughter is a burger fan so we decided to visit for her birthday lunch on Saturday. We are fans of gourmet burgers so had high expectations, On the positive side the layout and design of the restaurant / bar is good as it is modern and spacious. On the negative side there was no special lunch menu. We expected to see the usual lunch time deal with a main and dessert offered for a set price. Instead we were presented with the dinner menu which had various burgers for £13.50 to £18 which is expensive. The kids menu was also too small and basic so my 8 year old ended up selecting a starter from the main menu. The food was decent quality but we were not asked how we wanted our burgers cooked. My daughter's burger arrive rare and my was well-done which was the opposite of what we would have selected and we couldn't swap as mine was lamb. Final nail in the coffin was that sparkling water was charged at almost £4.50 per bottle which is too expensive. Overall we were very disappointed, can understand why the place is always empty and we will not be returning. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-02-18
by on February 20th, 2017
2

used same venu before and service great and efficient Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-02-12
by on February 15th, 2017
5

Decent burger, decent service, decent price. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-02-11
by on February 13th, 2017
4

Very enjoyable evening. Decent food Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-02-11
by on February 13th, 2017
4

Fantastic! Great food and very helpful staff. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-02-05
by on February 7th, 2017
5

Pleasant staff & loved the alcoholic shakes ❤ Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-01-28
by on January 30th, 2017
5

Wonderful food, wonderful service, already planned to visit again! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-01-28
by on January 30th, 2017
5

Excellent food and very good service. I took my 7 year old and 5 year old grandsons and it was perfect for them. Good kids menu and plenty of space. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-01-22
by on January 24th, 2017
5

Food was lovely and would come back again only criticism being that staff need to be a bit more attentive as we felt like we were left between services for quite a long time before ordering food however staff were friendly and cheerful, nice Saturday evening out would recommend this place! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-01-21
by on January 23rd, 2017
4

It was absolutely fantastic, the best burger I have ever eaten! Keep up the excellent standard! Will definitely be back!!!!! Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-01-15
by on January 17th, 2017
3

Service was impeccable, and the staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful. My only criticism would be the food. The burgers were bland and under seasoned whilst the fries appeared to be out of a packet. So, full marks for service, but the food is a bit of a let down. Visited The Fire Stables on 2017-01-08
by on January 10th, 2017
4

Group with 5 children under 5 years of age allowed their children to run, at speed, all around the seating areas which really ruined the experience as it went on for almost 45 minutes. Staff did nothing about it and a couple walked out before placing their order. Food would have been good had we not felt we had to rush it to leave to get away from the thudding and screaming of the children running around. Visited The Fire Stables on 2016-12-30
by on January 1st, 2017
3

Food was great, service impeccable. Friendly staff, lovely establishment...my one criticism is that the burger buns were slightly greasy/glazed....I also forgot to redeem my free drink voucher :( I won be going there again and you should too! Visited The Fire Stables on 2016-12-23
by on December 25th, 2016
4

Excellent friendly service, booked table in last minute and was confirmed quickly. Food was very satisfying, left with happy tummies. And big thanks to waitress for looking after us. Visited The Fire Stables on 2016-12-18
by on December 20th, 2016
5

We had a wonderful evening at Burger Shack last week. The staff were very accommodating and the space was perfect for our office party comprising over 100 guests. The burger and vegetarian boards worked perfectly to satisfy some very hungry appetites. Altogether a very good evening and a lovely atmosphere. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Visited The Fire Stables on 2016-12-15
by on December 19th, 2016
4

Empty restaurant on a Friday night !! no atmosphere, food was not good at all with one starter being so burned that I refused to pay for it. Visited The Fire Stables on 2016-12-10
by on December 12th, 2016
1

fantastic customer service, yummy burgers, great atmosphere. Visited The Fire Stables on 2016-12-09
by on December 12th, 2016
5

Great night. Very well organised by Bridget at Burger Shack. Lots of food. Everyone had a really good evening. Visited The Fire Stables on 2016-12-09
by on December 11th, 2016
5

Good vibe, nice burgers, very good service. Had Christmas party there, from booking a table till the end - everything was perfect! Visited The Fire Stables on 2016-12-09
by on December 11th, 2016
5

Excellent service and food, I was happily surprised Visited The Fire Stables on 2016-12-04
by on December 6th, 2016
5

Some of the main courses were cold and although I understand the concept of the restaurant most of the food is deep fried and heavy. I would not return because it is uninspiring as a menu and not very original. However, the service was faultless and the staff were without exception friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us. Visited The Fire Stables on 2016-12-02
by on December 4th, 2016
3

nice food i like very mucho Visited The Fire Stables on 2016-11-26
by on November 28th, 2016
4

We have been to Burger Shack on numerous occasions and really enjoyed ourselves. As a result we decided to have my husbands birthday party there last Friday. We were extremely disappointed that it took well over an hour to bring out 2 standard platters for our guests. When I complained to the staff they weren't particularly helpful (bordering combative) and did very little to speed up the process. My husband works locally and was considering having his work Xmas function there but unfortunately that will not be the case after Friday night's experience. Visited The Fire Stables on 2016-11-18
by on November 21st, 2016
3

Show all Show fewer


If you like The Fire Stables, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.