The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Book & Enquire for free

The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns photo The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns photo The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns photo The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns photo The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns photo The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns photo The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns photo The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns photo The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns photo The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns photo The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns photo The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns photo The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns photo

Top Events @ The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

(View More)
Pub Quiz More
Every Tuesday

Description

The Islington Townhouse, a stone’s throw from Angel Station, is fast becoming a spot known for its craft beers and sumptuous dining plates. Run by The Hippo Group, this beautifully decorated and perfectly positioned pub boasts a comfy cocktail bar, plenty of dining space and countless sofas to relax with a bottle of wine.

Spread over three floors, including several upstairs areas available for private hire, the Townhouse’s décor follows a traditional English pub theme with a few eclectic touches; a newspaper clad mannequin welcomes you to the upper floor underneath an ornate chandelier. Exploring the charming maze of the old townhouse allows you to find your perfect nook or cranny, as each room lends itself to a unique atmosphere; from the spacious vibrancy of the main bar to the plush homeliness of the snug.

Bringing fresh twists to pub classics, the Townhouse offers a culinary experience for all, whether you opt for sharing dishes (we recommend the crispy squid tentacles and calmari!) or frequently updated larger dishes drawing inspiration from nearby neighbour, Chapel Market, all at affordable prices.

With craft beers and ales sourced from local London breweries and including favourites such as Fourpure and Beavertown, we pride ourselves in finding exciting and uncommon selections. The Townhouse is also home to a wide range of new and old world wines, handpicked by Hippo’s Master of Wine, John Clevely. With a cocktail list that includes all your favourites, plus a few more, the Townhouse offers a drink to suit all tastes, best enjoyed with a heavenly slice of banoffee pie and a large helping of good company.

What's on

To see all upcoming events view the full event calendar.


Pub Quiz

Pub Quiz

Every Tuesday

Fancy a mid-week brain stretch? Want to impress the cute girl from marketing? Our weekly quiz night is recruiting those...

Sipsmith & Double Dutch’s Gin Jaunt

Sipsmith & Double Dutch’s Gin Jaunt

Wednesday 24 January 2018

Save water, drink gin! Discover the art of making the perfect G&T and learn about the history of one of the most...

Bathtub Gin Old Tom Club at The Islington Townhouse

Bathtub Gin Old Tom Club at The Islington Townhouse

Wednesday 31 January 2018

Buy a Bathtub gin and the bar to get a token to join the secret gin experience. Head up stairs and travel back in time...

Offers / Promos 2

Make a booking to claim these offers below

Offer Details Availability
Bottomless Brunch Every Saturday from 10am - 4pm, make your brunch bottomless with a £15 add on and get unlimited prosecco or Bloody Mary's for 2 hours! Saturday 10:00 - 16:00
2 For £10 Cocktail Hour! 2 For £10 Cocktails from 5 - 7pm, Monday to Thursday Monday 17:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 17:00 - 19:00
Wednesday 17:00 - 19:00
Thursday 17:00 - 19:00

Info

Door Charge may apply
9pm
Happily Affordable ££
Islington
18
Disabled Toilets
None
Bottomless Brunch, 2 For £10 Cocktail Hour!

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 23:00
11:00 00:00
11:00 00:00
11:00 00:00
11:00 22:30

Location

The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns
13 Liverpool Road, London, N1 0RW

Area:
North London

View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Pint of Lager £4.40
Pint of Real Ale £4.00
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £4.45
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £5.60
Cocktail £7.00
Spirit and Mixer (50ml double shot and mixer) £4.70
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £6.50
Bottle of House Wine £18.60
Bottle of Champagne £46.60
Jaeger Bomb £6.50

Menus

Lunch Menu (available weekdays until 4pm) Download
Dinner Menu (available weekdays past 4pm and Saturdays) Download
Saturday Brunch Menu Download
Sunday Menu Download
Bar Snacks Menu (available weekdays from 4pm and Saturdays) Download


This venue serves British, Brunch and Roast Dinner food.

A word from the chef:
Whilst we pride ourselves on finding the freshest and most appetising ingredients available, this does mean that our menu tends to change daily, alongside our usual specials and food offers. Sample menus are shown below but be prepared to check out what's new when you come on down!

Private Hire

Name Type Capacity
Seated
Capacity
Standing
Cost Min spend
Midweek*
Min spend
Weekend*
The Attic Private Room 25 30 0 750 1000
The Lounge Private Room 20 40 0 750 1000
Snug Private Room 16 25 0 300 450
* The minimum spends are a guideline only and vary according to the day and time of the year.

(66 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

Brilliant experience. We were looked after superbly. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-12-15

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Thank you for your breath taking review! We are very looking forward seeing you again here at the Town House!
by on January 10th, 2018
5

Very friendly. Good food and great service. Will definitely be returning. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-12-18

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Wow! Thank you for your wonderful review. I will pass this onto our team as well. Have a lovely Christmas and New Year's -and see you soon!
by on December 19th, 2017
5

Once again a fabulous Christmas dinner for my team at the Islington Townhouse. The staff were super accommodating and helpful and the food arrived quickly and was super delicious! If you're thinking about having a small party, then I would definitely recommend the Townhouse. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-12-13

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Hi, Thank you for your amazing review! We are very glad to hear this. Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year's -and hope to see you soon!
by on December 14th, 2017
5

Really bad and rude staff. Won´t recommend this place to anyone Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-12-12

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Hi there, I'm very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience here at the Townhouse. Would you be able to email me on info@islingtontownhouse.co.uk So we can talk about this a bit more?
by on December 14th, 2017
1

Thanks to Jasmina and the team. The Christmas season has well and truly begun with a bang! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-12-08

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Thank you for your amazing review. We are very glad to hear that you had amazing time with us. Have a fantastic Christmas -and we can't wait to see you again here at the Townhouse!
by on December 13th, 2017
5

I do love this pub but didn't have the best experience for my birthday. I had booked a table for 7.30pm for some of my friends but upon arrival, the booking hadn't been put out. After speaking to a lovely staff member, she then gave us a table, although sadly, it was one which belonged to another booking. Which meant halfway through the night, some of their group got pretty angry towards me which isn't fun, especially when a) its your birthday and b) you've been designated the table. But of course because I had no paperwork to show for it, it meant I looked like a liar! Add that to the fact that service at the bar was awfully slow, my girlfriend ordered 2 drinks and the barman got them both wrong claiming he was "being blind tonight" I know its Saturday night, but there was no one else at the bar! Sad really, so we moved on, but It won't stop me coming back, I do enjoy the cosy atmosphere in here! Paul Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-12-09

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Hi Paul, We are very sorry to hear this. Would you be able to email me on info@islingtontownhouse.co.uk so we can talk this through? X
by on December 13th, 2017
2

Awesome xmas meal and love the venue. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-12-11

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

We are glad to hear this. Have a fantastic Christmas -and we are looking forward to see you again!
by on December 12th, 2017
5

AMazing food, great service, superb atmosphere, I really can't fault it. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-12-08

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Amazing -thank you so much! Can't wait to see you back at the Townhouse!
by on December 11th, 2017
5

Thank you for being accommodating with our booking. We really enjoyed our evening downstairs. Thanks again! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-12-02

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Thank you for your amazing review. Hope to see you soon!
by on December 3rd, 2017
5

Lovely, charming venue - the staff put our party of 15 into a cosy little nook all of our own and there was a cute bar just next door. Our barmaid Kaya was fabulous and looked after us wonderfully. But the food service was truly appalling. I asked when booking if we could order on the night and was told yes. When we arrived at 7pm we were told there were a couple of big tables but we could order food at 7.45-8pm and would be prioritised. At 8pm we were told there was a lead of 1h on food orders, but we ordered a selection of snacks and starters anyway. They managed to give us about 5 dishes at about 9pm but the bulk of the dishes eventually arrived at 9.30pm, by which point 5 people had left to find food elsewhere and many others who were keen for main meals had long given up on ordering it. The bar lost out on lots of orders, and we were hungry. The quality of the food itself was good. Was pretty disappointed that the barman offered us one drink to compensate. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-12-01

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Hi there, I'm very sorry to hear this. Would you be able to email me on info@islingtontownhouse.co.uk and we can chat about this bit more?
by on December 3rd, 2017
2

Lovely interior, good service, overall always a great experience. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-11-25

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

5 stars.. wow! Thank you for your wonderful review -see you soon!
by on November 27th, 2017
5

Our table was ready for us and the food was really good. Although staff were very friendly and helpful, we had to ask to order our food and dessert came out minus the ice cream which appeared when we'd eaten the chocolate fondant. But a nice place and we would go back. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-11-26

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear that ice-cream accident, we will make sure this won't happen again -and hopefully see you soon!
by on November 27th, 2017
4

We had an amazing time on Saturday afternoon. There was quite a large group of us but we were all able to sit together and the staff were so helpful, friendly and attentive.We couldn't have had a better experience - thanks! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-11-25

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

This is fantastic to hear! I will pass this onto our team -thank you!
by on November 27th, 2017
5

Loved the evening love the quiz hostess will be back next week Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-11-14

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

5 stars... Thank you! We are glad you enjoy our Quiz Tuesdays, see you soon!
by on November 16th, 2017
5

This is a really nice pub, in a great location, that's reasonably priced for the area. There was a variety of people there for different purposes but no rowdy groups, which was nice. Would definitely recommend it and would visit again when back in the area. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-11-09

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Thank you for your review! Hope to see you soon when you are back in the area!
by on November 10th, 2017
4

Good atmosphere and very buzzy. Friendly staff. Will be back! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-11-09

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Amazing to hear! Can't wait for your next party!
by on November 10th, 2017
4

Had a great time at the pub quiz, the quiz master was hilarious and controlled the room really well. She went at a good pace - had a great night! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-11-07

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Fantastic to hear - Hope to see you again soon!
by on November 9th, 2017
5

I had a leaving party in the Snug and it was very cosy and nice. The music was great and there were some very interesting cocktails. The only issue was that the area smelt of cigarette smoke that was sometimes quite strong. But all in all it was a lovely evening It is a good place for a celebration. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-11-03

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

So glad to hear you had a great evening with us! I will take a note of the cigarettes and pass it further. Thank you!
by on November 4th, 2017
4

Good night as always. Booked the top floor for a leaving do and all was good. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-11-01

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

5 stars, that's amazing! Thank you, hopefully see you soon!
by on November 3rd, 2017
5

Great venue for a meeting. Friendly and helpful staff and I would definitely recommend The Islington Townhouse to anyone wanting to organize a function. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-11-02

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

This is fantastic to hear! Thank you for your amazing review. See you again soon!
by on November 3rd, 2017
5

Love the venue. Service was a bit slow but the staff were very nice when they did attend to our table. The salmon nicoise was tasty but small - needed more leaves on it. The roasts that were ordered were good by all accounts. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-10-22

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Thank you for your review. I'm going to make a note of this! See you soon!
by on October 23rd, 2017
4

Love the space, deco, the separate available rooms and alcoves and the food is apparently great according to my non vegan friends. Will most definitely be coming again. Thank you very much for having us Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-10-20

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are reducing are menu -more vegan options available soon! Hopefully see you soon.
by on October 21st, 2017
5

Pleasant time had by the Taylor Wimpey team and guests. We hired the top room out for our function and it was just right size for our party. The food was lovely Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-10-06

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Great to hear this! Please keep us in your mind for next venue places. See you soon!
by on October 9th, 2017
5

Great service, lovely food and a gorgeous venue. It was a brilliant evening. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-09-21

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Thank you for your review. Glad you had great time with us!
by on October 6th, 2017
5

Lovely venue and great service. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-09-21

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Brilliant to hear Carla, hopefully see you soon!
by on October 6th, 2017
5

The staff were really nice but left us to it. The venue (upstairs room) is amazing and was the perfect setting for our away day. Thank you for a great day. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-10-05

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Thank you for your review, it's lovely to hear that you had a great day! See you soon.
by on October 6th, 2017
4

They were great to book with, fast response and a lovely area and overall it was a lovely venue but the service was really slow. They forgot our drinks order and we had to remind them 20mins later - they had none of the menu champagne on ice so we were told we would have to wait for it to chill again 20 mins and then when we ordered prosecco instead that took 10 mins + even though it was prechilled. I think if they got the service right and the drinks prechilled they would have made more money on the day. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-10-01

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry to hear this! Would you be able to email me on info@islingtontownhouse.co.uk so we can discuss this further!
by on October 2nd, 2017
3

Great venue and even better stuff. Hosted BDAY yesterday for about 12 people and had amazing time. Never seen staff this friendly before. Thanks a lot guys. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-09-16
by on September 17th, 2017
5

Great venue, helpful & attentive staff, nice drinks. Went here for a book club and it was brilliant. Will definitely come again. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-09-12
by on September 13th, 2017
5

Lovely quirky little place with a really nice chilled atmosphere. Great for a casual Sunday lunch and the staff were really nice and helpful too. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-09-10
by on September 11th, 2017
4

A very cool pub with great decor. Aww came for Sunday roast and initially for put on small round tables suitable for drinks not food and had to request a table suitable for eating although we specified in booking we would be dinning. Food generally was good bar the roast potatoes were undercooked so I choose not to eat mine. Sweet potato and chickpea bake was incredible. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-09-10
by on September 11th, 2017
3

We held a party for around 40 people on Saturday night. Intensive communication for planning by email and phone was really helpful. Food and drink was perfectly served. Staff were very kind and competent. We had a bit too many participants as we were nearly packed. Nevertheless, I can definitely recommend you to choose here if you are planning a small party for 10-30 people because of the superb advantages I wrote above. Thank you! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-09-09
by on September 10th, 2017
5

lovely attentive staff! Great atmosphere too Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-09-01
by on September 4th, 2017
5

Service was awful beyond belief. Food was little and expensive. Worst pub experience in London Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-09-02

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Hello, We apologise that you did not have a good visit! Are you able to give us the date of your visit so we can look into this? Kind regards, Islington Townhouse
by on September 3rd, 2017
1

They had our reservation for the wrong time so we almost couldn't get our table (even though I emailed a few days before confirming what time we needed to arrive for the pub quiz). The quizmaster mentioned several times he just wanted to get it over with, which put a damper on everything. They 'ran out' of chicken for the chicken buckets, so instead just passed one serving off as two servings... then a while later brought out full-sized chicken buckets to other people in our party. And then some of the chicken was undercooked. I mean, when it rains it pours. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-08-22
by on August 23rd, 2017
1

Party of 10, bottomless brunch deal, small, casual wedding party Arrived at 1pm to find they'd given us the room in the top floor which was nice and secluded, perfect for our day. They let us order from the lunch menu instead and just added the proscecco deal onto that. Food was very good quality & value and we were very well looked after by the terrific staff who were keen to keep our proscecco topped up as often as asked even though they were understaffed for the first couple of hours. Ended up staying all evening as well. We had a fantastic day, such a lovely venue, very grateful to the staff and to the event organiser Joely who took our booking and was thoughtful and flexible with all our requests. Will visit again and recommend to all in future x Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-07-29
by on July 31st, 2017
5

Great pub. Good choice of wines and right near the tube to stumble home after! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-07-29
by on July 30th, 2017
5

Staff were great. Atmosphere was great. Food... over priced and not that great. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-07-18
by on July 19th, 2017
2

Lovely comfortable space. Helpful, nice staff. Would both return and recommend. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-07-06
by on July 7th, 2017
5

Once again - Islington Townhouse staff were on top form - helpful, friendly and welcoming . We were a small group this time - but received 5 star service . Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-07-03
by on July 4th, 2017
5

Great team of people. Very welcoming, would definitely use this venue again. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-05-16
by on June 16th, 2017
5

Cocktails lovely in the upstairs bar. Service was friendly. Food was nice but it took about 40 mins plus for a burger, sausage and mash and a cheese board to arrive. So that was disappointing... Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-06-14
by on June 15th, 2017
4

Joely's effiency & communication is exceptional ! She conveyed to the staff team at The Islington Town House exactly what our group wanted when it met last Monday . Everything was perfect - a quiet area closed off in a busy bar for our group's meeting, friendly and helpful staff and a welcoming environment ... very many thanks to all involved at The Islington Town House . Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-06-05
by on June 7th, 2017
5

Thanks to the staff at The Islington Town House for your friendly service and helpful manner that helped made our first meeting a success as a newly formed group of work colleagues . We look forward to seeing you again . Patti and Julia.. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-05-22
by on May 24th, 2017
5

Lovely space fro a meet up. Staff great and very helpful. one issue with a food order that was resolved with out any problem. Many thanks, we will be back. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-05-10
by on May 11th, 2017
5

We all had a fun evening and enjoyed the quiz night - will be back. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-05-09
by on May 10th, 2017
4

The staff are always so helpful and accommodating when we book celebrations here! Excellent service, great food and great music! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-04-21
by on April 22nd, 2017
5

Excellent night. We were from 'out-of-town' and the Islington Townhouse were wonderfully helpful with very fast responses to questions while we e-mailed back and forth to get our night just right. All the staff on the night were extremely pleasant and helpful, the canapés were absolutely delicious and our birthday evening was a great success. Thoroughly recommended this great venue. Thank you Islington Townhouse. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-04-07
by on April 10th, 2017
5

Absolutely amazing people work here! All the staff was super lovely and so chill, all our guests had such a great time. When we ran out of food you guys helped get more out really quickly and on top of that it was delicious. The goats cheese tart disappeared in a second and got so many compliments! I'd recommend the Islington Town House any day!!! Xxx Nina Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-04-08
by on April 10th, 2017
5

Absolutely love the Townhouse! The staff are always super friendly and the food is amazing. So many great little nooks to explore, love the secret cocktail longue upstairs. Really recommend the espresso martini! I'll be back!
by on March 24th, 2017
5

The food was terrible and the service was bad. I had a salad that had table salt all over it making it nearly inedible. My husband had a fish and chips that had only a handful of chips, a tiny pot of peas and fish that consisted of more batter than actual fish. We went to watch the 6 nations, only to arrive and find that the staff had forgotten to put the game on and one of the TVs didn't work. I ordered a glass of wine and it turned out the bottle had been open for days and the wine had gone off. I had to ask for a new bottle to be opened. When I did so, the bar staff acted rude. We won't recommend this place and will be posting to trip advisor. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-03-18
by on March 19th, 2017
1

Terrible. Took nearly an hour for food to arrive and then burgers were cold and fish and chips very greasy. They said they were short staffed, but it was a quiet Monday lunch time and not very busy. Server also had poor knowledge of beer on offer, and menus were wrong so told several times things were not available. Won't be going back. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-03-06
by on March 8th, 2017
1

We had a great afternoon and with the Manchester United match on - it was absolutely perfect. Thank you. Margaret Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-03-04
by on March 6th, 2017
5

The pub is really well decorated - very cosy and inviting. All I would say is that there should really have been more people on the bar to meet the demands of customers and service was relatively slow. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-01-31
by on February 1st, 2017
4

The food served was delicious and excellent value for money. The service was good and our waitress was enthusiastic and always a smile. Had a very good Burns Night. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-01-25
by on January 26th, 2017
5

Fantastic staff, great atmosphere, very comfortable and will definitely be coming back! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-01-07
by on January 8th, 2017
5

I cannot rate the Islington Townhouse high enough. The food was excellent and the service was beyond friendly and welcoming. I had nothing but compliments from our whole team on the food, which was inspired and a real refreshing take on a Christmas party. Coming from a group of finance workers who eat mainly in 5 star restaurants in the city their praise was a lovely complement to a pub I myself have now named my local. We will be back. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2016-12-16
by on January 3rd, 2017
5

The service wasn't very good. We didn't get the starters we ordered at all. We were grateful you fitted us in at the last minute. Probably wouldn't come again. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2016-12-31
by on January 2nd, 2017
2

Lovely staff, lovely food and great atmosphere!!! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2017-01-01
by on January 2nd, 2017
5

Fab lunch. Twice baked soufflé amazing. Him indoors loves the octopus carpaccio but I preferred the saffron gin. And the other two I tried as well! Excellent service and a lovely atmosphere. Second visit and there will be more! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2016-12-27
by on December 28th, 2016
5

The bar staff were so rude we stayed for one drink then left I've only put one star because I couldn't leave it blank! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2016-12-22

Reply from The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns

Hi, thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. The staff member you have mentioned has spoken with me about yesterday evening. I do apologise if she came across as rude, we were rather busy yesterday and were a little short staffed. I appreciate that this is not an excuse, merely an explanation. Please do pop back in so we can show you this is not our normal practice. If you have any further concerns, please do not hesitate to ask for Gavin. Regards, Gavin O'Brien
by on December 23rd, 2016
1

Great atmosphere, music and Christmas Dinner. They flair do a good roast on sunday highly recommended Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2016-12-17
by on December 20th, 2016
5

great customer service, good venue situated over a few floors. Worth a visit. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2016-12-14
by on December 15th, 2016
5

The staff were so helpful and accommodating - great food and drinks and our charities were very happy. The decor inside was lovely and it was a really good day, thank you so much to the brilliant staff for all their help! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2016-12-08
by on December 12th, 2016
5

Great service and lovely space. Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2016-12-09
by on December 12th, 2016
5

The pub is such a nice place - staff was really cool! Will defo come back! Visited The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns on 2016-12-09
by on December 10th, 2016
5

Show all Show fewer


If you like The Islington Townhouse - Hippo Inns, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.