The Vestry

Book & Enquire for free

The Vestry photo The Vestry photo The Vestry photo The Vestry photo The Vestry photo The Vestry photo

Description

Previously a vestry within St. Sepulchre’s Parish, The Vestry is a new wave wine bar concept a stone’s throw from Smithfield Market.

A wine selection steeped in provenance paired with seasonal plates of fresh, bright British ingredients with a seafood focus. They use the Coravin wine system to serve high end wines by the glass.

Tailoring events to your needs, the Vestry has private hire space for buffets, wedding receptions, corporate hire and more. The Vestry is also available for full exclusive private hire on weekends. They strive to keep things fresh, holding regular food and beverage sampling evenings, private masterclasses, and live music performances from a diverse selection of up and coming blues and jazz musicians.

Info

None
No queues normally
Happily Affordable ££
Farringdon
18 For Alcohol
Disabled Toilets
None

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
- - Private Hire Only
17:00 23:00
17:00 23:00
17:00 00:00
17:00 00:00
17:00 00:00
- - Private Hire Only

Location

The Vestry
117 Charterhouse Street, London, EC1M 6AA

Area:
Central London

Nearest station:
Farringdon (Tube)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £5.25
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £5.65
Cocktail £13.00
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £8.40
Bottle of House Wine £24.00
Bottle of Champagne £42.00

This venue serves Seafood, British, Tapas and Breakfast food.

Private Hire

Name Type Capacity
Seated
Capacity
Standing
Cost Min spend
Midweek*
Min spend
Weekend*
The Gallery Private Room 30 50 300 400
Full Exclusive Private Hire Venue Hire 55 80 750 1000
* The minimum spends are a guideline only and vary according to the day and time of the year.

(43 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

We used The Vestry for a private hire and the service was incredible! Thank you Milo for looking after us so well. The food was incredible and they were very helpful with our constant lunch schedule changes! THANK YOU xx Visited The Vestry on 2018-03-06

Reply from The Vestry

Hi, We're glad to hear you had such a good time with us and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Sarah
by on March 7th, 2018
5

The people who looked after us - Sarah and Milo, were a pleasure to work with and tried to be as accommodating as possible. Whilst it was a great day, i was disappointed in the food. The sandwiches sounded very gastro and being a pub i thought they would be hearty - but sadly they were very small, crustless and everyone was left feeling very hungry. They also didn't look particularly appetising - just a bit brown limp and squashed. The morning drink arrangement was tough too - whilst Milo was lovely and trying to get everyone the coffee they want i think it would have been best given our numbers - to have a number of pre brewed pots up front on the bar so that people didn't make it to the end of the room, get bottlenecked and stuck. In the end milo went around to try and get almost 24 peoples order but many people received cold coffees etc and it felt quite delayed an unorganised. Again i wish to stress what a delight Milo was and he did his best, i just think the overall experience could have benefitted with some prior planning. Since the price per head was quite expensive considering there was so little food and difficult access to the bottomless drinks - wouldn't be happy to pay this price again. I would re-book again but only if the food was different and with a thorough pre planned order of the day sent in advance with as much detail as possible. thanks for everyones efforts and help. Bella Visited The Vestry on 2018-02-28

Reply from The Vestry

Hi Bella, I'm truly disappointed that you're experience wasn't what you wanted. I'm afraid there was a communication issue in the kitchen's organisation about which bread was to be used, it was meant to be a lot more substantial. We apologise for the coffee situation and following this we are going to work out a method to improve this service for the future. I assure you that if you come again it would be a much improved experience. Please email me at foxandanchor@youngs.co.uk when you'd next be interested in coming and I will work with you to ensure this. Kind regards, Sarah Sales & Marketing Coordinator
by on March 1st, 2018
3

Staff did a great job with good humour despite ongoing issues with the computerised system during our stay. Visited The Vestry on 2018-02-24

Reply from The Vestry

Hello, Thank you so much for your patience and understanding! We had a power surge during the day which left us with some ongoing issues. We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Sarah
by on February 26th, 2018
4

We arranged our staff party with you and we could not have asked for a better night, the staff were amazing and the venue was just perfect. Thanks again! Visited The Vestry on 2018-02-06

Reply from The Vestry

Hello, We're so happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves so much! We hope to see some of you again soon. Kind regards, Sarah
by on February 14th, 2018
5

Perfect for our party of 30 odd people, very easy to deal with. Plus a great custom cocktail for the night. Cheers! Visited The Vestry on 2018-01-20

Reply from The Vestry

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review. We're very happy you enjoyed your party with us. Kind regards, Sarah Sales & Marketing Coordinator
by on January 23rd, 2018
5

Wonderful again. 2nd year in The Vestry for Xmas Breakfast. Food and service excellent again. Thanks. Colin Stone Visited The Vestry on 2017-12-22

Reply from The Vestry

Hi Colin, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you later this year! Kind regards, Sarah
by on January 15th, 2018
5

Being able to reserve the 'back room' was ideal as our party at the Charterhouse could continue to after their 10:30 deadline. The staff were really accommodating and allowed us to stay until almost one o'clock - we had orginally said we would be clear by midnight.. My only quibble was the quality of the wines - we had a white Rioja and a Chilean Merlot from the cheaper end of the list, and they were pretty uninspiring. Visited The Vestry on 2018-01-12

Reply from The Vestry

Hello, We're glad The Gallery was perfect for what you needed and that you enjoyed your night with us. Next time please feel free to ask us for some recommendations and we'll be happy to find you a wine to suit you. Kind regards, Sarah
by on January 13th, 2018
4

Brilliant venue for a private party. Food and service were excellent, room had character and atmosphere. Perfect for our Christmas party - thank you! Visited The Vestry on 2017-12-13

Reply from The Vestry

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. We hope to host you for party again soon.
by on January 4th, 2018
5

Staff were helpful, venue was ok for what we needed, however feedback from the food was mixed I think people that choose the Salmon main were not impressed as it was swimming in far to much oil and the barley grain it came with was tasteless needed some sort of seasoning. Saying that those you chose the Christmas dinner said it was nice. We did have to get the glasses on the table changed as some of them were filthy and not just dishwasher marks. Overall not bad as there was quite a few of us and would go again. Visited The Vestry on 2017-12-20

Reply from The Vestry

Hello, We're sorry that not all the food was up to standard on your visit, we're making notes for next years menu from all the feedback we've received so it will be noted. We also apologise that the glasses had not been cleaned in the machine well enough we try to avoid this from happening. However, I'm glad to hear you liked the venue and that the staff we helpful and accommodating, it's the level of service we always try to provide. We're happy that this experience didn't dampen your view of us and a big thank you for taking the time to leave a 4-star review! Kind regards, Sarah
by on January 3rd, 2018
4

Really fun time at the quiz Visited The Vestry on 2017-12-29

Reply from The Vestry

We're happy to hear you enjoyed the quiz and thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We hope to see you again soon.
by on December 30th, 2017
5

Service was lovely and the food was generally good, However, we were informed part-way through our meal that our table had to be returned two hours after we had arrived, a matter about which I had not been informed when booking or upon arrival. As the service was not especially quick - which would not otherwise have been an issue - this was disappointing and created some pressure. Moreover, many of our main courses were lukewarm at best. Visited The Vestry on 2017-12-17

Reply from The Vestry

Hello, We're sorry you were not made aware of the time restrictions. These details would've been on the booking confirmation but I apologise that you were not reminded upon arrival. Standing at the bar for drinks after your meal is something we'll always be happy to accommodate. I apologise you did not find the service quick enough, that you felt rushed and that you found your food lukewarm. I assure you that if you spoke to a member of staff about this we would've worked hard to make up for it. We hope to see you again to give you our usual good impressions. Kind regards, Sarah
by on December 18th, 2017
3

Great food and settings. Staff took the trouble to look after us. The only bad dish was the yoghurt! Avoid avoid avoid Visited The Vestry on 2017-12-13

Reply from The Vestry

Thank you for the positive review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sorry you didn't enjoy the yogurt for breakfast.
by on December 14th, 2017
5

Food was ok, not huge portions, roast potatoes were not great. Table we were at was very cold. Visited The Vestry on 2017-12-11

Reply from The Vestry

Hello, We're sorry you weren't happy with the portion sizes we work to provide great food. I apologise you found your table cold, if you spoke to a member of staff we could've put the heating on higher for you. Kind regards, Sarah
by on December 12th, 2017
3

Looked after us really well. Food excellent so hope to be back next year! Visited The Vestry on 2017-12-07

Reply from The Vestry

We're glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the positive review and we hope to see you again soon.
by on December 8th, 2017
5

Good food, excellent private room - very good and friendly service Visited The Vestry on 2017-11-30

Reply from The Vestry

We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best, Sarah Sales & Marketing Coordinator
by on December 1st, 2017
5

I hosted a work event here last night and have only positive things to say! The staff were extremely attentive throughout the evening and were very friendly. The food was amazing and the drinks really nice too. Will most definitely use the pub again for a work event and recommend to others. Visited The Vestry on 2017-11-29

Reply from The Vestry

I'm glad you enjoyed your event with us and we look forward to seeing yourself and colleagues again soon. Best, Sarah Sales & Marketing Coordinator
by on November 30th, 2017
5

Really friendly, helpful staff and lovely venue Visited The Vestry on 2017-10-27

Reply from The Vestry

Thank you for such a positive review and we're glad we could make your time here so enjoyable. Hope to see you again soon.
by on November 1st, 2017
5

Fab. Will definitely be back! Visited The Vestry on 2017-10-10

Reply from The Vestry

Thank you for your 5 star rating! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
by on October 11th, 2017
5

Very good. Lovely atmosphere. Just right for pr dinner drinks. Visited The Vestry on 2017-09-13

Reply from The Vestry

Thank you for your positive review! Hope to see you again soon. Best, Sarah Sales and Marketing Coordinator
by on September 14th, 2017
5

The Vestry never fails to deliver on a good evening. Visited The Vestry on 2017-09-01

Reply from The Vestry

We're glad you enjoyed your time at The Vestry and hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Sarah Sales & Marketing Coordinator
by on September 4th, 2017
5

I had a great time at the Vestry. I usually go to Fox and Anchor(next door) but I will now consider the Vestry. It was a great idea to have beer, wine and vodka tasting in the back. It was great to catch to the representatives about their products. The band was also great. The canapes were delicious. Thank you for organizing such a beautiful evening. I will certainly be back. Visited The Vestry on 2017-09-01

Reply from The Vestry

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our 1st Birthday party and that you'd come back again. We're even going to be having a similar event at 5pm on September 12. It will be our Christmas Showcase so please join us as we start to get festive! Kind regards, Sarah Sales & Marketing Coordinator
by on September 3rd, 2017
5

Great location. Good food! Would visit again. Visited The Vestry on 2017-08-08
by on August 9th, 2017
4

Absolutely brilliant breakfast. Waiters/servers were so helpful, nothing too much trouble and all the breakfasts arrived on time and all together. Food was first class. Thanks so much and would highly recommend to others. Visited The Vestry on 2017-08-02
by on August 3rd, 2017
5

Lovely intimate space. Highly recommended. Visited The Vestry on 2017-08-01
by on August 2nd, 2017
4

Gorgeous venue and friendly staff. Overall a good experience. :) Visited The Vestry on 2017-07-19
by on July 20th, 2017
5

Staff were really helpful, food was lovely and setting was perfect for our team away day. Would definitely recommend. Visited The Vestry on 2017-07-11
by on July 12th, 2017
5

A really relaxing evening with lovely drinks and food. Friendly staff. Visited The Vestry on 2017-06-29
by on June 30th, 2017
5

Fantastic - thank you SO much Mark and your team for a fabulous event. The venue was perfect for the 27 we had there. The food tasted as good as it looked (which was REALLY good!) and the service was fab too. Everyone who came said how much they had enjoyed it and how delicious it all was and how lovely to have breakfast in "canape" form. A huge thank you. Visited The Vestry on 2017-06-15
by on June 16th, 2017
5

Fantastic friendly staff Delicious food Beautiful venue Visited The Vestry on 2017-05-21
by on May 22nd, 2017
5

Cheers all - you were superb. Scotch eggs were legend! Visited The Vestry on 2017-05-18
by on May 19th, 2017
5

Great Venue - lovely food and good attendance from the staff. A bit of a mistake on two of our orders meant that two of the 14 at our table were left waiting a long time for their meals but apart from that a great experience. Visited The Vestry on 2017-04-11
by on April 13th, 2017
4

Attentive service & lovely food made for a great evening. Thank you! Visited The Vestry on 2017-03-31
by on April 3rd, 2017
4

Lovely space,good selection of drinks and very helpful staff Visited The Vestry on 2017-03-20
by on March 21st, 2017
5

We were celebrating a special occasion which was made even more so by the attentive staff and stunning venue. A big thank you to the team and to Mark for being so accommodating with all my requests. Visited The Vestry on 2017-02-11
by on February 17th, 2017
5

Excellent Service and lovely atmosphere Visited The Vestry on 2017-02-11
by on February 15th, 2017
5

Our breakfast on 23 December as been going on for 25+ years and we were delighted that The Fox and Anchor could accommodate 12 of us in The Vestry, their new bar next door. The bar management catered for some of our specific requests and Hannah looked after us on the day. The food and drink were superb, especially the bloody Mary's and the City Boys Breakfast! Many thanks to The Fox and Vestry management and in particular to Hannah. We will be back. Visited The Vestry on 2016-12-23
by on December 28th, 2016
5

Good service provided all evening. Visited The Vestry on 2016-12-16
by on December 20th, 2016
4

Had a great time, from arrival to departure the staff were friendly and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were hot when they arrived and food was amazing. Will definitely return next year. Visited The Vestry on 2016-12-15
by on December 16th, 2016
5

Good venue, staff very obliging and nice food. Visited The Vestry on 2016-12-13
by on December 14th, 2016
5

Food was tremendous, service was great, we had a great experience - although the timings were a little out, the food didn't arrive all at once but in different stages, this could be improved upon hence the reason for only 4 stars Visited The Vestry on 2016-12-06
by on December 13th, 2016
4

The buffet food was very good and would recommend it to groups. Staff & service was excellent. I look forward to visiting again to try the full menu. Visited The Vestry on 2016-12-09
by on December 12th, 2016
4

Brilliant venue and fantastic service. Staff were extremely attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Would strongly recommend! Visited The Vestry on 2016-12-08
by on December 9th, 2016
5

We had an office drinks party at the Vestry for 40 people and were very well looked after - food was excellent and the staff were great. Its a friendly, welcoming bar and perfectly placed with the Fox & Anchor right next door which is one of the best, old-school boozers in London. Visited The Vestry on 2016-12-07
by on December 8th, 2016
5

Show all Show fewer


If you like The Vestry, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.