The Plough Clapham

Pub
{{currentVenue.offers.length}} Offers Available!

{{offer.title}}

{{offer.availabilityDays}} between {{offer.availabilityTimes}} , {{time}} {{offer.availabilityNumPeople}} ( Valid from {{offer.start_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} to {{offer.expiry_date | date:'d/M/yy'}} )

{{offer.description}}



Make a booking to select an offer

{{numPeopleNote}}

Ok

Sorry, there are no times available to book on this date.

Go back

Please note:
{{restrictionNotes}}
Back
{{venueName}} This venue has availability at these times:
We couldn't find any availability around the times you specified, but you can still make an enquiry.

Type of enquiry

Booking confirmed

Woohoo! Your booking at {{venueName}} is confirmed. You will receive confirmation via text and email shortly.

Thank you for booking with DesignMyNight.com

Enquiry received

{{venueName}} We have successfully received your booking enquiry and will get back to you as soon as possible. You will be contacted by the {{venueName}} team shortly.

We have received your booking enquiry and we will work with {{venueName}} to confirm your booking. You will receive confirmation of this enquiry via text and email shortly.

Name: {{booking.first_name}} {{booking.last_name}}
Date: {{booking.date | date:'EEEE d MMMM'}}
Time: {{booking.time}}
Guests: {{booking.num_people}}
Checking availability..

Oops!

The Plough Clapham photo The Plough Clapham photo The Plough Clapham photo The Plough Clapham photo The Plough Clapham photo The Plough Clapham photo The Plough Clapham photo The Plough Clapham photo The Plough Clapham photo The Plough Clapham photo The Plough Clapham photo

Top Events @ The Plough Clapham

(View More)

Description

The Plough Clapham is a fantastic modern day gastro serving up original Anglo-American tapas style dishes with a delicious selection of drinks. Laid back and serene, the venue welcomes guests throughout the week and serves up stunning brunch, lunch and dinner.

With its open plan setting and various, colourful seating areas, the venue acts as a social and fun neighbourhood bar, where diners are comfortably placed in a relaxed restaurant space and drinkers merrily socialise at the bar or in the bar lounge. Things are purposely kept light here. Rustic in appearance, the rough wooden table tops, sleek furniture and almost-industrial colour scheme works well together, and perfectly complementing the venue's relaxed mantra.

At the weekends The Plough is lively with DJs and Claphams locals relaxing after a long week working. The bar is stocked with a fantastic range of beers on tap and a forward thinking but well priced wine list. Crucially, the venue's food menu never fails to put a smile on your face. Composed of small plates and intended for sharing, the chefs serve classic American dishes that have a distinctive British twist. Burgers are just the start; think cornflake fried chicken wings and Oxtail nuggets. 

What's on

To see all upcoming events view the full event calendar.


Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday

Every Thursday

Every Thursday we throwback to our favourite tunes of yesteryear.Come grab a couple of drinks and get the weekend party...

Soulful Start to the Weekend

Soulful Start to the Weekend

Every Friday

Lets get to the heart and soul of the matter.You want your weekend to start off in the best way?Come and join us every...

Saturday Soundtrack

Saturday Soundtrack

Every Saturday

Every Saturday our favourite people from CTM Recordings come down and play the best eclectic mix going, from funk to...

Best Quiz in Battersea

Best Quiz in Battersea

Every Sunday

Every Sunday evening we host a quiz night. So grab your roast and Bloody Mary for your brain food before the...

Cocktails: Shaken Up

Cocktails: Shaken Up

Wednesday 19 July 2017

Think you know your classic cocktails? We're putting a twist on your favourite classics. We'll be joined by...

Secret Meantime Menu

Secret Meantime Menu

Thursday 27 July 2017

For one night only Meantime will be here with a perfectly paired menu. A selection of our delicious new small plates...

Offers / Promos 1

Make a booking to claim these offers below

Offer Details Availability
Meantime Secret Meu On 27th July Meantime will be here pairing their beers to some our small plates, better yet the beers between 5-8pm will be on the house! Check our website for our menu for up to 25 guests Thursday 17:00 - 19:30

Info

No Door Charge
No queues normally
Happily Affordable ££
Clapham
No restrictions
Pub
Wheelchair Access, Disabled Toilets
None
Meantime Secret Meu

Hours

Day Open Close Notes
10:00 23:00
10:00 00:00
10:00 00:00
10:00 00:00
10:00 00:00
10:00 00:00
10:00 22:30

Location

The Plough Clapham
89 St John's Hill, Clapham, SW11 1SY

Area:
South London

Nearest station:
Clapham Junction (Rail)
View on Citymapper
View on Google Maps

Menus

Drink Prices Price
Pint of Lager £4.00
Pint of Real Ale £3.70
Bottle of Lager (330ml) £3.90
Bottle of Cider (568ml) £5.00
Spirit and Mixer (50ml double shot and mixer) £7.50
Glass of Wine (175ml measure Large ) £4.50
Bottle of House Wine £16.00
Bottle of Champagne £45.00

Menus

Main Menu, available 1pm-10pm Download
Brunch Menu, available 10am-1pm Download
Sunday Menu available 1-9pm Download


This venue serves Brunch, Pub Food, British, American and Bar Snacks food.

A word from the chef:
You can't come to The Plough Bar & Kitchen without taking a peek at our delicious Anglo-American inspired menu – perfect to enjoy with a drink from our bar. We have a passion for fresh food. Our menu includes sliders, small plates, daily specials and much much more. To see the menu click here: http://www.theploughstjohnshill.co.uk/whats-cooking

(73 reviews) Show all Show fewer



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

It was a really nice place in terms of atmosphere but they had run out of most of their menu so everything we wanted to eat wasn't available. Ended up going somewhere else for dinner. visited The Plough Clapham on 08 Jun 2017
09 Jun 2017 by
3

Food fab! Waitress was great! Atmosphere really good! Will definitely return x visited The Plough Clapham on 02 Jun 2017
03 Jun 2017 by
5

Great service. Tasty food, especially the full English. visited The Plough Clapham on 28 May 2017
30 May 2017 by
5

I did go to the Plough, but because I called in to make the booking. I never actually had a call back to confirm my booking as was stated in the email.... The food was delicious so I am glad I called in, however i did not enjoy sitting on the very dirty sofas - they really need to be re-upholstered. visited The Plough Clapham on 21 May 2017
22 May 2017 by
3

Great beer, atmosphere and decor. Food however was not. To be fair, the burgers looked great but I ordered beef brisket which was more like beef jerky and it was on a couple of tortilla chips with guacamole (not worth anywhere near £7!) and I ordered 'mash avocado' where I was given a pestle and mortar with ingredients to make or 'mash' my own guacamole (also not worth £6-7) especially when I had to make it myself! The starters need to be better. If they can fix that then I'd give this place 4 stars as it could be really great on all fronts. visited The Plough Clapham on 19 May 2017

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Dear Sir/Madam I am sorry to hear that your visit was not what you expected particularly with your food . I have passed you comments onto my head chef with regards to your beef brisket and have asked him to ensure that it's quality is looked at in light of your comments. I am sorry to hear that you also did not enjoy the " Mash at the table" which is an extremely popular dish. I really hope you can visit again and see that this has been a simple lapse on the day that you visited. Kindest regards Darren
20 May 2017 by
3

Great service, had a great time at my birthday party! Food was excellent, tasty and creative. Staff were so helpful and welcoming! I will return! visited The Plough Clapham on 29 Apr 2017
01 May 2017 by
5

Good food, good beer, friendly staff. Very nice, thanks! visited The Plough Clapham on 27 Apr 2017
28 Apr 2017 by
5

Thank you for hosting our party on Saturday afternoon, as always the service was great and we all felt very welcome. I will be back again soon. visited The Plough Clapham on 22 Apr 2017
24 Apr 2017 by
4

Our monthly book club venue delivered again! Our pre-booked table was laid out for us on arrival, attentive service and very tasty food - especially liked the mini corn dogs and chilli squid! See you next month with another book. visited The Plough Clapham on 20 Apr 2017
21 Apr 2017 by
5

All of the staff were super helpful and smiley, food was great and great atmosphere! Many thanks 🙂 visited The Plough Clapham on 06 Apr 2017
07 Apr 2017 by
5

The food was good when it finally arrived, however it took about an hour from when we ordered it. It was pretty clear that they'd forgotten our order, however failed to say that was the case which was disappointing. Not sure I'd return on this basis. visited The Plough Clapham on 05 Apr 2017
06 Apr 2017 by
2

Nice venue - quick and attentive waiting staff :) Food a bit too greasy for me. visited The Plough Clapham on 31 Mar 2017
03 Apr 2017 by
5

Perfect venue for our 17 people party of which 9 kids. Very spacious and food is good. Only negative on slow service. Kids were starving and food arrived more than 45m after orderin visited The Plough Clapham on 26 Mar 2017
27 Mar 2017 by
4

Brilliant afternoon night at The Plough! The staff were brilliant! Especially the brown haired bears guy! Will be back soon :) visited The Plough Clapham on 24 Mar 2017
27 Mar 2017 by
5

Food was nice, music at a level where you can have a conversation that doesn't involve shouting but to charge £2 for one piece of bacon because I wanted that instead of onions is pretty steep and you may want to re-think that. visited The Plough Clapham on 25 Mar 2017
27 Mar 2017 by
3

The roast was delicious and quite a decent portion. visited The Plough Clapham on 19 Mar 2017
20 Mar 2017 by
4

Really lovely brunch - saw the roasts coming out and think I'll have to go back and try one! visited The Plough Clapham on 19 Mar 2017
20 Mar 2017 by
4

We love The Plough in Clapham, always a good atmosphere! visited The Plough Clapham on 05 Mar 2017
15 Mar 2017 by
4

Excellent food and service from the waitress who was working only her second shift! Will definitely be back on another Sunday - thanks! visited The Plough Clapham on 12 Mar 2017
13 Mar 2017 by
4

Good service, good atmosphere, perfect place for a few Saturday drinks. visited The Plough Clapham on 11 Mar 2017
12 Mar 2017 by
4

Another lovely afternoon spent at the Plough. As always the food was great, our waiter was fab, and the atmosphere friendly and welcoming. visited The Plough Clapham on 05 Mar 2017
06 Mar 2017 by
5

My partridge was over-cooked & dry - otherwise it was just some cheap cabbage & s potato - not worth 15 pounds. Generally the food was poor. If you can't do quality food .. then bring the prices down. The 4 of us were put off eating here again. visited The Plough Clapham on 28 Feb 2017
01 Mar 2017 by
2

the service was terrible and I was left to feel like I was a nuisance. visited The Plough Clapham on 26 Feb 2017

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Good afternoon I'm sorry to hear that your booking was not honoured. Please could you call me on 02075851844 to discover what name the booking was made under so I may investigate further. I can only aploogise that the service you received was as you expected and is certainly not the standard of service we normally offer at the Plough. Kindest regards Darren
27 Feb 2017 by
1

Great music and food and really lovely helpful waitress. visited The Plough Clapham on 25 Feb 2017

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Many thanks for taking the time to give us such nice feedback and recognizing and acknowledging when things are done right. Many thanks Darren
26 Feb 2017 by
5

The restaurant refused to go out the online booking and we were turned away. Be wary, they are clearly more interested in filling their seats with whoever walks by, than honoring any commitment to an OpenTable booking... visited The Plough Clapham on 24 Feb 2017

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Good afternoon I'm sorry to hear that your booking was not honoured. Please could you call me on 02075851844 to discover what name the booking was made under as we do not use Open table as a booking platform Kindest regards Darren
25 Feb 2017 by
1

I didn't ever receive a booking confirmation. I presumed my booking was unsuccessful visited The Plough Clapham on 18 Feb 2017

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Good afternoon Please could you let us know under which booking this request was made and we will look into this for you? Apologies for any inconvience that this may have caused you. Kindest regards Darren General Manager
19 Feb 2017 by
1

Lovely bar, good attentive service and great food. Will definitely be visiting again. visited The Plough Clapham on 09 Feb 2017

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Many thanks for taking the time to give us such nice feedback and recognizing and acknowledging when things are done right. Let us know what we can do so that we may get those 5 stars next time you visit? Many thanks Darren Many thanks Darren
10 Feb 2017 by
4

Good relaxed place to meet with friends. Large Sunday lunch portions, delicious mains & puds. Friendly service. visited The Plough Clapham on 05 Feb 2017

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Many thanks for taking the time to give us such nice feedback and recognizing and acknowledging when things are done right, particularly for mentioning our wonderful roasts for which we have been receiving alot of wonderful comments Let us know what we can do so that we may get those 5 stars next time you visit? Many thanks Darren Many thanks Darren
06 Feb 2017 by
4

Absolutely brilliant staff, friendly and knowledgable and went above and beyond. The food was great as well. visited The Plough Clapham on 04 Feb 2017

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Many thanks for taking the time to give us such nice feedback and recognizing our staffs hard work and acknowledging when things are done right. Hope to see you again soon when perhaps I can offer you a round of drinks on me Kindest regards Darren
05 Feb 2017 by
5

Great food. Interesting service. Would definitely go again though. visited The Plough Clapham on 02 Feb 2017
03 Feb 2017 by
4

Lovely atmosphere. Everyone's food was wonderful. Will be going back! visited The Plough Clapham on 28 Jan 2017

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Many thanks for taking the time to give us such nice feedback and recognizing our staffs hard work and acknowledging when things are done right. Hope to see you again soon when perhaps I can offer you a round of drinks on me Kindest regards Darren
29 Jan 2017 by
5

Excellent service, friendly and helpful staff. A good wine list too. A great night! visited The Plough Clapham on 27 Jan 2017

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Many thanks for taking the time to give us such nice feedback and recognizing our staffs hard work and acknowledging when things are done right. Hope to see you again soon when perhaps I can offer you a round of drinks on me Kindest regards Darren
29 Jan 2017 by
5

Wonderful setting, tasty hearty good, friendly staff. Very easy to book with handy reminders. visited The Plough Clapham on 22 Jan 2017
23 Jan 2017 by
4

Great venue and was really looking forward to having some food and doing the quiz. Unfortunately, they had run out of food by the time we arrived (6:30pm) so we had to leave and go to Northcote pub instead to eat and play the quiz there :( It would have been helpful to receive a call prior to arriving at the Plough and finding out that there was no food as my booking was clearly stated as a dinner reservation. Will have to try again another time and hope they have food this time around!! Emily visited The Plough Clapham on 22 Jan 2017
23 Jan 2017 by
3

Great venue for lunch and a few drinks. loved the food! Small note, although the staff and venue are welcoming to families, it would be great to see a kids menu offered. visited The Plough Clapham on 21 Jan 2017
22 Jan 2017 by
4

Great food, great atmosphere. Easy to have work or social evening visited The Plough Clapham on 18 Jan 2017
19 Jan 2017 by
5

Yummy food and really friendly staff, will defo recommend to friends. visited The Plough Clapham on 16 Jan 2017
17 Jan 2017 by
5

Great food and attentive staff. visited The Plough Clapham on 03 Jan 2017
04 Jan 2017 by
4

Wasn't busy but a nice night all the same. Staff were lovely and generally a nice atmosphere in there visited The Plough Clapham on 31 Dec 2016
03 Jan 2017 by
3

Dirty, poor service, average food, extremely slow, poor quality drinks. Overall TERRIBLE visited The Plough Clapham on 27 Dec 2016
29 Dec 2016 by
1

it was good overall but table service for drinks was a bit slow. the food was great and the beer too visited The Plough Clapham on 21 Dec 2016
28 Dec 2016 by
4

Two of my colleagues had burgers and didn't expect them to be well done. Is the company policy? Our waiter and waitress were helpful and friendly. visited The Plough Clapham on 21 Dec 2016
24 Dec 2016 by
4

Really nice atmosphere - good foods and drink. The two staff were really helpful but they were so short staffed it everything was talking a while (and the 2 staff their certainly couldn't have worked any faster/harder) visited The Plough Clapham on 21 Dec 2016
22 Dec 2016 by
4

Service was a bit slow but ne'er standalone during this time f the year. Standard of food is ok but not exceptional! Staff was helpful and pleasant. visited The Plough Clapham on 17 Dec 2016
20 Dec 2016 by
3

Staff were fantastic and patient with our 4 children! Food good too. Thank you visited The Plough Clapham on 18 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
5

Fantastic sunday roast, yummy good service and relaxed atmosphere visited The Plough Clapham on 18 Dec 2016
19 Dec 2016 by
4

Great food and atmosphere. We had the Christmas set menu and couldn't finish it all! visited The Plough Clapham on 16 Dec 2016

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Many thanks for your great comments, we really appreciate it, the atmpsphere is always great this time of year and customers and groups like yourselves really make it worthwhile during what can be a very stressful time of year for those of us who work in hospitality. Hope to see you again soon over the festive period. Kindest regards Darren General Manager
18 Dec 2016 by
5

Brilliant atmosphere and delicious food visited The Plough Clapham on 16 Dec 2016

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Many thanks for your feedback we really appreciate it, particularly when you mention our food and have passed your comments onto the kitchen team who work extremely hard during the Christmas period. Hope to see you again soon over the festive period. Kindest regards Darren General Manager
17 Dec 2016 by
5

brilliant service, amazing food. Thank you so much. visited The Plough Clapham on 15 Dec 2016

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Many thanks for your feedback we really appreciate it, particularly when you mention our food and have passed your comments onto the kitchen team who work extremely hard during the Christmas period. Hope to see you again soon over the festive period. Kindest regards Darren General Manager
16 Dec 2016 by
5

Atmospheric, nice décor, good Mojitos, tasty burgers. visited The Plough Clapham on 13 Dec 2016

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Many thanks for your feedback we really appreciate it, particularity when you mention our great food and cocktails. Hope to see you again soon over the festive period. Kindest regards Darren
14 Dec 2016 by
4

Fantastic night, great service and atmosphere. visited The Plough Clapham on 10 Dec 2016

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Many thanks for the great feedback, we are glad you had an great night and received service and hope to welcome you again soon. Kindest regards Darren
13 Dec 2016 by
5

We really enjoyed our Christmas Dinner, the food was delicious, service great and the music was a plus. Thank you very much for the amazing time. visited The Plough Clapham on 09 Dec 2016

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Many thanks for the great feedback, we are glad you had an amazing time and hope to welcome you again soon. Kindest regards Darren
13 Dec 2016 by
5

Great food and ambience. Mains took ages to arrive, but we'll definitely come back again. visited The Plough Clapham on 10 Dec 2016

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Many thanks for the great feedback Apologies that your food took a little longer than expected. I would really like to personally welcome you back to the Plough, to show you that things run at a better pace than during the festivities of the Christmas period. If you would like to take me up on my offer please give me a call on 02075851844 or drop me a line on ploughclapham@youngs.co.uk and we can sort something out. Kindest regards Darren
11 Dec 2016 by
4

Where to start...I booked online for an area for 10 from late afternoon. I confirmed the booking via telephone even. Once we arrived, we were told we have to vacate the area by 7pm! People had travelled up to 2hrs to celebrate my birthday, needless to say there was no chance to find space for 10 on a Saturday before Christmas! I was gutted, it cut our night very short. Then the food arrived, which sounded so appealing, but was just greasy, too spicey, and let's not mention the long black beard hair on my meal. While the manager claimed that he tried to help, the remaining staff didn't help or treat us very well. We left to a busy pub area but half empty dinner area, apparently nothing that could be done. We'll certainly not return! A real shame, we used to spend many a night at the Plough before it turned into a heartless gastro-chain-pub! Greed does that to people! Thanks for destroying our night visited The Plough Clapham on 10 Dec 2016

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Dear Heike Many thanks for taking the time to give us some valuable feedback and once again apologies that we could not offer you the table for longer than 3 hours. Additionally I can only apologise that you had been told incorrectly that you could have it for longer. Being Christmas we are full of festive parties and sit down Christmas dinners who had pre-booked large areas of the restaurant and bar. I did try my upmost to accommodate your group for longer phoning many unconfirmed bookings in an attempt to juggle things around for your group, but to no avail. In terms of your food experience if I had been informed of your issues when I personally asked asked you how everything was I could have easily rectified things particularly with the Jalapenos on your dirty fries which are an extremely popular dish. I would really like to personally welcome you back to the Plough, so that we can look after you properly; first and foremost by way of an attempt to repair your relationship with us, but also to show you that things are normally more relaxed than during the frivolities of the Christmas period. If you would like to take me up on my offer please give me a call on 02075851844 or drop me a line on ploughclapham@youngs.co.uk and we can sort something out. Kindest regards Darren
11 Dec 2016 by
1

Really good place for a get together. Great food, comfortable and nice ambiance. visited The Plough Clapham on 07 Dec 2016

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Dear Sir/Madam Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback. It is nice to hear that someone has recognized us for doing things right, and we endeavor to do so on each and every occasion. Bad experiences are not the norm here at The Plough and sometimes unfortunately and rightly so these are the experiences are that stand out. We hope to see you again soon, have a great Christmas Kindest regards Darren
08 Dec 2016 by
5

Great, friendly service. Relaxed atmosphere. Love the decor and feel of the place. Will be back visited The Plough Clapham on 07 Dec 2016
08 Dec 2016 by
5

Great Christmas dinner, we were all super stuffed as the portions were massive. Fun atmosphere and really friendly and helpful staff that gave us the best service. visited The Plough Clapham on 02 Dec 2016

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Dear Sir/Madam Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback. It is nice to hear that someone has recognized us for doing things right, and we endeavour to do so on each and every occasion. How can we do better next time? Bad experiences are not the norm here at The Plough and sometimes unfortunately and rightly so these are the experiences are that stand out. We hope to see you again soon, have a great Christmas Kindest regards Darren
06 Dec 2016 by
4

Booked for a group of friends for a pre-Christmas get-together. Service was very slow and we waited nearly an hour for our first course despite having placed a pre-order for the group. We were asked if we would like to order drinks and even these took nearly 20 minutes to arrive (even though another 2 of the wait staff asked in the meantime if we had ordered drinks and we said we had - this nonetheless didn't seem to speed anything up). Food was patchy, some was excellent e.g. the figgy pudding and the butternut squash soup, some not so good e.g. the turkey was dried out and the Gressingham duck portion size was a lot smaller than other main course options, so much so that it seemed more like one of the starters than anything else. A 10% service charge was automatically added to the bill but I do not feel we received service which merited it. There was also another space below for any additional tips we wanted to leave!! Overall I was not impressed with my evening at The Plough which is a shame as its location and décor were both good and I would have liked it to become somewhere I could visit more regularly. visited The Plough Clapham on 03 Dec 2016

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Dear Sir/Madam If you would be happy to take me up on the offer please drop me an email at ploughclapham@youngs.co.uk or give me a call on 02075851844 so that we can get to the bottom of this incident and also try and sort something out. Alternatively if you would prefer to pop in please just ask for me.
05 Dec 2016 by
3

booked an area for 20 people for my birthday and was given a nice central seating area near the bar. staff were very friendly and accommodating. Beer and Cocktail selection was very good, my only complaint was that when I tried to order cocktails I was told i couldn't have one as it was too busy. not ideal if you have picked the venue specifically to cater for those in your group who only drink cocktails. overall though I had a good experience and would visit again John visited The Plough Clapham on 02 Dec 2016
05 Dec 2016 by
4

We all had a great time and the food was all good. Thank you visited The Plough Clapham on 02 Dec 2016
05 Dec 2016 by
5

Very much enjoyed our evening, great burgers visited The Plough Clapham on 03 Dec 2016
04 Dec 2016 by
5

Really disappointed with visit. The table was ready when we arrived and table was nice for the group. However we ordered food at 12.25pm to get brunch ordered before the kitchen closed. The first of our group was served at 1:30pm over an hour after ordering and then we all got our food at different times over a 30 minute period. Food was ok, although some had gone cold. Tooks ages to order even water. Really terrible service and I wouldn't go back again. visited The Plough Clapham on 27 Nov 2016
28 Nov 2016 by
2

Food was good, but the restaurant was understaffed meaning we found it very difficult to get any kind of attention and had to wait very long for everything. The manager did offer a free drink when we spoke to him, but did not apologise. visited The Plough Clapham on 23 Nov 2016
24 Nov 2016 by
2

excellent food, great service - would definitely go back! visited The Plough Clapham on 19 Nov 2016
20 Nov 2016 by
5

Terrible waiting staff. Totally stuffed up our food orders and half the table didn't end up getting their food. Go elsewhere!!! visited The Plough Clapham on 16 Nov 2016
18 Nov 2016 by
1

Great food -loved the sweet potato marshmellow mash! Good service. visited The Plough Clapham on 16 Nov 2016
17 Nov 2016 by
5

Thanks very much to the staff who worked hard to look after my large group of 21. Also a great venue for a night out with friends or in a small group. We recommend it. visited The Plough Clapham on 12 Nov 2016
13 Nov 2016 by
5

The starters were nice but otherwise we weren't sure about the place and i don't think they are really sure what they are either. Are they a bar? a club? or a restaurant? the music was way too loud for a restaurant but equally the lighting was too light for a bar / club. We had to ask for menus, drinks and cutlery - it wasn't forth coming despite us having a bill for over £250. I wouldn't recommend for food again! visited The Plough Clapham on 21 Oct 2016
24 Oct 2016 by
2

One star due to the large portions of food, and decor of the venue. Everything else was appalling. Worst service I have ever experienced. We had a booking at 12.45, and no one took even a drinks order until 12.15. At about 12.30 we were told that "there will be a wait for food" but no specific time. I understand that the restaurant appeared understaffed, however we also witnessed occasions when despite the bell for service being rung, waiters and waitresses continued to discuss something for another few minutes, or instead got on with a different task, several times we witnessed waitresses take a single plate at a time to the same table, therefore unnecessarily doing extra trips. Needless to say the "short wait" for food, actually was unbearable. Our starters did not arrive until 2pm (45 minutes after ordering) and our mains not until 2.55pm. Given this was over two hours from our booking time, this is greatly unacceptable. No one apologised to us, and in fact we had to several times ask for an update as to when we could expect our food. Eventually we were offered a free drink, but a discount off the meals and drinks we had already ordered would have been much preffered. Separately, when we ordered a "fresh orange juice" we were told it was not stocked, however then witnessed several people receiving orange juice throughout our time at the restaurant. Finally, the food we received was average. We all had looked forward to the roast, and given we had to wait so long were desperately waiting for these meals - however the meat was dry, the yorkshire puddings were dry and in general the meal appeared to have been sat there for a while. The gravy also was no consolation as it was so thick/bitter that it was almost unpalatable. All in all, I won't be returning to the Plough for food, until they increase their staff levels. The potential is there but the reality is lacking on almost all fronts. visited The Plough Clapham on 16 Oct 2016

Reply from The Plough Clapham

Dear Sir/Madam Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am extremely horrified that your Sunday was not as you expected and deserved at the The Plough. It is by no means an excuse for you experience but we had 2 chefs call in sick on the Sunday of your visit my head chef amongst them and I had to personally jump into the void left in the kitchen to ensure continuation of service. We pride ourselves on our Sunday roasts and have recently been receiving a lot of positive feedback about these in particular and as such I am extremely embarrassed that even one incident of this nature has occurred! My presence front of house and therefore leadership, could have easily avoided the below standard circumstances experienced during your visit. I can assure you that these are not the norm. I would really like to personally welcome you back to The Plough so that we can look after you properly; first and foremost by way of an apology but also to show you that things are normally very different.If you would be happy to take me up on the offer please drop me an email at ploughclapham@youngs.co.uk or give me a call on 02075851844 so that we can get to the try and sort something out. Alternatively if you would prefer to pop in please just ask for me. Kindest regards Darren McQuillan General Manager
17 Oct 2016 by
1

Really enjoyed my visit to the plough, a classic example of the 21st century london pub
06 Nov 2012 by
3

Went here with the missus for dinner mid week. Saw the review on here and thought I'd give it a go. Was impressed! Really cool laid back vibes and more of a bar/pub than a gastro. The food was good; didnt blow my mind but is worth the cost. Lots of local ales and good beers on tap. A good to know!
04 May 2012 by
3

Absolutely love this place. They had an epic NYE bash. A bit pricey as most places are now-a-days, but if you've got the money to spend then you'll have a great night. Head down on a Friday or Saturday night as they have a DJ which gets the crowd goin.
05 Jan 2012 by
5

This is sweet pub in clapham. Its actually more of a bar, which is surprising as its a youngs pub. This must be where they see the future going with this bar style pub. I found it quite pricey to be honest for beer, but the food was tasty, had those rainbow fiery wings! I would recommend a visit.
18 Nov 2011 by
4

Show all Show fewer


If you like The Plough Clapham, you should also check out...

In the industry?

Discover the different ways you can work with us, whether you own a bar, restaurant, pub, club, private hire space, pop-up and/or run events.

Bookings Software

Revolutionary booking and enquiry management software for bars, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Table management, pre-orders, payments and more.

Sell Tickets Online

An online ticketing box office, catering for all kinds of events, pop ups to big music festivals, and free marketing and exposure to help sell more tickets.

Promote Your Venue

Need to get your venue out to millions? Use our targeted marketing packages to instantly push your venue to a young professional audience.