The Independent Salford Beer Festival 2017 #ISBF4

St. Sebastians Community Centre

Sorry, this event has taken place.

Sorry, this event has taken place.

Description

This event has taken place
Multiple start times (see ticket info)
Tickets from £5
Food & Drink, Live Music
Live Music
Over 18

They say "Never Say Never". They're right.

So, We're doing this again.

More first time beers. More #EvilKegFilth. More love.

Tremendous local bands on both Friday & Saturday courtesy of our friends at Sweet Sweet Records.

More of the same really! From the little beer celebration with a big heart.

Don't.  Miss. Out.

ticket info & dates/times

Finding event dates...

{{ ::date.nice_date }} Cancelled

Ticket Event time Cost
{{ ::ticket.ticket_type }}
{{ ::ticket.description }}
{{ ::ticket.start_time }} - {{ ::ticket.end_time }} {{ ::ticket.price | currency:'£' }}

Location

St. Sebastians Community Centre
1 Douglas Green, Salford, M6 6ES




Terms

1. The ticket holder voluntarily assumes all risks and danger incidental to the event for which the ticket is issued, whether occurring prior, during or after the event. The ticket holder voluntarily agrees that the management, venue, event participants, DesignMyNight (WFL Media Ltd) and all of their respective agents, officers, directors, owners and employers are expressly released by the ticket holder from any claims arising from such causes.
2. Tickets are issued subject to the rules and regulations of the venue.
3. Please check your tickets, as mistakes cannot always be rectified.
4. Occasionally, events are cancelled or postponed by the promoter, team, performer or venue for a variety of reasons. If the event is cancelled, please contact us for information on receiving a refund from the responsible party. If the event was moved or rescheduled, the venue or promoter may set refund limitations. It is your responsibility to ascertain the date and time of any rearranged event.
5. The venue reserves the right to refuse admission and may on occasion have to conduct security searches to ensure the safety of the patrons.
6. Every effort to admit latecomers will be made at a suitable break in the event, but admission cannot always be guaranteed.
7. We regret that tickets cannot be exchanged or refunded after purchase.
8. Tickets are sold subject to the venue or promoter's right to alter or vary the programme due to events or circumstances beyond its control without being obliged to refund monies or exchange tickets.
9. If this ticket is re-sold or transferred for profit or commercial gain by anyone other than the promoter, venue management, DesignMyNight or one of their authorised sub-agents, it will become voidable and the holder may be
refused entry to or ejected from the venue.
10. The venue may operate a No Smoking Policy.
11. The promoter, venue management and DesignMyNight accept no responsibility for any personal property.
12. The event listed on the purchased ticket is strictly for ticket holders who are over 18 years of age. Identification may be required.

Organiser

(26 reviews) Show Hide all



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

A brilliant event that just keeps getting better. Friendly to it’s core, fantastic beer range, and massively helps a great cause in St Sebastian’s community centre. Can’t really say more - except you should go to the next one! James visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 21 Oct 2017
27 Oct 2017 by
5

Lovely beers, lovely atmosphere, lovely people. Top work Jim! Dave visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
27 Oct 2017 by
5

Many thanks for your reply Jim. Much appreciated. The poster would have obviously been the ideal solution and prevent any further such events occuring. As I said earlier, it would have made sense for the guys selling the tickets to volunteer this information when distributing the tickets. We did mention it to the guy and girl who were collecting the glasses and clearing up at the end but they did not mention that we could cash the tickets in so we had no option but to give them away. Someone should have also told us at that stage. The location itself is good, nice clean interior, not too packed, decent beers, reasonably priced food although we did not have any it looked good. Me and my pals go to a few of these festivals regularly as we love the ales and nice environments away from the loonies (the bitter red that commented earlier excepted) and we have never experienced this beer ticketing before. It's quite an unusual practice and you must have reasons for doing it rather than the normal paying at the bar but it should be a pre-requisite that patrons are informed of the cashback option and fair play to you for now taking this on board. No offence intended, we all just felt like we had been short changed and I am sure that that is not how you would want your patrons to leave the event. Good luck for the future Jim. Bill Bill visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
26 Oct 2017 by
1

Without doubt the best beer festival I've ever been to! The beer range, choice and quality was outstanding, far surpassing effort put in by other beer festivals. Excellent and cheap food available. Great live music at the evening session. The organisers and volunteers (bar & kitchen) should all be very proud of what they achieved, all for the good of the local community. Steve visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 21 Oct 2017
25 Oct 2017 by
5

In reply to:- Best time had by all - superb beers, great friendly staff, top location. Good luck St Sebs going forward - a real asset to the community. Apart from one snide comment from a Citeh fan who was clearly confused by being in deepest Red Salford this would have been my best beer festival this year by far. Well curated Jim & his collaborators.❤️😎💚 You obviously don't know me and are a typical BITTER red. I have just spent 15 years living in Ordsall and my comments regarding the festival are backed up fully by my mates who attended with me (reds by the way). I see that the original guy who replied to me has not responded to my account of what happened but I guess that's understandable given the facts of our experience. Not one member of staff informed us any time that the tickets could be cashed in. That includes the guys on the desk, the bar staff or the guys clearing the tables at the end of the session. No excuses for that I'm afraid Bill visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017

Reply from The Independent Salford Beer Festival 2017 #ISBF4

Bill, I don't know where to begin with this. I take on board your original point and - if there is a further event - there will be a clear A3 document on the wall stating refunds of tokens upon request. Which is how we have always operated. In 4 years, this is the first complaint of this kind. We have always refunded tokens upon request. Did you actually request a refund and were refused? Other than apologise for the apparent offence caused, I don't know where to go with this. And by the way, I am the original responder. I am the organiser, Jim, that you refer to. Again, apologies did the experience. Jim
25 Oct 2017 by
1

Brilliant! Great beer, great atmosphere, great people! Although we're gutted the chutney man wasn't there this year so you definitely need an alternative for next time. Sasha visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
25 Oct 2017 by
4

Simply Brilliant! Enough said, but you need 5 words. Andy visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 21 Oct 2017
24 Oct 2017 by
5

Best time had by all - superb beers, great friendly staff, top location. Good luck St Sebs going forward - a real asset to the community. Apart from one snide comment from a Citeh fan who was clearly confused by being in deepest Red Salford this would have been my best beer festival this year by far. Well curated Jim & his collaborators.❤️😎💚 Colin visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 21 Oct 2017
24 Oct 2017 by
5

Fabulous beers and people as always ! Jock visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 21 Oct 2017
24 Oct 2017 by
5

Looking forward to the 5th visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 21 Oct 2017
24 Oct 2017 by
5

Best veer festival ever, Lovely atmosphere, fair prices. Amazing. Thomas visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 21 Oct 2017
24 Oct 2017 by
5

A great day. Many good beers and hope it continues. Derek visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
23 Oct 2017 by
5

Fantastic day. So well organised, brilliant vibes, just great all round. My only problem was there were too many delicious sounding beers to try!! (Must do 2 sessions next year!) Laura visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
23 Oct 2017 by
5

Thank you for replying to my comment regarding the beer tickets. I can assure you that on purchasing the sheets, me or any of my friends were informed that we could get reimbursement. Surely this should have been stipulated to everyone as they bought them. Moreover, when cashing our glasses in at the end nobody asked if we had any tickets left to cash in. There was no notices anywhere to suggest a reimbursement for tickets and we saw nothing in the programe advertising it either. The staff tidying up at the end listened to us talking about the situation and did not indicate that we could cash them in so we gave them away. Something doesn't sit right with all of this and it is very dissappointing indeed. Bill visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
23 Oct 2017 by
1

Not just a beer festival, but a hugely enjoyable experience. Jim puts together a beer list that is the envy of most festivals and then adds talks by the brewers, tasting sessions and music. A really great event. Not to be missed. John visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
23 Oct 2017 by
5

Gets better every year! Highly recommend it. Andy visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
23 Oct 2017 by
5

Lovely little venue (though not the easiest to get to on public transport), lovely atmosphere and fabulous selection of beers, both cask and #EvilKegFilth. Book early for the next one! Andrew visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
23 Oct 2017 by
5

Best beer festival ever. Ever! Steve visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
23 Oct 2017 by
5

Just as we have come to expect, a great range of beers served in s very convivial manner. Thanks Jim and team Chris visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
23 Oct 2017 by
5

Probably the best beer festival in the world great beer great people Mark visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
23 Oct 2017 by
5

Superb. Undoubtedly the best beer festival in the country. tysonthebeerhound visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
23 Oct 2017 by
5

Nice venue and mixture of weird and wonderful ales. Staff friendly and courteous. Huge issue with the beer ticket scenario as me and all my friends were left with money on our tickets that we could not use or cash back. That felt a little like theft to be honest as we all lost our remaining money. Either offer cash back or make it pay at the bar only like every other beer festival. If you do not change it, none of us will be coming back next year I'm afraid. Bill visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017

Reply from The Independent Salford Beer Festival 2017 #ISBF4

Hello. You should have been able to get your cash back for unused tokens. All the volunteers on the tokens are told to do this and I witnessed many who cashed both their towns and glassware back with no issue. If this didn't happen in your case (and I've no idea how) I can only apologise..
23 Oct 2017 by
1

Excellent as usual.Helpful and friendly staff,wonderful range of beers and plenty of seating. Perfect !! Thank you. David visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
23 Oct 2017 by
5

An awesome beer festival. Beer is the main focus and takes precedent. Really enjoyed the female singer/acoustic act, too! Will try and make the Friday and Saturday next year. visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 20 Oct 2017
23 Oct 2017 by
5

Excellent beers, good venue, the only problem on the night was transport (not the organisers problem), 2 hours from shudehill to the venue was a joke. My beer of the night would be the Tia Maria Stout, many thanks for a very good festival. Anthony visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 19 Oct 2017
22 Oct 2017 by
4

Best Beer Festival Ever. Ever! Steve visited St. Sebastians Community Centre on 19 Oct 2017
22 Oct 2017 by
5

Show Hide all