Whitechapel: Suspects, Lunatics and a Leather Apron

Sidney Street


Recommended

Sold Out

Sold Out

Description

Saturday 24 June 2017
Multiple start times (see ticket info)
Tickets from £18
Pop-Up, Something A Little Different, Theatre/Arts, Themed Nights, Activity
16 +

On the 29th of September 1888, Scotland Yard received a gruesome letter written in red. “Dear boss,” it began. What followed was a gruesome account of a murderer’s plan. A notorious figure who has never been caught. A figure known only by his signature… “Yours truly, Jack the Ripper.”

Step into that night as a citizen of Victorian Whitechapel. The streets you walk are haunted by an unseen man, the people consumed by fear and hysteria.

After a sell-out run in November 2016, Whitechapel: Suspects, Lunatics and a Leather Apron is back for its second and final run. 

In this experience, you will take on the role of one of the following: 

- A member of H-Division’s finest, the police force tasked with catching the killer. The press have made you a joke, the people of Whitechapel hate you, and the killer taunts you from the shadows. It is your job to restore order. 

- A member of the Whitechapel Vigilance Committee, the protectors of the streets. Led by their incendiary leader, they do what the police will not. The only questions is, how far are you willing to go? 

- An impoverished citizen of Whitechapel, one of the many souls doing what they must to survive these dangerous streets. Remember though, Whitechapel can be a prosperous place. If you’re not afraid to get your hands dirty, you could rule this town…

Walk the streets of Victorian London and explore the lives of Whitechapel's residents in a time of mistrust, strife, and a full-blown media frenzy. Interact with key characters from the time, have a gin at the Ten Bells, or confess your sins at St Botolph's. This production is an hour and a half immersive theatrical experience. Every action and choice you make shapes the world around you.

But, be careful, everyone is a suspect in 1888…



16+ only. 

Guests may be ID'd at the door, anyone without a valid ID stating age may be refused entry with tickets non-refundable.

Tickets must be bought in advance.  

Directions to venue from Whitechapel Underground: Turn right out of the station onto Whitechapel Road. Cross through the pedestrian lights and turn left along Whitechapel Road. Walk approximately three minutes before turning right onto Sidney Street (there is a Barclays bank on the corner). Continue south down Sidney Street until you reach 1888 Sidney Street. The door to the production is opposite to the entrance of Lindley Street. If you reach Stepney Way, you've gone too far. 

*This is an immersive show based on the people of Whitechapel in 1888 and the events that happened on the 29th of September, not the unknown assailant who committed these horrific acts.  

ticket info & dates/times

Finding event dates...

{{date.nice_date}} Cancelled

Ticket Event time Cost
{{ticket.ticket_type}}
{{ticket.description}}
{{ticket.start_time}} - {{ticket.end_time}} {{ticket.price | currency:'£'}}

Location

Sidney Street
Sidney Street, Whitechapel, E1 2EG



Nearest station:
Whitechapel (Tube)

Terms

1. The ticket holder voluntarily assumes all risks and danger incidental to the event for which the ticket is issued, whether occurring prior, during or after the event. The ticket holder voluntarily agrees that the management, venue, event participants, DesignMyNight (WFL Media Ltd) and all of their respective agents, officers, directors, owners and employers are expressly released by the ticket holder from any claims arising from such causes.
2. Tickets are issued subject to the rules and regulations of the venue.
3. Please check your tickets, as mistakes cannot always be rectified.
4. Occasionally, events are cancelled or postponed by the promoter, team, performer or venue for a variety of reasons. If the event is cancelled, please contact us for information on receiving a refund from the responsible party. If the event was moved or rescheduled, the venue or promoter may set refund limitations. It is your responsibility to ascertain the date and time of any rearranged event.
5. The venue reserves the right to refuse admission and may on occasion have to conduct security searches to ensure the safety of the patrons.
6. We regret that tickets cannot be exchanged or refunded after purchase.
7. Tickets are sold subject to the venue or promoter's right to alter or vary the programme due to events or circumstances beyond its control without being obliged to refund monies or exchange tickets.
8. If this ticket is re-sold or transferred for profit or commercial gain by anyone other than the promoter, venue management, DesignMyNight or one of their authorised sub-agents, it will become voidable and the holder may be
refused entry to or ejected from the venue.
9. The venue operates a No Smoking Policy.
10. The promoter, venue management and DesignMyNight accept no responsibility for any personal property.
11. The event listed on the purchased ticket is strictly for ticket holders who are over 18 years of age. Identification may be required.
12. You may be removed from the event at any notice for the following: use of camera or phone, aggressive behaviour towards other guests, drunkenness, touching the actors unprompted, stealing.
13. There is no late admittance to the show. We encourage you to arrive fifteen minutes prior to your showtime or risk no admittance without a refund.
14. Guests must sign the disclaimer before entry. Without this disclaimer, there will be no entry permitted without refund. You can sign the disclaimer here: www.smartwaiver.com/v/whitechapel1888

(34 reviews) Show Hide all



{{reviewWidget.userName}}
{{reviewWidget.review}} {{reviewWidget.userName}} visited {{reviewWidget.venue}} on {{reviewWidget.visited}}
{{reviewWidget.submittedDate}}
{{reviewWidget.rating}}

It took a little bit at first for people to know what to do, but the actors didn't leave us for too long before guiding us. It didn't take too long before people started to get more involved and by the end I think pretty much everyone in our group was having some input. The acting was first class and combined with a realistic set really made you feel like you was back 1888. visited Sidney Street on 10 Jun 2017
16 Jun 2017 by
5

got to go to this immersive theatre experience in the centre of Whitechapel, London. Based on the cult lore of Jack The Ripper, an unidentified serial killer active in the Whitechapel district of London in 1888. Once you have signed up you receive an email from indicating which of the three groups you have been allocated to. Walking into the smoky set was an amzing eery feeling, bringing us straight into the time of the murders. The stage is huge with several streets layed out for us to explore. It was fun walking around looking at the details of the set and interacting with the actors. Unfortunately, this was the only real good thing about the experience. There were far to many people that had signed up at the same time. I was in the Vigilance Committee and we were 20+ people having a limited amount of tasks to do. Therefore, several of us were aimlessly walking around, not interacting with any of the actors. I felt lost with no real reason to be in the immersive experience and I was unsure of what to do. As an experience immersive theatre goer who is up for anything this shows how undeveleped the immersive section of the show is.

Reply from Whitechapel: Suspects, Lunatics and a Leather Apron

Hi Henri, Thank you for your review as a guest of Love Pop Ups London. We're glad you liked the set! However, the group size for the Whitechapel Vigilance Committee, as well as the other roles, was capped at 13, not 20+. We're sorry to hear that you felt the group size of 13 was too many in a group. As you say, the set was huge with several streets to explore, so we're surprised it felt so busy for you!
14 Jun 2017 by
3

This was badly disorganised. The venue was stunningly well-designed with surprising detail - very spooky and that was good. But the concept relies on participation from all audience members however not all the actors led their groups effectively, So we felt the whole thing broke down. Not enough context. Not enough narrative. visited Sidney Street on 10 Jun 2017

Reply from Whitechapel: Suspects, Lunatics and a Leather Apron

Hi Heather, We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience. We would like to know how you felt we went wrong if you wouldn't mind emailing us on marketing@ultimaterecreation.co.uk.
14 Jun 2017 by
1

Disorganised and chaotic which took away from a good concept. visited Sidney Street on 10 Jun 2017

Reply from Whitechapel: Suspects, Lunatics and a Leather Apron

Hi Cara, We're disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy the experience. We've had nothing but positive feedback so this has really surprised us. We'd like to hear more about how you feel we could have done better if you'd like to email us on marketing@ultimaterecreation.co.uk.
13 Jun 2017 by
2

The "Whitechapel: suspects lunatics and a leather apron" event was amazing! We were a group of 3 so decided to get ourselves split up so we could get the whole experience. Not only did each of us have a very different experience while there, we spent a good couple of hours afterwards discussing it. We all wish it was on for a few more weeks so we could come back and do it again! Top notch entertainment and can't wait to see what the team have in store next. visited Sidney Street on 09 Jun 2017
12 Jun 2017 by
5

This was really good fun. Massive congratulations to the whole cast, I can't find who they are to say thank you! We'd never experienced immersive theatre before and it was a fantastic experience. Can't wait for another one! visited Sidney Street on 10 Jun 2017
12 Jun 2017 by
5

We enjoyed ourselves but felt their could have been a bit more guidance at the beginning of the event. It got confusing on who the actors were and exactly what we were supposed to be doing. When you were talking with others you'd be called away to go look at something or to another location. It was very fun and unique, but with a little more explanation at the beginning it would have been better. visited Sidney Street on 10 Jun 2017
12 Jun 2017 by
4

Brill. Still wondering who the murderer was! Meghan visited Sidney Street on 09 Jun 2017
11 Jun 2017 by
5

Too notchb- great performances, great execution, great experience. You have a new fan here, Apocalypse! See you at the next one! Erika visited Sidney Street on 09 Jun 2017
11 Jun 2017 by
5

Totally unique experience, good fun and timed perfectly did not go on for too long. Good for client entertaining definitely recommended.... Jessica visited Sidney Street on 08 Jun 2017
11 Jun 2017 by
4

From beginning to end you are immersed. I have read the reviews saying the end is rushed... don't pay heed to it. There is a valid reason for the ending. Kier visited Sidney Street on 10 Jun 2017
10 Jun 2017 by
5

Set was really good, great concept and some strong actors. But felt a bit disorganised and too many stooges which just pushed out genuine participants. Couple of the cast were a bit weak too. Had a fun time but wouldn't especially recommend. A lot of other London venues doing much stronger immersive theatre. visited Sidney Street on 08 Jun 2017

Reply from Whitechapel: Suspects, Lunatics and a Leather Apron

Hi Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We're glad you liked the set and the concept. We are a bit confused at your mention of stooges as we don't use any during the production. We have a cast of 12, all modelled after real people from the time period. We are curious to understand your dissatisfaction if you would like to email us as marketing@ultimaterecreation.co.uk.
10 Jun 2017 by
3

AS a concept it was really good. It's a Performance whose success is largely dependant on how much the audience engages and is proactive. As I was with my drama teacher friends, we engaged pretty well and questioned suspects. Perhaps the actors could employ more techniques to ensure more audience members delve into the investigation. The event was billed as something very scary. The pace and fear factor began to build in the last 5 mins. More of that and sooner would have been good. It was an enjoyable evening. visited Sidney Street on 08 Jun 2017
10 Jun 2017 by
4

This was absolutely fantastic! The story of Jack The Ripper is my favourite mystery and this was absolutely fenominal. The actors, the set, the interaction and the jokes. I havent enjoyed something this imersed in ages. Please go to see it, it was absolutely fantastic. Thank you everyone that made this memorable for my 30th birthday!!!!!. Go to this!!!! Charlotte visited Sidney Street on 09 Jun 2017
09 Jun 2017 by
5

Absolutely brilliant! I had such an enjoyable time. I live right by the venue, and saw people gathering each night and finally decided to get a ticket to see what the buzz was about. What a fantastic night! Exceeded my expectations and I really felt like I was part of the action. Do wish we picked a different suspect though - I knew it wasn't her! Thanks for a great night! visited Sidney Street on 03 Jun 2017
05 Jun 2017 by
5

Amazing!, From the set to the actors. we really felt like it was 1888. will have to go again! Jonathan visited Sidney Street on 03 Jun 2017
05 Jun 2017 by
5

Great fun, not at all what I expected- much better! visited Sidney Street on 02 Jun 2017
05 Jun 2017 by
5

A great interactive and immersive experience! Beautifully performed, constructed and thought out. visited Sidney Street on 01 Jun 2017
05 Jun 2017 by
5

The show was SO cool! The set was fantastic and the actors were truly world class. Having never been to immersive theatre before I was a little nervous about exactly how we'd be involved but the actors made it really fun and easy to become a part of the show :D Thomas visited Sidney Street on 01 Jun 2017
04 Jun 2017 by
5

What a great experience! Totally immersive theatre, with a suitably spooky re-creation of Victorian Whitechapel and a fabulous cast of characters. I won't say any more as I don't want to spoil what happens - but you are sure to enjoy it! Neil visited Sidney Street on 01 Jun 2017
03 Jun 2017 by
5

Absolutely cracking event! Loved it! Great costumes, great make up, great set and especially great cast- bravo! Lizzy visited Sidney Street on 01 Jun 2017
03 Jun 2017 by
5

Good fun event - everyone had lots of fun and was very interesting. The props and venue was amazing like walking back to the 19th century with church, pub and town green. It was a little confusing about what we had to do to begin with....... But everyone got into the roles quickly. Would defo go to other events in the future :) alien_lives visited Sidney Street on 27 May 2017
30 May 2017 by
4

Brilliant. Best immersive theatre experience I've been to so far. visited Sidney Street on 28 May 2017
30 May 2017 by
5

The night was enjoyed by our group, however I feel the event would benefit from slightly smaller groups and some clearer direction, however as this was one of the opening nights I feel the event will only get better. Well worth attending. Emma visited Sidney Street on 25 May 2017
30 May 2017 by
4

Fantastic highly immersive actors were brilliant! Dylan visited Sidney Street on 28 May 2017
30 May 2017 by
5

My Mum and I thoroughly enjoyed our immersive experience into Whitechapel's Victorian London. The only thing I would've liked to see at the conclusion is all the actors and actresses outside, so we could thank them. Also to let them know what an excellent experience it was. Well played by all: actors, actresses and the guests. Ian visited Sidney Street on 24 May 2017
29 May 2017 by
4

Great night! Amazing set which felt very realistic and good actors/actresses. Lots of fun- definitely recommend. Abbie visited Sidney Street on 27 May 2017
29 May 2017 by
5

Here's the review I did for London Theatre 1: https://www.lastminutetheatretickets.com/londonwestend/whitechapel-suspects-lunatics-and-a-leather-apron/ visited Sidney Street on 26 May 2017

Reply from Whitechapel: Suspects, Lunatics and a Leather Apron

Thank you for your review. NOTE: TO ANYONE WISHING TO READ THIS REVIEW BEFORE THE SHOW, IT CONTAINS SPOILERS.
28 May 2017 by
3

It was a really good immersive show ; the stage set was truly amazing (with many details and a scary atmosphere) ; The actors were great, very ''into the show'' and it seems that they could improvise without difficulties. Without any doubts I'll do it again in june ! Thank you again for this amazing evening :) Nina visited Sidney Street on 27 May 2017
27 May 2017 by
5

Really amazing show, highly recommended! Shasha visited Sidney Street on 24 May 2017
26 May 2017 by
5

Very good. I loved it. Like with any immersive shows, try to go on your own and really immerse yourself in the event. Don't be afraid to get involved and challenge actors (I did and it was a brilliant experience, the actors are not afraid of improvising.) Neelam visited Sidney Street on 30 Oct 2016
18 Nov 2016 by
4

I had a fantastic time. I went with a friend but we're put in separate factions, which was all for the better as there was so much to explore and the attention to detail is fantastic. The cast are excellent improvisers and we even had an impromptu hostage situation which was completely off the cuff and really tense! Wish I could go again to try a different faction!
02 Nov 2016 by
5

Just wanted to write a review as I read the one below yesterday which made me feel a bit apprehensive about the production. My boyfriend and I had a fantastic time, the actors were brilliant and we were fully immersed in the experience. You have to throw yourself in to the production, a little acting of your own goes a long way and made the experience a lot more fun! Great date night, highly reccomended event. Zehra visited Sidney Street on 31 Oct 2016

Reply from Whitechapel: Suspects, Lunatics and a Leather Apron

Hi Zehra, Thank you for taking the time to review the show! We're thrilled to hear such positive feedback about the event and the actors but, most importantly, it's grea to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed yourselves!
01 Nov 2016 by
5

I was really disappointed with this production. I felt that we were hustled inside, it was not really explained to us what our roll was, and no one really knew what they were doing ( including the actors). Then after about 40 minutes we 'followed' a character into the basement of the building and were swiftly exited! even though the show was still going on! I still don't really understand what happened. Waste of 52 pounds i feel :-( catherine visited Sidney Street on 28 Oct 2016

Reply from Whitechapel: Suspects, Lunatics and a Leather Apron

Hi Catherine, we’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience, especially your comment regarding our actors. We couldn’t be more proud of our cast and the job they are doing. As for the ending, we have had feedback that it was too abrupt and, as this is an evolving immersive experience, have taken your comments to heart and changed the ending to something more in line with the rest of the event. As for being lead through a basement to an exit while the show was going on, this isn’t true. There are cues at 50 minutes, guests are taken downstairs through a scare maze for the last part of the show. We are going to review how this part is played and make it clearer for guests. Each faction is lead in at a different time and so if your faction was one of the first to to go in then the other two factions still experience an ending scene with their relevant factions - though please be reassured you didn't miss anything. Thank you taking the time to review and sorry again that you did not feel this experience lived up to your expectations.
30 Oct 2016 by
1

Show Hide all