Search

Looking Glass Cocktail Club

49 Hackney Road, London, E2 7NX - View Map

Make a free enquiry

Opening times

Open Close
Monday 17:00 00:00
Tuesday 17:00 00:00
Wednesday 17:00 00:00
Thursday 17:00 00:00
Friday 17:00 02:00
Saturday 17:00 02:00
Sunday - -

Description

In the heart of Shoreditch at the top of the hip Hackney Road lies Looking Glass Cocktail Club. Step through the giant opulent ‘looking glass’ and into a world of decedent debauchery with unique mesmerizing cocktails and eccentric entertainment in a lavish, cosy setting. This former Victorian East End clothing warehouse has been dramatically transformed; a sumptuous interior with moody subtle lighting, Louis XVI inspired furniture, brocade fabrics and other lovingly sourced vintage pieces.

This great cocktail bar takes mixology to a whole new dimension. Expect ingredients like fresh rosemary and cardamom in premium vodkas and igniting the senses with bergamot, smoked vanilla and vintage flavours such as sarsaparilla. The menu will also include The Shoreditch Cuppa - pear cognac, cardamom bitters, Sicilian lemon and tea syrup, spectacularly mixed and served in a tea cup and the divine Salted Caramel, a take on the classic Old Fashioned with 20 year aged rum and indulgent dark chocolate bitters. Each cocktail is curiously unique!

The entertainment at Looking Glass is tantalizing and titillating, challenging the powers of perception. Showcasing the weird, the wonderful, the wicked and fusing live music and performance art, head down to Looking Glass Cocktail Club to indulge, relax and let your senses be seduced.

Looking Glass Cocktail Club Review

Looking Glass Cocktail Club Review There’s another world hidden along Hackney Road in the heart of Shoreditch; one sure to turn your cocktail expectations on its head, all you have to do is step through the looking glass.   The Venue A rather simple room greets you as you walk into the Looking Glass...

Read our full Looking Glass Cocktail Club review »

Drink prices

  • Pint of Lager£5.00
  • Pint of Real Ale-
  • Bottle of Lager£4.00
  • Bottle of Cider£4.50
  • Cocktail£7.50
  • Spirit and Mixer£7.50
  • Large Glass of Wine£5.50
  • Bottle of House Wine£15.00
  • Bottle of Champagne£60.00
  • Jaeger Bomb-

Venue hire information

Minimum spends are to be used as a guide and will vary depending on each enquiry.
For timings please refer to Opening Times. Late licences may be available on enquiry.

Food & menus

Word from the Chef

Type of cuisine:

Features & Venue Info

  • Activities: Live Music, Cocktail Making
  • Outdoor space: None
  • Dress code: None
  • Sports screening: No sport shown
  • Disabled facilities: Disabled Toilets

Looking Glass Cocktail Club Reviews

Write your own review and you'll earn10points

Average rating (from 15 ratings) 4

5
I celebrated my 30th here on the 17May, and loved it, i reserved an area for 20 of us and had a great time. Perfect venue for drinking & chatting, the music was good and the cocktails didn't dissapoint - highly recommended. I'll defiantely be back! x
5
Went with family, totally unsure of what i would find. It happened to be Monday, which was open mike night. What we stumbled upon was a fabulous musical event. Warm inviting atmosphere. Lots of audience involvement. Wonderful different cocktails. Great Service. Want a wonderful time. The place was really rocking!
4
Went here on a date with my girlfriend and it was great. Friendly waiters, went through to the secret room, and all the staff were dressed up with whips and lacey underwear. Was fantastic
4
A friend booked a table there for her birthday. I wasn't expecting much, not being much of a Shoreditch type of person and I was really surprised! Amazing service, the cocktail makers are passionate about their work and could talk about it for hours (don't get them started if you're not ready for it!). The cocktails are very interesting with unusual flavours. I would recommend it for a nice friendly evening with a group of mates.
5
I booked this place for a very suave event that my company requested I organise. It was an ideal location as the private back room was very large and able to accommodate all of us. The bar staff were prompt at making complex cocktails and we were able to enjoy the night without any worries. I'd like to thank the staff for making the night such a wonderful event and the area is stunningly beautiful with dimly lit lights, sofas and recliners to relax on with an ice cold negroni.
5
Great, cosy little bar with super-duper cocktails and nice vibe. Will defo visit again!
I found this helpful
1 person has said this was helpful
1
Horrible experience!!! The stuff was very unprofessional, especially for William, the guy who runs the bar. I went there to have a look at it because I wanted to organize my 30s birthday and I was not sure where to celebrate it. I liked it especially for the back-room behind the mirror. I talked to the guy at the bar, William, to arrange my birthday there the next month. He told me that there was availability and to give him a deposit. So, I did it and I booked for a privee’ in the back room behind the mirror for Saturday the 26th of October. The day after I started inviting people when two days later this guy, William, called me saying that unfortunately there has been a misunderstanding and for that Saturday it was fully booked so he asked me to change at the Friday. So, I did it. Although complaining a bit because I had already invited people. The Friday of my birthday came and I called the guy on the day before just to be sure that everything was alright. He confirmed me and reassured me that everything was fine. On the Friday of my birthday, early afternoon I received a call from him where he started saying that he had a very bad news for me and he had to cancel!!!! I repeat … the same day of my birthday, 3 hours before he cancelled!!!!!!!! His justification was that the owner of the place was having a charity event with about 150 people invited with 3djs included and he just knew from that morning. He offered me for makes me happy 3 cocktails and 2 bottle of prosecco for me and my 30 friends !!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now, how is it possible that 150 people are coming for a charity event and you know it the same day!??!? So, I never went to the Looking Glass and I do not recommend to no one !! On the same day of my birthday when I was a t work I had to call all the places in Shoreditch to find a space for me and my 30 friends!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Of course, everything was fully booked!! At the end, Cargo allowed me to reserve some tables and the night was really fun !! I think the guy was very unprofessional, I think he probably knew since before that there was a big event but he called me at the last moment making up that he did not know. If you have 150 people coming in your bar for a charity event with 3 djs you will probably need to get ready at least 3 weeks before.
Reply from Looking Glass Cocktail Club:
Angelica, We'd like to take this opportunity to further apologies for having to relocate your reserved area for your birthday on the 23rd October. For every event we organise we always try our utmost to accommodate every single one of our customer to our best abilities, however on this occasion we did, to our biggest regrets, make a miscalculation in regards to your wants and needs. We hope that you one day will come to understand our decision and somehow move forwards. Best, The Looking Glass Team
4
Cool cocktails, cool atmosphere, cool staff, and nice that it's hidden away from the general crowds off Kingsland/Shoreditch. I like.
Reply from Looking Glass Cocktail Club:
Thank you! :)
5
perfect for big parties...such a cool space and very east!
Reply from Looking Glass Cocktail Club:
Ahw! Cheers Simone! :)
1
The bar was almost empty and after waiting at the bars for our drinks, we were shown to a table and was told it was table service but then waited 15 minutes for a drinks menu then waited another 15 minutes for our orders to be taken. When cocktails finally arrived, the waiter hovered arkwardly for a few minutes and then asked if we wanted a tab or pay now? Bizzare table service but I said that I'd pay now. He then put his hand out and asked for £22.50 without even bringing the bill over?? Very strange table service. We thought the cocktails would make up for the bad service but I couldn't even drink mine....the teacup was cool though, very prohibition. Wouldn't recommend to anyone and would never go again. Bad end to a fab night unfortunately.
Reply from Looking Glass Cocktail Club:
Hi Joie, Sorry to hear about your bad experience! You're welcome to pop down for a drink again and re-try our place as we'd love to change your mind. Let us know! Best, The Looking Glass team
4
Went on a wednesday and they said they werent opening the mirror as its quieter mid week so sat in the beautiful front bar instead. Great cocktails with very knowledgable bar tenders. Great for mid week chill out cocktails with a bang. I did get to have a look behind the mirror and the space is cool and can imagine it being amazing on a busy weekend...gonna come back and check that out
Reply from Looking Glass Cocktail Club:
Thank you so much Paul! your feedback is making us feel all fuzzy inside! :)
5
Even though I have never been in New York, this place just oozes New York speakeasy (like the places you only hear about or watch in films). Headed behind the secret entrance through the mirror and a warehouse feel with quirky interior just made the night completely. Great for big groups that cathing up over drinks.
Reply from Looking Glass Cocktail Club:
Thank you!
4
Amazing amazing amazing drinks!
Reply from Looking Glass Cocktail Club:
Oh wow! Thanks! :)
4
Real nice for a new place. Keep it up! I'll be back!!
Reply from Looking Glass Cocktail Club:
:)
3
Lovely place and delicious cocktails, really enjoyed my night there..
Reply from Looking Glass Cocktail Club:
Thanks!
 -

If you like Looking Glass Cocktail Club, you should also book...

We would your feedback